15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Microsoft SQL Server Reviews

4.6 (1,952) Write a Review!

About Microsoft SQL Server

Database and analysis offering for rapidly delivering the next generation of scalable e-commerce & line-of-business solutions.

Learn more about Microsoft SQL Server

Pros:

For beginners this could be something positive because of the velocity of the learning curve. The integration with the business process is really easy when working with other Microsoft technologies.

Cons:

Licensing is confusing, whenever you have license by call or by CPU core, it's a bit hard to understand how they apply the prices.

Microsoft SQL Server ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Microsoft SQL Server has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 1,952 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Microsoft SQL Server before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,952)

Martha Leah
Martha Leah
Infrastructure CEO in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft SQL Server Review

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Seriously? This is not a question worth replying to.

Pros:

I have lived and breathed MS SQL Server for all my life in the IT Industry. I am still breathing SQL.

Cons:

Seriously? Microsoft SQL Server is one of the best ever. ORACLE is still up there.

Andy
Andy
Technology Planning for Transport Networks in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Microsoft products are usually stable and reliable.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: SQL Server allows a large number of accesses without affecting performance. Once switched, there are no performance issues. Many users and developers have stated that the process is faster and more convenient thanks to the application. Access is used for the database and this has led to slow performance when the number of data increases. Large amounts of data sometimes require slow operations.

Pros:

SQL Server is the enterprise system database, and its toolset is provided as standard. Many departments in the company use it as a database when creating a small system. Its graphical user interface is easy to use even for beginners, and its data can be queried seamlessly from other Microsoft products such as Access.

Cons:

The application has very few bugs and offers stable operation. The core elements of the product's usability remain the same despite repeated changes. Both the cost and feature set of Oracle is superior to NetSuite.

Wilmer Josué
Computer Science Engineering in Honduras
Libraries, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SQL Server as a primary tool for developers

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been using SQL server since the first periods of college in my programming classes, as a storage of information I have been taught its practical use both personally and for program development in companies. I find it a very useful and versatile tool, it is used with ease as long as the developer has studied enough information about sql server because a novice and a pro can delete by mistake a whole database, you have to be careful because there are no request messages to deny the deletion. To use the tool I recommend to practice a lot and to comment the coding.

Pros:

What I liked about the tool is the practical use it has, it can be used by novices in an easy way, as long as someone teaches them the basics, it is very useful on a daily basis due to the management of databases and their respective migration to other platforms. The management of the information becomes useful, it is versatile to changes before, during and after the development of the project.

Cons:

What I liked least is the interface and the work area because when moving a part of that interface it is not very intuitive to place it to the default place, I have had problems with that and also that for processes of adding data I find the work space very small.

Abhinav
IT Head in India
Entertainment, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SQL Server : Best database I have ever seen .

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

User friendly interface, extensive documentation , large community support , automatic backups, overall robust performance

Cons:

Nothing as such. Till this time SQL is great to use and deploy.

Dan
IT Manager in UK
Renewables & Environment, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It is still a good option

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: It is reliable; I can't see problems with data integrity checks or reporting. The ability to connect it to anything and everything is remarkable.

Pros:

I like the security setup, and the ability to export databases and configurations.

Cons:

The Microsoft licensing structure for SQL is a bit odd. Some options are available for dual-core but not for single-core. Why is that?

Nitheen
Software Developer in US
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for Database management

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Querying the db is easy and storage is also well maintained. Db support is also great. Overall integration to Microsoft sql server is also easy and works best

Cons:

I can not think of any con for such a great database system

Edward
Lead infrastructure engineer in US
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft SQL review

5.0 last month New

Comments: Very good - best relational DB application for running on Windows

Pros:

It works well with all Microsoft platforms

Cons:

Backing up to shared drive using Legato was time consuming

Matt
AM in US
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft SQL Server

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The software is easy to use, and the view makes it easy to see all the tables.

