15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About BrightGauge

BrightGauge allows you to display all of your important KPIs in one place through the use of gauges, dashboards, and client reports.

Learn more about BrightGauge

Pros:

It is very easy to build gauges and a customized dashboard for every employee - every employee at our company has a dashboard with individualized gauges for their job role.

Cons:

This means when you are doing overhauls or audits, it's extremely difficult to know which customers have been addressed, and which haven't.

BrightGauge ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

BrightGauge has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 42 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (42)

Sort by

Have you used BrightGauge before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (42)

Kavindu Githsara
Kavindu Githsara
System Specialist in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Gauge Your Business Performance with BrightGauge

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, BrightGauge is an excellent tool for businesses that need to track and manage KPIs in real-time. Its user-friendly interface and extensive integrations make it easy to set up and use, while the real-time data updates ensure that users are always informed about changes in their data. While the pricing structure may be a bit confusing, the benefits of using BrightGauge for data visualization and analysis make it a worthwhile investment for many businesses.

Pros:

As a user of BrightGauge software in my company, I have found it to be a highly useful and intuitive tool for managing and visualizing key performance indicators (KPIs) in real-time. BrightGauge offers a wide range of integrations with popular data sources, such as QuickBooks, ConnectWise, and Microsoft Excel, which makes it easy to consolidate and analyze data from various sources in a single platform.One of the major pros of BrightGauge is its user-friendly interface. Setting up dashboards and reports is a breeze, with customizable widgets that can be easily dragged and dropped onto the screen. The platform offers a wide range of pre-built templates for different industries and KPIs, so users can get started quickly and easily. The dashboards are highly visual, with charts, gauges, and tables that make it easy to identify trends and patterns in the data.Another major advantage of BrightGauge is its real-time data updates. The platform is designed to provide users with up-to-date information on key metrics, which is critical for making informed business decisions. The software offers a wide range of notification options, including email, SMS, and mobile alerts, which ensures that users stay informed about changes in their data.

Cons:

However, there are also a few cons to using BrightGauge. The pricing structure can be a bit confusing, with different plans and add-ons that can quickly add up. Additionally, the platform does not offer a lot of advanced analytics and reporting features, which may be a drawback for some users.

Elias
Centralized Services Administrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful Product, Concerns About Support

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, the product is powerful and helpful, but support could be improved. Unfortunately, all products owned by ConnectWise has seen a decrease in support effectiveness since the company was sold.

Pros:

BrightGauge allows us to fairly easy create gauges and dashboards that help our team be aware of any issues that need addressed. There are a impressive amount of gauges supplied out of the box.

Cons:

Since the product was acquired by ConnectWise, we have seen a decrease in the level of support that we receive. Previous to the acquisition, I was always very impressed by the level of support that I received. Now, support is less helpful and responsive.

Warren
General Manager in UK
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Bright Gauge - Not as beefy as PowerBI

4.0 last year

Comments: BrightGauge is decent enough to use, but doesn't pack a punch like PowerBI does. It lacks many features and is not as easy to use.

Pros:

The CPU demand is very low for Bright Gauge, which will attract a lot of people, as it's rivals can be more demanding on that front.

Cons:

It doesn't feel fluid to use. I enjoy using PowerBI as it feels like a reliable environment. BrightGauge just doesn't feel like a finished product. It's almost like it's trying to get there, but it's missing some fundamentals, like ease of use.

khaled
CEO in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Reporting and Metrics

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We run very tight metrics on our service tickets in CWmanage. time to acknowledgement of a ticket through time to resolution. We also perform weekly ticket load as well as use these metrics to award monthly bonuses

Pros:

The best part of the software is it's compatibility with CW Manage and Automate. We run many reports and metrics for our services and sales team and find the ease of ouse very helpful.

Cons:

It has become very annoying to see features added and then we have to pay more for them. We have to pay more to simply perform calculations? or to charge us simply to setup a new user? both are a bit ridiculous.

