Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.6 /5

About Ellucian

Deliver the tech-savvy school experience today's students expect. Empower their future and yours.

Learn more about Ellucian

Showing 25 reviews of 66

Timothy S.
IT Project Manager
Higher Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/6/2018

"Very stable software used by best higher ed. institutes"

Comments: Ellucian Banner has provided our students and staff with a single application that manages aspects of course registration, work, bills, payments, grades, academic status.
Single sign on module was extremely helpful

Pros: It is a high-end software. Very stable. It integrates with the Microsoft LDAP. We have been using it for student and employee account management in term of course registration, tax forms, billing, salaries, student employment, grading, transcripts. It has very secure and solid database which is essential for the above mentioned matters.

Cons: Managing it requires training. It is not easy to administer. The price is very high compared to competing software in the higher education sector.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/6/2018
Verified Reviewer
International Education Specialist
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2018

"Not a good integrated solution"

Comments: Negative, frankly. While helpful and polite, the team seems too inexperienced to be of much help. In fact, Ellucian seems to cause most of the problems themselves through self-inflicted wounds. Each update or patch implements some new ‘improvement’ that breaks most workflows and processes built for the previous version. As such, the hope to get a slight improvement ends up costing weeks of manpower to fix everything else in the test environment over and over again.

Pros: Ideally, when functional, the functionality between Ellucian products can be helpful. We use Banner and eRecruit CRM. We expected the CRM/ERP integration to be the best selling point when choosing the CRM application.

Cons: Despite being the same company, the products are not as seemless as we felt it should be. It took well over a year of implementation of the eRecruit CRM to customize it to fit with the Banner ERP. Even then, we still find issues where things are not being converted from one to the other well. One example, on the CRM, GB is the country abrieviation for the UK (Great Britain), but in the ERP, this is shown as Gabon. I’ve wasted so much time programming and converting little things like this that I find it hard to believe they were released by the same company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2018
Nadeem H.
Project Lead
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/9/2019

"Banner Human Resources Module"

Comments: This product is for higher education institutions. Ellucian is behind many competitors in this space however, it has realized this and is making positive changes in the right places.

Pros: Customer service is very good. The vendor is always willing to listen and help where they can. In addition, there is a customer portal which allows the customer to communicate with one another on issues or ideas.

Cons: My dislike is the current roadmap is very slow to achieve goals. Often release dates will be pushed out and this causes much frustration within the business that has planned to upgrade certain services.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/9/2019
Gil B.
Registrar
Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018

"Not a registrar’s best friend"

Comments: Ten years ago I moved from a non-Banner school to a Banner school. The transition to Ellucian’s Banner was a disappointment after using my previous institution’s software.

Pros: Ellucian’s Banner Student has the basic student records functions included. It will force higher ed administrators to change their business processes to fit the software.

Cons: I did not like the tool set (queries, printing, data loads) that come with the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/12/2018
Kenneth B.
Database Administrator
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/8/2017

"The Colleague Self-Service offerings are causing excitement with our students."

Comments: It is our school ERP.

Pros: The Colleague Self-Service Faculty view offers rosters, midterm and final grade entry. Our faculty are so impressed with this new functionality they would fight to keep from losing it.

Cons: Ellucian is difficult to get to respond to issues. I have been working with the Ellucian Cloud testing and it has taken months to accomplish what should have taken days.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 8/8/2017
Verified Reviewer
Clerical/Graphic Designer/Website Admin
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/8/2019

"It does what it's supposed to"

Pros: Ellucian allows us to build a functional interface for students and faculty alike.

Cons: It breaks. A lot. Can't tell you how many times I've been doing something fairly simple and suddenly Ellucian stops working or says a page can't be displayed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/8/2019
Verified Reviewer
3rd Grade Student Teacher
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/5/2018

"Reliable and secure"

Pros: I like that it is reliable and secure yet it allows me to save my password to log on. Some sites are so secure they do not allow it and it makes it frustrating to sign in and out multiple times.

