15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Panopto

Easily manage, search, and access secure cloud-hosted videos with Panopto's innovative tools.

Learn more about Panopto

Pros:

The structure is easier to navigate than others we've used. Integration is pretty straightforward.

Cons:

It could use a more modern look and feel. The software does give our end users some trouble - but not the service or website itself.

Panopto ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

Panopto has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 75 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Panopto before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (75)

Jonathan
Jonathan
Flexible Learning Coordinator in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Panopto has met all of my needs and then some and the support is phenomenal.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We were able to give faculty one tool for all of their video creation and editing and storing needs instead of all the various tools they had to use previously to accomplish the same thing. All of the content is now stored on our server so we don't lose access to it if an employee leaves the college. We can live stream our events with it. We can manage all of our video and caption it as well. It provides us a secure way to stream 3rd party video we have an agreement with to share with specific users. Allows for adding quizzes in the video.

Pros:

I love how it manages our video content. The ability to manage 1000's of videos with ease and update user permissions or move content around all without breaking the link to the video was the biggest selling point for me. Other products I've evaluated managed video very differently and left things more up to the user. If the user were to leave their content would be difficult to hand over to the next person that may need it. The LMS Integration is excellent. Biggest workflow saver is when an instructor makes a recording in class the hit stop and upload and the video automatically goes into the course it needs to be in and even gives students a progress bar for it. Other products required the instructor to go in after they made the recording and move the video into the course manually or move it into a specific playlist. When an instructor finishes class they don't have time to go moving their recordings around. They need to finish up and leave before the next class starts coming in. It has so many bells and whistles. Live broadcasting, quizzing that integrates with the LMS Gradebook, scheduled recordings, so many great video player features, the mobile app. It's overall an excellent product and I couldn't find anything else that checked all my boxes.

Cons:

The recorder has a lot of options in regards to setting the quality when we always encourage our faculty to set it at the highest possible. I wish the recorder could be streamlined so I could start up recordings faster and have a share link go right to my clipboard so I could send it out like how Jing does it. There is value to all of the options on the recorder but I wish they had a lighter weight version.

Eugenio
Professor in Spain
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

how a software can get outdated because lack of innovation

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: it was very good 5 years ago but now that we need online teaching we had to change to another software.

Pros:

classes are automatically recorded at the scheduled time

Cons:

it is hard to set up a new sporadic recording and there is no option to have videocall at the same time because cameras are recording

Alternatives Considered: Google Meet

Reasons for Switching to Panopto: We choose google meet because we can record like panopto but we can interact with the students, the only thing we miss is that in panopto classes were automatically recorded at the scheduled time.

Shane
Associate Professor in US
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Panopto - Great for online lecture delivery

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Integration with Desire2Learn and Camtasia.

Cons:

I like that grades are directly exported to the learning management system. I do have to adjust the values of the grades once they are exported.

Laura
Ed Tech in US
Higher Education, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Panopto-powerful but over complicated.

3.0 8 months ago

Comments: Half good, half very frustrating. Faculty have to login for th e1st time to a specifc Panopto link. We did not realize this at first and thought a user could just type in "Panopto" in the URL. So the step by step document/video would have been helpful. Also all the videos need to be linked a specific way no copying and pasting URL's. Panopto has to be turned on in tools in our LMS. We have our faculty create a link to Panopto in the menu of the LMS and have a link to the Panopto site. It is just several steps and it just seems there could be an easier way. We used to sue VidGrid & Mediasite: Our co. made the switch. The recent decision by VidGrid to not undergo the state-required Texas Risk and Authorization Management Program (TX-RAMP) certification for all cloud-based vendors to operate under contract with state agencies and institutions of higher education. Mediasite had many issues, so best to stop using it. The interface was ugly and not so useful also.

Pros:

Panopto's interface is clean cut and not too busy. I like the file areas to the left and the center area for videos. I like that it is integrated into BB, the LMS we use.

Cons:

Panopto was presented to us as an really good option for faculty to use. It has turned out to be not so easy to use. There are many steps that we learned about later that have to be done a certain way or the students cannot access the videos within BB, the LMS. Panopto is integrated into BB, the LMS we use but it is problematic. If someone pastes a link to a video in a text field it will not open correctly for them. The faculty has to embed it correctly using Pan video embed. VidGrid did not require so much for the user.

Frank J.
Associate Professor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Panopto provides me with a reliable, flexible venue for documenting and assessing my students' progress.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

There are many features that I like about Panopto; ease of use is near the top of the list. I have been using it for several years and it is comforting to know how reliable and simple it is to get a recording completed. I have had situations where an opportunity arose and I wanted to capture it for my students to see later, and I simply pulled out my phone and recorded and uploaded it to the Cloud with a few simple clicks. My students love it because regardless of their hardware (PC, phone, iOS device), they can record their assignments and get feedback almost as if they were in front of me. The simple-to-use editing features allow me to update/enhance legacy content enabling me to leverage existing resources. I could go on and on...

