Gusto Reviews

4.6 (3,725) Write a Review!

About Gusto

Gusto is the all-in-one HR platform for growing businesses—one place to hire, pay, insure, and manage your hardworking team.

Learn more about Gusto

Pros:

It is super helpful especially for start ups when there might not be a designated HR person and the support staff is very helpful.

Cons:

Hard to set up, produces the wrong information, is hard to correct, little to no customer support.

Gusto ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Gusto has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 3,725 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Gusto before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (3,725)

Alicia
Alicia
Lawyer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Legal Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

I’m an employment lawyer and I consistently recommend Gusto to my clients

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Customer support is great. This is a good company. They aren’t the cheapest. And they aren’t the most expensive. I think the extra cost is worth it to ensure compliance.

Pros:

Gusto is easy and straightforward to use. But it doesn’t sacrifice accuracy for ease. What I like most about Gusto is that it makes it easy for small businesses to be legally compliant with complicated wage laws across jurisdictions. I haven’t found a legal error yet — and I can’t say that about any other payroll software or service I’ve worked with over the last 15 years.

Cons:

I wish the price didn’t jump up so much for time clock feature. Getting clients to use the integrated time clock can be a challenge, and it creates unnecessary problems. It should be included in the base fee.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Gusto review

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall experience is good but there is some space for improvement.

Pros:

It has a user friendly interface and has an affordable price.it can easily integrate with other tools.

Cons:

It has limited customization and reporting capabilities and also limited scalability.

Hank
Accountant in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Gusto-Not as good as it once was

3.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Started out great but fizzled fast once they took away amenities and doubled their price for basic stuff.

Pros:

It came with alot of great features for the price and the app was great.

Cons:

It started to cost more for everything and they took away some of their best amenities.

Phillip
Attorney in US
Law Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Gusto has worked well for our law office

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: I considered several different options for payroll/HR management before settling on Gusto. I was a bit hesitant to choose Gusto, due to it being a bit more expensive than other options. However, the product has worked very well. It provides excellent value for the price paid.

Pros:

Benefits to using Gusto:- Ease of use, both for employer and employees.- Employees can clock in and clock out using an app on their smartphone. My employees comment on how much they like this compared to other time tracking systems they have used as past employers.- I was able to easily connect my CPA in with Gusto so he can monitor tax and accounting items.- Gusto automates the employee onboarding process, making the whole process a lot easier than it would otherwise be.- Bottom line: the product works well, is intuitive to use, and is efficient.

Cons:

Gusto's ability to work seamlessly with 401k contributions is limited. I have to manually send our financial advisor the 401k contribution information for employee elective deferrals. Not the end of the world and certainly not a deal-killer, but it is a mild inconvenience.

Parth
Parth
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Make HR task Easy with the help Of GUSTO

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Helping ADMIN team to resolve any documentation realted task of the Employees

Pros:

1. Reduce the hectic of HR team of manually gathering information and put in on Online database2. Have a decent and interactive interface which allow employees to complete onboarding task in a quick and easy way .3. Reduce the hectic of Admin team by reducing their work load of managing salary flow in a company

Cons:

1. Sometime error occur while uploading the onboarding documents.2. Everytime need to remove all the cache memory of the browser

Said
Said
branch manager in Jordan
Verified LinkedIn User
Building Materials, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

He is the Director of Human Resources

4.0 last week New

Comments: Help us manage employees, their salaries, incentives, permanence, and detailed reports about each employee and save us a lot of effort, money and time

Pros:

Simple and easy to use interface and manages human resources in all respects as employees, salaries, incentives and permanence and supports customers as well.

Cons:

The features in the program serve small and medium companies to some extent but do not support large companies, and in human resource management does not include new employees well It supports both existing ones.

Niyazuddin
Sr. Merchandiser in India
Apparel & Fashion, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Top quality product for Tax Registration and Payroll service

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Must say its a great software to use

Pros:

This software is very easy and great to use . This help in our taxes as it files taxes automatically and also note our company employees payroll with every details .

Cons:

NO there is no such issues with the software .

Rahul
Rahul
Cofounder/CTO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Electronics, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Effortless HR/Payroll

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: We grew our startup from a 2 [sensitive content hidden] team to a team of 8 FT and 12 Contractors now and Gusto made the process effortlessly simple.

Pros:

Gusto is HR in a box. It’s one stop shop for HR, payroll, employee benefits needs. The service is backed with quality support from experienced HR professionals who are readily available to answer any questions you might have.

