15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About PaperCut

Powerful print management software to enable, track, and secure your print environment.

Learn more about PaperCut

Pros:

Support for multiple departments for users. Useful integration with multi-function devices.

Cons:

After implementation, there was some discomfort between employees. They felt like they had limited access to resources.

PaperCut ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

PaperCut has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 62 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used PaperCut before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (62)

Ian
Ian
Head of Computer Services in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We've been using PaperCut for just over a year, replacing our previous system, PCounter. After the initial setup, we haven't experienced many issues but when we have, their support has been great. From a support perspective it has enabled us to carefully track usage and issues, complete with automatically generated summary reports on a monthly basis.

Pros:

Excellent reports Huge amount of customisation Support for multiple departments for users Useful integration with multi-function devices

Cons:

Despite having a detailed audit for print jobs, there is no way built in to re-send those jobs if they fail (we wrote our own).

Joseph
Assistant Aquaculture Engineer in UK
Farming, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PaperCut The Beacon Of Innovation

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: PaperCut is the beacon of innovation and environmental stewardship.

Pros:

From the get-go, PaperCut impresses with its simplicity in installation and operation. It’s a breeze to integrate into existing systems, and its compatibility with various devices and operating systems means it’s ready to work in diverse IT environments.

Cons:

PaperCut for me, it is just fine and has no cons.

Winter
president in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Do not purchase this product!

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: We've realized no benefit from the product. We've only realized a tremendous loss on our investment and continue to do so.

Pros:

The product stops working constantly. Since we have had this product the only thing consistent about it, is that it won't work and that we will lose money on lost counts of print/copy charges. The response for repair is slow and often is a temporary fix. I will never be able to recover the money lost on this product. I would absolutely advise a small business owner to avoid this product. There are no pros, only cons.

Cons:

If the product worked as advertised that would be an improvement. When the product doesn't work, it also impedes one's ability to use the printers.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Printing Management

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We were hoping to reduce the number of documents that we printing. This product was crucial in meeting those goals.

Pros:

I truly like that this software makes you think twice about printing by displaying the total cost to print your request. Budgeting allows you to charge printing jobs to specific departments. The built in reminders that you can print double-sided or in black and white to save money are helpful as well.

Cons:

There are few things that I can think of that I would change about the product. It occasionally freezes and needs to be reset or has issues opening when used via a VPN. These issues are minor and infrequent.

Rob
Partner in New Zealand
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Does what it needs to but no fun to manage.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We know who printed what and can type that into an invoice for them.

Pros:

Users are in control of their own expenditure. Works across printing and photocopying. Linux, MacOS and Windows for server and users.

Cons:

Doesn't catch USB dongle printing on Ricoh MFD. Made by developers for developers, no thought is given to UX. Lack of integrations and cloud service. Google Cloud print integration stinks to set up and so hard to use you won't want to roll it out to users. You have to be comfortable editing text files to take full advantage of features. No integration with invoicing software indicates the company's focus is not on administration.

Andrew
Network Administrator in UK
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PaperCut MF

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

I think the ease, diversity and flexibility of using the product. It is intuitive to use and alongside their support documentation is a simple product to setup, edit and administrate.

Cons:

The product seems to be best in a single domain environment as by default users are authenticated via username prefix and in a multi-user domain this can cause issues.

Andy
Helpdesk & Systems Tech in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Print Management Platform

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: PaperCut is pretty much everything we need in a print service. There are a few features that we don't have on our level of the platform, but it's been great for managing our printing and copying needs among all end users.

Pros:

It gives a lot of information about our various print jobs, printers and copiers, and the users that do the printing and copying. There isn't a whole lot of maintenance. It also has a ton of features, even though we don't take advantage of all of them at this time. It's great that you can put up messages to users when they print or create print budgets if needed. It also is a great way to track people that are overusing printing rights like color.

Cons:

We had some trouble getting it to work with recently adopted Macs. There are some features that are only available with a client on end user machines, but that's not a deal breaker.

Andre C.
Andre C.
Director of Professional Services in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Electronics, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PaperCut - Feature Rich, Incredible Value

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This is the most feature-rich print management and cost recovery solution available. It is easy-to-use, quick to deploy, and simple to maintain. Really helps keep printing costs down and modify employee printing/copying behavior. They offer a free 40-day trial as well!

Cons:

Absolutely nothing. PaperCut has an incredible Knowledge Base that helps us find the answers to nearly all of our questions.

Daniel
Daniel
Systems Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quality product and web-based management which makes things much easier!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This software pulls from Active Directory and is web-based to manage. It makes simple tasks very simple and is extremely user-friendly.

Cons:

The customer support is a bit slow and recently ran into a licensing issue that locked down our software entirely. It also has a bad habit of, for no reason at all, creating users without copy tracking enabled which defeats the purpose in our environment.

Mithila
Mithila
Senior Technical Support Engineer in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Print management solution

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great product for keep the track of printing and the total costs. Easy to manage printers and users and permissions. Paper wastage is can be minimum.

