15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement Reviews

About Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Pardot's lead management features CRM integration, email marketing, lead nurturing, lead scoring, and ROI reporting.

Learn more about Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement

Pros:

There is a huge community that's eager to collaborate and assist (local user groups, blogs, the Dreamforce conference, the connections conference, twitter, slack groups, linkedin groups, etc).

Cons:

Pardot allows you to create multiple leads with the same email address. This is a compulsory feature and causes issues with duplicate and bad data.

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.0
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.5/10

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 638 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (638)

Kate
Kate
Marketing & Account Management in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Pardot delivers on promises

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Pardot has made it easy to understand how our marketing is working, know who is a hot lead versus a disengaged one, and to create content that is easy to share and delivers good ROI. It’s built in many safeguards to keep you from getting in trouble with spam rules and avoid sending emails multiple times.

Pros:

The software is great for staying in touch with prospects and clients. It makes it easy to set up emails, create content, measure and report on results, and build stronger relationships. It’s fun to use, once you understand how it works.

Cons:

There’s a long learning curve for adopting Pardot, and if I hadn’t had a consultant to hold my hand through the integration and kick off, I’d be struggling. I find Pardot and Salesforce training to be overly confusing and it’s really hard to find what you’re looking for. It’s a knowledge based system and continually adds more and more information, and it’s not always clear if the instructions apply to you or apply to a different level of service. Other than that I highly recommend it because of all the functionality and way it can dramatically improve your digital marketing.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: My overall experience with Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement (Pardot) has been positive, as it has enabled us to efficiently manage and personalize our marketing efforts, resulting in improved customer engagement and lead generation.

Pros:

I really appreciated how Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement (Pardot) allowed me to easily create and automate personalized marketing campaigns that significantly improved our customer engagement and conversion rates.

Cons:

I found that the user interface of Salesforce Marketing Cloud (formerly known as Pardot) could be a bit complex and not as intuitive as I would have liked.

Yurii
Marketing Director in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The tool you have to choose if you work in Salesforce infrastructure

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Smooth integration with Salesforce. Works fast enough

Cons:

Pricing is not competitive when you look at other options available on the market (not SF appexchange) The other things might be solved with other more expensive packages, but Pardot is already expensive) Not possible to set local time of receiver when you send emails. All of them go out at once Not possible to send emails based on user behavior (also the time when they are sent) No tracking of email forwards Poor responsiveness of pages you can create through internal tools (for example to track unsubscribe reasons)

Lindsey Raye
Lindsey Raye
Email Marketing Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

SALESFORCE SALES CLOUD & MARKETING CLOUD

3.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

The sales team could click in their CRM sales page to see the last email sent

Cons:

Validations - if you didn’t create custom objects for your form data it was a mess

Liam
Marketing Manager in UK
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Account Engagement - Review

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: It is an essential tool that, although costly, is necessary to grow and scale.

Pros:

It allows us to gather, segment and target leads all in one place.

Cons:

Onboarding was lengthy and some staff found it difficult to grasp to begin with.

MD Masoom
MD Masoom
Sr. Executive Sales and Research in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Marketing Automation platform

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Pardot is great, being a sales guy I am using this tool daily to send marketing and sales emails to our customers and prospects and this tool never fails me.

Pros:

I love Pardot and if I need to tell you what I like most about it then I must say their customer support team, yes I like this most because their customer support team is very active and responsive, they available 24*7 to help the customers and this is the best thing that I like most about it.

Cons:

There is one thing that I would like to highlight that I like least about it and that is its high cost, yes Pardot is a little bit expensive compared to other marketing automation tool but on the other hand, I must say that it is worth to spend on it.

Charu
Charu
Account Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Power-packed Marketing Automation Tool

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: A powerful marketing automation tool but expensive. Good for people who are looking for imapctful insights, lead nurturing and tracking down customer activities with ease. Pardot could be a good fit if you need good Salesforce CRM integration and have the budget for $1,000/month or more.

Pros:

We get real time activity updates of our prospects from the lead deck functionality Awesome customer support Ease of usage, is highly customisable As it's a Salesforce product now the ease of integration with the CRM is mind blowing

Cons:

I would say the makers of this product are a little money minded. A lot of functionalities are only available for the PRO users like API access and A/B testing Also, not many integrations are possible using this product

Alex
Alex
Digital Marketing Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Pardot For One Year

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I did not have a overall good experience with Pardot. I've used HubSpot, Pardot, and Marketing Cloud and I would have to say that HubSpot is a better choice.

