15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About CMiC

CMiC offers a unified, purpose-built ERP & Field management software platform for companies that serve the construction industry.

Learn more about CMiC

Pros:

It is the only software I’ve ever used for project management. I like that everything is in one place from documents and invoicing.

Cons:

The interface is very out-dated and hard to use (particular on mobile browsers), it requires constant maintenance, patching, and testing. It's expensive to integrate with things.

CMiC ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.0
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.9/10

CMiC has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 170 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used CMiC before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (170)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for project teams

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall CMiC has been beneficial in my current role. With this system I am much more efficient in tracking documents and project financials all on one platform.

Pros:

CMiC has a tremendous amount of tools encompassed in the software. The ability for project teams to work within the software simultaneously helps to enhance the user experience. This comes in handy when you have multiple subcontractors and/or project team members who all need to view the same documents.

Cons:

Although a great tool, CMiC is a fairly robust software. New users should be prepared to spend a good amount of time learning the ins and outside of the software to really become proficient with it.

Craig
ERP Strategic Director in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great value & functionality if done right

4.0 last year

Comments: CMiC Public Cloud is a great value. The most comprehensive functionality at a great price. Some clients complain that it is confusing or doesn't work well, but thats not the case if it is set up and supported correctly. The key is to have the right people implementing it and an inhouse resource that is experieced and knows the end game. This is not a system for on the job learning. If you plan and staff correctly, CMiC can be very robust and easy.

Pros:

It is a fully integrated single source of truth that has the modules you need to do what you need to do. It is very powerful if you plan well, set it up well, and find an experienced internal resource to manage it.

Cons:

The user interface could be better, but you have lots of controls to clean it up if you know what you are doing. The system is so large and powerful that learning the controls and backend can take years, so its well worth your while to find the most experienced internal resource you can hire so you have the knowledge before you start implementation. It can be time consuming and expensive to try to fix the system later.

Christina
Project Accountant in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Review

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Reports are not running properly. Program is extremely slow and not efficient. Some of the reports do not work properly. Wish there was a way we could view the invoices in Invoice query rather than imaging.

Pros:

Program is easy to use and navigate and is compatible with Textura Payment Processing program

Cons:

Very slow and some functions do not work properly which is frustrating when your brain works faster than the programs and reports.

Jennifer
Jennifer
Sr. Project Engineer in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tough to use but gets the job done

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: CMiC is certainly not the easiest software to pick up and start using. There are a lot of little nuances, and quite a few features that have more issues than uses. That being said, it handles the finances of a project VERY well.

Pros:

The main thing I like most about this software is its wide breadth of abilities, and how it handles the finances of the projects.

Cons:

Tough to learn and use; lots of nuances; not 100% reliable. Most recently I found that in the potential cost section that when I mark the overall COR as approved or cancelled, etc, that it doesn't waterfall down through all of the costs. No end-game failure of mechanics, but things like this that make it hard to trust this software.

abdelfattah
freelancer in Morocco
Computer Networking, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

i really liked my CMIC experince

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Honestly a nice experience I loved it

Pros:

The most good thing about CMIC is the availability of integrated project management in the construction industry

Cons:

CMIC implementation can be costly, especially for smaller construction companies with limited budgets. The initial setup cost, ongoing maintenance fees, and training expenses may pose financial challenges

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

CMiC Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall i enjoy using the software not only for change order needs, but also submittals and RFIs' which makes it nice to send notifications through one system and not have to exchange multiple emails.

Pros:

I use CMiC on all of my projects and what I like most is being able to arrange different projects and have all the respective subcontractors. To be able to handle all change orders between the owner, the GC and the subcontractors makes the project run smoothly, along with being able to determine what is proceeding, what is pending and what has been completed.

Cons:

What I like least is that the CMiC software is very sensitive. There tends to be issues with the forecasting when a change order or Potential change item is posted which can sway the budget and what it actually is.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I use CMIC every day.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Everything we do, from accounting to document management is completed in CMIC. We are able to save everything in CMIC for years, so this also helps with document storage.

