Help Scout Reviews

4.6 (194) Write a Review!

About Help Scout

Help Scout's email management software has the features you need to keep things simple, move fast, and focus on delighting customers.

Learn more about Help Scout

Pros:

In the basic pricing plan it allows you to create up to three support mailboxes and thus supporting three organizations with a single account.

Cons:

It's really difficult to spice things up for the customer.

Help Scout ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Help Scout has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 194 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Help Scout before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (194)

Abraham
Abraham
Social Media Manager & Administrative Support in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Mining & Metals, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for Basic Customer Support

5.0 last year

Comments: I have nothing to say about Help Scout's services, it does an excellent job, hands down. Though it's lacking some features and the pricing is a little bit high based on what features they offer. If you want just a basic customer service software for handling emails then Help Scout is a good choice.

Pros:

Help Scout does what it's supposed to do and it's very good at it. No doubt about that. It's the very main reason why many companies trust Help Scout for their customer support management. You can create automations, saved replies, a knowledgebase, and a chat widget (they call it Beacon). Everything works as it's supposed to and we never had any issues so far. It's really easy to set up automations and saved replies, no need to look into their help docs. You just need to use your common sense to navigate through the dashboard. I am using it daily for my client's e-commerce business for the past 6 years and I can say that it's a really solid product. I also like their mobile app because it works really well. This is very important so you can attend to your customers even when you're not at your desk. Most customers want very quick responses and so the mobile app will be very handy when you don't have access to a computer. There's no issue with deliverability as all our emails and replies went straight to customers' inboxes, which is very critical for this kind of app.

Cons:

I found another software that has more features than this app and the pricing is also good. I wish Help Scout will have a feature where you can snooze or schedule an email or reply, and the ability to create embeddable forms. Also, I wish you can connect your social media accounts so you will be able to easily monitor your social media audiences when they message you or when they comment on your posts. These are available on the other software I found and it is a great alternative to this software.

Jakub
Customer Success Manager in Poland
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

One of the best products I've ever used

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: It was truly great: managing emails and knowledge base, getting reports, adding in-app tooltips - all of that worked flawlessly, and in rare occasions in which I had to contact their support, it was one of the best experiences as well. If I could choose the tool to handle customer support again, I would go for Help Scout - and I suggest you (aka the reader) to do just that!

Pros:

It makes managing incoming cases feel good - I've tried and seen other tools used primarily for customer support, and none of them were comparable to Help Scout for me. In Help Scout the entire UI puts the focus on serving the customer right, being light on unnecessary noise. Might sound cheesy, but somehow lets you connect better with the person on the other side of the screen.

Cons:

That I had to stop using it recently :( Other than that I didn't really find anything that I disliked there.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Help scout review

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall experience was not that good but it can be more useful if improvement will be done.

Pros:

It has user friendly interface, multi-channel support and can integrate with other tools like slack .

Cons:

It has very limited features.pricing is a bit Higher and has limited language support.

Dean
Senior System Admin in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pretty convenient and easy to use, but lacking in features…

3.0 2 months ago New

Comments: It was ok day to day, but we had to rely on other tools too often to get the job done.

Pros:

Super easy to pick up and use and their support was great. They always responded promptly and did their best.

Cons:

Compared to other products, it lacks a lot of features and some of what it does have is too simplified.

Aimee Rebekah
Aimee Rebekah
Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Alternative Medicine, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid Platform, Intuitive User Experience, 'Clean' Look & Feel, and Easy to Perform Basic Functions

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: I have used Help Scout for over a decade now and I'm kind of loyal to it. I had multiple problems this year where I was almost going to stop using it but their customer service is so good and thorough in the way that they communicate that I decided to stay. Help Scout is really affordable and it's really simple and it does have limits but if you're just looking for a simple way to track your emails and to provide a chat option for your website and to create a knowledge base then it's a really great tool.

Pros:

HelpScout is really simple to use & has a really clean interface and their customer service is A+++. I am someone who will stay with the company even if they don't have all the bells and whistles if they have excellent customer service, especially something like an email provider because it's hard to find really great customer service in email. I have been using it for over 10 years, & it also is like a database of all of my customer interactions. So I can type in the customers name at the top of the screen and it will pull up every email that they've ever sent in and every email that we've ever sent to them so it becomes this really powerful documentation tool.