Rob
Chief Operating Officer in US
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great platform, but still needs additional features

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This software is great for pulling in data from multiple product sources. It allows you to define gauges, and put those gauges on dashboards or reports. We initially bought it for monthly client reporting, so that we could include data on their reports from multiple sources. However, we quickly found that creating dashboards for different things (service, techs, sales, opportunities) we could reduce internal emails flying around, and help drive staff towards the items that need attention.

Pros:

Love the ability to create customer reports from multiple product sources! We also love the dashboards we can make. It's helped reduce errors from missed email notifications, and instead we can work the dashboards to "manage towards green". The dashboards have really transformed the way we keep track of everything in our organization.

Cons:

I would like to see more information available from the different datasources. I would also like to see a greater understanding on the developer's part of the different datasources. Sometimes there are issues they just don't understand (How can a ConnectWise opportunity not have a start date?). I would also like to see better ways for mixing different types of data from the datasource. Sometimes the capabilities of the gauges can feel very rigid, and you might want to look at the data in a different way, but can't. We would love features that allow us to use the data in the way that we wish. For example, I would like to be able to look at ConnectWise activities, filter by type, and then know how long they have been in certain stages. Same thing for tickets, or opportunities. BrightGauge should give us the ability to log, and know know how long an object has been in a particular state. That would be a very powerful feature for us. One other thing that is major annoyance is there is no way to sort reports by the company they were created for. It would be such an easy thing to fix but 1.5 years later and we still can't sort on this column. This means when you are doing overhauls or audits, it's extremely difficult to know which customers have been addressed, and which haven't. Huge pain in the rear, and such an easy fix. Sometimes your PDF reports don't generate for really no reason. That is also annoying.

Shaun
Shaun
Manager, Managed IT in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Reporting and Dashboards for ConnectiWise

4.0 12 months ago

Comments: Brightgauge has been an relatively easy way to greatly improve visibility one both the work we do and the environments we support.

Pros:

The product is very easy to use and setup, it includes a number of built in reports and dataset that should be useful right out of the box.

Cons:

You won't always get all the data you'd expect, as what's available pulls from it's datasets instead of directly from your databases, and while this does present advantage from a performance standpoint it also imposes some limits on the data that may be available and how current it is.

David
David
Head Of Operations in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An incredibly powerful BI tool - Great for MSP's

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I love it, it is incredibly powerful and has enabled me to get a much better view of what is actually happening in our business, not just what I thought was happening.

Pros:

It is really simple to create reports, dashboards, and gauges using drag and drop. Support from Brightgauge is really good, always responsive and friendly. Regular new feature releases keeps the product improving

Cons:

You need some SQL knowledge to set up the datasets yourself. That said, Support have always created them for me when I have asked. It is definitely aimed at SMB's, so if you are looking for an enterprise-grade BI tool, this isn't going to work in my opinion.

Jeffrey
Jeffrey
Director of Managed Services in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best dashboarding software I have ever worked with.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: This product has helped us to bring visibility to our operations.

Pros:

Exceptionally easy to use. Lots of out of the box examples. Constant improvements that add functionality without cluttering the product or forcing a trade-off of other core functionality. Support is amazing. They truly listen to the customer community when it comes to functionality improvements. Attractive pricing structure.

Cons:

I would like a way to do a rotating carousel of some of the dashboards. Would love to see BrightGauge sponsor a raspberry pi distribution that specifically was meant to quickly deploy signage.

Nathan
Nathan
NOC Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BrightGauge has provided an easy way to design dashboards, reports and scorecards.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use - it is very simple to create dashboards, reports and scorecards. Presentation - the appearance of the dashboards and reports is modern.

Cons:

There is a Filter option that allows you to create a dashboard and then filter it. For example, we have dashboards that have a filter allow us to look at the same dashboard client by client. Unfortunately, the "filter" option can only be used by users with an "Editor" license. This makes the feature almost useless since we have so many "Viewer" users.