Cons:

Some of the more advanced features are a bit more challenging for some of my students to understand; however, the good news is that the basic features provide more than enough opportunity for successful resource generation.

Paul
Assistant Manager of Educational Technology in US
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A solid option

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: We worked with them to get through some issues our institution had with them. Our success manager was responsive and helpful. I believe they refined some of their support protocols based on our conversations. If mobile is a requirement, we've found it useful in our purposes, but personally I find the app a bit clunky and outdated in UI

Pros:

The structure is easier to navigate than others we've used Integration is pretty straightforward

Cons:

limited upload quality compared to our current platform the mobile app is not very user friendly the editor is good, but as it turns out it doesn't truly edit, just hides portions of the video and automatically includes a fade at every cut (doesn't allow a straight cut)

Graham
Managed Learning Environment Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Coming up to our 9th year with Panopto

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Over nine years we have gone from a couple of technically leading academics promoting its use to a large scale rollout with half the University asking staff to use it. Almost immediately students asked for it to be mandated.

Pros:

The software is easy to roll out across a large campus due to its software-only focus and the need for just a microphone. Most steps can be automated and the integration with Blackboard (in our case) allows videos to be secured to classes/modules with no additional steps.

Cons:

Moving to a fully automated recording workflow requires heavy integration with your timetable system.

Diego
Diego
Information Technology Support Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Panopto is very easy to use and has many great features.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The ability to make instructional videos and to share them with others.

Pros:

What I like most about Panopto is how easy it is to choose what you want to record, with what source of audio you want to use, and where to save it. Another good thing is that when your video is all done, there is the ability to edit the video down in case you want to cut out some parts.

Cons:

The only thing I noticed was that when you would start the recording and then decide to switch to a different audio source, the program would freeze and would have to be restarted.

Malcolm
Malcolm
Video technology support analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Phenomenal partner, robust product

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Panopto's ease of use combined with the rich feature set make it one of the best tools out there for large-scale recording capture and viewing. Users can bring in multiple cameras, mics, screens and applications with just a few clicks and create content that they can share with a chosen group.

Cons:

The one drawback I have encountered is using the advanced editor as opposed to the basic editor. The advanced version can only be accessed using Internet Explorer.

John
John
Video Systems Technician in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Security, UI, and file management

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Panopto's integration with our university's LMS is vital to keeping our video lectures secure, but also easily accessible to viewers who are enrolled in a course. The UI is also highly favored by viewers.

Cons:

Small learning curve/training for new admins or instructors who have no background in video. Support documents on the Panopto site are great, but it would help to have one-on-one training for new admin users.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PanOpto for lecture recording, media collections, class engagement, and more

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with PanOpto has been favorable. It's brought about increased self-reflection in teaching, and my students love ability to circle back and review collected class proceedings prior to papers and tests.

Pros:

I most like the collection folder organization and customizable sharing permissions. It's great for lecture recordings to help document class proceedings for subsequent reflections and student engagement strategies. The picture-in-picture recordings, the automatic tagging of timestamps with the progression of PowerPoint slides, and the versatility of downloaded outputs make this a great product for education.

Cons:

The connection between the desktop client and browser-base interface that we've integrated into our LMS is not easy to navigate, especially for newcomers. Consequently, the tool is predominately used by seasoned instructors. I've found it productive to give students creation access to class media collections, but there is definitely a nominal learning curve in place, where students at first use, lack the confidence to configure input and output sources. Also, it continues to frustrate me that capturing screen audio has been in beta for so long. If there is a process for multiple video inputs, then should also be a way to include multiple audio inputs, as well.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It is Nice When it Works

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like that when I am watching a lecture I can see the slides at the bottom to skip forward to specific slides that I want to re-listen to. I also like that I can speed up the video up to twice as fast as it was live. This makes for easy studying.

Cons:

What I like least about the software is that it can be unreliable. Our university has a backup recording system due to the number of times Panopto has malfunctioned. Sometimes it does not capture the audio, or will not record at all. This happens at least a few times per month. It is also annoying that is sometimes does not play back properly depending on which browser you are using to view the video.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Video platform for online lectures and presentations

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Ease of use tampered by long uploads but once it works - it works.

Pros:

It was fairly easy to use for asynchronous and live classes and presentations, especially for E-learning. Easy to upload the videos. Good integration with Moodle

Cons:

Took some time to upload videos and would like to have some control over settings on permissions and viewing.

Myriam
Faculty in US
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Screencapture for eduction

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I use Panopto every week. It is essential for online classes, recording lectures, and posting. The wait time between recording and availability online ranges from a couple of hours to 6 hours depending on length and captioning. It is tolerable for the scope of my classes.
It is not as flexible as other expensive tools, but it is sufficient to support students' learning.