Cons:

It doesn't have a ticketing system. So it's not so it sometimes it can be easy to miss emails or to have customer service emails go unanswered if a lot of emails come in at once. And a ticketing system and a lot of other email platforms it will bump it up to the top for you if you haven't answered it in a set amount of days but help scout doesn't have a easy way to do that. Even though it does have a knowledge base it's just not as strong in terms of customer service portal as some of the other tools I've explored like fresh desk.

Mizanur Rahman
CEO in Bangladesh
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple and easy to use functionality

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Help Scout is a powerful customer service software that offers a range of valuable features to businesses of all sizes. While there are some potential downsides, the strengths of the software are significant and can help businesses provide top-notch support to their customers.

Pros:

It has beautiful and easy-to-use UI and UX. It has been made by amazing professionals already in the customer care space. Help Scout can be brought on to any company scale and proves itself with metric improvements rapidly.

Cons:

Help Scout's pricing plans are a little expensive, especially for small businesses or startups.

Kenneth
Accounting in Philippines
Import & Export, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My personal view of Help Scout

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

I liked how simple it was to use Help Scout. It had a simple, clean design that was easy to navigate, and the customer service representatives were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. It was also convenient that the help desk was open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so I could get assistance whenever I needed it.

Cons:

The lack of customization options was the least appealing aspect of Help Scout to me. The platform is quite limited in terms of customizing the look and feel of the customer service experience. Furthermore, the customer service representatives appeared to be unfamiliar with product and its features.

Krish
Operations in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great way to manage support tickets

5.0 last month New

Comments: It was great - I used it only for 6 months.

Pros:

It was easy to use and the onboarding is minimal.

Cons:

The searching function can be better with some more granular options

Danielle
Literacy resource designer in US
Primary/Secondary Education, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Love using it for customer service

5.0 last month New

Comments: Overall, I do enjoy using help scout.

Pros:

It is a very easy software to use. It is super user friendly.

Cons:

It can sometimes be a bit confusing knowing what happens when notes are added as a direct message.

Tusar
marketing manager in Bangladesh
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

It's an incredible help desk tool and is ideal for ticket sales that allow extra staff.

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Great product for email support teams, but it doesn't work well for others. I like Help Scout's focus, but they need to adapt to the market before they give up.

Pros:

It is your best solution on the market if you are looking to interact with your customers via email only. Really easy to do and CS is also very useful.

Cons:

It's hard to spice up the customers. Limits are set pretty quickly when trying to personalize reports or be proactive with clients.

John
That Guy in US
Entertainment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Help Scout transformed our intra-office communication moments from chaos in motion to ballet.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: to keep it simple..streamlined staff communications on everything from emails to phone call messages to intra-office project coordination and much more. Did I mention not having to get emails about emails that were about a forward of an email that was a forwarded email snippet...yep

Pros:

I no longer get an email about an email that is about a forward of an email which was originally about an email that was about an email that was forwarded regarding an email that was sent. Exactly..we have all had the pleasure of deciphering the shortened email snippet, forwards and the references to email threads that are broken but with Help Scout I now see it all..and see when..and where ..and who..Yep.. order to the choas of my many "conversations". And ohhhhh sooo much data hygine..i agree a terrible phrase but such a critical thing for any serious business. This includes a robust beyond belief search and filter feature. For those who appreciate effecient shortcuts and cross refereneced data points...yep tags..and filtering by tags as well. The bane of my existence is also the best feature which is the timeline transparancy that Help Scout brings. We all know who touched what when so we can not step on toes and if we try they put in the "traffic cop" feature to prevent unprofessional duplicate customer touches. Additionally, you can use Help Scout to assign voicemails to staff individual to deal with if your voicemail service offers emailed transcription forwards. Our staff also create conversation for intra office communications all the time to document timelines and details for reference later if needed. HS has helped us track everything from maintenance service logs to customer complaints and staff schedules.

Cons:

This is only a tough question and one I would suggest come first when reviewing since after listing all the things i love and enjoy it helps me block out the uglier bits and pieces.. Besides some of the android app glitches that are more annoying than crisis creating I am still hard pressed to find many cons about using HS this past 2 years. has had a "negative" impact on my work communications besides the timeline busting myself for something

Jeff
Director of Support in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Terrific product. Great UI. Does lack on the integrations

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We've used Help Scout for several years. It's been a great product, really served us well. One of their best features is actually their marketing and weekly (twice a week now?) blog posts on Support, Marketing, and other related fields.

Pros:

Super easy UI. I don't have to train newbies on using Help Scout for more than 10-15 minutes. It's that simple to use. VERY customer focused. It's not about a bunch of bells and whistles that are flashy fish hooks only intended to get bought by fishermen but not actually catch fish. Their product signs for the customer and the Support rep in it 8+ hours a day.