Cons:

I do not like that it does not have a commit and rollback feature.

madhava
team lead in India
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft SQL Server

5.0 last month New

Comments: SQL Server is not just a database engine; it provides many other services, tools, and applications

Pros:

Microsoft SQL Server has an activity monitor that will show any errors. I have been using Microsoft SQL Server for 12 years and I have no complaints. Microsoft SQL Server is great, as long as the user is familiar enough with it

Cons:

Difficult licensing process that’s always changing

Ali
Engineer in Türkiye
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

The first thing that comes to mind when it comes to database

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Sql servarda is the number one player available on many platforms.

Cons:

The system uses resources more than its gnu competitors.

Yuvraaj
I.T. Tech in Trinidad & Tobago
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

There's a reason why most people choose SQL Server over other database softwares

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have never had any problems with SQL Server. It was always efficient and capable of doing whatever needed to be done.

Pros:

Security is one of the most important aspects of database software since sensitive information can be stored in databases. SQL Servers are some one of the most secure servers out there so data is safe from hackers. The scaling aspect of this software is great so whether your business is very small or very large that uses huge amounts of data to be stored, SQL servers can scale and use appropriate resources to handle databases therefore no lagging issues and problems querying databases etc. which makes it extremely fast and efficient. With the large community that uses SQL Server, you have answers to almost all questions that you may have if you encounter any difficulties setting up or using the software, so troubleshooting is made really easy.

Cons:

Cost could be an issue as this software could be a bit expensive however with that being said, you definitely will get quality. Also there might be certain compatibility issues with other non Microsoft software that your company may use so in some cases you might have to switch over to Microsoft softwares in your company depending on what they are.

Maheshvarideen
Security in India
Alternative Medicine, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Microsoft

5.0 last year

Comments: I am using it only but many people are doing it and its result is very good.

Pros:

it is very good software it gives very good server i am using it for almost two years

Cons:

I have run it for two years its complete result is very good

Paolo
Software Engineer in Italy
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The quintessential database server

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: From the administrative point of view, database management is certainly more efficient than in the past, I must say that in some cases we have been able to solve particular data extractions that without the use of the T-SQL language we would not have been able.

Pros:

Microsoft has always tried over the years to improve its flagship product, achieving good stability and robustness. For administrators, the management interface is particularly useful and easy to use. SQL Server has allowed us to manage several databases at the same time from our applications without problems giving the possibility to colleagues to have, for example, always updated sales data.

Cons:

Unfortunately I must also report the defects and in this case in my opinion the interface for administrators has become too slow in terms of starting in the latest versions. Sometimes product updates do not install correctly, even if this rarely happens it can create a general disservice almost always in time of need.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

every day using MS SQL Server

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: have +10 years experience in SQl server , i have create a lot of apps depend on it as database storage engine

Pros:

- every day i use it through management studio or from C# Code by using Entity framework and you can depend on it in any scale application ( small - medium - and large ) - easy integrate with applications - good security -have a good Replication feature

Cons:

it expensive compared by other competitors

Robert
Robert
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

SQL Server Great for SQL Database Creation

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, my experience with SQL Server has been pleasant. If I had employees, I would strongly recommend them to use is as their main source to create SQL databases. It makes sense to use a platform that is specialized and can be a one stop shop. That is what SQL Server is.

Pros:

I love the ability to create SQL databases separate from Visual Studio. Although you can create databases in VS, I like how SQL Server Management Studio is designed specifically for database creation. Plus, it has advanced features for database admins which Visual Studio does not. After creating a database, the admin can migrate the SQL Server database in Visual Studio.

Cons:

It is difficult to learn if someone at a beginning level is using it. They will need to utilize the many tutorials provided within EDX.org, youtube or Udemy (to name a few) to learn it. It makes sense if you know how to create SQL databases and the SQL language prior to using it. If not, I suggest to learn SQL first prior to jumping into SQL Server to do database management.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Relational Database Management System

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall had a great experience as the name suggests that "Microsoft SQL Server" the first word of the product defines it all and have a huge impact on its sale and purchase.