Cons: There are times when the system is down due to maintenance. That is only because my university will perform updates at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/5/2018
Mayra R.
Corporate & Foundation Relations Coordinator
Education Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/7/2017

"Great Program, has everything I need to get my job done."

Comments: Ability to store a lot of information

Pros: I like the search capability and ease to look up any entity. I also like the ability to have all the information on an entity in one place.

Cons: Sometimes there is a lot of duplicate information, I wish there was a way to minimize that or to catch it before some information gets entered twice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/7/2017
Beth E.
Coordinator II
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/8/2019

"Better that other similar products"

Pros: the ability to see all the course work, history, current, gpa's, holds, etc at one place

Cons: still isn't always correct, some courses show up in places where they don't belong

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/8/2019
Verified Reviewer
Admissions Assistant
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/6/2020

"Ellucian in higher ed"

Comments: I love the product & love using it but wish there was more consistency in if it will work or not.

Pros: It is awesome to use for allowing students to track degree progress. It is simple for them to log on & see what is still needed.

Cons: There are a lot of bugs with this program. There is a high chance it is not working when you log on to use it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/6/2020
Lauren S.
Accounting Assistant- Accounts Payable
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/11/2017

"Not very user friendly and when told the system will do something, it actually will not."

Pros: It is hard to say because we have had issues with getting the system to do what we need it to, but I do like that it will create a positive pay file for manual checks.

Cons: It won't do some of the basic things for financials that I as an accounts payable person feel that the system should do.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/11/2017
Syrine J.
Analyst
Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/12/2018

"Great Higher Education Tool"

Pros: I liked the fact that it could house both student and faculty information at the same time. In addition, it allowed you to input information for instructors and move them around if necessary. We used the Banner by Ellucian software and it was useful for our needs

Cons: Nothing to note. It is good for meeting the needs of an institution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director Of Development
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2018

"Ellucian builds products then takes away support"

Comments: Terrible. Would not recommend for free, let alone the price we pay.

Pros: We use Banner part of Ellucian. It is effective to get large amounts of information into the system. It is effective is being our online filing cabinet.

Cons: The program is very difficult to use, to navigate through. It is impossible to use on mobile, literally impossible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2018
Swetha S.
Integration Specialist
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/5/2018

"sun gard delivered banner interface for student system"

Pros: it has a way to store the entire student data for higher education schools. There are several forms that have all the student information from registration to courses to personal information to highschool to grades to degrees.

Cons: It can get confusing to learn the forms. It takes time getting used to. Once we know the forms its not as bad

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/5/2018
Nicholas P.
Financial Aid Counselor
Education Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2018

"Ellucian"

Pros: I am a new user and I really enjoy that the product is very user friendly. If you have used any computer software in the past you should be able to adjust to using this.

Cons: The navigation shortcuts and codes were difficult to get accustomed to. Some lack of consistency.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Student
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/4/2019

"Access your university from your pc"

Comments: I have used this system when I was a professor assistant and student

Pros: This product provides a learning management system which makes the jobs easier for students and the professors. Students can easly check their duties and see their activities on this system and professors can easily manage their classes easily.

Cons: If there are a lot of students dont buy this software, during the peak times it makes lots of bottleneck and managing the problem is not that easy always some problem appears if some administrative user did something wrong. The money you pay and the service you have dont compensate each other

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 3/4/2019
Cyrus C.
Application Analyst/Developer
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018

"Mixed Reviews"

Comments: They are an established Higher Education software that is on the cutting edge with a lot of what they offer. The partnerships they offer with vendors seems to fall short in some cases. The support they offer for the products is generally good. But depending on the application may depend on how quickly they respond to support questions/issues.

Pros: Offers a variety of different software solutions that integrates with its ERP (Banner or Colleague). Along with a variety of ancillary applications that integrate with the ERP.