Cons:

We started with Gusto as a 2 [sensitive content hidden] team. We knew nothing about employee management and Gusto made the whole process of hiring new employees, setting up payroll and employee benefits as simple as it could get. It was like our in-house HR team full of HR professionals. I love the product and have zero complaints about it

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fantastic clean HR suite

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Gusto is such a fantastic HR app! It's so well-designed and focused on providing everything you need to manage your HR needs. I love how easy it is to navigate and find everything you need without feeling overwhelmed by too many features or information. Unlike other apps like Rippling, which can be a bit buggy and cluttered, Gusto keeps things clean and simple. It's perfect for managing everything from payroll to employee management and compliance.

Cons:

The interface can be a little slow at times, but it has gotten much better over time. Other than that, I don't have much to complain.

Sedalia
Sedalia
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Make Your Life Easier with Gusto

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Gusto is a great way to automate mundane payroll and tax-related tasks. They send reminder emails as needed and you never feel overwhelmed with unnecessary communications.

Cons:

I haven't had any problems or concerns with Gusto.

Jenni
Jenni
Payroll Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best DIY software in the payroll market

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have been using Gusto for for a couple of years now and love it. They are consistently working on improving and seek guidance from their partners. Like with any software, there are funny little quirks that you get to know. Overall, it is a fantastic platform.

Pros:

Gusto's self-onboarding and employee communication is leaps and bounds ahead of their competition, as is their clean, user-friendly interface.

Cons:

Customer service has been struggling recently. There should be a way to have a salary that doesn't change when the hours are changed. The other downside is that if there is an error, you have to void the entire payroll. An option to void a single check would be a great improvement.

Rick
Director of photography in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Payroll with a personal touch

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I’ve used Gusto as a freelancer with clients that operate their business with this service. I also use it at my day job with my Agency to manage my team's time off benefits and payroll. It’s a great product that I find myself recommending to others all the time

Pros:

There are many products available that handle payroll, benefits, and employee database. My favorite thing about Gusto is that it uses a very human and personal approach to what could very easily be a cold and lifeless system or department. I love the option to add contractors through he payroll system too. The gusto customer service team is top notch. Turbo Tax integration is fantastic

Cons:

There’s very little to complain about with Gusto. I do wish it had a more catered option for freelancer one man band type of operations.

Karen
CEO in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Payroll Processing Platform for Small Businesses

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall Gusto has been great for our company. We save time and money handling payroll in-house, as opposed to paying an outside service to do it for us. And we have peace of mind that Gusto is there to support us when/if we need it.

Pros:

Gusto has been a great resource for us to handle our own payroll processing & HR management in-house. It is super easy to set up and manage and has a really intuitive user interface. Onboarding new employees is a snap, time-tracking is simple to manage for both employees and managers, and running payroll only takes us a few minutes twice a month. Having employees able to manage their own banking info and paycheck splits and W4s has saved our HR dept a ton of time and headaches. And we love having an online library of company forms and documents we can distribute to employees quickly and easily. Also, their customer support is amazing. We are signed up for the Conceriege level service and have a dedicated team of customer service people who are knowledgable and friendly and responsive and have helped us out with innumerable questions.

Cons:

Moving from our previous payroll processor (ADP) to Gusto was easy, because we decided to do it at the beginning of a new fiscal year. The one issue we did experience was in setting up our company's Federal and State tax filing details. Gusto does not assist you with this, so we had to track down all of our company's employer account #s and UI tax rates and filing frequencies for the 3 different states where we have employees and manually enter it into Gusto. We ended up making a mistake on one state's filing frequency, which ended up costing us a bit of $$ in penalties. It would have been nice if Gusto had been able to assist us with this as part of the switch over from ADP. Also, Gusto does not offer benefits administration in our state (yet). Hopefully that will be coming soon, as it would be nice to handle payroll and benefits through one platform. And they could cut down on the number of "recommended" services from affiliated companies that pop up on the admin dashboard these days.

Andrew
Systems administrator in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best payroll company out there

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Hands down the best and most cost-effective payroll bureau I have ever had the pleasure to do business with. I will not only recommend it to clients that don't have a payroll service but I will recommend it over any other payroll service there is essentially. It's way cheaper and way easier to use. I also have seen less mistakes then pay checks or ADP as I have worked with their payroll reports quite often when doing bookkeeping

Pros:

We used to do around payroll through a company called pay soft.. or ProPay maybe another name for it. The program was decent a little bit cumbersome and the check stock was extremely expensive. They did their own payroll as a bureau. As a result of having their own proprietary software built they also sold it which was overpriced and in the long run didn't make us money. Just being a recommendation agency essentially and controlling if you ever clients payroll through gusto it's made us more money and they offer way more than ADP or paychecks ever has offered us.

