About Planday

Easy and affordable employee scheduling software that can save you 80% admin time and 5% costs. Book a demo or try it for free today!

Learn more about Planday

Pros:

Not Available

Cons:

Not Available

Planday ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

Planday has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 52 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Planday before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (52)

Paul
Paul
Co-founder/Managing Director in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Planday really reduces management time compiling the rota, it is easy for staff to manage holidays and good to help managers stick to weekly staffing budgets. The punch in/out function again reduces admin time for paper timesheets and reduces the possibility of fraud.

Cons:

It would be great to be able to set parameters and then it generate the rota for you, hopefully this will be developed in time!

Erica
Business & Compliance Manager in US
Medical Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Add-On for Practice Mgmt Systems Missing HR Functionality!

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: My office uses a practice management system with next to zero HR functions, a terrible time clock, and no integration with platforms from other vendors. We were looking for a platform that would allow employees to see their schedules, request vacations, switch shifts, etc. we also wanted a time clock that integrated with quickbooks. PlanDay lets us do all of this quickly and easily. We have been able to literally cut our time spent on payroll by over 50%, and reduce scheduling time by at least 1/3.
The other features have also helped us streamline, organize, and centralize our HR activities while “going paperless.”
The app is user friendly and our employees love using it, we’ve even noticed a recognizable boost in employee morale since starting PlanDay

Pros:

Great sales, customer service, training, and tech personnel! Everyone is extremely helpful, knowledgeable, awesome at responding very quickly with easy to understand, concise yet complete answers. No pushy attempts to up sell, wanted to give me only the functionality I actually needed. Looked at several different platforms, PlanDay was by far the most user-friendly and visually appealing. Time clock feature syncs super easily and accurately with QuickBooks for Payroll, and employees love being able to clock in on their smartphones. LOVE the reporting feature that tracks attendance tardiness and other metrics for direct input into performance reviews. App is fantastic and employees love it. Provides pretty much all the functionality we need to go paperless with most of our HR functions - scheduling, shift changes/time off requests, payroll (via quickbooks sync), keeping track of benefits, personnel files, etc.! Has saved us significant time and money spent on HR!

Cons:

I do wish there were some additional things I could do and more parameters/constraints I could add within the scheduling function to make things quicker and catch certain potential errors. For example, I’d love to be able to put in certain legal requirements/constraints and have the scheduler not allow me to break them (e.g. lunch for each employee must be no later than 5.5 hrs after shift start). Not really a huge deal, would just be a convenient accuracy check for me. Also wish I could send invites and more things via SMS for those without smartphones without employee needing to be charged.

Karen
Owner in US
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Employee Scheduling Software

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: I used the software more or less successfully for one year but then realized that not all of my employees were able to manage with it. Unfortunately, I was not able to get everyone on board with using it properly. Also, it wasn't really set up to handle the type of work (tours) I was offering to my employees. It would be much better for strictly shift work where each shift was stand alone. My tours can be multi day which didn't connect too well together.

Pros:

Ease of use, employee set up, interactive communication with employees, visual information that is calendar based, employees can be divided into groups by job skills so that shifts can be offered to the people with the correct skills for the job.

Cons:

A year long contract that you are locked into with no warning that it is up for renewal. Some forms of communication (but not all) with employees is cumbersome and makes more work for the administrators.

Ellie
Retail manager in UK
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using planday

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Really great experience easy to use app and it’s handy to have the desktop version too

Pros:

Really easy to use, great layout so it’s very clear for staff members to use. The swap shift feature is a great addition.

Cons:

the only downside to this app is that some features can only be done on the desk top website such as requesting holidays

Lonnie Lykke
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

From Nokia to iPhone

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We're a large (25+ personal) dental clinic placed in the center of Copenhagen, Denmark.
We strive to work as productive and efficient as possible, with quality and costumer service as our key words.
As a manager I used to spend several hours a week, both at work and outside work, doing schedules using exel, to make sure every shift was covered.
Usually I would spend my Easter puzzling the schedule for the upcoming summer holiday, ringing and texting assistants to sort out who I could fit in where there was a gap.
Those days are over, and even though we've used Planday for more than a year now, both my assistants, my boss and I'm still pleasantly surprised by how easy Planday is to use.
I would recommend Planday to any business with hourly scheduled staff.
Planday is like when I got my first iPhone!

Pros:

I must admit I was a little suspicious at first, starting something new, but that changed quickly. The introduction we got, the service and help was (is!) worth 5 stars. Planday is very easy to use, very userfriendly. The ability to customize everything is great. Easy to navigate around.

