15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Forma LMS

Open-source eLearning platform focused on corporate training needs such as integrability, automated tasks, talent management.

Learn more about Forma LMS

Pros:

And to manage and customising is not difficult. You can get support on the forum "elearningcommunity.net" very quickly.

Cons:

Menus and functionalities are difficult to find and use for users and for the administrators.

Forma LMS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

Forma LMS has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 155 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Forma LMS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (155)

Ankur
Ankur
Credit Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Bringing revolution in e learning through Forma LMS. Its the need of the hour for businesses !

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Forma LMS is the most comprehensive web based platform for making the e learning and authoring activities seamless without any major trouble. Also, its the savior for businesses as it meets the digital needs and requirements of businesses in most effective manner possible. Cheaper alternative to most of its competitors and stands out of the crowd due to its excellent features and utilities.
The authoring is collaborative and is fully available and functional on lower bandwidth also. The e content are stored in LMS appropriately and suits to the needs of the learners effectively.

Pros:

Best open source web based e learning platform and software for strengthened learning for hybrid and remote workforce. The training and orientation of workforce is done effortlessly though Forma as it is one of the best collaborative tool for professionals and businesses presently. Talent management is easy and comprehensive through Forma LMS as it helps in selection of candidates through online assessment evaluation and selection. Online training in post pandemic era has become easiest than ever. Authoring e content is easy and is securely accessible to target learners.

Cons:

No dislikes till date. Keep improving the addition of new features and utilities so that it never become obsolete from the market and stay relevant forever. The premium version should be provided in such a tariff mode so that utilities can be best met in most customizable mode. Rest of the features are superb.

FormaLms Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your review!

Shivam
Shivam
System Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Transform Your e-Learning Experience with Forma LMS

4.0 last year

Comments: As a Forma LMS user, I am amazed with the platform's level of customization and adaptability. The interface is straightforward to use and intuitive, making it easy to navigate and obtain course materials. The programme has enabled me to customise my learning experience to my specific requirements, and the reporting and analytics have been invaluable in tracking my progress and suggesting areas for growth. I like the platform's dependability, as well as its great video conferencing and online streaming capabilities, which have made my learning experience truly immersive and interesting. Overall, I am very pleased with Forma LMS and would suggest it to anyone seeking a comprehensive e-learning solution.

Pros:

As a user, I can certainly claim that Forma LMS has exceeded my expectations. This platform offers a comprehensive and user-friendly learning management system, which has been extremely valuable to both myself and my clients. The ease of course creation is one of Forma LMS's distinguishing qualities. It is simple to create new courses and add content such as videos, papers, and quizzes. I really like the learning paths function since it helps me create a structured learning environment for my students.Forma LMS is distinguished by its social learning features, which have aided in the creation of a collaborative and interactive environment for my clients' e-learning programmes. Students can readily interact with one another via forums, chat rooms, and online conferences, resulting in an immersive learning environment.

Cons:

I had a great experience with Forma LMS, as everything functioned well.It has been an effective tool for my team's e-learning needs, and I appreciate the platform's dedication to providing cutting-edge online and blended learning features. I'm excited to see what fresh developments Forma LMS will offer in the future.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Stable and reliable LMS platform with an improvable UX

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: We chose this platform to address the request of our cliente who wanted a low price LMS platform.
After 3+ years of using with 2000+ users, we can say that the choice has not been so wise.
The user support we had to set up and the difficult maintenance of the platform made the costs grow significantly.

Pros:

The platform is stable and reliable. It has advanced features and can be integrated with other services.

Cons:

The platform is not easy to use and it doesn't have an overall pleasant user experience. Menus and functionalities are difficult to find and use for users and for the administrators.

FormaLms Response

2 years ago

Hello, thanks for your review, although I think it's a bit unfair. Forma is used by thousands of users and one of the main reasons is that it's much easier to use than Moodle, for example. Also it's unclear to me what kind of user support you need, we have several installations with thousands of users and barely any support request. If you think we can help you in any way, let us know. Max

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Forma LMS great way to start your online learning tools

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Generally, I like it as my students don't have any problem using it and navigating it.

