15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Datadog

Cost-effectively collect, process, archive, explore, and monitor all of your logs without limitations with Datadog Log Management.

Learn more about Datadog

Pros:

It's expensive but the pricing is easy to understand and keep track of.

Cons:

Filtered tags is very Slow. The integration with another tools is difficult.

Datadog ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Datadog has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 242 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Datadog before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (242)

Dnyanoba
Dnyanoba
Deputy Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Datadog for log analysis of cloud

5.0 last year

Comments: Till now we have one of the good experience with the data dog as it is helping us a lot in monitoring our cloud and database server. A support from datadog team is also good thing to consider.

Pros:

The best feature of data dog is real time monitoring of logs and vulnerability scan which stands unique to save the server and cloud from further damaging

Cons:

The datadog user interface is very hard to learn and with the minimum training anyone cannot operate it fully also a lot of integrations are very difficult to operate.

Alternatives Considered: Panther

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: Price of datadog is very less when compared to other competitors and data dog has lot of feature which stands a top among its competitors datadog can work very smoothly in large data as well.

Shayla
Shayla
Human Resources Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Using Datadog to guarantee bug-free software

4.0 last year

Comments: It's an intuitive program that provides users with comprehensive records of all recent actions. Displays success or failure of the process. If the attempt fails, identify the faulty stage. It explains everything from beginning to conclusion.

Pros:

All of Datadog's basic building blocks are top-notch. Their data ingestion is lightning fast and (usually) dependable, their graph widget is adaptable and usable in a wide variety of contexts, and they have a good track record of introducing products that combine these features.

Cons:

Our experiences with Datadog support have been continuously negative; the company goes out of its way to avoid direct communication and offers irrelevant answers.

Adan
IT Project manager in US
Financial Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good tool for monitoring

5.0 last month New

Comments: Good tool, a bit expensive but worth it.

Pros:

A complete suite to track and monitor applications

Cons:

Sometimes is complete to track an error and complex integration with some clouds

Craig
Owner in Australia
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Couldn't install

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: If you can get it running I am sure it's good.

Pros:

Looks like it should do the job, less log limits than other products.

Cons:

Spent days trying to get it working on a pretty vanilla Windows VM but never could get it up and running. Support pretty much just told me to read the documentation which wasn't really helpful after going over it ten times already. Had similar problem with another product and they could tell me the exact lines of the config and registry that needed changing.

Alternatives Considered: Site24x7 and Raygun

Reasons for Choosing Datadog: Price

Switched From: Retrace by Netreo

Benson
IT Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Valuable Data Safety App

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Datadog has improved the data security procedures, and it gives companies the right operational support.

Pros:

The security measure from the program has been well implemented, and it resolves all the data needs.

Cons:

The most efficient data resolving needs are well captured by Datadog.

Srinivas
Srinivas
Vice President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Application Performance Monitoring tool!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Datadog helped us solve a critical reliability and traceability problem we had with one of our customers. There was not clear visibility into the root cause of an issue when it happens and that caused finger pointing between teams. While there were other monitoring tools being used, they lacked the capabilities that Datadog has which provided much greater visibility and helped us improve the reliability of our system landscape. Onboarding was a breeze and customer service top notch!

Pros:

Service Map, Session Replay, Custom metrics and monitors

Cons:

We had a sticker shock after onboarding, as the was the hosts were counted for certain infrastructure was not clear from the documentation.

Alternatives Considered: Dynatrace and SignalFx

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: Ease of integration, comprehensive documentation, good community engagement, good customer service, clarity in pricing

Sandeep
Sandeep
Systems Engineer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One Consol for everything related to monitoring

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent.

Pros:

I need not have multiple monitoring solutions for different Applications. So, creating combined Dashboards/Monitors/Alerts is very convenient.

Cons:

Pricing is a little on the high end, but it's definitely worth it .

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for working with AWS

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have been using DataDog to monitor our lambda logs for errors as well as keep track of load and uptime on various RDS and EC2/Fargate instances. The multiple account setup can be a bit flakey at times but overall the product works well and has a consistent interface

Pros:

The log imports from AWS work really well and are much faster at searching than using AWS Cloudwatch. I find it easy day to day to search for items in logs, especially after implementing a few log transformers

Cons:

initial setup gets a bit confusing sometimes, and it was easier to change the logging format of our code than to implement lots of parsers to make the log interpretation better

Alternatives Considered: Loggly

Reasons for Choosing Datadog: searching logs was too slow and difficult to get the results we desired quickly (especially to track down recent customer problems)

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: better / easier integration with our current development stack

Yaniv
Yaniv
Director, QA & Processes in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good service for logs management and analysis

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We used it for querying and analyzing logs in case of problems in our platform (bugs, stability, performance, etc.)

