15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Adobe Learning Manager Reviews

About Adobe Learning Manager

Train employees, partners and customers effectively with a next-gen LXP that delivers a personalized learning experience at scale.

Learn more about Adobe Learning Manager

Pros:

Great at authoring software/system courses. Price is on par with other softwares that offer similar features.

Cons:

The inability to create quiz content within Prime itself is the only feature that I think it is really lacking.

Adobe Learning Manager ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.1
Value for Money
3.9

Likelihood to recommend

7.4/10

Adobe Learning Manager has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 671 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Adobe Learning Manager before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (671)

Francis
Francis
cito in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Captivate as a tool for LMS

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Still a newbie will know more as i interact. However the features are what drew us to this software

Pros:

presentation development and deployment as well as integration to adobeconnect

Cons:

Instal was a handful and took very long.

Christian
News Editor/Journalist in Denmark
Newspapers, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe Learning Manager Review: Unrivaled E-Learning Platform

5.0 last year

Comments: After using Adobe Learning Manager, I can confidently say that it is the best e-learning platform on the market. It offers an incredibly user-friendly interface, a wealth of features and customization options, a content library and analytics tools. I highly recommend this platform to anyone looking to create and manage online courses.

Pros:

Adobe Learning Manager is an incredibly user-friendly, comprehensive e-learning platform that makes it easy to create and manage high-quality online courses. The intuitive interface makes it easy to navigate, and the platform offers a wide array of features and customization options. The content library and analytics tools give you deep insights into how your learners are interacting with content, allowing you to adjust and optimize your courses to maximize effectiveness.

Cons:

Visio is an outdated software and lacks many of the features available in modern e-learning platforms. Its user interface is outdated and not intuitive and the lack of customization options make it difficult to create courses that meet the needs of learners. Additionally, there is no content library or analytics tools to provide insights into how learners interact with content.

Hannah
Creative Strategist in US
Environmental Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Captivate - the reason we don't have a training department anymore. Endlessly buggy w/ rude support.

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: We no longer have a training division, because of Adobe Captivate & Adobe Captivate Prime. If you don't have an enterprise license, their support team has no interest in helping you. It takes a huge amount of evidence to convince the support team that your bug or complaint is valid, they insist on blaming you or the user. Everytime one bug was solved, another one appeared. When we realized that Captivate was more embarrassing than helpful, we had to close our training division. We didn't have the financial or time resources to re-build all of our training module on a new platform. While we used Captivate, it caused so many of our students to be angry at us. We had to give many refunds. Most importantly, it damaged our reputation.

Pros:

The most basic level functionality is pretty simple to understand.

Cons:

We built our entire curriculum on Adobe Captivate (100s of files). When we used Moodle as our LMS, we often had problems. For example, the user needing to enable pop-ups and unsafe scripts, the files freezing, and a student watching the entire lesson and then not having it register as completed. We assumed that Moodle was the problem. So, we moved our courses to Adobe Captivate Prime (which required considerable time and effort). To our dismay, the problems did not improve. If anything, they got worse. There are many things I could talk about, but the worst was the support. They were so unwilling to admit fault. A specific example of this is when they had a bug with the radio buttons in Captivate quizzes. The first several times I tried to contact support about the problem, they blamed the problem on the users. Only after I'd sent them several user complaints, screenshots, and videos did they start to listen. Even then, it took me being very assertive to get them to admit that the problem was on their end (& would take months to fix). Other issues: I couldn't manually mark buggy lessons as complete for students. Students had to enable "unsafe scripts." Many problems were unrepeatable - a students would send me a screenshot of a problem. I'd wouldn't be able to re-create. They they'd try again later and it would work. Because all of our lessons were built in Captivate & even Adobe's solution couldn't play them, we closed our training department.

Tony
Director in UK
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Captivate Prime - getting better

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has been good for setting up the programme - but I cannot really fully commercialise the programme until document security is better. It is easy to use, a good interface for learners. It has been a good experience but a little way to go yet in some parts of the application.

