15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Sage Accounting Reviews

About Sage Accounting

Sage Business Cloud Accounting is a simple yet powerful online accounting solution designed for small business owners.

Learn more about Sage Accounting

Pros:

Nothing, hard to use, does not integrate with other programs.

Cons:

In the end I had to make the decision to let it go or loose my productivity.

Sage Accounting ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.5/10

Sage Accounting has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 344 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sage Accounting before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (344)

Stan
Stan
Owner in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy and Accessible

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Not sure - nothing springs to mind as we engage

Pros:

Ease of use Not sure - nothing springs to mind as we engage

Cons:

Not sure - nothing springs to mind as we engage

Kevin
Director - Architect in UK
Architecture & Planning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage Accounting

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Works well being an online, cloud based product - like being able to have multiple users (all of the directors) access accounts reports and information from wherever they logon as opposed to having to pay for multiple user accounts or all use a single machine in the office.

Cons:

Lack of budget reporting is frustrating as is not being able to fully interrogate double entry journal records.

Janet
Accounting in Canada
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The sales department will upsell you on features you do not need

2.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: The customer service is terrible. They do not return your call. They also tell untruths. I called them out on it and told them I was a CPA so to "save" their fibs.

Pros:

It's good, but no better than the other softwares on the market. They all do essentially the same.

Cons:

The price. They upsell you on features you do not need.

Michael
Administrator in UK
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Accounting in small Charity

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Very good but as described above there is always room for improvement

Pros:

It’s simple and efficient to use. It was also easy to implement and transfer data

Cons:

There are some features which could be improved eg when email invoice out customer the invoice shows as being attached but you have to open the email to find any supporting documentation caused much confusion with customers Another example it would be helpful if documents ie contracts could be attached to customers and suppliers

JOLANDA
Director in South Africa
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage accounting review

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: All good except Bank feeds on certain banks not working

Pros:

Easy to use and to explain to clients jhow to use

Cons:

Bank feeds that do not work on certain banks

Elizabeth
ACCOUNTS AND BUYING in UK
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple to navigate

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: Generally easy to use, customer support is always very good.

Pros:

Generally a very user friendly programme with excellent customer support.

Cons:

No batch invoicing so it is much more time consuming when entering multiple invoices for the same supplier.

Liam
CMO in UK
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy accounting

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

From my point of view, Sage Accounting worth every penny. It was easy to deploy and use even with a little help from the support team, which by the way does a great job. Getting the weekly/monthly reports is easy.

Cons:

Is not perfect, there were a few flaws but were resolved.

Thomas
Thomas
Managing Director in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for small and medium businesses

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Always useful and quick to resolve any issues I may have.

Pros:

Allows you to set up accounts at ease with easy to review financial reports allowing users to understand where their business stands at any point in time.

Cons:

Once you have filed your VAT returns you cannot go back and update/edit the previous entry

Kim
Director in Canada
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Terrrible Customer Service

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Terrible customer service will not help me log on when 2 step verification doesn't work. The worst staff that man the help desk

Pros:

reasonably easy package to use. has all the functionality that I need

Cons:

The customer service is non existent can only use bots which keep you in a loop

John
Chartered Accountant in UK
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Better than others

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Ease of use once familiar with the programme

Cons:

Exported reports are in Tahoma and small font.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage Business Cloud Accounting

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Sage Business Cloud Accounting is easy to set up and use. I loved that it easily integrated with our existing business. With internet access, the software is accessible from anywhere and is available on mobile devices. It makes bank reconciliation and invoicing easy.

Pros:

Installation and implementation are easy. I like that the features are easy to use even for non-accounting persons. It enables real time sharing of files with clients and colleagues which saves on time and eliminates the need to direct email invoices. This makes debtor management easy and less costly. Accessibility from a mobile device is a huge plus when one is on the move. The software is also affordable and has a free trial. Sage has good customer support.

Cons:

Since the software can only be accessed online, it is difficult to work with when internet speeds are slow or when there is no connection at all. Sometimes bank sync feed is slow and the handling of foreign currency bank transactions could do with some improvements.

Mahir
Business Analyst in Bangladesh
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Awesome Accounting System if you can afford it!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The overall experience is definitely good and it's worth every penny if one can afford it.

Pros:

Sage Accounting application improved our efficiency and business processes by much. It's features are integrated and there's no functional flaws at all; we can trust it's reports!