Cons:

I've been thinking about this for a long time now and I simply can't find any cons.

Planday Response

7 years ago

It is very much appreciated that you took the time to write us such a great feedback. We are happy that you are satisfied with the system and the help that you have received during your introduction and in the time after.

Hannah
Office Manager in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Making life simpler

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have been using Planday for just over a month now and I am amazed at how much easier it has made my life. Writing schedules has always been a nightmare and with Planday, it simplifies that task and allows our employees to request what shifts they want. It is very user-friendly and has a nice app for phones and tablets. The only downside is that we have had issues with the app working on one employee's Android phone not being able to log in. However, several others with the same phone have had no issues. We would also like to use the time clock feature but are waiting for the update that will allow employees to clock out for a lunch break. Customer support has been helpful and we have enjoyed our experience so far with Planday.

Planday Response

6 years ago

Dear Hannah, Thanks so much for your review - it's always great to hear from our happy customers! Regarding your employee who can't log in to the app on their Android - this can sometimes happen if they don't have the latest version of the app downloaded. Feel free to contact our Support team ([email protected]) for assistance! Thanks again for using Planday! Jennifer

Eunice
Eunice
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Saves me a full days work

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Payday use to be a full day adventure, trying to keep track of 30 employees in an Excel sheet, calculating their supplements according to the time of work and subtracting any personnel goods. After switching to Planday payday now takes roughly an hour, and that’s only because I double check everything to be sure. I still can’t believe it’s that easy, but it is.

Pros:

I like that it is so easy for our employees to put a shift up for sale/trade, and we no longer have to note down who switched with who. However, we still have the security of having to confirm the switch before it’s activated. My favorite part though, is the compatibility with our pay system. It saves me hours

Cons:

In the process of confirming a switch between to employees, you can’t see whether the new employee has a shift before or after the switch, as you can when you assign a shift. Normally the system will mark them as red, because they are already scheduled to work that day. This doesn’t happen with switches, which can cause double shifts for a person.

Planday Response

7 years ago

Thank you for your feedback. I will send you an email as an answer to the cons, since it should not be possible to swap a shift, if you are already in the schedule that day.

Susie
General Manager in US
Veterinary, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Cut our scheduling time in half!

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Really great software, a little difficult to set up, but only because I didn't ask the questions I needed to. They have a live chat available for you and their response is usually pretty quick. My staff can put in what they prefer and their availability which in turn has created a happier staff. I love that is doubles as a message center so I can group message everyone and they can reply to me without bothering everyone in the group text. The time clock is available in my region, however, breaks (lunch) is not yet. I am excited to start using it in January because my payroll will be integrated into the schedule. So far I am excited about the change and the time it has saved my manager each week and the money I have saved allowing her to apply her time to more worthwhile tasks.

Pros:

How easy it makes everything after it was set up.

Cons:

That somethings are not available in my region, I'm willing to wait, though.

Thomas
Thomas
Commercial Director in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Bespoke Hotels has implemented Planday in 5 hotels. It has been a great success.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Improved Employee satisfaction.
Admin time efficiencies.
Increased accuracy in collating hours worked.

Pros:

Tracking Time & Attendance - Keeps a tight track on casual hours from a management perspective but also the employees love the app by giving them clear shift times and the option to make themselves unavailable and swap shifts. Cutting Admin Time - easy to put together rotas and produce reports for payroll processing at month end. Payroll visability - easy to track daily, weekly and monthly payroll spend.

Cons:

Even though it is relatively simple to learn how it works it does require some focus and backing from the management team.

Planday Response

4 years ago

Hi Thomas - thanks for your review of Planday! It's great to hear we're helping you keep track of your hours and cut down on your admin time. It's great to have you on board!

Heather
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Research Reveals Great Customer Service

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: I signed up for a free trial of Planday for research purposes. I have a long history of working with enterprise resource planning and HR information systems. I've had an academic interest in cloud-based, mobile tools for some time. Planday has created a unique product in that space by fostering collaboration and I wanted a hands-on experience. This was the first time I had an immediate check-in from a live person. If this is indicative of the typical customer experience, Planday is far ahead of SAP, Oracle, Workday, and other employee scheduling and workforce planning tools. Daniel Cline contacted me shortly after I signed up to see how he could help me make the most out of the tool. As a technology professional who has overseen many product procurement efforts, this level of customer service is a rare find. Keep up the great work!