Pros:

The integration with Salesforce and the options included are very helpful.

Cons:

Creating a landing page in Pardot is a nightmare. You must know coding and Pardot makes it very complicated from start to finish. The form creation is also very difficult to create and hectic to embed.

Sean
Marketing Manager in US
Food & Beverages, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Marketing Cloud, a highly customizable email marketing platform

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

There is a huge amount of customization and automation that you can do with the Marketing Cloud. And it's connected in with Salesforce, so it can be used to generate new Leads, update Salesforce records, and automate tasks.

Cons:

It can be clunky to set up the customer databases and connect the corresponding fields between Salesforce & Marketing Cloud.

Samantha
Admin Manager in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Potential for Good Things, bad execution

3.0 last month New

Pros:

Could potentially be clear to learn, holds a lot of data, seemingly has a lot of functionality

Cons:

We didn't know we were paying for a "white glove" service, simply because no one reached out to us. That is - until we informed them we were thinking of leaving them and they tried to collect $8K in invoices that were supposedly unpaid over the course of 3 YEARS, yet no one knew anything. No one informed any active admins of the outstanding balance. No one shut off our access. Only when we were leaving due to non performance did they try to collect on a service we were not getting nor using

Christopher
Christopher
Digital Demand Generation Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

If you are using Salesforce then this tool is great!!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Pardot has fit our needs especially in working with Salesforce. However, if I had an option I would use a different tool (such as Hubspot). It feels like a dated product that needs some updates to the user experience. Keep in mind it is VERY powerful (a ton of features) but finding them is irritating. For example, you have email templates and email drafts. The differentiation is not clear and you have to look through their knowledge base to figure that out.

Pros:

Pardot has a huge number of features that allow you to control, split and quickly view your customer lists. It is also awesome being able to get this information into Salesforce. Another feature I love is the customer behavior tracking. It makes it simple to get an understanding of what a prospect is interested in. We can then tailor our message to this prospect. For example, if we identify someone is from a specific State (in the U.S.A) then we can share a link in an email that is information only about that State. The scoring feature is also great because you can quickly see the interest of a current prospect and then notify the correct sales agent to reach out.

Cons:

There are 2 things that frustrate me about Pardot. The learning curve and intuitiveness is very poor. It takes a long time to figure out what pieces are where. On top of that, I have used Pardot for almost 2 years and I still figuring stuff out. It has a ton of features but figuring them all out is mind-boggling. The other thing that is irritating is the email builder. It just isn't intuitive. You have a tiny screen to make any edits and adding things (like custom information) is hard to find most times. Then you have to sync this email to the HTML version. Every time I have clicked that button the email syncs but I have to spend 5-10 extra minutes fixing the syntax issues that come about from the sync. I feel that process should work much more seamlessly.

Neil
Marketing Operations Manager in
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Marketing Automation for price conscious organizations

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Pardot has a lot of base functionality that sets it apart from email platforms like Mailchimp and the like. It also provides better integration with Salesforce than hubspot and other less expensive CRMs to give your organization with a complete picture of the sales funnel. Pardot provides email templates upon sign-up that are easily customizable for specific needs. You can test this emails to internal lists and with its integration with Litmus you can view how different clients and platforms will render you email before sends. Landing pages and form are an easy way to collect leads, track conversion points, and keep the source of a lead. Forms enable you to send auto-response emails, notify teams or sales reps, and assign leads to the correct person. The can also send leads to a Salesforce campaign with detailed member statuses to provide for multi-touch attribution. Landing pages are easy to build, add Google analytics or any other tracking code and deploy. Automation rules allow you to keep your database clean and ensure that all prospects are going to the right place, tagged correctly, and scored appropriately. Dynamic content is an excellent investment as an add on to allow you to use one template but change messaging based on known prospect information. No need to create 5 different emails or landing pages for industry segments, just create on template and use the dynamic content feature to show messaging that applies to them.

Pros:

Intuitive UI, great functionality for the price, native integration with Salesforce, dynamic content add-on. Automation rules that can help keep the system clean and prospects updated.