Cons: Cost would be by far the biggest issue. The second would be that as of late the company has a tendency to tout its upcoming or just released products will work but in reality it is being built and developed as the sales people speak. To be fair their established software generally works well and no complaints.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018
Connie T.
Prospect Research Coordinator
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/12/2018

"Easy to use"

Comments: We use this as our database for all alumni and friends.

Pros: It's easy to use and my favorite thing about this software is that I can enter very little info to do a search to find who I'm looking for. The possibilities are endless!

Cons: When it shows a listing of all the proposals a person has received, I have to pull each one up because there isn't anything about the listing that identifies specific ones. It's a minor irritation

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/12/2018
Sarah T.
Accounts Payable Specialist
Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/4/2019

"Ellucian"

Pros: I like that you can see a lot of different types of information and don't necessarily need additional software to get the job done.

Cons: It can be difficult to navigate through the different windows until you are really well versed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 5/4/2019
Verified Reviewer
Babysitter
Internet, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/5/2018

"Improves education experience"

Pros: I like how it allows users to view academic information easily. For higher education this software is greatly beneficial.

Cons: I do not like how there are times where the software is glitchy or will sign out if inactive for too long.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/5/2018
Verified Reviewer
Accounts Receivable Manager
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/2/2018

"Use this for University student records, receiving payments, accounts Payables, P/R and financials."

Comments: With angst and time we get what we need from it.

Pros: Contains a lot of integrated and complex data. From Human Resources, Student Records and Services, Payroll, Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable all in one softward

Cons: so NOT intuitive or user friendly. We have to have a whole IT department just overseeing the functionality of this software. Users are frustrated in each area - Payroll, Accounts Payables, Student Services... no one seems to feel the software was created for their unique purposes. We keep trying to find the department that loves it...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/2/2018
Verified Reviewer
Assessment Center Proctor
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/4/2019

"Quality Updates with Ellucian"

Pros: I like the user interface of Ellucian! It's easily navigable and very functional in every way. I work in Education and Ellucian is really helpful when inputting various forms of information into the system. It's quick and easy to use with every click you make.

Cons: I wish the keyboard shortcuts for Ellucian were easy to find.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/4/2019
Iris S.
UX Architect
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2019

"Can't begin to describe how horrible"

Comments: The navigation makes absolutely no sense, it's is extremely hard to just register for classes and find your way to the proper information. Absolutely unintuitive and simply extremely ugly. It looks like it's built in the 90ies.

Pros: Absolutely nothing, besides it just being horribly ugly the UX and Usability is utterly terrible.

Cons: As professional in tech I decided to enroll in some part time college classes for enrichment and I was appalled at the software system both schools had for students. Both systems for some reason look and navigate completely different but I found out are still made by the same company. Both is so complicated to use (again both totally different though students need to perform the same tasks) and I'm not sure why people (both school but especially the software company) think this acceptable is beyond me.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Analyst II, Operations
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/6/2020

"The Industry Standard but why?"

Comments: This product is very commonly used and it feels like they rely on this fact to put in minimal efforts towards innovation. If you have a different option, I would recommend investigating that.

Pros: This product is very commonly used in industry. The online support community around this product is very active and is very helpful when you encounter issues, bugs, odd behavior, etc. (which is often). It is based on a relational database so query writing is easy enough.

Cons: Software patches and updates from Ellucian are notorious for breaking various modules, connections between modules, etc. The UI is a very outdated model and tends to be very unfriendly for those who are not tech savvy. Customer service from Ellucian leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/6/2020
Jennifer R.
Banner Business Systems Analyst
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/4/2018

"It's hard to be vanilla"

Comments: We were in desperate need of an SIS and for the most part, it does serve our needs.

Pros: I like that we have a consortium we can share ideas and code with and have a single voice to Ellucian.

Cons: Banner INB is very clunky to use - even if you are good at using software in general. It is not a very intuitive product; however, the company is moving in the right direction.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/4/2018