Cons:

When you have 10+ users, it'll be a bit expensive to maintain Sage. Besides, initially the learning curve to get accustomed to it's features may take some more time for the traditional ERP system users

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Aviation & Aerospace, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A saviour for start-ups and SMEs! Sage is like a digital CFO

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Features! The wide array of features from automated invoice generation, reminders to follow-up actions, report & analytics generation for sharing with shareholders or investors, etc. make sage a must-use for small and medium enterprises. Cuts down unwanted bottlenecks in finances, payroll, while saving significant costs and downtime.

Cons:

Pricing is a bit steeper compared to alternatives. Although the premium pricing is justified by sage's product, I feel it is still not accessible to early stage companies. Maybe, a specific plan focused on start-ups offering only limited features that start-ups use on a day-to-day basis would be fantastic.

Gustav
MD in South Africa
Construction, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

One of my best investments yet.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: First of all i had no accounting software, no quoting and invoicing software. so this just makes my document presentation just that much more professional looking. also i only have to do the basic, and it does the rest for me.

Pros:

As a non accounting person, i found this software to be just what the tax man ordered in terms of financial accountability features. it's so easy and and intuitive to use, i was able to get started on the first day and even issued a quote to a client.

Cons:

well, i had trouble linking my business bank account to the software, but that could be the bank...

Eugenio
Professor in Spain
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

a tool to trust if there is budget for it

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: very good, all the accounting department can work with it.

Pros:

the robustness of the software, it does not save locally any file, is connecting to the server for every query.

Cons:

the price is very high, the company need to be bigger to be able to pay this software, the customer service is not very good in the it section, they are accountants.

Bruno
Entrepreneur in Portugal
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage could accounting - innovative solution

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Incredible experience, easy to use and helpful to develop the business.

Pros:

Sage Business Cloud Accounting is an innovative solution based on the sage software that allows to combine the original one with the cloud solution, as future and digital transformations needs.

Cons:

The software is quite expensive if companies does not needs all features presented.

Allan
Head of Information Security in Australia
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple to use Finance System

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

My usage was primary the reporting side (expenses were imported automatically) and it was great for tracking our teams spend vs budget each month

Cons:

It took 24 hours to refresh the data, however that wasn't a sage issue, but our intergration

Victoria
Business Owner And Senior Bookkeeper in UK
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Why Sage Business Cloud Accounting Is the Best Solution For Independent Bookkeepers

5.0 last year

Comments: Sage Cloud Based Accounting - runs not only our own business, its client structure and management thereof, it forms a key central hub from where we can deploy the various other Sage functions we use for our clients be that accounting functions, CIS, Payroll, year end accounts, VAT etc. Put in concise words - one log on - one hub - everything contained within it. It liberally is a one stop solution for a bookkeeping or accounting practice of any size.

Pros:

Sage provides a one stop cloud based solution with the power to tackle the most complex clients and the ease of use to mean that using it is not a chore - its well laid out, graphically pleasing and the menus have a logical and intuitive structure - it is easy to gain proficiency in its use and deployment and its advanced functionality is attainable without too much head scratching. Customer service is world class - and support features such as Sage University and Sage Champions are second to none - all in all its a mid-price point software package that does it all as well as anyone and often a great deal better backed than any of the competition, and it is backed up by the best aftermarket support package, customer service structure in the marketplace - with Sage you are never alone - they back you 100% in supporting you and your business and that alone is priceless in this day and age. Put simply - Sage is pivotal to our success and without them we could not do what we do.

Cons:

No - I say no because Sage are good enough to listen to improvement suggestions from end users, log them and incorporate the key ones in their roadmap - again the transparency of Sage and the inclusivity means that any teething problems are documented and supported until they are untimely resolved.

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
Senior Director Of Digital Marketing in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sage Business Cloud Accounting- easy accounting software

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: One thing I have to point out is that Sage customer service is quick to respond and even offers helpful resources like podcasts and blogs to help improve usability. They are also open to receive feedback from users to improve, which I consider a good thing, since they listen to their users.

Pros:

I have a couple of years using Sage Business Cloud Accounting and have had a generally good experience. I liked the interface with its intuitive and clean menus. Although I'm not an accounting professional, setting up accounts was easy. The platform is very easy to use, makes data entry easy and allows you to sync bank accounts for added convenience. Plus, it's perfect for small and medium-sized businesses, and you can even manage two-business accounts at the base price.

Cons:

Something I don't like is that it doesn't have good integration with other software, the interface needs to be improved, since it becomes somewhat monotonous, the synchronization of bank information sometimes loads very slowly.

