Patriot Accounting Reviews

by Patriot Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.8 /5

About Patriot Accounting

Affordable, easy, yet powerful accounting for small business owners and their accountants. Streamline your money management.

Learn more about Patriot Accounting

Showing 247 reviews

Brittany M.
MANAGER
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2020

"GREAT SOFTWARE"

Comments: I AM HAPPY WITH THIS SOFTWARE AND MY EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN WONDERFUL

Pros: PATRIOT SOFTWARE MAKES IT EASY TO PAY EMPLOYEES, KEEP UP WITH INVOICES, AND PAY OUR VENDORS IN A TIMELY MANNER.

Cons: SOMETIMES IF A CHECK IS ISSUED IN ERROR, IT WILL NOT ALLOW YOU TO DELETE THAT PAYMENT, ONLY VOID IT.

Vendor Response

by Patriot Software on 30/12/2020

Thanks Brittany! We love when our customers realize the benefit of having both accounting and payroll software under one login! We appreciate you sharing your experience!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2020
Dietmar B.
Owner
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/1/2021

"Beutifully executed software"

Comments: I really could not be happier. What a contrast to Quickbooks.

Pros: Ease of use, logic rules. It matches my small business needs.

Cons: Create a file where I can pull pre written messages for quotes and alike from

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/1/2021
Larry Z.
President-Owner
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/1/2021

"Great to Use"

Comments: We were in the process of talking about going back to Quick Books and decided to stay with Patriot because of costs and ease of getting live help

Pros: Ease of getting into program Ease of. getting help Great to work with when calling in

Cons: When trying to get to certain options on the side to use, hard to maneuver to where you want to go

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/1/2021
Kent P.
Owner
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/1/2021

"Still using Patriot Software after 5+ years"

Comments: With built-in time card management, I can print payroll in minutes plus free hassle-free direct deposit it just makes it easier to run the company.

Pros: Easy to use, functionality that fits my needs.

Cons: Still don't have a mobile app, no big deal.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/1/2021
Judith G.
Admin/Owner
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/1/2021

"New to the product"

Comments: I am extremely pleased with the program/software, and generally I am able to figure out how to resolve input on my own (but not always)

Pros: The software is very user friendly, however, I still need instruction as to ALL of the functions that I ought to be utilizing, and currently do not.

Cons: I have NO cons about the software because I don't know what I don't know right now. I wish there was someone to guide me through the programs - specifically tailored to my particular application (for contracting).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/1/2021
David K.
OWNER
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 7/2/2018

"PATRIOT ACCOUNTING HAS MADE MY LIFE EASIER!"

Comments: HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PROGRAM FOR SMALL BUSINESS OWNERS!

Pros: BEFORE I WAS PAYING AN ACCOUNTANT ALOT PER MONTH NOW I'M PAYING UNDER
SOME AMOUNT PER MONTH. VERY AFFORDABLE!
CUSTOMER SERVICE IS THE BEST I'VE SEEN OF ANY OTHER PROGRAMS I USE FOR MY BUSINESS.
EASE OF USE, IT TOOK ME VERY LITTLE TIME TO LEARN THIS PROGRAM. IF IT DID HAS A QUESTION I RECEIVED VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE HELP VIA PHONE, WITH VERY LITTLE WAITING TIME.
LOVE THIS PROGRAM AND RECOMMEND TO TO ANY SMALL BUSINESS OWNERS!

Cons: HAD TROUBLE WITH ACCEPTING MY CARD FOR DIRECT PAYMENTS. OTHER THAN THAT I HAVE NO CONS WITH THIS PROGRAM.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 7/2/2018
Clarice M.
Accountant
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/1/2021

"Patriot Software Review"

Comments: From my point of view the Patriot Software Company is one of the best.

Pros: The software is cost effective and efficient, easy to use and it definitely streamlines the entire process. I am relieved to have a hassle free provider. As long as they don’t change I won’t change.