Pros:

The product is evolving and starting to become a lot easier to use - a simple PDF manual would also help to bring new administrators on. It does the job well and the licencing is flexible. It is so much improved from around 18 months ago. I have found the product easier to manage and the addition of some simple features like deletion of modules has made content easier to catalogue and manage.

Cons:

The product still has not adopted to meet commercial training provider needs, there is no paywall for example. There are also some simple things that commercial training providers need - after much discussion with ADOBE ACROBAT PRO DC teams, the pdf security (no printing or copy/pasting settings) are undone by PRIME when content is loaded (users can simply highlight, copy and paste content). This means a student or anyone accessing the programme can easily copy/paste content. This simply creates the capacity for IP loss. Its a small change I suspect - but critical in protecting IP for commercial providers. In the end I have had to use a workaround with MP4s. Support on the PRIME side was contradictory - despite ACROBAT testing the feature.

Kim
Training Manager in US
Individual & Family Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Struggling Novice

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been great to work with, however, when items need to be escalated sometimes the issue is with Captivate and not Prime or somewhere in the upload. It would be very helpful to have someone who understands both software. Also, the people at the help desk are nice, but I lack confidence in their knowledge. There have been a couple of occasions where they think something can be done, but when testing it, realize it cannot be done. If this is my escalation point, I feel they should be experts. Something as simple as the non-optional playbar should be common knowledge with an expert.

Pros:

Ease of updating courses. I appreciate the sandbox so that I can test and learn. The ability to add branding. Preview as learner.

Cons:

Toggling between Author and Administrator when uploading a course and assigning learners. Non-optional playbar. Deciding on how many points are needed to complete a skill. When the system is new it is an unknown number. Some modules within a course receive a checkmark when complete, but some show complete, but a checkmark is not displayed. This is confusing for the learner. Set incidents for completion based on when the course was pushed. For example, if a course is pushed automatically and should be completed within 2 weeks. It appears that the software will all set an actual date due.

Mitchell
Mitchell
Retail Training Manager in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Solid LMS that's in the process of improving.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: The software meets our needs, and hosts all content we need. It takes a lot of learning to grasp the system, and you will be doing most of the learning on your own. Certainly a competitive service. Definitely worth your consideration.

Pros:

This software has all the features that you may be looking for in an LMS. It has some CRM features, can host all standard e-learning file types, has a social learning function, and allows for a solid user experience.

Cons:

I didn't like how there is no method to execute all functions on the LMS without swapping between user profiles. Admin has certain permissions, as does the author and learner roles. It's your responsibility to learn which profile type does what. Additionally, the customer service is quite slow. If you're looking for quick support on the service, you'd be better off troubleshooting on your own. I rarely get an appointment with my CapPrime rep within the same week I request it. Finally, the system is inexpensive, but requires a big upfront cost. They currently only offer a 3-year commitment plan to the service. If I would've known about the speed of customer service I would've reconsidered our choice.

Naila
Instructor and Learning Consultant in Canada
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Adobe Captivate Prime Review from Naila

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I enjoy using and developing learning programs on Adobe Captivate.

Pros:

I was very thrilled to see that -Publish in various devices - tablets, mobile phones, desktop. - Publish projects on devices that support HTML5 which are iPad and iPhone. - 360 degree learning experience feature - VR images integration and augmented learning. - Customizable overlay such as blurbs, audio content and quizes - 2D and 3D view options - SCORM compliant helps - it gives completion status, scoring and quiz results. -

Cons:

Concern: Adobe Flash wis going to discontinue in December 2020. So we don't know what changes will be required to add in Adobe Captivate Prime after Adobe Flash is gone.

Ali
Web Designer in UK
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best SCORM Training Creation Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Very positive

Pros:

The software does everything you can imagine when it comes to creating SCORM training and testing it. It's cross software support with other Adobe products is a big plus point as well.

Cons:

It has certain shortcomings when it comes to dealing with languages such as Arabic. It lacks support for languages and display issues for characters that are right to left. Plus there are language character related bugs that stop user from exporting training and make it go into an infinite loading loop.

