15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Itemize

Fast receipt scanning and easy expense reporting on the go or in the office. Don't settle for standard. Itemize.

Learn more about Itemize

Pros:

Not only can I store my receipts digitally, without worrying about keeping the paper copy, but I can also save them on the Cloud and access them from any device.

Cons:

Longer receipts can be a pain to get to scan, and the app does freeze up and close on it's own every so often causing slightly more work.

Itemize ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

Itemize has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 274 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Itemize before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (274)

Arshard
Arshard
Chief Accountant in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best finance manager

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: When trying to handle year end taxes Itemize can come in handy. every transaction is stored in your personal folder, which comes in handy use when generating reports. Also, you can store all your receipts hereafter, there is no fear of losing any or hoarding a 100s of papers anymore. This makes finance managing very easy.

Pros:

I need not save a bunch of receipts anymore for any unpredictable situations. I can just save it in the app, and if ever needed I can show use the pictures to show in stores and exchange my orders etc. Managing the expenses have become easier as I can enter the pictures easily into the expenses log.

Cons:

The app sometimes crashes, which though is not a major drawback sometimes can be frustrating especially when you are in a hurry. And the categories are preset, sometimes we the users might prefer adding in their own categories.

Maddie
Maddie
System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Accounting for a small group's expenses at its finest

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Receipt tracking is an issue that we're working to solve with our new service. The program is advanced enough to correctly upload data. Streamlined accounting and receipt itemization. As it turns out, the product is rather nice. It's just that I don't think I'll be using it right now.

Pros:

Keeping tabs on deductible expenses is a snap using Itemize. Itemize makes it simple to add images of receipts that have been scanned or photographed. Tracking my costs has been a breeze thanks to Itemize. Organizing my receipts is a breeze now that I can do it from my phone and computer.

Cons:

It's difficult to amend entries if they aren't properly scanned, and I'd rather have the photographs it captures be saved in a different folder. Due to the lack of scalability, I would not suggest it for large corporations.

Brooke
Senior Software Engineer in Australia
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I reviewed 3 receipts scanners. I liked Itemize, but the claimed emailing of receipts didn't work

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Well it did scan and classify quite well. So I benefited by getting good electronic receipts.

Pros:

I started trialing 3 receipt scanners + accounting view of data. Itemize is one of the best at scanning and classification. Easy to use and quite light so started quickly. I've taken a quick look recently after stopping using it, and the ability to query seemed to be VERY good. I like it a lot.

Cons:

One of my requirements was to be able to email receipts. Itemize claimed to have 2 ways - monitored email account and email to a given address. Neither work. I tried over many weeks and emailed support without response (they however had replied quite well to other requests). I was trialing 2 other receipts apps which did work as advertised and I didn't have any more time or energy to put in to Itemize. I've now been scanning receipts in to the 2 other apps for 6 or so months and don't want to abandon all that data. So I will not be returning to Itemize. However I recommend any new users to give Itemize a go and test if the emailing functionality works.

Ike
Ike
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

How did i live without Itemize?

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I am using the Itemize App to capture any and all my expenses.
i take a picture of the receipt and ...bingo it creates a record for me and translates the image into the data record in seconds. Amazing. sometimes i may enter the project that it is related to. for me it saves many hours of organizing my expenses. at the end of the month I print a detailed report for my CPA. and i am done. no limitation on the number of items i capture. i also log my mileage for tax/exp reporting. in addition credit card receipts are automatically added to the Itemize App. all of this for about $100 ANNUALLY. it saves me ten times in hours and mistakes and frustration.

Pros:

easy to instal, a pleasure to use, reliable, AI technology, responsive customer service. flexible for multiple levels and variations of reporting. no limitation on quantity and size for one flat fee. most advance features of it kind. Reporting function may be done also from the PC.

Cons:

unlimited reports but reporting function initiation should be more uniformed.

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the great review! Please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] for future any suggestions or questions you may have!

Chris
Chris
Administrative Support in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Airlines/Aviation, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Itemize review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our accounting department has used this product extensively to save us time as we go through invoices. We no longer need to have an associate enter every invoice we have. We are able to significantly cut our time on this task.

Pros:

This software helps parse data from receipts, invoices, and the like, and I love that there is a software that can do all of this automatically for me.

Cons:

The API has caused some issues for our company, but we have been able to get great help from customer service, and our IT personnel have been able to quickly implement their assistance.

Mathy
Mathy
Flying Giraffe Travel, Oasis/Palm Coast Travel, a member of Signature Travel Network in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Getting me organized with ease.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The ease of use is wonderful and it has enough options for me to keep track of business, personal and charity spending.

George
George
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Itemize review

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It is very easy to use especially with it finding catagories and allowing customizing such as adding tips to restaurants. Works good come tax time. Photoraphing receipts is easy.