Pros:

there is no initial cost associate with it, where if you want to use WP or any platform you need to spend more than $200/year. I like the straight forward course creation and adding a registration page and be able to create courses and share materials between the students

Cons:

the difficult process for me was to figure out how to create a course and how they gonna look like for the end-user. I strongly believe Forma LMS needs to create a course to teach how to use the software. Also some of the options you need to integrate with, it would be great if it comes with it.

FormaLms Response

3 years ago

Hi, thank you for your reviews. Please look into our documentation website: it's full of resources on how to create courses. Max

Imon
Deputy Manager in India
Management Consulting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Highly recommended eLMS software for digital training and online course authoring !

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Forma LMS is best in class solution for online learning and online course authoring in the most easy manner without any trouble. It is easily integrated with 3rd party platforms and dashboards. It generates customized reports within fraction of seconds without any hassle. Taking and giving online tutorials and live webinars is easy than ever with this software and you will never face any app integration issues. Its compatibility across any internet bandwidth is just fantastic.

Pros:

Work at fast pace and does not slows down while functioning. Also, Forma LMS is widely used for online digital training and hybrid learning. It works with great efficiency and never lags during operation. All the courses can be uploaded through online mode and can be made available to wide masses within fraction of seconds anytime, anywhere. It has huge customization features embedded which helps in generating customized reports and customized functioning. It's a unified platform available to multiple clients in one go. The LMS has great engaging experience with interactive customer interfaces and works well with all kinds of API interfaces of 3rd party dashboards and platforms.

Cons:

No problem encountered so far. Worked really well for my team so far. Keep innovating and offer cutting edge best in class online and blended learning features.

Shrinkhala
Project Consultant in India
Management Consulting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Online learning & training is easy with Forma LMS. Highly recommended e learning platform for all !

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Its awesome and worth satisfying. The Forma LMS is the best LMS solutioning in the market. It helped us greatly during pandemic times, when everything was stopped at a point and we ensured that learning and training should not be stopped under any case. For this, we adopted lot of LMS system and evaluated all of them and found Forma LMS as the best. Because of its high efficiency and low cost burdening on part of expense, it was great for all users to use the software at its best. High stability and high replicability of the software across diverse environment made this software favorite of all. Audio and Video conferencing at its best is being experience by Forma LMS.

Pros:

Best open source e learning platform for efficient and easy delivery of online training in remote workshops and learning remotely.Video conferencing along with complete tracking management is done easily through Forma LMSCertificate management system for seamless delivery of certificates with end to end bar code tracking is feasible through Forma LMS.Authoring different e courses into different vernacular languages is possible via this amazing LMS .

Cons:

We liked all the features and parameters greatly and found the software absolutely great. One of the best open source softwares in the market with lowest costing and is absolutely free for accessing majority of the features. More mobility system can be added into this so that on one login, multiple uses can have access at same point of time without much trouble.

Srikanth
Assistant Manager-Projects & MIS in India
Management Consulting, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The Best-in-class e learning platform solution for businesses and educational hubs ! Must try

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Forma LMS is pretty good and satisfying so far. This e LMS platform is the one stop destination for all readers and learners who look for 24*7 seamless and uninterruped learning experience anytime, anywhere. One of the best learning platforms in the market which enables and strengthens one's learning experience and make it a fantastic one .
They are the only cost effective solution which helps all kinds of users on part of affordability and is accepted by one and all. Video conferencing and online streaming is extremely good with Forma LMS and is been recommended to all my peers.

Pros:

The easy plugin installation and deployment across any devices is seamless and quick. Our Training, Assessment and Certification vertical is using the Forma LMS services for certification management and tracking the certification status now and then. Businesses enable their Learning management team to strengthen the knowledge transfer and management process through Forma LMS due to its advanced and high utility capabilities. It's an open source learning platform, mainly web based and comes with high utility features ranging from video conferencing, LMS management, customised module development online and curating blended (Both offline and online) courses so that it is relevant and accepted by all kinds of businesses and their users. Keep upgrading their utility features by improving the service offerings now and then.

Cons:

We liked all the features and its utilities. No complaints till now. They should bring in more customised module features with high end application features for its applicability across different working sectoral environment.