Cons:

There's not much I don't like about this software besides maybe the fact that it isn't really a software that you download it's an internet interface so if you're internet somehow becomes unreachable or it's down you can't really print out checks with proper taxes withheld. This is An occurrence few and far between and can always be advanced and then paid back once you can access it again. A desktop GUI that just calls in the website would be a handy tool for owners and accountants to be able to take more effort into their own hands on payroll

Milan
CPA, Financial Advisor in US
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Vimlan Tax Services LLC

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, 7 out of 10, could be better. It's better than most, but it needs to be better.

Pros:

-It's web based -one login for staff for access to all clients. -MFA ability for each login -ability to control which clietns assigned to which login. - like other payroll engines, it does automatic paymetns (immediately) and automatic filings - multiple reports available, quarterly/monthly/yearly, etc. - tracks PTO, SIck, and auto generates if needed, - great integration with Tsheets for time clock

Cons:

There is no ONE consolidated report for all clients on a custom period. EG, if I wanted a 1st quarter payroll report, with selected clients on each row of the report, and the columns having the headings for say, different data points like "gross payroll, net pay, 401K deferred, 401K roth, IL state tax paid, 941 done?" then that style of report is ONLY available if you pull that report down client by client, NOT for all clients or selected clients as a consolidated report. Email alerts are not there for specific things, like if a client exceeds a payrol amount or if a large net reimbursement check is done. There is NO mobile app. There is NO standard custom 401K year end "Annual census" report which ties in all the data points for a 5500 filing. Gusto also competes with providers for health insurance and 401K. Financial advisors like me only want Gusto to do the payroll part, not compete with us on the benefits part.

Corey
General Manager in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Payroll done simple enough for ANY staff member.

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Gusto is extremely helpful and efficient. My team enjoys the "social media" aspect of it, where new hires are introduced to the team before they even begin working. It goes a long way towards building a team. I would highly recommend Gusto to any small business trying to manage their staff. Onboarding is a breeze and gets the employees involved in their own financial matters. Even the least tech savvy person should be easily capable of following the necessary steps to be hired, paid, etc.

Pros:

Employees are able to punch in and out using anything with an internet connection. Additionally, you can turn on Geolocation so that you can ensure the employee is actually on-site when they punch in & out. Best yet, they can actually leave notes in regards to what tasks were completed for the day. It's very helpful to have this built-in tracking feature for accountability with my very small staff.

Cons:

Unfortunately, there is no effective scheduling tool (at least in my opinion), which forces me to go to another software provider for employee scheduling. Ideally, both scheduling and payroll could be done through the same web based software. This would also make it easier to compare scheduled vs. actually worked hours.

Jessi
Director of Marketing and Operations in US
Food Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Gusto is my favorite payroll software ever!!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Great customer service, great value, great UI, I've referred to to so many people already.

Pros:

It's like someone was listening to me complain about Quickbooks payroll and ADP (and Tsheets) and made a software just for me. It's so simple - I was using an accountant to run payroll through ADP - Gusto saves so much time I can do it myself.

Cons:

The reporting tools aren't super robust.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Payroll for the twenty first century

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, even though we were hesitant at first, we couldn’t be happier that we made the switch from our previous provider. We’ve gotten lots of very positive feedback from our employees on the system as well!

Pros:

I love the clean, simple, modern, easy to use user interface and user experience - for both the admin and employees in Gusto. It feels robust and relevant, not clunky and convoluted like many other outdated, expensive systems.

Cons:

I do wish there were some more integrations, and/or that the present integrations were slightly more robust.

Sean
Vice President in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Gusto Makes Payroll For Small Business Easy

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: Payroll went from taking us hours to taking us about 30 minutes. No filling out IRS forms just set it and forget kinda.

Pros:

One of the best features is that we don't have to worry about calculating and paying our payroll taxes. Its something small businesses struggle with not you plugin in the time cards and hit submit and it's done.

Cons:

It's fairly easy if you're tech-savvy. If this is your first time using software or a cloud platform like this it's a learning curve.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Highly recommended - easy to to do payroll

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall experience rolling out this product in HR has been great - users are happy, and has improved performance >15%

Pros:

- excellent interface - handles variety of employee class - full time, part time and contractors - handles paperwork for administration, tax purposes and immigration. No other competitors dot hat - available across all states in US

Cons:

- Inflexibility in some areas, limited choices and product makes you stick to their workflow. Trying to submit for a feature request takes a long time to implement

Alex
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Gusto - Payroll Simplified For A Busy Small Business

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, Gusto is a great software. It has added some automation into our payroll and business. It gives me the peace of mind that my employees are being paid on time, and that taxes and insurance are being handled correctly. The added PTO features, and the ability to add retirement, and healthcare in the same platform is amazing as well.