Carolyne
Office Manager in Canada
Human Resources, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

TQR - Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall I think it's a good program, there are a few things that are missing but overall we are satisfied with the quality and usability.

Pros:

It's easy to use. You're able to upload a wide range of documents to make it custom for learning.

Cons:

There are some features that are missing that would benefit us... for example, setting a time limit on a course or building a quiz in the program rather than having to out source it. Ultimately, the more things you can host yourselves would be best in terms of ease of use as well as the ability to protect costs.

Mihaela
Professor in US
Higher Education, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Trial run of captivate prime

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I am using Adobe Connect. I feel Adobe Connect does not offer me the tools for everything I need. I am looking for an alternative that I can use for my online classes.

Pros:

Very easy to use and user friendly for both me and the students. I liked that I could use this product to post notes, video lectures and everything that I need into just one place

Cons:

The only thing I did not like is the cost that is rather high

Marek
CEO in Poland
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe Learning Manager Review

5.0 last year

Comments: My overall experience with Adobe Learning Manager has been positive. The software provided a robust platform for creating and managing e-learning content. The extensive feature set, including multimedia support and analytics capabilities, allowed me to develop engaging and effective training programs. The integration with other Adobe tools enhanced the creative possibilities and streamlined the content creation process. However, the initial setup and configuration process could be challenging, requiring technical expertise. Additionally, the pricing structure made it less accessible for smaller organizations or individual users. Nonetheless, the overall value and functionality of Adobe Learning Manager were commendable, making it a powerful tool for delivering high-quality e-learning experiences.

Pros:

One of the things I liked most about Adobe Learning Manager was its comprehensive set of features for creating and managing e-learning content. The software provided a user-friendly interface that allowed me to design interactive and engaging learning modules. The wide range of multimedia options, such as videos, images, and interactive quizzes, made it easy to create dynamic and interactive courses. The integration with Adobe Creative Cloud tools also provided seamless access to design assets, enhancing the overall visual appeal of the content. Additionally, the robust analytics and reporting features helped me track learner progress and assess the effectiveness of the training programs.

Cons:

One thing I liked least was the complexity of the initial setup and configuration process. It required a certain level of technical expertise to properly set up the system and configure the various settings. Additionally, the pricing structure of the software was quite high, especially for smaller organizations or individual users. This made it less accessible for those with limited budgets or who needed a more cost-effective solution.

Mikella
Human Resources Coordinator in US
Entertainment, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe Learning works, but its pricey and has its flaws.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall it works solid as LMS software and allows employees to learn via mobile devices - which is our biggest request/need. I think it could be better, but currently, it fulfills our needs. If scores and adaptable elements were saved better I think it would be perfect! We do enjoy using if for our learning platform and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future.

Pros:

Adobe learning as a portal/service is extremely fluid and functional. We have multiple courses and they are easy to manage and access for all of our employees. They are known as the industry leader and thus they garner more customers than other LMS, but that requires them to upkeep the software and that is a large benefit for us as the customer / consumer. The learning portals do work well and the tests are good when you are navigating them.

Cons:

I wish it did a better job of saving test scores/certifications. Sometimes our employees will finish a class but the scores they tested with don't save and they have to attempt again. This is a technical issue we have asked for help with - so they provided a button to submit as support - which was nice, but we still have the issue.

Sascha
Executive Director in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Its simple and it works

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: One of the best features of using captivate prime, is that you can get going with a fully fletched LMS within 24 hours - fully branded and organised! ...and the pricing model is fair compared to common competition.

Pros:

Captivate Prime is an out-of-the-box LMS. It has all standard features needed for an effective and fun learning environment including gamification elements such as leaders boards, badges and general points. The interface is both, intuitive for the user and the administrator and can easily be customized to your personal preferences and access rights. The hosting of content is open to all types of SCORM compliant content, but also simple text files, graphics and videos. The structuring of programs can be done according to a single file system as well as clustered items in a program structure. One of the key performance tools is the mobile app provided. The app gives you the full spectrum of the desktop version, including an offline capability.