Frinto
Manager in India
Management Consulting, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Structure and Streamlined e-learning with Forma LMS. The best open source LMS for Businesses !

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Well, its amazing and great till date. High level of professionalism and business ethics is shown by their people. Well applauded for their disciplined working and quick response on business front. All other partners are giving wonderful feedback about them so the peer recommendation is really strong and positive in case of Forma LMS. This is encouraging and welcoming.
The software is embedded with advanced e learning quick features which improve the learning experience and outcome and has greater impact on one's learning. The learning is life long with great output with Forma LMS.

Pros:

E learning is facilitated effortlessly . No hassle and no cumbersome process Delivering training through this LMS is easy and no extra effort needed at all. Cost effective solution and not hard on pocket. It is cost effective across all financial aspects of all the services offered. Easy integration and seamless deployment with other external 3rd party dashboards and softwares. Easy to manage by learning audiences and target beneficiary Loved by all learners

Cons:

No dislikes as such till date. The experience is awesome so far and it helped us to manage our LMS in online mode and deliver the training pan country in uninterrupted mode. We will welcome any reduction in costing further as it's an important aspect for start up organizations likes us and due to stormy competition on this front, everyday a new vendor chips in with their best offerings at reduced cost and we are ought to take them.

Ridwan
Training Manager in Bangladesh
Human Resources, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A great, professional looking, open source, option perfect for establishing a no cost LMS

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Forma LMS helped me to launch a low cost, professional looking and easy to use LMS. My audience loved it too as they can dive right in without crossing a complex learning path.

Pros:

I was trying out different LMS solutions in the market. I tried several paid options which are mostly out of my league just to get the taste of the current innovations in LMS. Then I came back to the real world and started test riding all the open source options. My 1st test was with Moodle as it was the go to option recommended by most websites. I didn't like Moodle's interface. It has a ton of options but doesn't have the looks of a corporate LMS where it is very inviting and easy for users to jump instantly inside a course. So, I went for the second best, "Forma LMS". Forma amazed me because I could set it up instantly in my website. Uploading courses are also a breeze. Yes I face some hiccups as I didn't know it works well with PHP version 7.0 and lower but the basic functions were working fine. I was able to test run my LMS within hours of deployment. If you are geek like me you know how does it feel when everything works the first time. If you have softiculous support with your hosting provider then it is more convenient. You will have a working LMS within 15 minutes if you have the contents ready. So, all the poor people who wants to role out his own easy to use and pro looking LMS, Go for Forma LMS.

Cons:

Certification Module is very irritating. You have trial so many times to get your working certificate template. And it is broken if you use any PHP version later than 7.0. Another thing is the exam module. No doubt its very powerful. But powerful doesn't mean the UI have to look complex.

FormaLms Response

3 years ago

Hi Ridwan, thanks for your excellent review. Version 3 will be out in a few weeks, with added support for php 7.4 I will report your comments on the certificates and on the exam module to the UX team.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A Great Platform for your LMS needs with High Customization Support!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall it has been a great experience for me , Forma LMS has helped me in creating courses for the new joiners in the team for their faster training and ramp up. Have also allowed keeping track of compliance trainings. Also helped me in creating tests to check their project readiness.

Pros:

1. Easy to create and design training and learning courses. 2. Good support for plugins and integration option making it quite flexible for usage. 3. Allows you to easily keep track of your learnings 4. Users can easily setup test and assessments in the end of the trainings 5. Support for real time webinars and workshop trainings 6. Quick customer support in case of issues.

Cons:

1. User interface can be more robust and dynamic to increase engagement of learners. 2. Lesser documentation available thus takes sometime to understand and design courses

Palla
Web Master and IT Professional in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A Dynamic Tool for Developing Effective E-Learning Programs

4.0 last year

Comments: The creation tool that allows users to create engaging and interactive e-learning content. The platform's mobile compatibility ensures that learners can access the content on the go, making it more convenient for them to complete their courses. The mobile support is seamless and responsive, allowing for a smooth transition from desktop to mobile devices. The platform's ability to create mobile-friendly content is especially important for organizations with remote or distributed workforces. Overall, Forma LMS's course creation and mobile support capabilities make it a valuable learning technology platform for organizations looking to develop effective e-learning programs.