Cons:

The lack of integrations. They just rolled out with a Salesforce integration, but lack integrations in other areas. Also, they're primarily focused on email so tracking chats and calls aren't that helpful...you would need to drop that data into Redshift, Gooddata, Domo, etc. to get much functionality in it. So unless you do that, you're stuck compiling a bunch in Google Sheets. Caveat: if all you do is email and maybe chat, then this product is everything you need and more.

Jeff
Director of Support in US
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Organization and focus on delivering excellent customer service

4.5 7 years ago

Pros:

They are super responsive. They are pretty rad and transparent: if something goes wrong on their end they are not afraid of admitting fault. Which leads me to trusting them because I can believe them. I know that tells you very little of the product, but as leadership that's something that I really need. Other environments—blameshifting—I cannot stand and can't trust, believe, or hope that they'll hold true to their promise. We're leaving another vendor for that reason. Their system is very responsive, quick, simple, and easy to learn. There aren't too many bells and whistles which simplifies my life when onboarding new teammates. Their docs are well written and engaging.

Cons:

The vendor is great! I'd say a better or more thorough live chat & phone integration would be great. We communicate with customers via email, phone, live chat, and Twitter. It's hard when all these are fairly decentralized. Help Scout *does* have a live chat integration (which we use) and we can forward VMs to Help Scout (which is great). But if you're looking for tracking call length, live chat length, or some of the other nifty metrics in one central place, you'll need to use Excel or a Google Sheet. Or use everyone's API to feed into your own system.

Maurice A
Maurice A
Operations Director in Honduras
Verified LinkedIn User
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Dead Simple to use Help Desk

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our company uses HelpScout as its internal Help Desk for all of our associate's requests/needs such as equipment request, payroll inquiries, BYOD access, and so. We found HelpScout incredibly useful; it has increased our response time and productivity, and we are starting to build our internal Knowledge Base. Moreover, most importantly, the price is affordable and goes along well our needs.

Pros:

Initial setup is straightforward. We currently only use the ticketing/email feature in HelpScout, so setup and email configuration were complete in less than 10 minutes. The interface is clean, direct, and getting used to the layout is quick. We have synced our main Mailbox queue to a private channel in Slack, so each time there's a new ticket is sent there, which is beneficial to keep track of incoming tickets. Working with HelpScout is simple and straightforward. Currently, we only use the ticketing feature, and it's been a gratifying experience. All the essentials like adding internal notes, tags, tagging other agents, and replying to customers are there. My favourite feature is the search function, which helps you find that four-week-old ticket you closed a while ago easily just by searching a few keywords that were included in it.

Cons:

So far, the only complaint we had was the "next" feature, once you reply to a ticket, the next open ticket assigned to you would pop up immediately, and if you're not careful, you might respond the wrong thing to the customer!

Lucas
US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, flexible, and great support

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We've been using Help Scout for ticket management for about three years. Prior to Help Scout we had used several others, most notably Zendesk. We found that Help Scout was the easiest for our team to use, while still providing a good set of features for customization. The support team at Help Scout has been fantastic as well; they've been very receptive to feature suggestions, quick to resolve what few issues we've encountered, and every contact with them has been a great experience. That last part is important; I personally deal with the support teams of a dozen or so vendors on a regular basis and sometimes the lack of attention to detail and reading comprehension in level 1 support is astounding. Very refreshing!

Pros:

Easy to use.

Cons:

No android app, but the web app is still quite functional on a small screen.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, great support

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We've used a number of ticket systems and found Helpscout best meets our needs. The integration options are easy to set up and increases the value we get from the software. The support is quick and always helpful.

Pros:

Its ease of use, great search with keywords in the help guide area of clients. The ticketing system is great and integrates with Infusinsoft and Trello so we can transfer information between teams. The reporting is also useful for creating guides based on real search terms.

Cons:

A recycle bin for deleted guides would be useful and more control over the look and feel or the canned replies.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and helpful features

5.0 last year

Comments: Very helpful and friendly e-mail platform for customer service and customer service related analytics.

Pros:

I like that it is very easy at the eye, we use it mainly for customer service and e-mail threads are really easy to catch up on even if conversations are several or long. Also Love the preset answers feature, very helpful for general questions.

Cons:

The thing I like the least is that filters are not the friendliest sometimes besides the filter you need to look further yourself for specific info.