Cons:

If you purchase this LMS via a volume license program (rather then buying a few licenses with credit card online), then it is recommended to find a local ADOBE certified dealer. The customer service team in (I believe ) India, is friendly, but very slow in the response and it takes several attempts to get things done. Therefore, using a local certified dealer and letting them deal with the headquarter, does not necessarily speed things up, but it does save you a lot of time.

Mercury
IDT Intern in US
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Very Practical LMS

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Adobe Captivate Prime was exceptional, that is in the case of developing and publishing courses. My challenge was trying to provide adult learners with a nontraditional approach via online/hybrid that would most effectively increase their attention and learning.

Pros:

After exploring a number of LMS's, I found that Adobe Captivate Prime was very practical. If you so happen to be using Adobe Captivate you'll find it very easy to publish your work. In addition, the tabs are clearly identified with all of the functions clearly presentable. Moreover, the LMS was fairly easy to use especially considering the accessible help prompts and tutorials.

Cons:

While I loved the flow and crystal layout, I found it to be too boxed in for the clients I was trying to reach. In other words, I needed a bit more engagement and interactivity beyond the software; I desired to engage my trainees in collaborating beyond simple discussion boards and games. I wanted to provide real life experiences that incorporated social media outside of the software. So, while I loved the simplicity and structure, I desired professional coaches and mentors to supplement my trainees with real time experiences.

Juergen
Training academy Manager in Germany
Machinery, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Review from Makino

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: With the platform we are able to make training easy available for all our learner and helps to create a learning culture. We can share training between different global platform.

Pros:

Easy to use and to understand. possibility to share contents with other platforms. Android and IOS app. Everything starts with the skills approach. Possibility of different language for one content. No plug in necessary for the player. Reporting module. Possibility to work with the different roles. unlimited storage space. Support is doing well.

Cons:

Learning calendar is not working well and don't give a good overview about all classroom training planned. Migration of skills or other things to complicate. No calendar about the utilization of all instructor available . Calculation of the effectiveness should be different in case L3 feedback is disabled since the L3 feedback does not make sense for the most of short online courses. In the view of the courses as a admin or Author we need filter to separate classroom training from online and courses shared to you or shared to others.

Rozanne
Chief Customer Advocate in US
Consumer Electronics, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We're moving on...

2.0 6 years ago

Comments: It was a big disappointment. We want to add training for external customers and we can't risk having the issues we had with employee training with them. We have already started the process of migrating to a different platform.

Pros:

Not much. It looked great when we were investigating it, but we quickly became disenchanted when we were actually using it with all of our employees.

Cons:

Buggy 1. Playback wouldn't always work for everyone. 2. Sometimes, the courses wouldn't mark as complete for all learners, even though they had been completed them. 3. Reporting is very difficult. It takes too much time (and trickery) to find the information you want. 4. It doesn't always work with Captivate Prime (which is the weirdest thing ever). You'd think that Adobe would make sure it always does, even if you are using a Mac. 5. Adding users didn't want to work via upload. Contacted support, which wasn't helpful. I ended up having to add them one at a time. 6. Too expensive for what you get and once you start the year commitment, there is no way out. You have to pay for something you can't use anymore. 7. Don't have the ability to reset scores back to zero if wanted. 8. Don't have the ability to allow users to retake the quiz at end. We ended up having to force everyone to get 100% by designing the courses to not allow them to go forward until they had answered the questions correctly. 9. Once the learners went through a course, they could never look at it again, which is not what we wanted at all. 10. Online Help Documentation is inadequate.

Faruk
Faruk
CEO in Türkiye
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The latest ring of the chain is completed and Voltron has revealed.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The biggest problem today's world, using very different tools for doing business. However, when we use Adobe products for eLearning ecesystem, we have a single point of contact and support center. It gives us time.