Pros:

Open-source platform: Forma LMS is an open-source platform, which means that it can be customized and extended according to the unique needs of an organization.User-friendly interface: Forma LMS has a user-friendly interface that is easy to navigate, making it accessible to users with varying levels of technical expertise.Multi-language support: Forma LMS supports multiple languages, which is essential for organizations operating in global markets.

Cons:

Limited third-party integrations: While Forma LMS offers a range of features, it has limited third-party integrations. This can be a disadvantage for organizations that rely on specific tools or services that are not supported by the platform.Steep learning curve for customization: While Forma LMS is a user-friendly platform, customization of the platform can be challenging for those who lack technical expertise.

BHAVIK
Software Engineer in India
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A Powerful LMS solution for Organisations of any size.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Forma Lms has been really satisfactory. It is a great solution for learning management and provides a lot of flexibility which enables different sections of an organisation to use and implement it.

Pros:

The thing I like the most about Forma Lms is the ease it provides in creating, maintaining, managing and sharing learning objects. The reporting and Gradebook feature is also very useful. Integrated skill management also helps in tracking and enables enhanced learning.

Cons:

The thing I like the least about Forma Lms is the UI part, which can be improved. Also, the onboarding experience can be improved and a manual could be provided.

FormaLms Response

3 years ago

Hi Bhavik, thanks for your review! We're about to release version 3.0 with some major improvements on the UI. Namely, a dashboard page and a refactoring of the LO views for learners and for admins. Concerning the manual, there is actually more than one. Please go to docs.formalms.org and you'll find reference guides and tutorials.

Kristen
Training and Development Manager in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

FORMA LMS

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The ability to customize the LMS - the login page; tabs and buttons; reports, etc. This enables us to be able to create a unique training experience for each of our customers based on their needs and requirements.

Cons:

It would be nice to have some more automatic email notification options in the system.

FormaLms Response

5 years ago

Hi Kristen, thank you for your review! We already do have plugins to add more automatic notifications to the system. Moreover, in the next major release we'll also add more notification options to the LMS.

Mario
CIO in Italy
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent lms to manage courses

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have been using Forma LMS for many years and I find it much simpler and more intuitive than the various competitors. It is reliable in reporting and easy in installation and configuration

Pros:

it is very intuitive and precise in reporting thanks to SCORM compatibility. Excellent support from large user base

Cons:

Integration with videoconferencing systems is limited as is the interface for selling courses

FormaLms Response

2 years ago

Hi Mario, thanks for your review! We've added many more integrations for videoconferencing systems, and we also have a couple of integrations for ecommerce. You might want to check them out!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Logistics & Supply Chain, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

One of the most suitable LMS for Hybrid teams' trainings

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It was a pretty satisfactory experience while using FORMA LMS for online trainings and tracking mandatory certifications.

Pros:

Forma LMS platform is perfect solution to all those learners and enthusiastic individuals who need 24*7 online learning experience remotely, from the comfort of their own home or from a office desk. Forma is one of the best learning platforms which provides a cost effective solution for SMEs and Large enterprises alike. With Forma LMS creating, managing learning goals and keeping track of individual progress is very smooth.It is very easy to manage certifications and keep track of course and learning progress.

Cons:

From what I heard from the company Learning and Training team, it is a difficult process to create a course for the first time. Exam/Test modules can be a bit difficult to navigate. There are a few UI/UX navigation issues,which needs to be addressed.More options/API integrations needs to be provided alongside a notification/alert system.

Alessandro
Web Developer in Spain
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A good way to learn

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: A lot of fixes

Pros:

I think the gradebook system and courses management interface

Cons:

It is not a performing system (in 2022) as the code is poorly written and has many years with numerous developers

FormaLms Response

2 years ago

Thank you Alessandro for your review.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly scalable open-source LMS.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Forma LMS is an excellent LMS. The stocked features make management of course paths a breeze. I have been able to produce several courses for new interns in my department with great ease.

Pros:

The open source LMS is free! You can manage your multimedia and html pages from a central location. It automatically generates verifiable certificates upon completion of a course. Plenty of configurations and automation to make your courses as engaging as possible.

