Deltek Vision Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 /5
  • Customer Service
    4 /5

About Deltek Vision

Project-based solution for PS firms that combines project accounting, resource management, project mgmt, time/expense and client mgt.

Learn more about Deltek Vision

Showing 457 reviews

Nereida B.
ANALISTA CONTABLE
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/4/2018

"Important business data in real time."

Comments: I am using Deltek Vision to identify problems affecting the performance of our company and hinder the successful implementation of some projects. I am also taking advantage of useful features to improve performance and complete projects successfully.

Pros: What I like about Deltek Vision modules are purchasing and asset management because they allow me to track purchase orders and fixed assets; It helps me to get new business, improve performance and optimize the operations of our company.

Cons: For some people within the company's user interface it is not always so friendly and does not have much ability to change the screen size. In addition, it may not be ideal for companies that only require specific modules, since all the modules are included in the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/4/2018
Kim L.
Operations Manager
Civil Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/8/2020

"Accounting was an Afterthought"

Comments: Horrible Horrible Horrible - that is why we are searching for another software. I do not recommend - at least not for accounting purposes. Save your accounting team the headache!

Pros: There is not "like most" - Difficulty in correcting JE's on a bank account. Meaning - you cannot fix. I would NOT recommend this product for accounting purposes. It's outdated and not forgiving. Reports are less than desirable to look at, and most information is difficult to locate. In order to get what you want you will have to export reports in excel, merge them together and fix for yourself. This is very time consuming and a waste of daylight hours.

Cons: Difficulty in correcting JE's on a bank account. Meaning - you cannot fix. I would NOT recommend this product for accounting purposes. It's outdated and not forgiving. Reports are less than desirable to look at, and most information is difficult to locate. In order to get what you want you will have to export reports in excel, merge them together and fix for yourself. This is very time consuming and a waste of daylight hours. You have to work backwards when posting a transfer of funds to a account. If you don't your screwed!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/8/2020
Tiffany Y.
Financial Operations Analyst II
Accounting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/3/2019

"Aaccounting software for project based company"

Pros: It is quite compatible to companies ran project-based

Cons: Reportings can can a pain at times. Dashboards could be improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/3/2019
Susan M.
Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/1/2018

"Used Vision's General Ledger primarily in my role to produce month end and year end financial stmts."

Pros: The general ledger was easy and logical for an accountant. The work breakdown structure allowed for reporting consolidated reports as well as subsidiary level, office level, and departmental reports. Vision handled large amounts of transactions and data efficiently. Vision offers functionality to do time sheets and expense reports remotely. Vision has great security features that can remove access to certain areas or information based on an employees role in the Company. It is easy to remove rights immediately when employees leave the Company. In addition, roles can control who can make changes or post transactions. Vision allows for automated reporting. For example, an Accounts Receivable report can be automatically sent to an employee's email on a scheduled basis.

Cons: The software is not logical for non-accountants. The software is primarily for A'E firms but very difficult for those users. Most of the engineers are unable to write and run project reports. When they do get a report, the report isn't easily understood. The software is difficult to support internally and requires a database specialist to get maximum value. Vision contains a massive amount of data but the canned reports do not always offer the different types of data in same report. Unless you can write custom reports, you will have to pay expensive consulting fees.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/1/2018
Sandra S.
Chief Financial Officer
Civil Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/2/2017

"Vision Review by Accounting"

Comments: Vision has good features and is lacking in some features. Vision used to be able to alphabetize A/R Statements when we initially started using it. Through upgrades, Vision lost that feature that we found valuable for our billing process. Vision is lacking in end of year reporting functionality. For example, end of year 1099 functionality is lacking. States require the account id assigned to companies to be reported on 1099s. Vision is currently unable to print accurate paper copies nor is it able to provide an accurate electronic file. Customer support was not able to help me and I had to manually edit the electronic file in order to have a 1099-MISC that would pass our state's criteria. Vision does not provide reporting for form 1099-INT which I need for reporting interest on shareholder payouts. Financial reporting is lacking some. Balance Sheets typically have Assets on page 1 and Liabilities and Equity on page 2. I have not found a way to easily achieve this with settings in Vision. I have employees that would like to be able to review their payroll withholdings and paystubs at any given time, but are not able to do that. At times, Vision is disappointing for the Accounting department. At other times, it is a rock star for us.

Pros: Integregrates the engineers project management with accounting reporting.

Cons: Payroll tax/End of Year Tax Reporting is lacking.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/2/2017
Verified Reviewer
Project Engineer
Civil Engineering, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/12/2019

"Great tools for Project Managers"

Comments: I believe this program is a significant upgrade over my firm's previous time tracking program. We should see the benefits within several months.