Melissa
Owner in US
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

LoveLoveLove PlanDay!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: PlanDay was the best decision we made this year. Easy, fast and user friendly for both management and employees!

Pros:

We'd been looking for an online scheduling tool for the last few years, but all of them provided only information from the employee's point of view. PlanDay was the first (only?) to provide the ability for us to toggle back and forth from the employee view to the management, or "position view". Moreover, the customer service is beyond compare. What an incredible tool PlanDay has been for us!

Cons:

We have 2 requests: 1) We would love to have the capacity to block employees in advance from being scheduled on future shifts. For example, if an employee wants to attend their family reunion in October, we'd love to have the capacity to block those shifts NOW to prevent them from being accidentally scheduled in October. While the employee has this capacity, we would prefer to have it as well. 2) Similarly, since students comprise at least 50% of our staff, we would love, as managers of PlanDay, for US to have the capacity to block out certain portions of certain days for our staff who are students taking classes in school. Again, this would prohibit them from being accidentally scheduled while they're in class. Again, while employees have this capacity, we would prefer to have it as well.

Planday Response

6 years ago

Hi Melissa, Thanks for your review! Always wonderful to hear from our happy customers. Regarding your requests, there is actually a way to do this within the system. Your Activation Consultant will be reaching out to you shortly to help you set this up. Also, have you heard about our Ambassador Program, where you can earn money for recommending Planday? You can learn more about the program here: http://planday.com/ambassador Thanks again! Jennifer

Michael
Fitness Manager in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very user friendly, great organizer, creates easy communication between management and staff.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The App makes it very easy to keep scheduling organized. Very user friendly. After a short period of time getting used to Planday you will feel very comfortable. Customization for every aspect of the App makes it very easy to use the things you want and filter out the things you don't need. Allows for easy communication access between all users, from staff to management.

Cons:

There are no major issues with Planday. One thing that would make it easier for the staff, is plugging in their availability over the course of time versus having to select each day off for the remainder of the calendar. For example: If you want to request availability for being off every Tuesday from 12-5 for the next two months you have to manually enter each Tuesday's availability. Instead of being able to select the date range one time.

Planday Response

5 years ago

Dear Michael, Thanks for your review of Planday! We're happy to hear that you're enjoying the app. Thank you also for your suggestion about a recurring availability feature - I've passed this on to our Development team. Thanks again!

Doris
Office Manager in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Overall experience has been positive.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Good management.

Pros:

I like that my employees can easily and quickly keep me informed of any changes or request that they have via text or email. That changes or work schedules are updated in real time. That off site employees can clock in. That the program is very easy to set up and use. That the support has always been excellent. This software has had a significant impact on my ability to manage my staff in a way that is efficient for them and our office.

Cons:

That some functions such as editing some things such as vacation request and schedule changes are still a bit tedious. Hopefully this will be improved with update.

Alexander
Owner in Norway
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The smartest and best employee scheduling app, with punch-clock

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Saving a lot of time

Pros:

Super-easy to use and roll out new schedules for the employees and plan vacations. Also allowing punch-clock to be limited to the workplaces Wifi or location to punch in. Easy for employees to switch time-scheludes.

Cons:

Hope that in the future, that the schedules can be integrated to my iCal Calendar and to our web-based cashierapp, Front Systems

Planday Response

4 years ago

Thank you for the great review, Alexander!! Happy to hear we've made scheduling and punching in easier for MODO AS. Regarding the iCal integration, we're currently beta testing this feature and hope to roll it out shortly. Thanks again - it's great to have you on board :)

Mindy
Coordinator in US
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Customer Support

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Randy in Customer Support has been fantastic. I encountered a problem with my account and he called me back within minutes and was able to help me resolve the issue. He is polite, patient and professional. I highly recommend Planday for staff scheduling needs.

Pros:

I like the flexibility and customization features.

Cons:

Some of the features don't fit with the Education model and we don't need any of the payroll data fields.

Planday Response

6 years ago

Hi Mindy, Thanks for your review! It's always wonderful to hear from our happy customers. I believe Randy has already been in touch with you regarding your requests. Also, have you heard about our Ambassador Program, where you can earn money for recommending Planday? You can learn more about the program here: http://planday.com/ambassador Thanks for using Planday! Jennifer

Fady
Education Assistant in US
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My experience with Planday has been exceptional!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I am able to schedule and create payroll reports for payments.

