Patriot Accounting Reviews

4.7 (349) Write a Review!

About Patriot Accounting

Affordable, easy, yet powerful accounting for small business owners and their accountants. Streamline your money management.

Learn more about Patriot Accounting

Pros:

I like that Patriot is an intuitive software that is easy to use. My employees find it easy to navigate as well and I'm able to integrate a fully digital payroll system which saves me time and money.

Cons:

Adjusting to a new style of format is my problem not patriots.

Patriot Accounting ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Patriot Accounting has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 349 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Patriot Accounting before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (349)

Brittany
Brittany
Strategic Account Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My experience with Patriot Accounting

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Patriot Accounting is remarkable since it has eradicated accounting errors.

Pros:

The way Patriot Accounting enables me to automate all accounting at ease is the best aspect ever on my user end.

Cons:

I hardly come across hindrances when using Patriot Accounting, and I use it on a daily basis at workstation.

Shawn
President in US
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Leave Quickbooks and never look back

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: The Onboarding team for new customers is the highest level of customer support I have every experienced. As an owner and administrator I have implemented dozens of software platforms over the past 25 years. This is the best customer support I have ever found.

Pros:

Customer support by [sensitive content hidden] are the best.

Cons:

I like everything about Patriot compared to Quickbooks

LARRY
Owner in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Honesty

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: Patriot software is great for a small business tho it is a little clunky its workable.

Pros:

Recording payments is very easy tho at times I forget to hit the save button. Also the payroll is very easy and smooth to use.

Cons:

Cant partial pay a invoice (like sending a deposit) very annoying. The whole invoice part is very clunky not smooth at all. Same with seeing Bills from vendors. Also on invoicing It would be nice to be able to have spaces in the reference (we use addresses and codes). It helps our customers see what address we billed for. I wish you could also on the invoice have the comments above the billing portion. Overall a little bit of letting us change the format of some of the built in forms would be nice

Dawn
Office Manager in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Patriot is Great Value for the money.

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: It has been a great experience using this software compared to other high dollar programs.

Pros:

Once the software was figured out it was easy to maneuver around the program and get where you want to be. Very user friendly and a great value.

Cons:

Sometimes the plaid link to the bank accounts can glitch and then you have to re link it.

Sergio
Account manager in Nicaragua
Real Estate, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Patriot does great accounting.

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Very well done and simple.

Pros:

This software has been helping our company do great with our accounting tasks. The entire accounting team loves how easily and efficiently it helps to get the work done.

Cons:

So far, we are happy with it in general.

Sally
Office Manager in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Left Quickbooks for Patriot

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: so far so good!! I am very new to it. Did a 30 day trial in Dec and started for real in January.

Pros:

The automatic downloads of my bank transactions and the functionality of that whole feature is great!So far it seems very easy to do payroll

Cons:

I wish the general ledger had a feature to make the most recent transaction show up at the top automatically. I always have to click the arrow to switch the view...a very little thing, but I'd love it if there was a setting to choose that view.

William
Owner in US
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good but could be better

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: My overall experience with patriot is there a great customer service for the software is limited.

Pros:

The features that are most impactful was the accounting and storing receipts and documents.

Cons:

Invoice layout needs work, and some updates took away features that were useful.

Greg
owner operator in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy for the busy person that works and manages their business.

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Accounting reports are professional and concise.

Pros:

Easily keeps track of accts payables, payroll liabilities, and all other expense accounts.

Cons:

I am not an accountant or even a bookkeeper, but I fill these rolls in my business. It appears a few IRS forms are not available and I would like a feature to keep track of self employment tax and estimated tax payments that may be due to help me better meet my tax responsibilities.

Matthew
Owner in US
Legal Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Love it.

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: positive

Pros:

Easy and almost idiot proof. I learned how to operate the software in minutes

Cons:

I would like to be able to have my customers pay online. The company that did it for Patriot, was hard to deal with. That was a few months ago.

Bruce
Vice President in US
Apparel & Fashion, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Patriot Payroll

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The patriot payroll system is very easy to use and blends well with our accounting.

Cons:

Generally I only have good things to say!

Jeff
Owner in US
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Price. Not intuitive, but gets the job done

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Patriot seems like a payroll company which later added accounting. The payroll module is so easy to use and they appear to have thought of everything. The accounting module is much more quirky and seems a bit haphazzard. But their people are friendly and accomodating, so hopefully, they will up their game on the accounting side. From a price standpoint, you can't beat them for an on-line program that can be shared among users (staff, bookkeeper, attorneys, etc).