Cons: I’m not sure if the Patriot Software portal still allows the employee to access everything about the company’s pricing. If so, I’ll never like that aspect.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/1/2021
Robert P.
President
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/1/2021

"Patriot Payroll"

Pros: The opportunity to run payroll with checks and direct deposit.

Cons: The volatility to click the "Payroll" tab and starting payroll when trying to view past payrolls.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/1/2021
Marchello P.
OWNER
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/9/2020

"DISAPPOINTED"

Pros: SET UP WAS EASY, DOWNHILL AFTER THAT.
PERHAPS IT IS ACTUALLY EASIER THAN I AM EXPECTING, AND NOT GIVING IT A CHANCE.

Cons: PERHAPS I DID NOT SETUP CORRECTLY, BUT IT SEEMS LIKE ANY TRANSACTION I DO IS LIKE PERFORMING JOURNAL ENTRIES ONLY, I AM USED TO QUICKBOOKS, VERY EASY AND INTUITIVE, PATRIOT NOT SO MUCH,
EXAMPLE IS ADDING ACCOUNTS ON THE FLY IN THE MIDDLE OF TRANSACTIONS, INSTEAD OF CANCELLING TRANSACTION, AND CREATING THE ACCOUNT, THEN START OVER WITH THE TRANSACTION

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/9/2020
Jeff W.
Accountant
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/1/2021

"Great Basic software"

Comments: Great software overall. Very helpful support staff.

Pros: Pricing is great for basic accounting. Meets 90% of a clients needs. Perfect for small schedule C businesses.

Cons: Doesn't offer (yet) features needed for multiple divisions of larger businesses. Or specific features needed to operate mid size service orientated companies.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/1/2021
Gail L.
President
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/1/2021

"Payroll"

Pros: Reasonably priced, friendly customer service, easy to use or given good instructions if needed.

Cons: I am a seasonal business and on the 941-tax return on part 2 number 18 there’s a check mark for seasonal employers to check if they are seasonal so they do not have to file a return for every quarter until they are open for business. Patriot payroll’s system does not allow their program to check this. I would think this should be an easy thing to fix but for some reason they say they cannot change this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/1/2021
Pam A.
office manager
Consumer Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/7/2019

"Great software"

Comments: Makes my bookkeeping so much simpler

Pros: The ease of daily tasks especially payroll invoicing and reports. Sales tax is done in a jiffy as well as monthly expense reports.

Cons: I really have nothing negative to say about this software

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/7/2019
Joseph G.
Owner
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/1/2021

"Patriot has been a life saver."

Pros: It's ease of use has been amazing. It does everything that a small business owner like myself would need.

Cons: The only thing that would be nice is if it had a more competitive built in merchant services.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/1/2021
Jacqueline S.
Office Manager
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/1/2021

"Patriot Made Payroll Easy"

Pros: As someone who did payroll by hand for a couple years, Patriout software made this less of a chore. I especially appreciate that it generate my quarterly federal payroll returns very easy.

Cons: I didn't have any problems using the software and i recommend it to my small business clients.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/1/2021
John C.
Owner
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/1/2021

"Love the system"

Comments: Very useful and great alternative to Quickbooks

Pros: The ease of use and collaborative approach with clients.

Cons: Too soon to say. I will know better when I have more time to play in it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/1/2021
Kaitlin C.
executive director
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/1/2021

"This is amazing software"

Comments: i am happy and excited to continue to move forward once i am able.

Pros: I love the detailed reports and the layout of this software, i have tried all of the accounting this one is my favorite, and the price is right now if only my cash flow would l let me continue my use.

Cons: no t able to access reports when i need to.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/1/2021
Yessenia C.
Secretary
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/8/2020

"Easy to use and Affordable"

Comments: this software is so affordable and easy to use. I have payroll with patriot and now the accounting .
i would record my transactions but i read the blogs and i was intrigue and i am glad to select this software and signed up with it . i even called my brother and share how this software helps you keep track of the business

Pros: The journal entry how it syncs my bank statement and i am able categorize the account .
Creating Invoice .
Keeping track of my business revenue .