Pros: This is the second iteration of Deltek that I have used and there have been great additions since the last version I used. There are so many great tools for project management and tracking performance metrics. I particularly like the ability to schedule your work and availability -- this is great for work sharing with different offices/teams.

Cons: There is a bit of a learning curve to get yourself up to speed using all of the programs capabilities, but there are good resources and tutorials available to make sure you are getting the most out of the product. If you are only using it for timesheet purposes, I am not sure it is worth the extra cost.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/12/2019
Ginger B.
Administrator
Civil Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/1/2020

"Monopoly"

Comments: We've been doing business with Deltek now for around 20 years. If another software company develops a competitive product with full project basis accounting at a reasonable price, we'd probably switch, if they have a good customer service team. Nothing beats the ability to just pick up the phone and call.

Pros: deltek allows us to track our time and expenses on a project basis. We can achieve time tracking, billing, and General Ledger activities within one software.

Cons: Deltek Vision is built for large organizations. It is cumbersome in a small office setting to maintain all of the text libraries. The customer service requires that you submit a case online if you need assistance, and then wait for a response, which oftentimes is not timely.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/1/2020
Verified Reviewer
Managing Director
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018

"A workhorse with a lot more features than I ever use"

Comments: I sometimes consider Deltek a necessary evil, but it is as good a software as I have seen and used.

Pros: Deltek has been the tracking software of choice and previous firms I worked at. To me it is the standard for tracking time spent on projects and for tracking project performance. The ability to track an analyze multiple employees' input is beneficial. As a project manager, my interface was tracking and project planning. Accounting and management used Deltek extensively to track project and firm performance.

Cons: Deltek can do a lot of things, and can easily get very confusing for staff who may not have extensive software training in its functionality.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Adam S.
CRM Consultant
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/3/2017

"CRM Consultant"

Comments: I have been using Deltek Vision for over 10 years and have seen many clients benefit greatly from its capabilities and features.

Pros: Custom configuration capability is awesome. You don't have to be a programmer to learn how to set it up. Searching and reporting tools are second to none.

Cons: Sometimes the great amount of capability can be intimidating to customers. That is why I always recommend training for a successful implementation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/3/2017
Cathy C.
Operations Manager
Human Resources, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/3/2017

"Very good!"

Comments: In my experience I have been happy overall with my Deltek Vision software. As a professional services firm, there are features I am hoping for that will make my job easier. Workflows are good but could be easier to build. The planning module is also good but needs more automated features......too manual at this point. Billing module for our firm is also very manual....takes 1 - 2 days to complete and post.

Pros: It takes the place of 4 separate systems and accessible from anywhere since its cloud based.

Cons: As a professional services firm it seems to be lacking in features for our processes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/3/2017
Galen H.
Bookkeeper
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/3/2017

"Review of Deltek Vision"

Comments: I am an outside consultant and used Deltek Advantage for years. Have used Vision at different clients now for about 8 years and also used Axium Ajera a few years ago. I love some things about Ajera and some of Deltek. I think one of the biggest helps has been being able to close the Bank Reconcilation in Vision.

Pros: The familiarity of the program. I have been using it for years now.

Cons: I have smaller clients and it is overkill for what they need plus it is so expensive for small offices.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/3/2017
Erin C.
Business Manager
Architecture & Planning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/3/2017

"Deltek Vision B+"

Comments: I switched from Deltek Advantage a few years ago and have found it to be fairly easy to use for my purposes. However, Vision is a tool with a lot of features and I know it has potential that I have no idea how to tap into. Would be nice if there was a more straightforward way to maximize it for our business.

Pros: It is comprehensive and the features are useful for managing almost all aspects of a business.

Cons: It is not always clear how to get the information I need out of it. The support site helps, but it is still not always clear and simple.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/3/2017
Kelsey H.
Architect
Architecture & Planning, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/7/2020

"Deltek - Timesheet Software"

Comments: Overall, it's been fine. Once you use it day after day, you obviously get used to it. But I think you definitely have to have training for it.

Pros: We use Deltek for our timesheets and it's relatively easy to use and gets the job done, but that's about it.

Cons: I think the user interface is very clunky and the graphics look like they are from the 80's...definitely needs a refresh.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/7/2020
Cindy D.
Vision Functional Database Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/12/2017

"Deltek Vision is so customizable!"

Pros: The out of the box product is good, add to that the functionality, and then on top of that how easy it to customize to your needs - it towers on top of other similar software products.

Cons: I get frustrated when a new version comes out and in their process of adding something new they break something that wasn't broken and then take a while to fix it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/12/2017
Chelsee B.
Billing Specialist
Environmental Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/6/2017

"Deltek Review"

Pros: The reporting works great for our company, there are so many different ways you can manipulate to get exactly what you want pulled right to the front. Entering time and expense is also easy to use, especially now that we have upgraded and are using iAccess - that helps people out in the field or out of the office.