Pros:

We switched from QuickBooks and that process was fairly easy, along with great support from Patriot. That's the best part of the software - the people at Patriot. They are prompt, attentive, and seem genuinely interested in improving their product. A close second is the Payroll product. It is ridiculously easy to use and far less expensive the most other on-line payroll services.

Cons:

It is not intuitive. For example, if you just want to look at your general checkbook ledger, you cannot just click on an icon. You have to go to reports and then find the one that says "account balances." There are a number of things that make sense after you do them (voiding or deleting a check is a multistep process), but it's frustrating trying to find them. One of the biggest head scratchers is that printing a three-part check only prints on two parts of the check. That seems like a pretty basic item to fix, but it's still only two-parts.

Edward
Attorney in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use and responsive customer service

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I do not use Patriot Accounting

Pros:

This software is easy to set up and even easier to use. I work for a small firm with only a couple of employees. Our payroll needs are fairly simple and Patriot is intuitive and has robust information available when needed.

Cons:

There is nothing I dislike about Patriot. I guess it would be nice if there was a mobile app that allowed me to run payroll remotely from my desktop.

Duane
Administrator in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Fair value for benefits and peace of mind

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Patriot has helped with organizing and tracking how much an account has received or spent for a year total. If there is any issues customer support has been friendly and supportive in helping resolve the issue quickly.

Pros:

Pay roll tax filing eases worries and makes business functionality easier The availability of having a support staff to call with questions is amazing.

Cons:

Adjusting the bank totals to match the starting values. When printing checks you are unable to add things in the memo line.

MARCHELLO
OWNER in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

DISAPPOINTED

3.0 3 years ago

Pros:

SET UP WAS EASY, DOWNHILL AFTER THAT. PERHAPS IT IS ACTUALLY EASIER THAN I AM EXPECTING, AND NOT GIVING IT A CHANCE.

Cons:

PERHAPS I DID NOT SETUP CORRECTLY, BUT IT SEEMS LIKE ANY TRANSACTION I DO IS LIKE PERFORMING JOURNAL ENTRIES ONLY, I AM USED TO QUICKBOOKS, VERY EASY AND INTUITIVE, PATRIOT NOT SO MUCH, EXAMPLE IS ADDING ACCOUNTS ON THE FLY IN THE MIDDLE OF TRANSACTIONS, INSTEAD OF CANCELLING TRANSACTION, AND CREATING THE ACCOUNT, THEN START OVER WITH THE TRANSACTION

Thomas
VP in US
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Patriot Accounting is a Great Solutions for Accounting and Payroll

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very Good and I am hoping that I can find a way to use the product for my other companies.

Pros:

Ability to work from Home, Office, or anywhere else is a huge plus.

Cons:

The Date field is the only thing that I deal with every day. It should default to the current day.

Nichole
Executive Director in US
Telecommunications, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

WE LOVE PATRIOT

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We switched from QuickBooks to Patriot in May, and we are SO HAPPY we made the switch! Patriot is able to do everything that QuickBooks can, but for a much more reasonable price. Patriot also does a lot of things automatically that you would have to manually enter for QuickBooks. Patriot has made my job a lot easier!

Pros:

Automatic features (i.e. transaction rules), clean design, free of clutter! Also, LOVE Patriot's customer service! <3

Cons:

I was emailing Patriot support about this - but we would really appreciate the ability to send invoices to customers and charge their credit card (instead of having the customer fill it out). We have customers that we charge every month and would love to be able to do that through Patriot, we're currently using mHelpDesk

Bernadette
Owner in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great software for small business

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall stellar service and database

Pros:

User friendly options and customer service

Cons:

There really wasn’t much that I’ve come across that I did not like

Cathleen
Business manager in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Happy user but could use improvements

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am staying with this software because its easy to use, I wish it was a little better but way easier than intuit quick books so I am staying with patriot.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to set up the software. Payroll functions are general and easy to use as well.

Cons:

I don't like how I can not fully customize reports, it only goes back 3 months for some payroll and vendor functions. Also the invoice feature is not good, the invoices look bad and are not very customizable.

Larry
President-Owner in US
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great to Use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We were in the process of talking about going back to Quick Books and decided to stay with Patriot because of costs and ease of getting live help

Pros:

Ease of getting into program Ease of. getting help Great to work with when calling in

Cons:

When trying to get to certain options on the side to use, hard to maneuver to where you want to go

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User friendly accounting software with good customer service based support

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: In short, I would say that it is the best fit for those who are looking for a system with affordable prices and userfriendly. I recommend this accounting system as a well-satisfied user.