Pros:

As a Microsoft SQL Server administrator , i like the community and the support that Microsoft community provides as it has a very powerful knowledge base if i stuck in some problem i just google it and the problem has been resolved in minutes.

Cons:

Microsoft should increase the performance of few of its products as it is very slow as compared to Oracle and DB2 . And should consider on Monitoring of the databases as database administrator primary objective is to monitor the instances continuously.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

SQL Server 2017 on Linux! It works..

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have been a SQL Database administrator for over 10 years. I recently had the challenge of implementing it in Linux environments, mainly due to the low cost of licensing / subscription.
The product behaves in a very stable way, and delivers superior processing capacity (performance).

Pros:

Operating system licensing is always an additional cost. What I like most about SQL for Linux is the possibility to reduce this cost drastically, with an amazing OS and extremely stable SQL in this environment. Adjusting the environment variables for SQL is a differentiator.

Cons:

The lack of reporting services is a terrible shortage. It could have an alternative in Apache, or even allow integration with Windows servers for this demand.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to configure, difficult to master

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Easily the most intuitive RDBMS software out of the box.

Pros:

The most noteworthy features of Microsoft SQL Server are the many tools and wizards that allow even novice users to get started by creating tables and views without extensive knowledge of relational databases. The query wizard can even assist with creating queries with its intuitive IDE. These features lower the intimidating barrier to entry that accompanies other relational database software such as Oracle or MySQL. There is even a free version call Express that allows anyone to dabble in the software before committing to the product. Aside from the user assisted features, the other appealing aspect of SQL Server is the integration with other Microsoft products that are probably already running in an organization. SQL Server interfaces with Active Directory allowing for easy user management so appropriate levels of database access can be allotted via group membership. This is useful because even something simple like user access management in another RDBMS may present a learning curve for anyone that is not a DBA. With SQL Server a general IT resource could manage user access with an existing knowledge of Active Directory providing more time to focus on core database design.

Cons:

SQL Server carries a high cost subscription based licensing cost. The user assistance features provide a great introduction to relational databases, but there is still a significant and continuous learning curve. Databases continue to evolve with industry need. Anyone that interacts significantly with SQL Server during day to day database or application design may need to consider yearly training to keep up with all the changes.

Surender
Technical Lead in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best DBMS tool for scalable enterprises

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience is 100% satisfactory because of its robust feature. I recommend this to all either its a large or small scale compan y because SQL server can handle large quantities of data and process it smoothly. Just loving it.

Pros:

Microsoft SQL server is one of the best database management system that provide top rated performance optimisation with SQL queries, below is the list of top highlights: 1. Richness of user interface that provides ease of use with cool features like dock able windows. 2. Intelligence window is prominent feature that saves a lot of development time up to large extent. 3. Code debugging and performance tuning with query flow maps is the best features that assures about code optimisation. 4. Microsoft SQL Server Agent is provided with this software and that runs the automatic jobs in very secure way and later we can track the statements executed. 5. We can filter out the records in SQL Server Agent interface based on our interest. 6. Code snippet manager makes it easy to write high standard code that is perfact for code convention. 7. Most prominent feature is that it can handle large quantities of data, runs automatic jobs with concurrent transactions. 8. At last it's a Microsoft product that provides a belief to users.

Cons:

I have been using SQL server from version 2012 to 2014 and never troubled with SQL server's performance in any way. However I feel that error details must long descriptive when statement have some syntax error. Sometime its pathetic when we wants to know the exact error line but is hints the whole block of code instead of exact line number. Otherwise Its a great product and happy with it.