Cons:

Limitations within automation rules for mutli-variable updates. For example - Loading a tradeshow list with campaign member statuses in SFDC. I would like to upload in one automation rule to say if X campaign status, update to this campaign in SFDC for X status, within the same rule I would like to add all of the other statuses with specific completion actions instead of having to run 1 rule for each status. Dynamic content should be able to trigger via a URL parameter and not just a known prospect field.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Pardot is somewhat sophisticated

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great tool - has more sophisticated features than less expensive tools, but is more complex to use.

Pros:

Easy to build and send emails, manage contacts, track lists/segmentation, and built automation. You can also setup scoring/grading to see your interest/lead interest.

Cons:

The integration with Salesforce is a bit confusing, and they change the way it's implemented with every release. This causes issues with clients trying to launch all users at once on Pardot, and ensuring they have the right licensing.

Alabhya
Alabhya
Digital Marketing Manager in India
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to start, harder to master

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great to up your inbound marketing game through strong prospect tracking and seamless sync with Salesforce CRM. It's easy to get started with the basics of what Pardot offers but there are more powerful features which can be harder to understand and use.

Pros:

Great integration with Salesforce CRM as expected. Lots of guides, resources are available along with an active community.

Cons:

Multiple ways of accomplishing the same results make it a tad bit confusing. Also, in-built connectors are limited as compared to some of the other alternatives.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best if you use SalesForce Sales Cloud

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use Pardot as a marketing automation platform including email management, automated nurtures, lead scoring, engagement tracking, etc.

Pros:

The best part of Pardot is the integration with SalesForce and being able to push and pull a variety of information into and from both systems.

Cons:

The UI is pretty poor and there are some key features such as in-depth reporting that the system is still lacking

Eric
Director of Global Marketing and Sales Operations in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pardot - Ease of Use

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Dissatisfied. I have worked with other systems as a sales person but as an administrator it could certainly use some enhancing and development to make it better. Unfortunately being under the umbrella of Salesforce will set that back for a while. They are just satisfied it works and you can ultimately get the job done. Unfortunately, not caring about their customers frustration level will get them one day.

Pros:

Ability to segment your prospects into silos that can help determine which direction will bring the best return on our investment of time. I also like the ability to add photos of our work. We offer a very visual product that clients need to see which will help with their buying decision. Finally, the ability to schedule email drops which allows me to not consume network speed since I can do it after business hours.

Cons:

Workflows are not well established. It took me a while to learn them because they do not flow logically. A training documentation does not outline any type of logical flow for some of the common ways people work. Secondly, support is lacking. I do think this is a Pardot issue directly but a Salesforce issue. Your best support person is Mr. Google since he knows everything and you do not have to fill out multiple screens hoping you get to the right person.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great marketing automation, but not easy to use.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I really did enjoy using Pardot overall, and I would recommend it as a top-notch automation tool. The learning curve can be steep. I recommend attending one of their 3 day foundations training courses to help jump start your experience.

Pros:

Pardot is great for companies whose sales teams also use Salesforce due to the tight integration between the two products. Prospect and campaign tracking data can sync easily between the two systems and keep track of all campaign touch points across sales and marketing teams. Engagement studios are super easy to set up and allow for easy engagement-driven campaigns that help avoid "spammy" campaigns that help you stay off the blacklists of ISPs.

Cons:

My major complaint with Pardot really has been with the UI/UX. The user experience is not great. It's not intuitive AT ALL. There are many instances where the interface breaks standard functionality conventions, leaving you in the dark trying to figure out how to do even simple tasks. That being said, the Engagement Studio has completely different UI than the rest of the app, and is actually quite a good experience. I guess Salseforce is taking their time redoing the rest of the app, but I'm sure they'll get around to it soon enough.

Dan
Dan
Digital Marketing Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool, especially for B2b Marketers

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am Pardot certified and it has been an extremely helpful tool in my Marketing career. It can do very complex marketing tasks but is a great entry point.

Pros:

Powerful marketing automation tool that integrates extremely well with the Salesforce platform. Easy to learn, hard to master.

Cons:

Things have improved, but considering it's under the same roof as Salesforce, the integration is clearly an afterthought. I think it does it better than other tools, but not as well as it could have been.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use CRM

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: We used it for lead management snd monitoring and Salesforce's easy UI and short learni g curve made that convenient

Pros:

User friendly interfaceMultiple lead management optionsReports were easily generated and saved without any issues

Cons:

If the information was captured wrong due to some reason, debugging took timeInitially learning curve difficult

Lisa
Lisa
Senior Data Analyst in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Has potential but very complex to set up and manage

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This can be a good tool to use for automation as you can import contacts and add them to lists and drips fairly easily. It's also good for integrating with custom forms and landing pages and you can create custom campaigns, links etc. High level, it really helps connect everything together from the first visit (including the pages they viewed) and every subsequent touchpoint from then on (but reporting on this falls into the "Cons").