Cons:

Finding my local credit union would help speed up the recording of the transaction.

Ramon
Ramon
Real Estate Agent in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I like the app and use it to help me be more efficient with my time.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Efficiency and productivity

Pros:

I like the ease of taking a photo of my receipts and having the app autofill the vendor and amount.

Cons:

I do not like not being able to select pre-determined categories. I'd like a way to have a drop down of available categories to choose from.

Daniel
Daniel
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great concept, but definitely needs some work to be a great product I would recommend

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: When it works properly it makes accounting for my construction business quite easy. Unfortunately it has a tendency to be rather glitchy and doesn't actually export all the data that I input when scanning receipts which is frustrating.

Pros:

The ability to code receipts to different jobs as well as the ability to add activity codes to each receipt

Cons:

Activity coding is a good idea but the data downloads dont take any of the activity data so its ultimately not useful.

Ivor
Ivor
Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Thanks to Itemize

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It costs money and isn’t cheap, but it works for me and I can claim it back next year.

Pros:

It means I don’t need to keep each receipt when I purchase work related items, just create a custom search and in a second the report is there, with receipts too if you want them

Cons:

That I have to manually create a report for the financial year

Lauren
Sales Manager in US
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to get organized

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Love the ease of uploading receipts. Wish the interface for tagging was a little easier. I have multiple businesses. I haven't yet figured out how to categorize per business. I also haven't figured out yet how to create categories to track spending. That would be a cool addition! (Maybe that capability is already there and I just haven't found it yet.)

Pros:

It is really simple and easy to upload receipts.

Cons:

I want more flexibility in usage. I would like to be able to designate receipts to more than one business. I would also like to utilize this app simply as a way to track spending in categories.

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the great review! I have noted your suggestions and will send them to our development team! Please feel free to contact us at [email protected] with any future questions or suggestions!

Robyn
UK
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Stop fiddling

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: I think the software has real potential. It's lighter than the others and has all the right ingredients. I feel that the user experience could be less 'windows' and more 'mac' like. The drop down boxes are clunky and one step too many. Why do they have to be hidden when they need engaging with ? The app should be reliable and not as far away from the computer as it is and I think that the changes you make behind the scenes should be made public rather than just doing them. I don't understand why it took so long to get the save tags function working again when we rely on this thing working and no one kept us informed. I like itemize very much and I want it to succeed but that tag issue was nearerly the end !

Pros:

Ease of use

Cons:

User interface could be so much slicker

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Sorry to hear about the issue with the tagging and we are happy to tell you that tags are working now! Thanks for the review and as always feel free to reach out to [email protected] if you have any questions or suggestions!

David
Sales in US
Apparel & Fashion, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Itemize

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: With a full year experience overal it’s pretty good way to keep track of receipts and spending. In the end for taxes you will need to roll up the sleeves a bit and dig through the overal spending info.

Pros:

I liked the ease of tracking my spending receipts. This helped with tax time and speeding up my return process. I liked the fact it saves the receipts so I didn’t need to.

Cons:

It didn’t break it out in a spread form that was easy to read and is costly.

Brent
Regional Sales Manager in US
Environmental Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very easy to use and inexpensive!

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: For the most part, Itemize is exactly what I need and also my company. We are pretty small right now and the expense reports that I generate from Itemize look neat and very professional. I would like to see a larger camera area because I always have to use widescreen function all the time to make sure I capture the entire image but it's definitely not a deal killer. I'd definitely recommend Itemize for your expense reporting. I've used other products that cost more in the past and you don't get what you pay for like you do with Itemize!

Pros:

1. Ease of use 2. Cost to features ratio 3. Professional looking 4. I like the fact it pulls receipts from my email and automatically inserts them. 5. Can complete my entire expense report on my I phone

Cons:

1. Would like to learn more about the camera feature. I've had to retake receipt photos because it didn't capture the whole image like it seemed.

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the great review! Please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] for future any suggestions or questions you may have!

Dean
IT Director in US
Construction
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good program

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We've been using this app for a while and upgraded to the full version. It's been a mostly solid app that is flexible. Tech support is good. It's helped us keep better track of spending.

Pros:

Easy to use and flexible.

Cons:

Get A bit buggy sometimes and doesn't always recognized vendors.

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the great review and we are so happy to hear you are enjoying the Itemize product! Please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] if you ever run into any issues!

Daniel
Owner in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Meh

2.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It was somewhat easy to use albeit rather glitchy to use

Cons:

The cost, the glitches and lack of overall quality, and the mileage log doesn't reflect current IRS business mileage rates

Herbert
Retired Chief Information Officer in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Been longing for you!