Matthew
IT Operations in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

BrightGauge is a game-changer

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: We are able to visualise many KPI's, quantities of inventories, turn-around time on tasks and many more which we use daily to make important business decisions

Pros:

BrightGauge has been a game-changer for visualising data from multiple sources into one portal which can be used internally and also shared with clients at no addiitonal cost

Cons:

The gauges are quite customisable for known sources but the list of sources is slightly limited and we'd like to see more sources being added more regularly

Jeff
CEO in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Game Changer

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: See the Pros section above. We have been using this for probably almost 5 years now - and keep paying to add more data sources. We currently pull in data from 8 different sources. The software has been a complete game changer for us and visualizing our data. We use it every single day across our entire organization. I cannot imagine running out business without it at this point.

Pros:

This software let's use see data in ways we almost couldn't even imagine - and certainly could never get otherwise. Makes for very easy access to pulling data out without having to program, etc. Also opens up doors to mashing data from different sources together on a single gauge and dashboards. One of the very best things (and there are many) is the company and their support. Unmatched!

Cons:

Honestly, I really cannot come up with even a single thing as a con.

Jonathan
President in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Analytics, Anomalies, and Access

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Support on the product has been stellar. Questions and issues have been handled quickly. The software has been worth every penny spent. The visual insight into our data and applications has allowed each employee to manage their own productivity via customized gauges and dashboards. For most people, the dashboard is the starting point for most work tasks now.

Pros:

It is very easy to build gauges and a customized dashboard for every employee - every employee at our company has a dashboard with individualized gauges for their job role. We have gauges built to highlight productivity metrics, to identify errors/issues, and to enable faster access to our underlying software applications. Most of our employees use brightgauge every day, and we are in the process of implementing TV's around the office to display company dashboards.

Cons:

You can add color to data in a gauge, but it is really limited to two different colors. It would be nice to be able to do more. For example, you might want to do red, yellow, and green for error, warning, and good.

Brandon
Owner in US
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TMG Brightgauge Review

5.0 last year

Comments: This tool is extremely helpful and has improved the overall maturity of our business. We continue to improve our usage and analytics of the data. It is easy to share the dashboards and we can even share this data with our clients.

Pros:

Ease of use in order to build out quick reports and gauges so we can make quick and accurate business decisions. Any time we need assistance, their support is quick, friendly, and will even build out gauges for us.

Cons:

The cost. I don't need all the data sources now but am unable to bring back down the price with less data sources but they are unable to do so to drive down our monthly price.

Jill
VP in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mission Critical Tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: BrightGauge is a mission critical tool for our organization. By integrating into many of our operational and technical tools, we have centralized visibility and analytics to make more effective decisions. The staff at BG is fantastic and always will to go above and beyond to help us better leverage the tool.

Pros:

The ability to integrate with multiple data sources and compile into meaningful analysis to drive visibility into our business and allow for more effective decision-making.

Cons:

Organization of the gauges (into the folders) is not very helpful in terms of the level of detail (where the gauges are used, last updated, sources of integration). The ability to make mass changes, rather than gauge by gauge (e.g. in the event of having to repeat filters on multiple gauges, or change a data source).

Thomas
President in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great dashboard sofware for your PSA

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use BrightGauge for daily KPI reporting and to display on dashboard TVs in our office.

Pros:

BrightGauge is extremely easy to set up and use. Most MSP applications have a built-in connector, making configuration very simple.

Cons:

The product is very expensive for what we use it for. I wish they had a "light" version for just doing simple reports and internal TV-dashboards.

Lolen
President in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Love Brightgauge!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall it has been a great tool that I have used for years and will most likely continue to use for a very long time.

Pros:

It serves an important need that Connectwise is very weak at providing. The dashboards and alerts really keep my team focused on getting to the next ticket in a timely manner.

Cons:

It's probably just because I don't do it often, but creating / editing gauges can be frustrating and not as intuitive as I'd like them to be. But... when I need help, their support is amazing.