Pros:

Print server audit reports are the best and been able to integrate with RFID cards makes easier to reduce the wastage of papers. When the users go to the printer they can see the actual costs to print what ever they sent to print.

Cons:

Configuration is a bit handful. Need some knowledge in installing and configuring it with the customization needed as per the organization needs.

Karen
teacher in US
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Papercut in the School Setting

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I wish we'd never added Papercut. Whatever we were using before was MUCH more teacher friendly. Papercut has been mostly frustrating to use. Papercut does not have issues every day, but when it does, they make my job very difficult.

Pros:

Our school district starting using papercut a few years ago. I suppose, because it was convenient for those who worked in different settings and to track copier usage. It is convenient to be able to use any copier in the building to print something from my computer. This is really the only advantage I've experienced as opposed to being able to print to a designated copier before.

Cons:

There are A LOT of things I do not like about papercut and most of them I've sent on to my IT people to share. However, I've not seen anything change in 2 years. There is no work around when internet is down. The copier becomes nonfunctional. This is a HUGE problem in schools because when internet is down, we often need to make paper copies to continue to do the lessons we had planned to do online. Also, the settings are not all functional. For instance, it defaults to 2 sided copies and I cannot print from my computer to the copier for one sided copies. This is an issue if I'm printing personalized, confidential information such as grade reports. Also, my experience has been that it seems to glitch a lot. I will put in for it to copy 35 copies and it runs 1.

Steven
Steven
IT Support Technician in US
Primary/Secondary Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PaperCut - small enterprise

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Installing PaperCut has permitted our organization to restrict usage of our printers to authorized persons only. We can also easily identify instances of excessive printing. Folks are no longer printing out 500 page cookbooks or encyclopedias in full color.

Pros:

This software provides our users with the ability to send their print jobs to a default printer and retrieve that job from any printer on the network. That convenience alone is probably the best feature of this application for our users. The software is easy to set up and maintain. It can be configured to draw basic user information from Active Directory and you can manually enter individual accounts for persons who may not have an AD account. The application tracks printed pages for each user which can be beneficial for internal accounting purposes. Users can release print jobs by logging into the printer using the printer's touchscreen panel, or with their employee ID badge. PaperCut provides the badge readers.

Cons:

We have experienced issues with with the ability of our users to print documents when different printers have had different versions of PaperCut firmware installed. It seems that the PaperCut software needs to have all printers using the same firmware version which must be appropriate for the specific version of the PaperCut software.

Duncan
ICT Manager in UK
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent Print management product

5.0 last year

Comments: It works well and integrates well with Microsoft Windows, the everyday management is easy just some of the lesser everyday tasks are harder to do but with the right reseller for happy its a great product with regular security updates/fixes

Pros:

Simple to use from a users perspective with assigning jobs to different departments (if your in more than one) and easy management of setting budgets for users in the admin section

Cons:

So of the UI isn't straight forward and not how you would expect to access certain functions immediately, but if you poke around you can normal work it out.

Anupama
Information Technology Student Assistant in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

PaperCut - Pros & Cons

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: I use PaperCut almost daily and I really like it. The look and the feel of the software is top-notch. It doesn't feel like just any software. I think it just needs to figure out a way to maintain good communication with the printer.

Pros:

PaperCut is an exceptionally nice software that allows you to print for a price. I think the most amazing thing about PaperCut for me is that it estimates and discourages your paper use constantly, which I really appreciate. The way this software has been conceptualized really is amazing because it is so detailed for a software that is made to print! It shows your transaction history, recent print jobs, and even jobs pending release. Personally, I am very fond of PaperCut. I even like its logo; I think it's well-designed.

Cons:

I don't like the fact that there is no two-way communication with PaperCut. For example, if a print job is ordered but suppose the printer is not working, PaperCut will still process the transaction and charge you accordingly. This really hurts students who are on a budget. I wish they came up with an idea to ensure that the software charges people only when the printer actually prints the paper.

Robert
Madison School Distrct in US
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing Product, Built by Amazing Geeky People, No other product can touch it

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

PaperCut is clearly built by modern geeks that get it. They understand what users want, and build it. The software isn't some dated stodgy offering - it's fresh, packed with features, looks fantastic, is reliable, flexible, and super well documented. The culture really shows through! I wish all software was this good. +Follow-Me Printing +Google CloudPrint +Apple AirPrint +Web Print +Email to Print +Works with virtually any device, printer, MFP, copier +Awesome web interface +Easy upgrades +Great support +Constant development progress +Google Integration including SSO

Cons:

-Some MFPs have better support than others

Mark
Solutions Sales Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PaperCut Leading the industry

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have used PaperCut for 7+ years. Overall it is a great product that is well supported and constantly developed.