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Great tool! Had a few kinks in the beginning with totaling, but they were resolved. I would love to be able to add check deposits. I use it to keep track of expenses as well as deposits. It is my ACCOUNTING software. I see so much potential with this tool. Would be nice to add manual expenses as well. Perhaps that's available in an upgrade Version. I don't know. Anyway, I love it. It is much, much better than manual entries all the time. And pretty accurate. I''m impressed!

Pros:

It's pretty accurate and easy to use.

Cons:

Can't capture check or money order deposits. Have to manually manipulate entry to appear as a deposit. My deposits are not factored into the totals.

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Thanks so much for the great review! If you ever have any suggestions or questions in the future please reach out to us at [email protected].

Chris
Sales Representative in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Expense Itemizer

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: So far itemize has been a great tool for keeping a record of my tax write off expenses. After every expense I snap a photo, adjust price for tips if appropriate, save and whoala!!! I can go back and add notes if needed or simply review.

Pros:

How quickly you can access, snap a photo, save and go!

Cons:

Sometimes it doesn't gather the printed price and I need to manually input it.

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the great review and we are so happy to hear you are enjoying the Itemize product! Please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] if you ever run into any issues!

STEPHEN
General Manager in US
Construction
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Itemize APP review

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Found this app and thought it would assist me in organizing my daily expenses. For the most part, it fulfills by needs. Biggest problem for me is printing out reports - so far have had no luck with this aspect. Will continue using until end of year and if it assists my tax preparations, then I will continue to use into 2017.

Pros:

Ease of use and convenience of having it on my phone

Cons:

Difficult to filter expenses and print reports

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the review! Please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] for help with your reports!

Debbie
Sr. Consultant in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good start but needs work

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: I think this app has a lot of potential. I wish there was an improvement on the email scanning to not give false positives. Some emails that are advertisements show up as payments. Some items are not editable in the phone app and require logging into the desktop version to fix errors. I tried to use the taxable information recorded last year for tax reporting purposes and found that the grand total of the taxes was not equal to the amount of the details. For a paid product, support is iffy. I reported several of these items on a few occasions and didn't receive responses to many of my support questions. If you are charging for a product, it would be nice if there were quality checks to ensure accuracy. I shouldn't have to pay even more for, supposedly, more accurate reporting.

Pros:

Love that it scans email for purchases so I don't have to manually enter everything.

Cons:

Accuracy is not very good.

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Our support is available to all users, regardless of their payment status. As an Artificial Intelligence platform, Itemize is consistently learning with the more receipts that are being uploaded. We would love to discuss your incorrect receipts, please contact us at [email protected].

Ellen
President in US
Professional Training & Coaching, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I can manage my receipts immediately

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Instead of gathering my receipts from a business trip and taking the time when I arrive back to the office, I am able to click and save receipts as I get them. It is a great time management device for me.

Pros:

Convenience

Cons:

It took me a while to figure out everything I can do with it and I am still learning.

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the great review and we are so happy to hear you are enjoying the Itemize product! Please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] if you ever run into any issues!

Thanh
Software engineer in US
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Pretty good

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It's good and a conversation starter. I look forward to saving time on my taxes this year. Occasionally, I need to reinstall it and sometimes receipts do not get translated properly and the image isn't scanned. E.g. I lost signal. Would be a better feature to save the image as an option to cross check or fails.

Pros:

Scan receipts

Cons:

Not always teliable

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the great review! Please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] for any problems or suggestions you may have!

bruce
CEO in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

instantly easy to use, but no customer support and limited features

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: ease of use with no people no training

Pros:

easy to snap photos, easy to create reports with photo receipts, easy to download pdf's, very easy to toggle between months

Cons:

hate that i cannot delete dozens of emails that auto import, do not understand why the software cannot find a vendor name like Logan...Boston Logan Parking

Itemize Response

6 years ago

Hi! We do have customer support and they can be reached by e-mailing [email protected]. Also, you don't have to auto sync your e-mail to the Itemize platform, we provide customers with the ability to forward e-mail receipts in manually if they wish to only track some receipts and not others.

Michael
Director, Legal Services in US
Legal Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best expense app I've ever used!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Itemize is simply the best expense app I've ever used. Not only are the interface and auto-recognition capabilities top notch, but their support team went above and beyond to help me regain access to my information after an unexpected work change. Needless to say, I highly reccommend their product!

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Thanks so much for the great review! If you ever have any suggestions or questions in the future please reach out to us at [email protected].

Robert
Councilman in US
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Controlling expenses

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Very key tool. I have normal family needs, plus those of an elected City Councilman. Lots of options you can customize easily for your circumstances

Pros:

Flexibility

Cons:

Learning options

Itemize Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the great review! We are launching Webinars very soon to help with customer knowledge on the Itemize platform! Please feel free to contact us at [email protected] with any future questions or suggestions!