Alastair
Customer Service Specialist in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A useful tool with room for improvement

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Generally BrightGauge is a great platform. It allows us to analyse, visualise and share data on service metrics in a way that we couldn't do before. As with all products there are frustrations but we genuinely think it is a good addition to our toolbox.

Pros:

Being able to analyse data from several sources but primarily our PSA in a graphical form is brilliant. The built in reporting tools in Manage are awkward and ugly. BrightGauge allows us to manipulate that data and display it to customers in a clear and meaningful way. Gauges are generally fairly easy to make and there is a lot of scope and depth built into the platform to create highly complex gauges.

Cons:

The lack of a simple OR query in gauges causes no end of frustration. Having to create layers for each query followed by a calculated metric often doesn't create exactly what we're after. It is by far the biggest drawback of this product. It would be wonderful if there were more direct integrations available with out other sources - the dropbox/Onedrive solution helps get around it but it's a bit clunky. Lastly, the formatting tools for reporting are woeful. The experience of building and formatting a report is painful.

Carl
Network Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Technician and Customer Tracking

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: This is a good tool for tracking performance at a glance.
It is for a good reference, but official numbers still should be verified within the software that the integration sends info over from.

Pros:

There are many features that can be detailed. I really like that you can see which user at a particular client enters the most tickets. Also the daily goals have a board to show who all has reached it.

Cons:

Sometimes the various screens don't pull the same date so 1 screen might say a technician closed 4 tickets while another might say the same tech only closed 3. Refresh rate is not simultaneous

David
President in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This software allows me to have command of my business.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I love this software. Within a month, I was using this software and I had critical data at my fingertips.

Pros:

This software is so easy to use and gives me the power to consolidate all of the critical data and KPI’s I need to know to make smart decisions and have command over my business.

Cons:

The only thing that I wish was more powerful is the reporting engine. It is limited to just the gauges which isn’t always what you need on a report.

Ken
CEO in Ireland
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Support

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use BG to manage our daily, weekly meeting, client reports and on demand reporting.

Pros:

The software is easy to use, once its setup. Support is exceptional.

Cons:

Can be hard to setup and I would like to see Wizards to get tasks done. Additional integrations are expensive.

Matt
Director Network Engineering in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Computol 2019 Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use BrightGauge for daily reporting on open tickets and department KPIs. We have also started using it to track the tools we use.

Pros:

It is easy to use. We were able to get gauges setup quickly using the predefined field mappings.

Cons:

Some of the field names are not clear on how they correspond to the application fields or what data is used in the calculation.

Donna
Business Growth Specialist in US
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BrightGauge Reporting Review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

BrightGauge is an easily customizable solution that provides great reporting to our clients. It has become a valuable part of our solution and delivery.

Cons:

Sometimes the interface breaks and has to be reestablished otherwise your reports will be wrong

Mike
President in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

BrightGauge review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, Brightgauge has been one of best partners. Your service is exceptional and always willing to listen/find new ways of reporting.

Pros:

Ability to report across various data sources. Additionally, you're always looking to bring in new integrations.

Cons:

Organization options for gauges (e.g. folders You have to touch everything manually

James
CEO in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ridiculously easy...

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: While i like the product, I am contemplating if it is worth what we pay, in that we can create similar graphs in Autotask.

Pros:

I like how easy it is to setup gauges. The dashboards are great and more flexible than autotask dashboards.

Cons:

The goals section is cumbersome to track KPIs and lacks any graphing or export features.

Chris
CEO - Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Price is high given how we use it

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: favorable

Pros:

Good dashboard look, easy to modify, updated often enough for our needs

Cons:

complicated when trying to do more complicated multi data joins (well its complicated stuff what do i expect) we use 1 dashboard we watch in our office, that's all. we have multiple data hookups but really only use connectwise, we pay alot for how we use it and that often has me thinking we could just build our own basic dashboard and save over 3k per year.