Pros:

What I like most about this software is the support. Customer rep has been very patient and very helpful every step of the way.

Cons:

What I like least about this software is the occasional server errors that happen.

Planday Response

5 years ago

Dear Fady, Thanks for your review! It's great to hear you're happy with Planday and Randy's support. Thanks again! Jennifer

Kevin J
Director of IT in
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

We chose Planday Domestic

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We are a small company, less than ten employees with the intention of someday being bigger. We needed a time and attendance software that allowed remote access, allowed calendar scheduling, analytics, payroll sync, and real time communication on events and expectations. We did not want to spend a lot of money.

Pros:

Plan day allows us to grow with employees and locations, they charge us monthly by the number of users. We can access all of the features from anywhere using the login console. The Graphics look professional and the staff had very little difficulty getting used to the system.

Cons:

Local WiFi is recommended, but really, it is essential to experience all of the features. There is a thirty day free trial, a second month to break it in and review accumulated data would have been helpful before the roll out.

alexander
AGM in UK
Sports, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

famtastic application for all

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: overall our experiance with planday has been positive and has proven much better that anyu program we tried previous

Pros:

staff resouce planning, payroll, break allocation and messaging.

Cons:

cross platfor use between app and computer version not always great

Gita
Owner in US
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Awesome!!!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: it's awesome! take advantage of the 30 day free trial if youre scared to jump right in

Pros:

I started off using the 30 day free trial with this as many programs dont offer trials anymore and I honestly fell in love!

Kazim
director in UK
Media Production, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Makes scheduling staff easy

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Drag and drop functionality. Nice, clean, fresh layout. It's also good that staff can swap shifts between themselves, giving them more flexibility and without putting a greater admin burden on managers. They listen to users and constantly improve the product. The in app weather forecast visibility makes it much easier to forecast footfall and schedule.

Cons:

Could do with a few more reporting options and although it has a lot of useful integrations, it could benefit from having an integration with a Human Resources management app perhaps.

Jesse
Director in
Medical Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

PlanDay = Free day

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Plan day has allowed me to reduce the time it takes me to create a two week schedule by 2/3rds. It also has reduced the amount of managing the schedule on my end and placed it on the staff.

Pros:

Saves time, reduces the time need to manage every shift change, vacation requests, and open shift. Makes Staff responsible for their own schedule management. The Punch Clock has also been great to manage when the staff clocks in and out. The BEST support ever!

Cons:

While working on a schedule the staff can see it in real time and can cause confusion until it is complete. I did submit a request to PLANDAY to have an area to work on the schedule in private then publish it to the staff.

James
Chief Operating Officer in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

5 Stars from Chexology (SharkTank featured item rental economy SaaS)

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We are a NYC-based item rental SaaS that typically hires, trains, and staffs 400-1,000 W4 brand ambassadors during the winter season. Previously, we used ShiftPlanning, which was expensive, had an outdated UI, and an unfriendly mobile experience. I reached out to Cody knowing I'd need my team's buy-in to terminate our old vendor. He made it a 1-week decision with a better price and a superior product. The great thing about Planday is intelligent control over your workers' organization and being able to reach them in many ways (Twilio type SMS, required reads, news feed) to make your client comfortable. The best thing is having an "on-demand" shift grabbing feature to make work equitable and replacements instant. We sort of up-sell Planday into our services now as being "best-in-class." I don't think I'm lying! Thanks guys. - James Zhang
Chief Operating Officer
Chexology LLC

Planday Response

7 years ago

Hi James, Thanks a lot for your positive review. We are very proud to hear that you find Planday "Best-in-Class", and we hope you'll keep on being a satisfied customer. Best regards Frans, Planday

Marc
Director of Operations in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Planday Review

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Planday was one of the most useful tools i have come across for organizing shifts and punch clock information

Tanya
Finance Manager in UK
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Customer support let it down

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Disappointed

Pros:

It has many good features, our staff scheduling department like the scheduler, Payroll like the punch clock.

Cons:

It is not very flexible and we are still waiting for issues to be resolved some 8 months on. We cant use it for payroll as there is an issue within Planday that the development team need to resolve (8 months on and still waiting). The other main issue is customer support, we wait for days and sometimes weeks for a reply, cant talk to anyone, it all has to be done by email therefore operationally things come to a standstill. HR records could be developed to include more personal information.

Tim
Tim
Operation Manager in UK
Sports, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Brilliant

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Simple easy to use, all the staff love the app

Cons:

Occasionally Glitchy, due to updates and software