15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Veryfi Receipts OCR & Expenses Reviews

About Veryfi Receipts OCR & Expenses

Modern mobile products for your team to automate bookkeeping, meet statutory tax obligations, and gain real-time business insights.

Learn more about Veryfi Receipts OCR & Expenses

Pros:

Saves time with OCR capturing vital info from receipt or invoice. Allowed us to enter the project, job cost codes, etc for job costing when other exp mgmt solutions did not offer job costing options.

Cons:

They all came in, but the information was lost unfortunately.

Veryfi Receipts OCR & Expenses ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.8
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

Veryfi Receipts OCR & Expenses has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 162 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Veryfi Receipts OCR & Expenses before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (162)

David
David
Owner/Operator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Restaurants, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

After a long search, I finally found this gem!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Game Changer! I was with all popular Ex******* for several years when I received an email from fbe CEO stating that anyone that did not agree with him politically was “unpatriotic” I am sure many reading this are aware of this. This disgusted me because I would not continue to do business with them after reading such an asinine statement. I was upset because other than Zoho and Concur I did think any company offered the same product with credit integration. Many that do often have a 5 user minimum which is not practical for most small businesses. For weeks I searched and demoed options. All we're either none-intuirive, offered poor support or too inferior to the app I was leaving. Somewhere I stumbled on Veryfi and after visiting the page, expected it was too good to be true. I was just waiting to read “5 user minimin” or see some red flag on it's limitations. Finding Veryfi was equal to stumbling upon a Gold ingot. Not only did it check every box I required, it truly proved that even big names line Expensify offer little time savings when it comes to reconciling recieots, expenses and creating reports. I can say this with certainty as someone that has had used the Concurs, Expensifies and Zohos of the world or many years. I thought I was happy and thought I was using the best until I tried Veryfi. I am not exaggerating when I say that it is on a different level on almost every single day.

Pros:

I like the ability to integrate credit cards. Not only from the 4-5 largest banks but from hundreds of banks. This is not seen from competitors. For example, I have a Amazon Visa but also have an Amazon Store Credit card (no visa/mastercard). I also have a best buy store credit card (again only good at that business. I was floored to see that Veryfi integrated with these too!

Cons:

So far, I am a couple of months last the 30 day free trial. Other than using the software have not taken the time to really customize it to my business and automate to.many tasks. No complaints this far and I hope that will stay the same.

Veryfi Response

3 years ago

Love it! Thank you David for your lovely feedback. btw, we have volume discounts if your employees want access as well :-)

Linda
Realtor in US
Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good product, responsive customer service

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Easy to take photos and load receipts. I liked being able to categorize with the names that I preferred to use for my expenses. I could add "tags" too which was helpful if I wanted to track a particular client for example and determine how much I spent on that person, or that property, for example. *Please note that while I selected my use as "monthly" I was using it monthly and then didn't use it for about a year, and I'm wanting to get back to it (I've been paying for it and QB this whole time and not ieither one, fully).

Pros:

I used this software for a couple of years, and the only issues I had were logging income so that an accurate P&L could be created. The developers worked with me and my CPA to correct the issues we were having and I really appreciated their responses to our concerns. Overall, my CPA recommended that I switch to QuickBooks. I did, but it's been not easy to use, has poor customer service and is overpriced and too "busy/cluttered" for what I need which is simplicity because my business is simple. I wish I had kept up with Veryfi's expense tracker, because changing programs is not easy to do even in a simple business. I would recommend Veryfi for sure! I think they even resolved the issues I had in the past.

Cons:

Back when I was using it regularly, the income option was reversing numbers and not accurately representing P&L reports. I think the developers corrected this since then.

Veryfi Response

last year

Thanks for your detailed review! Hopefully you were able to make the switch back to Veryfi and gain as much productivity and benefit as possible. If not, we're continually improving our app, so if it's been a while since you last used it, you may want to check it out again. Cheers, The Veryfi Team

Ravi
Chief Business Development Officer in Canada
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Hopeless customer support

1.0 9 months ago

Comments: The system is excellent and if it were to work would be invaluable. Unfortunately it doesn't work, and I'm left hanging.