Pros:

Adobe Captivate Prime is the latest ring of the chain. We are using Adobe Captivate for rapid course creation and Adobe Connect for webinars. So, on the LMS side, Adobe Captivate Prime gives us an opportunity to manage our eLearning lifecycle from a single point. You have everything under the one band. It gives you a single point of support contact. On the LMS side, we have a great harmony with the eLearning courses which are created by Adobe Captivate. We are uploading our courses to Adobe Captivate Prime directly and manage them easily.

Cons:

In my opinion, the user interface needs to be developed for user experience. But I can say that if you are using a big brand and have a good support user-interface is the second issue.

Brynette
OD Consultant in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product for on line training

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Due to healthcare we cannot always have people attend classroom training. This product allows us the chance to train someone while giving them the chance to have hands on practice. It enhances the adult learning programs we have in place.

Pros:

This product is interactive allowing the end user to simulate the software. The recording function is easy to use. Edits are simple.

Cons:

Difficulty using the function of setting up a menu that needs to be in order and making the end user go through modules in order. The check mark and X functionality.

Robert
Student Technician in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Steep Learning Curve

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: The learning curve on Captivate was pretty steep, more people will see Captivate at first glance as something similar to PowerPoint and jump feet first. Unfortunately that is impossible with this program, you will have to learn the basics through tutorials, but that is ot necessarily a bad thing. Once I became more familiar with the functionality of the Captivate I was able to be more creative in my design. Even advancing beyond the basics that one could learn from tutorials. I will say, that I did not learn as much as I had liked I only had the 30 day trial, but I am thinking I will be purchasing the product in the next 3-4 months. I'm looking forward to opening this program up and see all that it can do; I just hope it can fulfill all my expections.

Pros:

I enjoyed the fact there was enough features that it allowed you to create whatever you wanted to, to a point. I liked the ability that it gave you a true responsive capability, especially as elearning moves to more to mobile platforms.

Cons:

The two things that were really on my dislike list, first not being advised that it is best practive that you should go into settings prior to beginning your project and turn on backup; why isn't this automatic. Second, the application would often become unresponsive while saving, I tried this program on three different computers and they all did this.

Paul
Lead Developer in US
Graphic Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe Products Are The Industry Standard

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are teaching more people about our platform!

Pros:

I love the ease of use and intuitive design of Adobe Products. There is obviously a lot of thought that goes into the platforms and that REAL users are helping with design and functionality.

Cons:

The pricing is the only con - I hope that Adobe will make a conscious effort to make their products available for more income levels. Especially new businesses starting out because cost is everything.

Catherine
marketing in Brazil
Market Research, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Adobe learning manager

5.0 last year

Comments: Standard consumer experience with Fluidic Player. Provide a simplified content consumption experience through Fluidic Player.

Pros:

Adobe Learning Manager provides learning management capabilities and enables online collaboration

Cons:

Learning that streamlines businessLearning to improve the performance of marketing and sales teams, increase customer satisfaction and retention, and streamline business

Naama
VP Enablement in Israel
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Never again

1.0 5 years ago

Comments: it causing us more problems then any benefits we may get

Pros:

nothing - this is an archaic system which is not relevant for today's world and is full of bugs

Cons:

everything - reports are not working, support is not responding, functionality which was promised is not working. this is an internal LMS system which is very hard to use and not intuitive at all. what a bad purchase from out side

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best tool for simulation

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Good experience while developing the modules of various types with non responsive settings good animation and pure HTML output. If else programming makes difficult action in to simpler.

Pros:

It is the best tool for simulation and responsive design for specific devices. I use it for development of e-learning modules

Cons:

It has complicated programming as compared to other e-learning tool available in market

Angel
IT Support in Guatemala
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

creativity

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I love the functions and how excellent it is to design actions and distance courses

Pros:

The very interesting things that can be developed with the software.

Cons:

There is not much information and the support is very basic

Mark
Specialist Technical Trainer in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Abobe - The epitome of quality

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It was a bit of a challenge getting to know the finer details of the setup, but once that was done, it was an absolute pleasure.

Pros:

The speed at which I can produce training material.

Cons:

A few features or settings that are not easy to understand or use.