Cons: Patriot needs an update to fuction on the phone.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/8/2020
Nelda A.
President
Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/1/2021

"Great product"

Comments: Patriot Software has helped make the whole payroll process a lot easier and has helped ease the burden of filing payroll tax reports.

Pros: Patriot Software is easy to use and takes care of a lot of administrative tasks.

Cons: The cost may appear to be a bit prohibitive but it is definitely worth the price.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/1/2021
Alison S.
Owner
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/9/2020

"Best small business accounting software"

Comments: This software is remarkable.

Pros: This is easy to use.
The price is great
This helps me keep total track of my business and I am so thankful for it at tax time.

Cons: I love this software the fact that it rip grow with my company is the best

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/9/2020
Karen S.
Accountant
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/1/2021

"Affordable and User Friendly"

Comments: Overall this software is the beat on the market and I continue to offer it to my clients.

Pros: The set-up of patriot is guided properly for first time users.

Cons: When they stopped reporting payroll to The IRS and Patriot never formerly made us aware and we received notice from IRS to let us know we did not report or pay our 941 quarter tax.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/1/2021
Kymberly S.
Marketing/Accounting
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/8/2015

"Super simple/user-friendly! Customer Service is impeccable."

Comments: We switched over to this software in the middle of the year. While, I chose to set everything up myself, customer service was there right to help with every single step. Any time I've had a question they've been able to answer either right away or find out for me as soon as possible.
Our only "cons" would be that our paychecks need to be laid out a little differently than they allow and also, a plus would be to have an automatic vacation time addition. Each payroll I have to manually enter in hours for my employees. It would be nice to just have that added in for me, like I can in Quickbooks.
Overall, it's insanely easy and for all of the services, it is way cheaper than Quickbooks. We are so glad we made the switch!

Vendor Response

by Patriot Software on 26/8/2015

Thanks for the great review Kymberly. We wanted you to know automatic vacation accruals are currently in development. We want to hear your suggestions about the paycheck layout, so a Support Rep will be contacting you. We value your input!
Your friends at Patriot

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/8/2015
Cynthia Z.
Owner
Medical Devices, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/9/2020

"Great Customer Service"

Comments: Customer Service has been A-1, everyone is always so willing to guide me thru the process.

Pros: I enjoy that the software is so easy to use.

Cons: I think that I just need to learn a bit more to not be confused at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/9/2020
Stacy O.
Owner
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/9/2020

"Pleased by far"

Pros: The fact the state and local taxes are collected and paid thru this program.

Cons: I wish you could select the location for each employee as I make payroll, rather than changing the employee location each payroll.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/9/2020
Verified Reviewer
Owner
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/1/2021

"Great Solution for Small Business"

Comments: Very good product and great customer service the few times I have called. Only complaint was they once "disconnected" my account because I hadnt categorized the imported transactions in 90 days, but they gave me no warning so I ended up having to re-set everything back up and manually add all those missed transactions.

Pros: Easy to learn quickly and manage with little time or effort!

Cons: A few issues setting up but customer service helped me understand how to fix.

Vendor Response

by Patriot Software on 25/1/2021

Thanks for your kind review. We're sorry for the inconvenience of having to manually import transactions. We want you to know we take your feedback seriously and now if your bank account ever gets disconnected because it hasn't imported in 90 days, you can reconnect and go back up to 2 years!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/1/2021
Stephen weber - the place between here T.
CEO
Publishing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/9/2020

"Excellent Value for startup organizations"

Pros: Quick Setup, intuitive, excellent general ledger and the web interface is well designed.

Cons: I need an app for the smart phone other than the web interface.

Vendor Response

by Patriot Software on 28/9/2020

Hey Stephen thanks for the great review. Did you know that no phone app is needed for Patriot Software so you can access the software any time from any device with internet or mobile connection? Simply add a shortcut to your phone while on the login page of Patriot. You'll have the feel of an app, but won't have to worry about updates or wasting precious phone memory!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/9/2020