Pros:

I love the software and systems, but receipt images are corrupted, meaning as an archival DB this is useless. The software cannot be relied on to keep your receipt images.

Cons:

As above, customer services is hopeless. Software images corrupted and no one at veryfi seems to care much.

Veryfi Response

3 months ago

Thank you for your review and feedback. The app is not meant to keep all images forever. Very sorry that you contacted us and no one replied. Please Contact Us via veryfi.com if you need any further assistance. We'll do better this time.

Karim
Director in Canada
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

After testing over 60 different product, this one was by far the best

Cons:

The trial was too short but we ended up subscribing

Veryfi Response

3 months ago

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoy using this product! Please Contact Us if you need any further assistance, and thanks for subscribing.

Daniel
Mr in US
Hospitality, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The app I use every day. Highly recommend!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I used to have to spend an hour each month matching a shoebox filled with receipts to my credit card bills. Now I don't even have to keep the paper receipts. I simply scan them with Veryfi, and in seconds, i have a digital copy with all the important info already populated into categories (payment type, expense category, merchant, date, etc). Then at the end of the month, their intuitive web based platform matches all my expenses to any bank feeds I have linked. What used to take me an hour now takes minutes!

Pros:

Veryfi is very easy to use and has some great features. I love how easy it is to scan paper store receipts, or email web based receipts. It uses the latests security protocols (Yodlee handles all the bank/credit card integrations, they use 2FA to log in) and has saved me a ton of time managing my expenses.

Cons:

In cases where a receipt has multiple expenses which are considered separate purchases (Amazon does this a lot), the software requires multiple steps to separate them. When I'm matching credit card charges from linked accounts to my Veryfi receipts, I have to leave the bank feed section, go into the documents section, and clone the receipt to separate the charges, then go back to the bank feed section to match the receipts. I hope they can design a shortcut within the bank feed to accomplish this, to cut down on steps.

Veryfi Response

3 years ago

Daniel, Thank you for your nice feedback and support. I'd love to help you out with the Amazon receipts. Please email [email protected] and let's explore what we can improve on our end to make this work. Best, Ernest (cofounder)

Louis
Chiropractor in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Receipt manager and expense tracjer

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I love it and the overall customer service is outstandingly spectacular

Pros:

I love the ease of capturing the receipt, the swiftness of it's processing and the accuracy!

Cons:

I would like to capture more than one receipt at a time without having to always press the capture button.

Veryfi Response

3 years ago

Louis, Thank you for your nice feedback and support Regarding capturing more photos after each scan- this is possible. Inside the app, press COLLECT to start the Camera then press the ... (3 dots) in the top right of the screen. This opens MORE dropdown and then select SETTINGS. Inside the Settings view, TURN OFF "After Scan Close Camera". That's it :-) If you need help we are here at [email protected] Best, Ernest

Rush
CPA in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent OCR and sync with QB Online

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Good experience with Veryfi.

Pros:

Saves time with OCR capturing vital info from receipt or invoice Allowed us to enter the project, job cost codes, etc for job costing when other exp mgmt solutions did not offer job costing options Reliable sync to QB online Easy document management report of all receipts and invoices

Cons:

A little difficult to locate filters when searching for receipts or invoices When set to autosync, it sent info to QB online before finalized

Veryfi Response

last year

Thanks for your review! We appreciate your detailed comments, and are happy to see that our software is making your job costing easier. Feel free to provide additional feedback to [email protected], we always appreciate hearing from customers about how we can make them more productive. Cheers, The Veryfi Team

Chris
Owner in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A Must-Have for Small Business Owners

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Veryfi has helped me to keep my books up-to-date in real-time. I now feel like I am on top of my bookkeeping, instead of procrastinating each month and playing catch-up.

Pros:

The OCR feature for capturing and organizing receipts is incredibly accurate. I love that it saves me so much time over manually entering all my expenses!

Cons:

At $15 per month, it was almost more than I was willing to pay as a small business owner. However, I think it makes up for the price in the amount of time it saves me.