Pros:

This software as I mentioned in the title it is extremely user-friendly for even non-finance people and also those who are new to accounting and SME business. I have been using it and most of the time I could manage by myself without getting information from my data entry assistant due to their well-organized features. Moreover, if I do need to get any assistance from their customer support team, always address immediately to my queries without any delay. It was great since we were busy clients and fulfill our requirements with full satisfaction. At last, but not least their prices are more affordable as much as lower and value for paid money.

Cons:

I just experienced a few problems at the beginning with setting up the system, But there are plenty of video tutorials available for troubleshooting that are very useful and the customer service is very effective and readily available to address our queries then and there to resolve

Scott
Principal in US
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Sad It Did Not Work Out

1.0 8 months ago

Pros:

Pricing is excellent and I've heard good things about the software, so I thought I would try it.

Cons:

I had started a small marketing company after selling my property management company. I had always used Quickbooks with my prior company and was totally happy with it. After 6 months with my new company, the cost for Quickbooks Online kept increasing. I turned to Patriot Software as a possible alternative. Unfortunately, it did not work out. I'm not an accounting person, but I never had a problem with Quickbooks. With Patriot Software, the setup was extremely confusing and difficult. I called support and set up a phone call with an advisor. I was hoping that I could schedule a session or two with a support person to help me set up. Patriot however does not work that way. While they would have someone work with me to setup my company with the software, it would cost $800. I'm sorry Patriot, but that is way to much money for a small business just starting out. I asked if there were videos that could assist me. They said yes, but they are very very limited in number and topic. Additionally, there is very little written information to give direction and to answer questions. Neither does Patriot have a process within their software that takes you step by step in setting various items up. At the end of the day, while the pricing was excellent and exactly what I was looking for, if you can't use the product it is of no value.

Kent
Owner in US
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Still using Patriot Software after 5+ years

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: With built-in time card management, I can print payroll in minutes plus free hassle-free direct deposit it just makes it easier to run the company.

Pros:

Easy to use, functionality that fits my needs.

Cons:

Still don't have a mobile app, no big deal.

Jesse
Owner in US
Media Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Patriot is low-cost, efficient accounting software

4.0 last year

Comments: I love Patriot. It's a simple accounting platform perfect for small businesses with low needs and needing a low budget solution. If they could simplify the double-entry process, or do some of that work automatically, it would be a great option for small business owners.

Pros:

Patriot's website was well designed and easy to navigate. It has a stylized but modern look, which I enjoyed. Menus and actions were easy to find, and the price was great. For my small service business I just needed invoices and transaction tracking, and Patriot provides those at a low price, with upgrades if needed.

Cons:

Since I'm not an accountant, I don't understand double-entry accounting. When it came time to enter transactions, I got lost in the journal and debit/credit entries. I was really excited to use Patriot instead of the spendy Quickbooks, but the double-entry accounting method was a giant roadblock for me that I couldn't get around.

Patriot Software Response

last year

Thanks for your kind words Jesse. Debits and credits can be confusing. Did you know that we have an "easy" toggle so instead of using debits and credits, you can decrease and increase the amounts for each account. For instance, decrease your checking and increase your expense account. Hope you give it a try! And, we are always available for help, so if you'd like to see a demo of it, please contact us!

Debbie
Owner, DFA in US
Mental Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Thank you Patriot Software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love the name, and love that it can produce my payroll easily. Every interaction with one of your employees has been successful and satisfactory.

Pros:

PS easily helps me to accomplish producing my Payroll and tracking the financial history of my employees. I greatly appreciate that there is always a person to talk with within five minutes of when I called. There is no substitute for that. They are knowledgeable, friendly and always helpful.

Cons:

Since I am somebody coming not coming from a financial background at all it would’ve been helpful to give me a list of what I needed to do when I first signed up that would walk me through how to accomplish my goals, instead, I had to put the pieces of the puzzle together myself. It all did turn out fine but it was stressful for me. Also, there is no one report that will show me on a daily or weekly or even monthly Basis just on a single line what each of my employees brings in, gross income. I’ve not been able to get assistance figuring out how to do that so I have to do it on a separate ledger myself.

Camille
Bookkeeper in US
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Needs improvement

3.0 8 months ago

Comments: It’s a love- hate relationship. I’d definitely move to new software if it weren’t for the need to use the payroll feature and the recurring invoicing. It often gives weird error messages upon signing in for no reason. Just a lot of bugs and quirks.

Pros:

The recurring billing is a huge plus of this software where so many other online accounting programs fall short.

Cons:

It’s very difficult to correct things in this software. It has way too many limitations and some are totally not logical- like only allowing numbers in reference field and when searching for things, the constant need to date change rather than allowing date ranges to remain as you search for past entries, etc.