Pros:

We chose to move to Gusto when we looked to simplify and streamline our payroll. As a small business owner juggling payroll and all the other tasks associated with running a business, PTO management, HR management etc., was becoming a big time sink and we did some research and came across Gusto. Moving to Gusto simplified and automated many of those above tasks. It made it easier to track employee time off requests, made it dead simple and automated getting employees to fill out forms, and sign HR documents. And handling payroll, taxes, and such was so much easier after moving to Gusto. Once payroll was set up and configured, it runs on Autopilot. This allows me to know that payroll is being done every 2 weeks and that I have nothing to worry about. We hire a new employee and the employee is automatically added to the system and I know that everything is done correctly, including the workmen's comp insurance, etc. Overall, Gusto allows me to be more efficient with time and ensure everything is being taken care of.

Cons:

The hardest part for us and the least liked feature in Gusto is trying to set up net-zero paychecks for me and my partner. There was no easy way to set up a paycheck to go completely to taxes. It required some calculations and messing with withholding amounts. Would be nice if there was an easier way to implement net-zero paychecks.

Josh
COO in US
Philanthropy, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Basic and broken

1.0 7 months ago

Pros:

It’s pretty and does the absolute basics without issue. Honestly all anyone likes about Gusto is “it’s pretty” cause it’s so much worse than competitors in every single other way.

Cons:

Gusto is like a wedding planner who has 10 Instagramable wedding packages you can select from. If you want something pretty and basic with no customizations, you’ll love her. The problem comes when you want to have more bridesmaids than usual, to choose a wedding venue she’s never worked with, book a caterer a week earlier than she typically does, or incorporate religious traditions she’s unfamiliar with. Unfortunately, she totally freaks out and has NO IDEA how to handle them or who to even ask for help. She’ll try, but turn it into such a mess you’ll wish you never started working with her at all. Gusto is this wedding planner. It’s “pretty” and does the very simple things without issue, but there can’t be too many businesses who actually care about all aspects of HR that don’t have regret somewhere down the line. After all, most people want to do something that’s even slightly not cookie cutter, and Gusto breaks horribly, especially including it’s customer service.

Mathew
Mathew
Area Manager - Africa in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The People Platform, Gusto!

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Gusto is the perfect tool for payroll and deductions, talk of error free tool, easy to use and very user friendly interface, I am forever grateful for coming across Gusto, literraly saved my life. Its fisrt and very easy to figure out how it works. The new hire paperwork is all taken care of by Gusto. Everything is available in one location, how cool is that! The selfservice aspect just blows my mind, we rarely need to get customer service involved. Also when we do need them wich is not often they are always ready to assist, very knowlegeable and into details, we are always left contented and always feel appreciated. Sometimes we have contractors in our company and we use Gusto to pay them, pay taxes and also provide employees benefits like paid overtime etc. The software is fairly priced, even startup companies can afford. Reporting is easy with Gusto, who doesnt like that, we can all agree reporting is usually boring but with Gusto, reporting is a breeze

Cons:

No dislikes, I honestly love it from deep down my heart, my refferals are happy too. Well done Team Gusto

Michelle
Michelle
Accountant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Gusto is a Great Payroll Option

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Gusto has been very positive and they are a company who wants to support their customers. I have faith that they will sort out the customer service issues and that they are just a result of growing pains.

Pros:

We have been with Gusto for a long time now and find it to be easy and intuitive to use. Employees are able to log in and access their information. Gusto is constantly adding new features and now allows for time tracking by project which is a feature offered by several of their competitors. It is possible to assign managers to approve employee hours without making them a full admin with access to salary info.

Cons:

It is not possible to assign managers to contractors to approve hours which would be helpful. Also, they are experiencing severe growing pains. In the beginning, Gusto support was excellent, however, the response time has gone way up in recent months. They are currently taking 2-3 weeks to respond to many support questions. This is very frustrating and I have clients who have incurred state tax penalties while waiting on Gusto to reply. Their reps are not as knowledgeable as they were earlier either, probably due to having to increase their team so quickly.

Michael
President in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very happy with Gusto. Makes payroll simple and understandable for small biz.

5.0 last year

Comments: My overall experience has been great and i would highly recommend Gusto. Additional features will only make it better.

Pros:

Payroll runs seamlessly. Very happy with pyroll, reporting.

Cons:

I would say these are not cons, but things i would like to see. I would like to see the onboarding process integrate with a background check company and a drug screening company. That would be really nice. I would also like to be able to genreate a handbook or a summary of benefits. Often times when hiring, i want a snapshot of what is happenign in gusto (vacation policy, holiday policy, benefits options). this would help me when hring.