Veryfi Response

3 years ago

Chris, Thank you for the nice detailed feedback and support. Best, Ernest (cofounder)

Andrew
COO in Canada
Consumer Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Fantastic

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Exactly what I needed for managing and logging paper receipts

Cons:

Occasionally on those that are faded it can be hard to read, but at no fault of the app.

Veryfi Response

5 days ago

Thank you for enjoying our product! Reach out for support whenever you need!

Alexandra
Owner in South Korea
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Exactly what I was looking for

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I wanted something simple: take a picture, let the app sort out all the details and allow me to check my expenses in one place. Verify does that!

Cons:

I wish they had a free version if you just want to keep a record of your receipts and not add any other services in.

Veryfi Response

5 days ago

Thank you for enjoying our product! Reach out for support whenever you need!

Dan
Manager in Australia
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Verify has saved me time and money. The amount of time we used to devote to coding expenses has dropped to a fraction of what it used to be saving on book keepers fees. Also there were always receipts that I lost along the way which meant lost reimbursement from clients. It’s also great to have a scanned record of every expense available if the need arises.

Pros:

Very easy to use. It saves me a lot of time especially when i am on the road. The scanning or recipts is right most of the time and its great how it links into my accounting package and bank feeds. It also "guesses" what the accounting classification should be. I travel overseas a lot so the multi currency ability of verify is also fantastic. Saves me trying to work out what the conversion rates should have been. Its also very useful when I get emailed receipts (which is happening more and more) as I can forward then directly to verify for auto entry into the system. Finally having somewhere to be able to store and search for all my old receipts is very handy when clients accounting departments ask to see the documents. i haven't had the need for support much (which is a testament to the product) but when I did they were very prompt in responding and solving my issues. Great work guys!

Cons:

Which the OCR and allocation of expenses to my expenses ledgers is good it could still be better.I am sure thats something the verify team are working on. Also when I sign up (which was quite a while ago) It took me some time to work out how to use the product, but when I did I was away. I believe they now offer 1 to 1 training online which is great, but I think they should also add some more "how to" video's to help new users get up to speed quicker.

Veryfi Response

6 years ago

Dan, Thank you so much for a detailed review. Love it! I totally agree on more help videos. The product is getting complex and we are constantly looking at ways to simplify. Saying that we just released our 1st onboarding checklist video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_T-rRK0dzE and more are coming this week on our youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC15iI-2ujjOOQsit1To-IJA

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Quick, Easy, AI powered.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: With Veryfi I can manage all expense reports for my projects, control and see the expenses values on going, by category or vendor.
And the best for me is that i can create the expense the expense report at the end of the month just with on click.
It solves the problem for me to manage the expense data and documents needed for the tax information and deductions.
Again, Thank you Veryfi Team.

Pros:

The app has a very easy interface and is very fast. When you need to scan a receipt, is just one click to open the app e other to click on the camera icon! The AI take car to get all data correctly about the vendor, values and taxes. I tested a lot of apps and Veryfi is the best in document recognition for receipts. and I almost forgot the great feature that I already use in other apps for travelling that is to directly send the receipts to my @veryfi account. Thank you Veryfi team.

Cons:

This is not a con but a new feature that can help a lot. I really need to export all documents to sent to my tax consultant and it will be very easy if we have this option to select when we create the expense reports, like on option (x) include document images as a zip file. And the other thing, of course, is the name! I always try or write the correct one "Verify". Here is my suggestion for this one ... Just get this domain "http://verify.io/", add AI, Blockchain and ML to the project, do and ICO... and be very rich!

Veryfi Response

5 years ago

Thank you for your detailed review and support! Helps us improve the product to meet our customer needs. Regarding the export data as zip/reports/csv.. we have all that. It's outlined here https://www.veryfi.com/howto/expense-reporting/ but please feel free to email us [email protected] if you need help finding something etc... Thank you again for the feedback! Best, Ernest (cofounder)

Ryan
Travel Writer in Croatia
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Receipt Capturing App Around

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

This app does everything I need that many apps can’t do. Receipt capture, data collection of price, time and business name, automatically changes the file name to what you need it to say (date/business name/price) and automatically uploads it to Google drive organized and easy during tax season to match my statements with the proof of receipt.