Cons:

Pardot is a difficult tool to set up and manage and their support through the process is quite limited. Their chat seems to fill up by 9 am, and although they offer courses to train you how to use their product, they charge for it. Although it is a powerful tool, their reporting capabilities are very behind, and while they capture every touchpoint, there is no way to roll up that data to gather insights or report on it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Alternatives Considered:

Helpful for sales but not for marketers

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Wonderful tracking for leads and creation of drip campaigns. Any company who’s expanding their lead generation efforts and looking to hasten the velocity of closing prospects will definitely find this useful, especially since it is connected to Salesforce.

Cons:

Interface and usability needs a lot of improvement. Functionalities for creatives and marketers can become too time-consuming and limiting, especially in terms of customisation of drip emails.

Matt
Creative Strategy Manager in
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

100% YOY Increase in Leads with Pardot and Salesforce Intergration

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We've been using Pardot for years to manage emails and landing pages, but once we added Salesforce, we saw a dramatic increase in Pardot's usefulness. Having the ability to score prospects' interactions on the web and easily hand off warmed up leads has made a real impact.

Pros:

- Once you have solid templates built, creating new emails and landing pages is very fast - Integration with Salesforce is solid, no issues with data sync in either direction - Automation rules (especially b/t Salesforce and Pardot) can take care of a lot of mundane tasks without needing to remember to do them

Cons:

- Getting started with the Program can be tough because there is so much it can do - Reporting on data can be difficult to figure out. Not on a per-email basis, but rather on Campaign-level performance. There seem to be multiple places to get information and they don't always match up. - Landing page templates are not responsive. Seriously! You have to have a web designer built and import them to be useful

Cody
Director of Marketing in US
Medical Practice
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Standard Marketing Automation with Advanced Email and Content Tools

4.5 8 years ago

Pros:

From its Exact Target roots, the email marketing capabilities are what I like the best about Pardot. I have full HTML control and can easily create my own templates, A/B test, use variable tags, view reports, and more. The use of Litmus email previews is awesome too. I've been using the new SF Lighting UI for a while now and I like it a lot better. There were a few bugs at the beginning, but I thin they are all cleaned up now. The folder organization is probably a feature that doesn't get talked about much, but it helps a lot. We were told to try to use them and much as possible during the initial Pardot setup, and I'm so glad we did because you'll notice content and files start piling up immediately and having a solid folder structure makes life a lot easier. I've used a few other Marketing Automation tools before and Pardot is my favorite. It's simple, but robust enough to handle advanced needs.

Cons:

The automation and "Drip" functionality is pretty simple and doesn't offer any real advanced options. For example, you can't create drip automation based on if a prospect clicks a certain link in an email, but I think there are working on that. There are a few other little things, but nothing major. One item that Pardot could improve upon is Basic Chat Support. They only offer basic support through their Olark chat, and more than half the time I check, it shows them offline which means they are full. It can get a little annoying at times if you need something urgent. However, their case management is very good and if you have a case get escalated to a higher team, the support is very good. I've had the team spend a lot of time working on some advanced form functionality for me that helped a lot. Their knowledge base is strong too, so that usually a good place to start.

Geoff
Geoff
VP Marketing in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Does the job but don't expect custom reporting

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I think Pardot gets you 2/3rds of the way their with Marketing automation and you have to augment with other tools to get the rest of the way. If you use SalesForce connected to Pardot then you really have to do all of your reporting in SalesForce or it gets really confusing trying to sync the two together.

Pros:

I like that they have a landing page builder but their user interface for building landing pages should be more competitive with what's in the market. I like their email campaign builder interface and the drip marketing tool.

Cons:

Their reporting is lacking because you can't customize it. It's hard to really know track leads through the pipeline and recycle them when they aren't ready to buy. The tagging and folder structure isn't intuitive and takes a bit to get used to.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for enterpries

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great tool that speaks very well with Salesforce and an essential tool in our marketing department.

Pros:

Easy to set up and use. Many customization options and high quality.

Cons:

Suppot is a bit cumbersome and takes too long.