Cons: I really hate that we still have to use Explorer to get into vision. If you are unfamiliar with Vision, it can be difficult to grasp and can seem very unfriendly to users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/6/2017
Donna R.
Self Employed
Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/3/2017

"The product is ok but the Customer Support and Configuration Conceptual Scope presentation is lame"

Comments: As a skilled user of many software products, getting an overview of the Configuration and it's effect on each module is very difficult and thus hard to seamlessly change once set. The product seems designed to promote consulting fee generation by Deltek, and when one can't CALL a 1-800 number and get support WITHOUT opening a "Case" (and being charged for same or having to fight to not be charged) it speaks volumes about the company's priorities. The company also seems more concerned about fancy reporting than improving existing BOOKEEEPING needs in the product. I no longer recommend this product to others.

Pros: OK project reporting and tracking

Cons: Complexity of configuration options that are not presented well in "the manual" (on line only and if you want it on paper, even after having purchased the product, you have to PAY extra for it!) and very little "conceptual based" information. The "User Guidance" seems geared to a non-professional managing this software as evidenced by the "how to click click" mentality in instructions. Also, getting past the front line Help People (who are great) to a higher level to discuss concerns is IMPOSSIBLE. And the "Customer Care" system - re-designed and implemented since 2003) is a step backward in "Care" to my view. Also, the company does not send out "Known Bugs" as they are discovered, rendering re-work at so many levels it should be of concern to the company yet there is a stated policy of NOT releasing them to PAID FOR users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/3/2017
Francois D.
CFO
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/3/2017

"Deltek Vision Review"

Comments: Vision can be a very effective and comprehensive tool if configured and used correctly. Adjusting your organization's worflows to how the software is designed to work greatly improves the probability of a successful implementation.

Pros: Extremely flexible and powerful billing options.

Cons: Setup & configuration.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/3/2017
Vivien S.
Senior Associate
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/5/2017

"I'm a daily user for logging time, project planning, reporting"

Pros: The customization abilities in reporting. Ability to export reports to Excel. The basic navigation makes sense. Having all our data integrated.

Cons: The user interface - feels outdated and clunky. Some good features are hard to find, named in ways that don't make sense right away.
Can be slow to load reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/5/2017
Erin A.
Accounting Manager
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2017

"This has removed many manual spreadsheets for year end review and month end reports."

Pros: It captures data in one spot and removes duplicate information. Vision also offers many front and back of house customizations.

Cons: It is a bit over whelming in the beginning, if you are not a relational thinker. If you are, you will catch on quickly and be able to build your own reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2017
Nicole S.
cost accountant
Government Administration, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2016

"Nicole's thoughts"

Comments: Over all Vision is great. There are a few problems that I have came across. Recently the update removed permissions from some employee which made approving items difficult. The other is not being able to see expense not posted when you want to see what has been spent to date on a project over all.

Pros: The follow of all the programs together to get the end project out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2016
Susan H.
Business Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2017

"My job has become much easier with Vision."

Pros: Everything is in one place. I like that I can move around quickly in the software program. I can find everything I need.

Cons: It is sometimes difficult to get a live person to speak to with questions. Some of the reporting features are too cumbersome and way too much information.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2017
Annya M.
Senior Designer
Architecture & Planning, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/8/2019

"Good software for time tracking"

Pros: This software is great for different firms and companies. I know it's great in firms that need to allocate time for different projects when it comes to billing. Vision allows you to manage projects's budgets, set amount of hours for each person per project, organize a project's phases, and makes it streamlined when billing a client

Cons: The software is not exactly an intuitive program, it takes some training and getting used to. The capabilities to manage and organize a project's budget and billing are great, but it does take time to understand all the software can do

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/8/2019
Owen W.
Application Support Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016

"Pre-Guru Stage"

Comments: I have been using VISION for 3 years running, but my company is now elevating my role as an advanced user/and Info Center specialist. INSIGHT 2016 represents my introduction into the more incisive technical nuances of VISION and has already been a great learning experience!

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: Counter-intuitive in certain aspects...learn, not assume!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Joseph C.
Accounting manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2017

"Vision provides me and managers a tool to provide quality results"

Pros: Functional, robust and ease of use has helped provide accurate and informative numbers. Reporting provides uppermanagment the tools to make decisions on the business

Cons: Ease of us for managers has caused problems with implementation and overall satisfaction for managers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2017
Cathy M.
Office Manager/Business Development
Architecture & Planning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/3/2017

"Vision has streamlined our process and has become an invaluable tool for tracking our leads as well."

Comments: We have been with Deltek Vision for over 10 years now. It's an invaluable asset to our company. We have been able to track our time better, handle additional services much easier, project manager's love that they can see their profit in real time and for CRM...amazing feature for our business development people. Great experience from the start!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/3/2017