Pros:

Once there is an understanding of the product, it is very easy to use. The functionality is very useful for large construction companies.

Cons:

Upside down question marks when copying and pasting from word documents. Also, the Java sections are a bit dated.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Tricky Customization

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We've been using another similar software for many years and recently switched to CMiC. The transition has been time consuming but the end result should justify the cost. We're looking forward to having the software fully implemented.

Pros:

I love that we're able to replace 3-4 different softwares with 1 (CMiC). We were able to combine most of our company's departments into this one software which allows more seamless distribution of information. It's a powerful software that can be customized to meet our company's individual needs.

Cons:

Customization was a very long process and we're still discovering issues as we roll it out to our employees.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

CMICProd

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Cmic gets the job done. We’ve been using it to collaborate with our design team and owner reps and everyone has gotten through the initial growing pains of the program

Pros:

It is the only software I’ve ever used for project management. I like that everything is in one place from documents and invoicing.

Cons:

The software appears to be very outdated and can be glitchy. You may also have to click through 5-7 things before getting to the thing you need.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Staffing & Recruiting, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Construction accounting and management software that includes all aspects of the business

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like that this very simple looking software with an old school interface has virtually every feature you need to get the job done.

Cons:

It often has these glitches where you input all of your necessary data and recalculate expecting to see the finished product but it doesn't save your information and you have to do it all over again.

Henry
Senior Database Developer
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Beck CMiC Support Review

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Beck is a long time user of CMIC, and we rely on the Job Costing and Job Billing modules to bill our customers. Beck uses almost all of the CMIC modules and we most recently added the 3rd Party Payment feature to our ACH and check printing procedures. We utilize the forms, JSP and ADF screens, and Beck has a large number of custom forms, JSP queries and reports. We utilize over 100 user extension forms. As a database developer, I am impressed with the open architecture of the CMIC system. We are able to do many enhancements (or implement restrictions) that might be impossible in a closed system. The CMIC system is easy to manage, and there are a large community of users and 3rd party support partners. I really get a lot of information from the annual Connect conference

Pros:

open architecture billing options ease of management and support

Jenn
IT Business Analyst
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very Good Software

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Take your time to really test and vet through your software before rolling it out to the masses.

Pros:

I have been using CMiC for 16 years and it has definitely evolved for the better over that time. I am looking forward to moving to the ADF platform by next year. I usually get quick responses from CMiC when I have a problem with the system. The connect user conference is also a big plus.

Cons:

1. The Submittal process in CMiC Collab is not easy to use 2. It is not intuitive for a new user 3. There is a lot of functionality that users still don't about

Jackie
Project Manager Assistant in Canada
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

How I View CMiC

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: My primary use is in the accounting portion of the software which at times can present a challenge but I believe it is like that with any and possibly all specific software. We always want it to be easier than it was a week ago. Some of the necessary steps seem redundant in some ways and could just be safe passages to get the end result, I do not know. For my work in this system, I can get my job done easy enough, answer questions through the available info access points accurately which is what the leader want. Is there room for improvement - Yes, when is there not?

Pros:

The invoice data entry mod is great, whether it be registered or voucher. Kind of hard to mess that up which is nice. Vendor detail reports are key to tracking - love them and that I can get them in any format I choose.

Jean
Payroll Coordinator in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

One system to handle it all!

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It can handle contracts, change orders, billing, payroll, a/r etc.

Cons:

Very difficult to learn & I found the training lacking.....

Dawn
Business Systems Analyst
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

CMiC

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Make sure you have dedicated team members from all aspects of your business that can see the project all the way through the implementation.

Pros:

CMiC is a great ERP solution for the construction industry. The cost management portion is great and easy for the user to comprehend. CMiC also does a great job supporting their customers and have top-notch account reps.

Cons:

1. Hidden costs - i.e. adapters 2. Error messages are not always intuitive, which wastes our time troubleshooting as well as the CMiC support teams.

Alexis
Project Engineer in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The Android of Software

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: I wish there was a CMiC template to then customize from and allow simplified user interfacing.