Matthew
Owner in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Abysmal software and customer service experience

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: It appears as though Sage panicked when Xero and other cloud providers appeared in their market and so they rushed out a poor bit of software. They haven't developed it and so it is a long way behind its competitors, with basic functionality missing and a poor user interface. I have also had several problems with basic features (link the bank feed) which they have no idea how to resolve. The customer support experience is also the slowest and most painful experience I have ever come across from a SaaS provider. It is telling that they are slashing their prices at the same time Xero is able to raise theirs!

Pros:

The only two good parts of the software are the discounted price and it clearly shows you how long until the end of your VAT period.

Cons:

Unreliable Very little development in the 6 years I have used it Slow to do basic tasks The interface isn't user-friendly There is no way to take a back up your data The customer service is slow - typical experience is 20+ min wait for live chat, no response to emails and 15+ wait for phone support (on a premium rate number)

Aaron
Account Manager
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Comparable Systems Cost Much, Much More

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Built on the Salesforce platform so it can handle any number of users. Sage has initially targeted the small business segment with Live, however it is just as good for mid-market or enterprise. Consider the following features: Capable of handling 1-1000+ users.
SAAS (hosted and browser-based) so no software to install. No server needed.
Multi-Company consolidation
Inter-Company transactions
Dimensional accounting
Multi-Currency
Multi-Language
Purchase Requisition/Approvals and Workflow
Easy setup but can be configured as complex as you want, it's a very open database if you choose to use it that way
Open API, integrates with many other web-based apps
Well integrated with SalesForce
Tablet and iPhone/Android apps
These types of features are typically only available in enterprise level software like Intacct, Acumatica, Financial Force, X3, NetSuite, Oracle or SAP. You won't find this in Quickbooks, Freshbooks, Xero, Sage 50 or any other entry-level system. There's always been Microsoft Dynamics, Sage 100/300/500, Epicor, Infor and others, but those aren't true cloud based/browser based systems, nor are they inexpensive. What's unique about Sage Live is that they've priced it to be affordable for most companies - starts at monthly for 2 users and 1 company. 2 users and 100 companies is only $$$d/month. That is ridiculously less expensive than the other enterprise level systems out there. You can certainly use Sage Live as a small business, but the nice thing is that as you grow you can stay on the same system and not feel the need to change. If you are a mid-sized or large company, you owe it to yourself to take a look at Live before you make a decision on spending lots more money for perhaps the same thing.

Cons:

It has only been around for 3 years, so it's not as fully developed as some more mature offerings out there. They are adding new stuff all the time but you might find some features missing that you are used to.

Paddington
Junior accountant in South Africa
Accounting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My honest opinion about Sage Cloud Accounting

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It was a bit effective and allowed me to make my work easy even though I had to learn to do things differently from what I was used to

Pros:

The software saved much time which made my work as a Junior accountant a bit easy. It also made it easy to track down errors that I made during inserting details and it was less time consuming to ractifiy the errors. It was aslo handy for Financial Reporting to investors and the report must be straightforward and reasonable.

Cons:

The software needs to be tailored to fit to small and medium sized businesses. The Bank reconciliations system calculation can be consfusing at first which can stop other users from using it

Catherine
General Manager in UK
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to Use, easy to understand and overall beneficial to the team

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Easy to Use, easy to understand and overall beneficial to the team

Pros:

Easy to Use, easy to understand and overall beneficial to the team

Cons:

None, we love the new system it has been an easy transition

Bhanu
Bhanu
Technical Support in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

GOOD EXPIRENCE

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use sage for accounting. The best thing is we can use sage cloud anywhere in the world. the software reminds us of the payments due for the customers. Then we can call our customers. It's easy to use. It saves time. If your computer will be crash then our all accounts are fully safe in the cloud-based sage. It's easy to use and access. When we need any help then the sage technician will fix the problem within few minutes on the call with remote access.

Pros:

a few months ago we use the sage on the computer but if there any problem with the computer then our sage data not secure. Some time we lost lots of files as well. but when we subscribe Cloud service it's so much secure and easy. Our all data is fully secure on the sage cloud. The best thing is we can access anywhere in the world.

Cons:

Nothing, when we need any help the sage technicians help me.

Tarryn
Owner in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good solution for the small business owner

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It is fairly easy to use. It provides the basic needs of small business owners. Helps me with their tax prep needs

Cons:

Navigation through the product isn't seamless