Pros:

One of the best features of PaperCut is their support channels, they are very helpful. There isn't a lot you can't control or capture with PaperCut by default and then there is the scripting engine where you can do everything. The newest feature is Cloud Print A+++, just need a better way to deploy it

Cons:

Scanning, it's really easy to set up but you are limited to a single location per scan action. Also annoys me when each time I do a scan it goes back to the home page.

Nebojsa
Network Coordinator in Brazil
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Papercut MF School Ambient

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This is must have software when you need to control user printing in the ambients that have many users.

Pros:

This software is one of the most complete printing management software. It help reduce cost in printing, and helps ecological sustainability. It saves lots of paper, and its managment controller helps having control of the entire printing system.

Cons:

The initial implementation is not that easy, and adding more devices also. The price is a bit higher, but it pays back.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Primary/Secondary Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Take control of your company's printing

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Papercut has revolutionized the way we handle printing in a K-12 school environment. Gone are the days of wondering who just printed a 500 page document--Papercut keeps track of it all.

Pros:

Very easy to setup. Integrates with Microsoft Active Directory and gives you tons of different options to allow your users to print. Mobility printing is a game changer, especially if you have a lot of visitors to your company that may need to print but you don't want to give them the keys to your kingdom. There are many different reports you can run depending on what kind of data you need to look at. Web interface means I can manage it from wherever.

Cons:

Lots of sub-menus. Sometimes the thing you want to do is buried under numerous tabs inside of other pages. The software does have a search feature which helps and after you spend some time in the software, you'll figure out where everything is.

Karla
Head of Vendor Relations in Germany
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

makes your life easier - saves resources & money

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our experience with Papercut was only positive. We sell mostly to universities an this is a great advantage and helps so much. Maybe because it was also developed at University Melbourne. As this works perfectly for large user groups in a simple manner, we are convinced that this will be helpful for almost all businesses, reducing costs, comply with data protection and save trees and stress in your office.

Pros:

+ easy to use + works with all types of embeddes, not specific to a vendor + web-based + very great support regarding implementation via ITS + saves so much paper and resources --> great for environment and everyone who ever had problems in finding his print in the printer + supports GDPR guldeslines as only the printing person receives the documents

Cons:

We had only positive results and experiences yet. ITS Support could help with all needed questions, nothing to mention.

Timothy
Records and Registration Specialist in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Print Management Success

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall it’s a great experience. The system work well nearly 100 percent of the time. In the few cases it doesn’t, a quick fix is easy to find.

Pros:

I like the ease of use most. The paper cut menu pops up immediately after selecting print. I can put in my department code quickly and retrieve the job with my ID card at any available printer. It has saved my college a great deal of money all over campus, especially at our Library.

Cons:

The only problem I have encountered using this software is it can be delayed. The paper cut box doesn’t always pop up. However, clicking the icon on the desktop often fixes the problem immediately.

Daniel
Pharmacy Student in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Some connection problems but an overall good software.

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Quick and painless (once connected) printing.

Pros:

Once you get connected it is as simple as can be: connect, hit print, go to the printer, log in, and print. There is an ID card reader that allows students/employees quick and painless access. Once logged into the printer there are a variety of functions.

Cons:

I had quite a few connection issues. You must be on the specific WiFi network and if there is a problem logging into that you cannot connect. I was able to see our IT team and fix the error, but later I was randomly removed from the printer network and had the same connection issue all over again. You also must connect separately to the black and white function and the color function on your laptop.

Ross
User & Devices Team Lead in Canada
Higher Education, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing print tracking & deployment tool

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: PaperCut has drastically reduced the amount of time spent troubleshooting printing issues, and thus saved us a significant amount of money.

Pros:

Very easy to use, can be easily managed in house. Turns printing from one of the most hated IT activities into a breeze to manage.

Cons:

Licensing for devices can be expensive, especially for devices that require both server and device licenses.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A cut above the rest.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Our company was attempting to centralize printing (removing deskside printers), cut down on waste, and streamline printing to several large machines over several offices.

Pros:

PaperCut is a strong enterprise level "follow me print" application that allows you to easily deploy and maintain a centralized printer fleet. This application helps reduce waste, enforce security policies, and provide centralized support/administration for IT.

Cons:

So far I haven't found many cons. There have been some dififculty adapting some devices onto the application's printer drivers, but, the issues have been resolved with excellent product and technical support from the PaperCut team.

Stuart
IT Manager in UK
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

“Does what it says on the tin”

5.0 last year

Pros:

I have used PaperCut NG and latterly MF for 8+ years. The product is easy to implement and upgrade. It just works! Support is first class on the few times I have had to contact them.

Cons:

I can’t really think of a downside to the product. It’s well engineered.

Jill
Teacher in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Papercut allows students to use our color printers without the risk of using all our supplies!

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Allows students to print to our color printer without wasting print supplies

Pros:

When we are working on projects, students like to print color. This used to be handled by them emailing me their print jobs and I would print to our color printer. Papercut allows them to print to the color printer by limiting page and copy count.

Cons:

This product has been working great, however every now and then we need to contact IT as the printers wont respond. Not very often though.