Cons:

Wish they had discounted prices for loyal customers. I’ve been using this app for over 2+ years and have helped with bugs since I was an initial user

Veryfi Response

3 years ago

Ryan, Thank you for your loyalty, support, and nice feedback! Please let [email protected] know that you left this comment and they will credit your account. Also, check out our loyalty program here https://hub.veryfi.com/referrals/ Best, Ernest (cofounder)

Ori
Principal in US
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very thoughtfully-designed expense tracking app w/super fast OCR, great features

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Multiple ways to easily input expenses: snap a photo with your phone, drag & drop via the web interface, or forward receipts by email to a dedicated email address. Also have the ability to connect Dropbox (among other third party apps) so that all my receipts are instantly backed up to a designated DB folder. I've tried several apps out there to track both personal and business expenses, and VeryFi is my favorite to date, by far. Really excellent stuff. The customer support staff have also been very helpful when needed. Keep it up, guys!

Cons:

While I'm sure some things could always be enhanced, nothing comes to mind that I would call a "dislike." So long as the team continues to tweak, update, and listen to their customers, they'll be just fine.

Veryfi Response

6 years ago

Ori, love your feedback! Thank you so much for the ongoing support. Best, Ernest

Mark
Owner in US
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

easy, quick and accurate

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We've been using the program for nearly three years and prior to finding Veryfi it was like pulling teeth to get receipts turned in for posting. Now it's so easy and once employees scan their receipt they know they can simply toss it. I'm not at 100% but I'm pretty darn close. It posts the expense straight to Quickbooks so I can follow expenses throughout the month and when I reconcile the bank statement everything matches up perfectly.

Pros:

easy and quick to use, accurately pulls expenses into Quickbooks and allows for multiple companies.

Cons:

I haven't found anything yet that I don't like about the software

Alberto
Choreographer / Dancer / Producer in US
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The absolute most essential and easy to use receipt management app

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience is exceptionally positive.

Pros:

The thing I like most is the ease of use.

Cons:

I do feel as with all apps, there’s room for improvement. Currently I feel like the refresh rate on the receipts page could be improved. As is the split function as well.

Veryfi Response

3 years ago

Alberto, Thank you for your nice feedback and support! Re split function, this is currently getting revamped (rebuilt). Stay tuned :-) Best, Ernest

Simone
Architect in Belgium
Architecture & Planning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

GREAT APP - A LITTLE PRICEY

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I've been using Veryfi since it was called IQ boxy, so more than 2 years now. I very happy. it's easy to use and very effective. I had some issues with my subscription and the customer care has been very helpful.

Cons:

I think the subscription price has rised too much

Veryfi Response

4 years ago

Hi Simone, ahhh yes IQBOXY days :-) Thank you for your feedback and rating! Appreciate the ongoing support. ~ Ernest (cofounder)

Mike
Owner in US
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Worth it's weight in Platinum!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The ability to ITEMIZE invoice and receipt items per line making every single receipt able to be used for a write off as long as there is just one item on the whole thing.

Pros:

Easy to use, very automated. Integrates with almost everything. Only took me 10 minutes to actually set up, but the more I detail the better it gets.

Cons:

So far, haven't ran into any cons yet. I am fairly new to it, and for the price I don't plan on complaining!!

Veryfi Response

3 years ago

Love the feedback! Thank you for a wonderful review, Mike! Best, Ernest (cofounder)

Brittany
Administrative Executive in US
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Veryfi is THE best & easiest app for expense tracking.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall, my experience with Veryfi is amazing. I recommend it to all the small business owners that I know, as well as regular everyday people who are keeping track of their expenses.

Pros:

I love that this program is easy to use on both its PC and app version. I also love the monthly statements it gives, and that it syncs with your bank.

Cons:

I only wish I could add multiple rules per "rule" for each vendor, etc.