Shawn
Financial Systems Data Analyst in US
Legal Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SQL Server a Building Block of Tech Stack

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Good overall experience. We're addressing the need to store, transform, and retrieve data. Information has become the backbone of many technological and business operations, and almost everything I work on goes through a SQL database to accomplish the job. It's one tier of applications that is used almost everywhere. SQL Server allows us to query data for reporting to end users, and also provides options to move and transform the data to different environments.

Pros:

At our firm, we have a completely Microsoft tech stack; from servers, databases, middleware, peripheral applications, etc. When using all Microsoft products, it is extremely easy to connect and integrate between applications, servers, and databases. I am less sure about integrating with other providers (such as oracle), but I know its possible with a little more effort. Maintenance, backups, restores, disaster recovery plans all seem routine now. The product is very familiar and there is ample documentation and general SQL training. Get a good DBA and your servers will stay healthy as well; certain system settings are important, and monitoring those and adjusting for your business is prudent. SSMS is an easy IDE to use and perform any function. You can use SQL to automate many tasks, and I really like the SQL jobs. SSIS lets me automate so much, even to and from external vendors, using SFTP or some other mechanism. It extends SQL Server to use any script or basic Windows command.

Cons:

When you run into an issue, it can be hard to resolve. An example would be when Microsoft data connectors aren't working. Understanding and getting the right supporting software installed is important; like OLE DB and ODBC connectors. Another difficulty can be performance. As data sets get larger, this is more important. While there are enough tools to investigate and troubleshoot, sometimes it's just a big effort to try to query tune, index, or adjust server settings to get the results in performance that you want. Queries seem to only get more complex, and data sets larger. I am pretty sure other databases will perform better with Big Data.

alfredo
alfredo
ventas in Mexico
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

If you are working from scratch,it is relatively easy to set up a new database server and connectivi

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

If you are working from scratch, it is relatively easy to set up a new database server and connectivity between clients. Everything is quite simple, given that you have knowledge of the database. The DBMS allows you to easily create several things completely in design (tables, views, etc.), which is a great advantage when you do not know all the syntax. The integration of other monitoring software such as fog light is very easy without the consumption of time. Great ability to handle all complex query requirements. Suite of advanced functions of sql. Provide all the excellent functionalities, such as Reporting Services, Integration Services, Job Scheduler, Resource Manager, Query Analyzer and Profiler, etc. Each of these modules is perfectly constructed and manages the tasks effectively. Configurable in each level. The user permission is on all objects and other higher levels. Changes can be made for specific privileges at the user level. Window service based on Control to the server to start and stop the service. I think one of the best things about Microsoft SQL (currently using 2012) is the Developer Network and the useful resources that are available. Thanks to the network of developers, I have been able to learn much more about queries and create more useful and advanced queries over time. Things like Transact-SQL (T-SQL) are useful many times due to the large number of new queries that can be generated after learning T-SQL.Compatibility with most SQL Server administ

Cons:

Sometimes, performance when executing some long queries is not what you would expect. Although the power of the CPU is important for this part, but in the company we have state-of-the-art servers in the NAP of the Americas, so it seems a software problem instead of a hardware problem. Some of the configurations of previous versions (2008 - 2012) are quite clumsy and not very well done - I have had several instances of my corrupt installer and have to re-download. The administrator of the database, sometimes, takes time to load. Scalability is excellent, but not the best, like other new databases in the market. The memory consumption of the CPU is always more than normal in the production specifically by the sql server. Scope of the improvement in the profile generator for the most used options. Sometimes, if it is not handled properly with a predefined scheme, the relations and the maintenance of the data become a problem. This happens mainly only when it comes to new users or with people who do not work as part of a larger workforce that manages the system. Certain add-ons also provide useful features, but if SQL added them, it would save users the problem of finding and installing them. The database is the target of many attacks from your SA account, this should be disabled by default and just after installation, about 30 seconds, the attacks begin, with many requests per second, need to improve the firewall to prevent these attacks, or place the SQL Server inside a VPN

Gordon
Senior SAP Consultant in Canada
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft SQL Server will meet all your Database Server needs

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Overall, Microsoft SQL server is a powerful database server option in the market.