Cons:

I had a had time fully understanding how Forma LMS work but this was solved with time.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

LMS of the Future

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Forma has been our preferred LMS to carry out all internal trainings within the company. While joining Actionet, I trained using the LMS and now as a senior engineer in the company, I am creating courses and trainings for new recruits.
The basic features of the LMS are easy to use and it gets better with every new version release.

Pros:

Forma has a modern design that fosters learners engagement. Creates custom reports of the trainings and courses for accountability Offers advanced customization of features to suit the user's needs.

Cons:

The software works really well although the company should improve on new users training. There's limited information sources on how to fully explore All Forma's features.

Judy
Judy
DEBT RECOVERY OFFICER in Singapore
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

" Preferred Online Learning Management Software Platform "

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Format LMS is a real open-source online platform designed to facilitate online learning services to ensure that all employees acquire all necessary skills and knowledge.

Pros:

Being self-explanatory software for all to use and affordable. Flexible to any internet enabled device. Its availability is guaranteed. Ease on learning any course or training scheduled. Support video conferencing while organizing online courses, among more it does.

Cons:

My organization and I are satisfied with all of its provision and services.

FormaLms Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your review!

Alesia
Alesia
Motion Graphic Designer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Corporate Training at Top Notch with Forma LMS

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Manages training and training materials in cloud.

Pros:

Internal training in our organization for our employees has been streamlined by Forma LMS. It manages training tools such as scorm multimedia and html pages on one place.

Cons:

It can take long to customize all functions but there are tons of tutorials online.

Stefano
IT and Elearning Manager
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Powerful and Effective LMS, great community

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: After a LMS selection that lasted several months, including commercial and open source systems, We decided to start our new elearning adventure with Forma LMS, because of its overall very good corporate features.
Pro: General Stability and ease of Use for students, Reporting system, User Administration, Certificates Management, Player working fine with tablets and mobile, etc.
Cons: Graphical User interface could be improved, some minor bugs in several functions that need to be solved. Administration is not 100% intuitive, due to its great flexibility, though.

FormaLms Response

6 years ago

Thank you Stefano for your very nice review and for the insights you shared about your decision process. Concerning the cons you highlight: the GUI will indeed be improved in the next months, bugs will be solved. As for the intuitivity in the administration: there is a trade-off between power and intuitivity, we'll try to make administration more easily understandable without losing power. (update) UI has been improved in the meanwhile, and bugs have been solved. Administration has also been made much more intuitive.

Raven
Raven
Network Security Engineer in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Open Source LMS that Functions Like Every Other Paid Softwares

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Local language support (multiple language support)

Pros:

Forma LMS offers a wide array of flexibility to its users and administrators. As an open-source software, I used this with my previous organization and was able to teach new and upcoming Network Security Engineer trainees. Easy to create classroom courses and you can use video conferencing especially at this time where remote communication is very important.

Cons:

Need to add options to integrate for software. One thing that I don't like is the certification module, there was an obstacle with it and had to ask help from the community.

FormaLms Response

2 years ago

Hi Raven, thank you for your review, fantastic! Its title is also very flattering! Concerning your comments: - our vibrant community is one of the added values of our Lms - you can integrate Forma with any software: API and connectors are already built-in and documented. Feel free to ask for support.

Wenqiu
Sr. Software Engineer in US
Internet, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Cloud-based LMS System

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Selling courses help generate income. Online course management.

Pros:

Forma LMS enhances online training, managing learning materials and automating real-time reports. Has customizable graphic templates which makes it easy to generate certificates upon course completion.

Cons:

I don’t have any definite aspect that I can describe as a flaw.

Klodian
Production technician in Germany
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Online courses

5.0 last year

Comments: Excellent

Pros:

It felt free while doing online courses. Not like normal class type. With fixed hours.

Cons:

I am generally happy with it. I did not notice any problems.

Ishan
Ishan
Blockchain Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Corporate Training and education platform

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My experience has been very good and satisfying till now. All the trainings and learnings are recorded. This has made it very convenient to manage.

Pros:

1. Good management tool to track your training progress. 2. Certificate is distributed after successful completion of course.

Cons:

1. A more customized feature according to our need catering to all sectors is needed