Pros:

The searching and filtering capabilities where quite convenient

Cons:

The stability issues in the last year got more often than usual, which is quite problematic when you need access to you logs in real-time

Rayla
Rayla
Graduate Research Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

I was hoping this would be a Splunk alternative

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Datadog is useful for visualizing and monitoring your cloud applications. If you have agents on you devices, it can analyze a ton of information coming in and show it to you, but that's where it ends, at least, as far as I could figure out in my free trial.

Cons:

I was very hopeful of this software, but I didn't want to throw agents from a product I've never used before on my servers and instances, so I tried to upload a data pull ( about 500,000 log entries) to Datadog, to see what it could do, but there's no way to upload a csv/txt file to the software. It has to be via agents on your services. I know that metadata would be missing from a csv, but it seems like a major oversight to not be able to accept a csv of logs for a new user to experiment at low risk.

Alternatives Considered: Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: My company decided to stay with Splunk and not switch to Datadog. It has a lot more capabilities.

William
VP of Engineering in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Dog eat Dog world

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: DataDog has allowed me to bring Fortune 500 company insights and application monitoring to a early stage startup!

Pros:

DataDog is able to ingest and make sense of a complicated cloud application without the developer having to understand the infrastructure or program specifically for it.

Cons:

That if I could afford it I would turn on all the features 24/7 and use them all.

Alternatives Considered: Prometheus

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: Needed the value fast with little to no development time.

Khatibur
Platform Engineer in India
Restaurants, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Real time Platform Monitoring Tools

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: DataDog is the best observability monitoring tool to detect any type of error in the system. The user interface is very simple and customer support and account help our teams in providing training and guidance in case of any issue. It can easily integrate with all third-party tools like Jira, slack, opsgenie

Pros:

The most like features of datadog are it provides real-time monitoring of any happens In the system and it is easily customizable. With the help of logs, we can easily create the monitor and dashboards. It can easily use all other third-party tools and can create alerts. It also provides anomaly which works on past data and it is sensitive and useful. Datadog is also AI capable, There is a feature called Datadog Insight which can easily detect any error in the system.

Cons:

Datadog is a fairly new application, Learning advanced features we are not able to find much documentation and learning on the internet. It also stores limited historical data and licensing is fairly high compared to similar monitoring platforms.

Alternatives Considered: Amazon CloudWatch

Switched From: Splunk Enterprise

Mark
VP of Engineering in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Observability super powers

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Being able to funnel AWS CloudWatch logs into Datadog made speed of deployment of Datadog incredibly fast - days instead of weeks.The log searching and faceting are extremely powerful. It's responsive, everything loads fast, and I can find single log lines in seconds.

Cons:

Being able to create facets on historical data would be great.When digging into log lines, being able to navigate back to previous lines that we read through would be great too. Sometimes we're clicking around so fast that a log line is long gone. I end up copying the URL and pasting it into a doc so I can refer back to it.

Alternatives Considered: Splunk Enterprise and Papertrail

Reasons for Choosing Datadog: We needed to be able to quickly search and facet logs, and view live logs, and have something that didn't require much more structure than logging out some JSON.

Shervin
Senior Cloud Systems Engineer in US
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Powerfull Tool.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very powerful and useful monitoring tool but so complicated to deploy at the first.

Pros:

Diligence, details and deep of monitoring all detail.

Cons:

capturing every single details, validity of details and more importantly capability to monitor everything!!!

Alternatives Considered: PRTG

Switched From: PRTG

Richard
Senior DevOps Architect in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Well worth the investment

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, it has been a very pleasant experience in comparison to New Relic, Logic Monitor and AppD.

Pros:

It is simple to setup and maintain. Plus the UI is really easy to understand.

Cons:

Polling period of the alerts are not short enough. The lowest is every 5 minutes but if a site is down, 5 minutes is too long to wait to see if it is down.

Alternatives Considered: AppOptics

Reasons for Choosing Datadog: Price and ease of use

Switched From: LogicMonitor , AppDynamics and New Relic

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Must have for your application monitoring and infrastructure management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall we are using datadog for application performance monitoring on daily basis an it has really helped us resolve application incidents.