Veryfi Response

6 years ago

Brittany, thank you for the review and ratings! Love em. Re "add multiple rules per "rule" for each vendor, etc." -- I'd love to hear more about this. Can you please email [email protected] ATT to Ernest? I will make sure it happens :-) Best, Ernest (cofounder)

Nathan
Personal Chef in US
Food & Beverages, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Improves Quality of Life

5.0 last year

Pros:

I love how easy it is to use and how well it picks expenses up from the receipts you provide.

Cons:

I wish theres was an easier way to track miles from the app itself.

Veryfi Response

last year

Thanks for your review! We're happy to see that our software is improving your quality of life! That's why we do what we do, and it's fantastic to see that we're helping you. Cheers, The Veryfi Team

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Events Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Veryfi Review

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

- I like how I can organize my receipts project based as we work heavily project based on accounting and finances. - I like how easy the integration between Veryfi and Quickbooks Online, which is our primary accounting software. - I like how quick it is to scan a receipt. I've tried demos of many other apps and Veryfi is by far the fastest and most accurate option when scanning receipts as the machines work for you, not people as in competitors. - I think it has a very fair pricing.

Cons:

- Tax syncing is not always accurate from the receipt. Sometimes I have to manually adjust the correct tax amount.

Veryfi Response

6 years ago

Thank you kindly for your feedback and positive ratings. Best, Ernest (cofounder) PS. Please reach out to [email protected] so we can look into the tax syncing point you made.

Karen
RN Nurse in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

What is an incredibly put together OCR & Expenses software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Such incredibly powerful OCR software that I've had an incredible experience using

Pros:

This has to be one of the best OCR & Expense software I have ever used it has all the major features you would need from easy OCR recognition to full-time tracking and payroll

Cons:

The software can become a little cumbersome do the all the features it has and it takes time to learn how to get everything set up and working like you want it to

Veryfi Response

last year

Thanks for your review! We really appreciate your business and your positive comments, and are happy to see that our software is making expense management easier for you. Cheers, The Veryfi Team

Ciaran
Owner in UK
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Excellent Resource for storing Invoices and receipts

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: VeryFi enable me to record my expenses and receipts on a regular basis with ease and keep my accounting documents up to date

Pros:

What a brilliant, expedient and simple way of recording invoices and receipts on a regular basis Just forward any receipts and/or invoices to the app and it automatically scans and picks up the details set your profile to a vat/tax percentage and it will also automatically separate that from the total

Cons:

I would love to see the vat/tax shown at the bottom of screen reports as a separate field/column

Veryfi Response

4 years ago

Love it. Thank you for your feedback and review. Please email me regarding the changes you'd like re vat/tax so we can get it into our next release schedule :-)

James
President in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Why you need Veryfi

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: See above.

Pros:

The AI is remarkable. It takes me no more than 30 seconds to complete all of the information and picture data for any expense item. Then I'm done. No box of receipts to organize. No wasted time. Wish this product was available years ago. I have literally spent days collecting and organizing this type of data for our CPA in past years.

Cons:

The fact that it wasn't available 10 years ago.

Veryfi Response

4 years ago

Love it! Thank you so much for your support and sharing your feedback on Veryfi. Best, Ernest

Joshua
owner in Canada
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Painless

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Organization

Pros:

The features that I enjoyed the most about this app are its ease of use and intergration with other accounting apps that I use frequently. I found the layout and setting up of my account very intuituve, and adding my scans was simple with the OCR doing a pretty good job of accuratley adding my reciepts. Even when it did not the process to manually enter them was easy.

Cons:

There isnt anything that stands out so far that really comes across as a con to me. Possibly better OCR but it usually picks up whatever I try to scan.Other than the fact you have to pay to use the full version lol! Maybe some different colored themes, I dont know all in all its a good app and hit every aspect of what I was looking for

Veryfi Response

6 years ago

Joshua, Thank you so much for the lovely review and great feedback! Re OCR, always working on it :-) We don't augment with humans to guarantee top notch data-privacy. Btw I'd love to hear from you what we could do better with customer support. ~ Ernest (cofounder)