Pros:

Highly customizable interface to meet your needs.

Cons:

Difficult to navigate. The customization of the software takes up majority of your time, rather than utilizing the software to produce results.

Will
Project Controls Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

2015 Cloud User Review

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: We’ve been using this for 4 yrs. Our users are now satisfied and used to the software, but I’m still not satisfied that the setup is complete. The BI Dashboards are however allowing us to see results of data entry.

Pros:

The customization ability, it’s an all in 1 program.

Cons:

The double entry requirements, difficulty setting up users, complicated to setup jobs.

Claudia
Director of Finance
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Integrated System with lots of capability

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: When rolling it out make sure to prioritize what the requirements are and setup accordingly.

Pros:

Overall the system has huge capability. I love that it updates in real time and is fully integrated. It is also scalable thanks to the cloud meaning we will never outgrow the system.

Cons:

Navigating through the system can be tricky and requires a good amount of time for initial setup.

Adam
Application Developer
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

CMiC Review

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Overall CMiC is a solid product!

Pros:

I mainly use the CMiC database for accessing data, occasionally entering equipment into the Equipment module, and entering my time sheet. For the most part, CMiC seems to work well but it would be nice if there was a consistent interface amongst all the different modules.

Cons:

Too many interfaces (Forms, ADF, JSP, etc.) to access data.

douglas
Cost Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Outdated interface

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: It got the job done, but navigating through the system and printing reports felt very inefficient. I would dread the days I needed to print and provide my weekly reports because of how many man hours it would take to get all the necessary information sorted and produced for our update meetings.

Pros:

CMiC is definitely capable of being your one stop shop for your construction management needs. It can link all aspects of a project into a single program which is convenient and the various reports can be set up to talk to each other and share input and information

Cons:

Like most mass data collection and sorting software, the user interface could use some work. Searching for things and printing reports was often cumbersome and sometimes not very intuitive. One issue is the lack of customization for reports. I found it easier to export the raw data into excel and create my own report and sort functions to provide the type of analysis my managers were looking for.

Mark
Director of Finance in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

FRUSTRATING!!!!

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: Lean on other users and user groups.

Pros:

Very robust system with strong features and capabilities, if you throw enough money at it. $$$$$$$$

Cons:

Terrible implementation leadership. Expensive. Overgrown and understaffed. System requires a lot more resources than the company represents. Requires a lot of consulting resources and in-house resources. Information output is useless in the base product. Requires outside resources and training to build useful information tools to run your business. Getting a response from your implementation team is a challenge. Company does not perform quality assurance on its product, you end up performing quality assurance for them.

Jim
Restoration Coordinator in Canada
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software, outstanding support.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The software is user friendly and very easy to configure and use. The interface is very intuitive considering the features available.The support is outstanding, from the 24 hour instant chat support to the online videos, manuals, and walk throughs. Answers are seconds away, any time you need them.

Pros:

The ease of configuration and the abundance of documentation.

Cons:

A few lingering bugs that support is addressing.

Ashley
Operations Assisant
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Learning xProjects

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Once you learn how the systems works and remember the steps that are necessary for the task you are doing, then
everything starts to make sense.
At first, I wasn't wanting to let go of the old software that our company was using but now that I've learned and keeping
learning how to use xProjects I'm liking it more and more.

Pros:

It's cloud based! That is a huge pro for me, I'm always on the run and going between job sites and it's very nice to be able to log in anywhere I have the internet.

Cons:

The software will error or null when trying to do things...I understand software is going to do that but it gets very confusing when you can't figure out why or what field was missed.

Rashid
Sr. Project Engineer in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

CMiC has it's perks

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Everything is cloud based. You can access you files/projects from anywhere. This allows work to be done at any time with no restrictions.

Cons:

Can be slow at times due to the internet (not necessarily ours). The system still has bugs they're working out.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sometimes I feel that there are too many navigational panes options.

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

What I like most is the detail in the job cost reports as well as the drill down detail options. Cost affordable.

Cons:

Having used both Procore and CMIC , CMIC seam to take longer to understand how to navigate through.