Pros:

- Microsoft SQL server is indeed a robust Database Server option. In this review, I will talk about Microsoft SQL in terms of SAP and compare it to its alternative option in SAP - the HANA Server. - When it comes to SAP ERP, our clients have two options for their database server needs - Microsoft SQL Server or HANA server. Microsoft SQL server is great option that will get the job done. Most of us consultants, have the SQL server installed in our local machines since it is impossible to install the HANA server in our local machines because of the heavy resources needed. SAP HANA requires a minimum of 32 GB ram for example.- Microsoft SQL server is easy to install especially the if you are installing the Express Version which is very light and install quickly. - I did not require much training to be able to use the basic features of Microsoft SQL server and I get a free license for my local machine if you install the evaluation version on your machine.

Cons:

- Compared to SAP HANA Server, Microsoft SQL Server has less analytical capabilities but generally, Microsoft SQL is a powerful database server option in the market.- There is a bit of a learning curve involved. If you want to be able to do some complex tasks in Microsoft SQL server, you might need to employ the use of some learning material.

Rob
Database Developer in Bulgaria
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SQL Server - One of the most powerful databases

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I have been working with SQL Server for 3 years at work and at home for my home projects. I enjoy working with it. It is easy to install, easy to maintain for normal purposes and there are a lot of cool features even in the free versions - for example Express and Developer. I think that it is a very powerful engine - the latest charts also show this by putting SQL Server in one of the first places for the best Databases. I pretty enjoy working with it and pretty recommend it. For years, the companies where I have been working relied on SQL Server and my observation is that it proves its expectations very good.

Pros:

1. It has different types of subscriptions - you can either test it with free versions, either use it to develop different projects or when you get in love with it - you can buy it with its powerful features. 2. It is a very good working engine. 3. SQL Server has stability, and the performance mechanisms are very cool. 4. You can maintain multiple instances and databases on one server. 5. There are a lot of built-in functions that developers can use, instead of writing their own. 6. Since the latest years, I think there are more and more new things to explore in newer versions - that is a point which shows that Microsoft invests a lot in their product. 7. It is reliable.

Cons:

Since these years I didn't notice something which I do not like. On the contrary, I pretty like the product and all its features that I have been using through these years, and hope that in the future releases of SQL Server there won't be disappointing things, but only cool ones.

Giovanni
Giovanni
Analyst Programmer in Panama
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A fairly robust database engine with excellent functionalities

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: As a database engine it is a very powerful and good tool, currently very portable between Windows and Linux systems, which allows you to choose between several operating systems for its implementation, although its cost can be somewhat high, it does not require an annual licensing to maintain its use.

Pros:

A very robust and quite reliable database engine provides a wide variety of tools and options that allow you to perform settings as daily tasks in an efficient way. Today it is compatible with almost any operating system allowing you to configure it in the environment that best suits your needs.

Cons:

Although it is a very portable and robust database engine, its refusal comes with its licensing, which can be very expensive, also its resource consumption can be high in very complex tasks, this leading to the need to invest in very high-end resources in order to meet the demand.

Felix
SR business analyst in US
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great database for small To medium business

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I used sql server in the past until cloud based database system like Hadoop and Google cloud are available. this tools is complex and extensive. There are a lot of features and functionalities to create stable and high rated database system like cursor, functions, stored procedures, etc. However, when the data requirements grows exponentially, the system unable to handle the load which takes significant amount of time to query. This is where company looks for better solution to handle big data load using cloud based database. SQL server going to be recognized as the pioneer of database system that set the standard of SQL language for similar products. Perhaps overtime they also evolve with better solutions to handle big data load; something that I have no knowledge about.

Pros:

Relationship database is structured database management that create with data integrity and reliability in mind.

Cons:

Slow performance with big data load requirements. Also physically need to build primary keys for each tables instance.