Daniel
Operations/Support Manager in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Our company has been using Help Scout for a little over a year now.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We are a small business that has been steadily growing over the past two years. We began searching for a unified help desk service about 18 months ago. We tried another service first but found the cost and initial setup too daunting. We began a trial of Help Scout shortly thereafter. During our trial the Help Scout staff was eager and willing to offer assistance but I never felt pressured into committing to anything until I knew it was the right service for our company. They even extended our trial by two weeks because I had been so busy with other things I hadn't had enough time to test it out. In the beginning we only used the service to handle our e-mail and fax business. The fact that Help Scout integrates with our phone/fax service as well as our live chat service is awesome! Over the course of the next year we began utilizing more and more of the services and features Help Scout offered. We have found that the company has always been quick to respond when we had a question or needed assistance and was very open to any ideas or features we would like to see. They have implemented new features that have been invaluable in our day to day operations. We found the pricing structure to be very fair and flexible to suit our needs. The initial setup was very intuitive and only took a few hours before all of our services were up and running. I never felt pressured into paying for any services we didn't need. Overall we have been very happy with their flexibility and willingness to offer assistance when needed. We've very excited to try out some of the new features just implemented in the Help Scout Plus service and appreciate the offer to test it out before we commit to upgrading. Very happy customer!

Lindsey
Student Coach in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerful and Easy to Use!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Ease of use, overview of mailboxes and emails, time-saving shortcuts

Pros:

Love seeing all message threads with the contact to the right when an email is open Like being able to star certain boxes so they show up first Love being able to have stored replies Like being able to keep notes that you can see at a glance upon opening an email

Cons:

Don't like that it sometimes takes a bit for the numbers to refresh in mailboxes, from time to time. Don't like that you can't order or resize the starred mailboxes Don't like that multiple addresses for the same person aren't flagged somehow

Kayla
Contracts Administrator in US
Religious Institutions, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Shared Inbox

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It's very easy to utilize with multiple members using at the same time. You can always see where other users are and leave comments to each other on specific messages.

Cons:

When copying in a new email to an existing chain (or when the HelpScout email is adding to an existing chain), attachments are usually lost and have to be reattached.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Help Scout is the best customer service management software out there.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Help Scout is the best way to manage client communications. It is efficient and intuitive, saving my team time and keep our communications organized.

Pros:

Help Scout allows my team to handle client requests collaboratively and efficiently. The UI makes it easy to view my pending cases, as well as my teammate's cases making it easy to take it over if someone is out of the office.

Cons:

I have no cons for Help Scout. All the features and functionality was incredibly well thought out, and it is amazing how helpful it has been for my team.

Vivian
Art director in Canada
Consumer Goods, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I’m so glad I started using helpscout, it’s easy to integrate with other apps we’re already using and our whole team loves it.

Pros:

I use helpscout as a simple task management platform for a small team. I know there are other task managers out there but helpscout is so easy to use and simple in tracking tickets, assigning and closing, it’s all I needed to stay organized with projects and small tasks for my team.

Cons:

I wish I could get more details in the reporting. Maybe I have fully used it to the full potential but I would love to have full reports on each team member and how long each task took them, and be able to see this at a glance.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Apparel & Fashion, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great way to organize customer interactions

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This was the first customer service software we used as a team and it is really solid for being able to connect with customers through multiple points of contacts.

Cons:

I really wish we could connect the entire customer journey within helpscout, it would allow our team to be more informed when dealing with customers.

Mark
Mark
Senior Engineer in US
Computer Networking, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We Use Help Scout for managing our IT calls

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

-Ease of use. -It helps keep all of our service calls in one place

Cons:

-Since we are using it for service calls and not for help desk, it doesn't do all the things we would like it to do. It would be great if you could create forms that you could fill out.

Jesse
QA Team Lead in US
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Help Scout - a help desk that doesn't suck

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

First of all, Help Scout does exactly what it needs to (facilitate organized, efficient conversations between customers and support people) without getting in the way. The UI is great (especially since 2015) and the workflows are easy to learn and relatively powerful. Keyboard shortcuts are killer. But most of all, I love that Help Scout doesn't feel "heavy" or "dated". It feels modern, fast, and clean. And the support people are just plain awesome. Oh, and did I mention their blog posts?

Cons:

Like many companies, they had to grow to keep up with their customer base - which is awesome! But some of their new hires weren't the greatest at support (ironic, eh?). Also, they've had a fair share of downtime recently, though they've been excellent at communicating and building confidence even through these rough times.