Pros:

Application performance monitoring, server and database monitoring, dashboards & reporting, proactive incident management

Cons:

Sythentic queries are difficult to grasp. Need support for more geographies for application performance Monitoring

Alternatives Considered: AppDynamics

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great service for monitoring

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Datadog provides a way of having a lot of information about your systems, clusters and infrastructure in only one site, being able to analyze valuable data for your company. It is possible to create alarms and notifications when overpassing some threshold or value, for example, when a service is down in your systems of when the CPU gets a high percentage of usage. It integrates pretty well with tons of services and systems, such as Amazon Web Services, Apache, Nginx, several databases, and a long etcetera. Also, it is possible to send notifications to apps like Slack or Hipchat.

Cons:

Datadog is not very easy to use at the beginning and it needs a little bit of investigation but it is worth to learn it.

Mohammad Rabiul
Freelancer in Bangladesh
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Datadog Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Making the decision to utilize Datadog really facilitated my job. One of the finest tools that I can use to keep an eye on the performance and health of my projects is the study of the logs. This gadget works nicely and is quite practical. Real-time logging is effective. Definitely essential.

Pros:

From my opinion, with the most excellent features that Datadog has as user can track and take after logs in real time, something truly imperative to have within the case of extend is live. I usually like the idea of creating custom sees of sets of logs (with custom channels, information parsing and a parcel more) which user will share them together with the user group.

Cons:

Setting it up for the first time, seems like is a little challenging which is not at all simple to use or understand all the capabilities that Datadog provides at first. Interface is challenging and occasionally a roadblock. Then, filters are not very helpful if user fields are not properly mapped.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Monitoring for senior developers / platform people

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use it as a primary monitoring system. I'm a senior developer in charge of my team and I use it a lot. Dashboards are used daily in order to monitor what's happening, usually when deploying new features or changing some endpoints. We can trace the improvements we do by measuring response time, amount of errors, etc. I, as team lead, also use notebooks a lot to elaborate the QBR (quality business review) each quarter. I can create custom reports easily using the custom metrics we have configured across all the microservices. In comparison with New Relic, from my personal experience, Datadog is much better.

Pros:

Dashboards. Custom metrics. Ruby integration. Notebooks. Monitors & alerts.

Cons:

It takes time to understand each part and understand how to use it. It's a complex thing and if you're not familiar with monitoring systems it could be difficult to figure it out how you can find what you need.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Monitor full stack app performance with Datadog

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

For our AWS deployment, we use Datadog for application performance and server monitoring as well as synthetic HTTP tests . DataDog enables real-time information and measuring engineering-specific metrics and allows you to control how you trace and diagnose data. If you are looking to track the time it takes for a web hook to fire after an asynchronous request has been made, you can store the time the request has been sent in your database and when the webhook fires for that request, measure the delta and send it to DataDog. DataDog integrates with Slack, which allows for alerts on average and max thresholds.

Cons:

Datadog has a mature product but features are limited, the tool feels dated and the UI is very plain.

Žymantas
Platform Lead in Lithuania
Media Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Platform observation tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are happy to use

Pros:

We do like easy management and analysis of logs, tracing .

Cons:

Helm charts is bit hard to understand. Configuration might be hard for non experienced person

Alternatives Considered: Dynatrace

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: Cheaper then dynatrace

Matt
Devops Engineer in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Datadog is a must have for any cloud base infrastructure

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I love the ease of use, the up-to-date documentation, and the product capabilities.

Cons:

Support is slow and lacking, costs can get out of control fast and are not straightforward.

Alternatives Considered: Splunk Enterprise

Cara
Sr. Cloud Engineer in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best all-in-one monitoring tool

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Being able to combine all of our analytics tools in one place makes it easy to find the right information to investigate, monitor, and resolve operational issues quickly. Combining products like logs and APM traces makes both tools even more powerful for finding and understanding problems with our applications.

Cons:

If there's one drawback, it's the cost, which can become expensive for monitoring high-throughput systems or systems with a lot of hosts.

Christina
it specialist in Czechia
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Datadog

5.0 last year

Pros:

A lot of fun for less money. Great software for monitoring kubernetes infrastructure. Very clear dashboards, monitoring is very intuitive, great to use. Setup is simple and installation of the agent on PC was seamless. Aggregate views into one clear dashboard and monitor all metrics at the same time according to various filters and parameters. Many additional features to enrich the data. User friendly.

Cons:

In the time I have been using it I have not found anything that would not suit me with DataDog I have been very satisfied and it has met my expectations.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datadog Sniffs Out Problems Fast

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Datadog is an amazing cloud monitoring solution that provides great insight and alerting for our platform.

Pros:

Datadog provides a great, easy-to-use and extensible interface for displaying data out of your own systems, providing you the insight to sniff out issues as they arise.

Cons:

No matter how many integrations Datadog builds in, there will always be gaps, and some of those gaps hit our needs. As such, we need to use several monitoring solutions to cover our whole platform.