Pros:

The software is easy to implement. It interfaces seamlessly with the LMS (Learning Management System). It also integrates with Zoom allowing me to post closed captioning. Close captions are mandated by the state.

Cons:

Maintaining the folders is not easy. The quality of the captions is poor especially for science classes.

Matthew
Student in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I use this software to access recordings of my lectures and webcasts put on for revision purposes.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This software is very intuitive, with easy controls to pause, play and change the volume, all of which are like second nature while using the program. It helps me a great deal that this software is available as my lecturers are able to use it to easily record the lectures and post them online.

Cons:

Sometimes the lectures i listen to are very distorted due to bad quality. Also, the side bars are sometimes hard to navigate and the quiz sections at the end are very slow.

Adelyn
Adelyn
d.Leadership Co President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very easy to work with and watch

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Clicking back and forth on the slides is very easy to do, so you can skip to a certain part of the lecture if you remember what slide you took notes on. This is great for my classes which have excruciatingly long lectures, and getting through them and finding the key points can be extremely useful.

Cons:

Of course, since it's a different software than what others normally use, it can be hard to integrate this with what we already use rather than just sending a YouTube link. The E-learning environment that I work in uses YouTube much more than Panopto, which is probably due to this.

Jacob
Minister in US
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Video Platorm

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, great experience with Panopto.

Pros:

My use of Panopto is with education. Loved how the videos were organized by class. Also benefited from the speed option.

Cons:

Design and layout of app could be improved/updated.

Mark
Mark
Marketing Director in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very good online desktop tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: A lovely free tool that comes highly recommended. Easy to use and set up. No need for any downloading of programs. Go to the website and away you go.

Pros:

- easy to use - good functionality- easy to download and keep files- works well when recording from google meet or zoom etc if you dont want to pay for them

Cons:

- sometimes a little confusing if its on or notbut otherwise it is a great tool and saves you having to take notes in conference calls

Tim
Instructional Technology Coordinator in US
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Panopto works well with Canvas

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: A well-rounded video/lecture recording tool that faculty members should have access to.

Pros:

The most useful features in Panopto revolve around the Web recording tool. It works just as well as a software application.

Cons:

Some may say it could lack some teaching features like polling, but the quizzing and other powerful features outshine.

Leyniker Raul
system engineer in Colombia
Market Research, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Panopto

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I love panopto, it is very simple and useful for students like me who study from a distance I do not waste any time in finding the materials and I have complete visibility about everything

Cons:

the truth I have not had any problem with this tool is agile, inreible for those who return to study again

Joseph
Joseph
Full Time Lecturer - College of Business & Economics in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Generally easy for most to use, a bit confusing for some.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall good. No better or worse than Camtasia

Pros:

I personally found it easy to use - to create a video with a PowerPoint presentation and to review it. My audience was able to watch it once it was ready.

Cons:

I found it a bit hard/frustrating to edit if I messed up. It seems like the best thing to do would be start from scratch so make sure that you have rehearsed your script well.

Julia
Instructocr in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Using Panapto has changed the way I provide lectures online.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: I was able to transfer my face to face lectures.

Pros:

Panopto is a software that comes in handy for recording lectures for a flipped classroom experience. It is easy to use and required little effort to transfer your classroom experience to an online training environment.

Cons:

It is not an inexpensive program. It is can be tricky with certain web browsers such as Safari. It is not a true problem but more of an inconvenience.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good tool for recording video tutorials

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall I liked how easy it was to record and edit the tutorial video I created.

Pros:

I like the advanced features that are available and that it allows me to create nice video tutorials for internal audiences.

Cons:

The user interface feels a bit clunky and the sharing options take some time to be found. Other than that the tool is pretty good.

Michael
Denmark
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

MA Student

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: We use it every day at the university. It's amazing software. Recommended. Doing everything, capturing with slides, screen captures, editing, hosting. Very easy to use.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple but Powerful Video Capture and Video Management Tool

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We primarily use Panopto for lecture capture and distance learning. Using Panopto for training and meeting recordings is something that we are just starting to leverage. Having a place to centrally store, share and search through videos has been a great value to our institution. Our integration with Panopto to D2L has provided a simple solution for instructors and students to interact 'face-to-face', even if they are located around the world.

Pros:

Panopto integrates with our LMS, D2L quite well. It makes the process very simple for our instructors and students to record and watch videos. It does not require any plugins or software to watch videos, as they load up in a web browser. The videos work on mobile and embed easily in courses or on websites. We also enjoy the easy sharing of videos and simplified management in the web portal.

Cons:

The Panopto Recorder software can be a little bit buggy and simplified. It could use a more modern look and feel. The software does give our end users some trouble - but not the service or website itself. If a student or instructor has an issue with the software, luckily any .mp4 video file can be easily uploaded to Panopto.