15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Userlike

Userlike is the leading GDPR-compliant software for messaging and automation that helps businesses transform customer communication.

Learn more about Userlike

Pros:

Easy to use and even quite easy to implement. You need some time to walk through all settings but they are already drilled down to a minimum.

Cons:

As compensation they proposed us a free month of subscription (32USD). But the loss caused by this issue would cost thousands of usd.

Userlike ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Userlike has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 646 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Userlike before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (646)

Coty
Coty
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Absolutely wonderful!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, Userlike has helped us grow as a business by creating a customer relation with each and every customer to help make them feel twice as special as we ever could!

Pros:

Userlike is an awesome chat platform! We have started using this after transferring from a different live chat platform that had little to no features. Userlike gives us the options to live chat on Messenger, Whatsapp, and so many more! Userlike also helps build customer relationships by helping remember previous customers and conversations!

Cons:

There hasn't been one feature that I have not liked by using this platform. Everything has been absolutely wonderful!

Userlike Response

5 years ago

Thanks for your review! We're happy to hear that you're enjoying Userlike.

Mohamed Salah
Project Manager in Tunisia
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Amazing Customer Service Experience with Userlike

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, my experience with Userlike has been positive. The customer service team is friendly and knowledgeable, and the features are comprehensive and easy to use. I would highly recommend this tool to any customer service team.

Pros:

Userlike is a great tool for providing customers with quick and efficient support. Its ease of use and comprehensive features make it a great choice for any customer service team.

Cons:

Although Userlike is easy to use, I have sometimes experienced some delays in getting responses from the customer service team. However, when I do get a response, it is usually helpful and satisfactory.

Userlike Response

last year

Hi Mohamed, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to hear that you recommend and enjoying Userlike! We wish you success and have fun chatting!

Pavel
Director in Russia
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Software that almost ruined our business

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: We've been using Userlike since summer 2017, for 3 years overall. We choose it essentially for customisation features (absolutely needed dark theme for the chat widget). Right from the start we were aware about the major technical issue: broken sessions, but at the moment we didn't find an other solution with dark theme chat widget so we accepted this issue. But it was really weird, imagine: the client close the chat widget to continue the navigation or to read something on the page, and when he reopens it - it's a new conversation that starts! But we lived with this because we are a small company and we didn't have much conversations per day.
The major problem came suddenly and imperceptibly: the userlike system stopped to send offline messages to our inbox. All our team, including me the director, didn't notice it, because there are other sources of messages on our site (contact page, "ask question" on products pages). But we stopped to receive the "You've received a new offline message from..." offline emails from userlike chat widget!
So we were in the middle of coronavirus pandemic when we suddenly discovered the loss! 240 messages where not delivered to our inbox since December 2019 to July 2020! Just imagine how many clients we lost!
As the support team explained me - your main e-mail address in the system was marked as "invalid". The system didn't alert us properly (only a little red point under the bell in the admin interface of the main administrator).

Pros:

Nice design, widget customisation features

Cons:

Critical alert system not working properly. 240 off line messages not delivered to our inbox! Broken chat sessions: every request from the same client creates a new conversation! nonsense! The system stopped to send offline messages, but continued to send monthly invoices to the same main email info@... As a result this contributed to ruin our business among pandemic times (tourism business). Unforgivable loss of clients because of the interface alerts system fault. The system marked the primary email as "invalid" but did not alert as properly so we can fix the issue. A little red dot under the bell icon visible only in the main administrator account was indicating the problem. Me as the admin didn't log in each day in my admin account, and operators didn't have this alert! As a result - more then 240 emails not delivered to our main inbox. However Userlike didn't miss to continue to send us monthly bills to the same email... As compensation they proposed us a free month of subscription (32USD)... But the loss caused by this issue would cost thousands of usd!

Userlike Response

4 years ago

Hello Pavel, I'm very sorry to hear about your bad experience. It's especially painful to see this has happened with a long-term customer like you. I've checked in with our support team about this issue. They explained me that, unfortunately, they were not able to inform you about the problems with your integration for the same reason that the integration did not work: because the email you provided did not work anymore. They had no way to contact you. We are now looking into whether we can improve our notifications for such edge cases. We of course hope you will give us another shot, but if not, we thank you for your time with us and wish you all the best for the future. Best regards, Francesca

Brayan Agostinho
Brayan Agostinho
Consultor SOA in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

beautiful real-time chat software developed on web and mobile

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Userlike is a beautiful real-time chat or live chat software ideal for customer services, where it offers multiple functions in a simple and easy way, making the software easy to use. You can use Userlike with just a few clicks from your website, ideal for communicating with customers, or where we can also always be updated with the widgets of your browser available in Google Chrome or downloading your mobile application to take it with us anywhere. . the interface is very comfortable and beautiful, fully customizable and easy to use to make the chats more efficient with predefined texts to chat with several clients at the same time. The most attractive feature of Userlike is its integration with other applications, ideal for several jobs. such as: Slack, salesfroce, pipedrive ... It also has enough documentation on its website where we can see everything that this software can do and where the language will not be a problem, since it is developed in several languages.

Cons:

It would be very difficult to say something negative about this software. It fulfills all its objectives. the only thing is that it offers a free version and a complete test of your program for 14 days, and if you want to hire these full services you must pay, and this service could be expensive for some people.

Pratik
Pratik
Software Development Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Broadcast Media, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

User friendly | Supports offline messaging | Supports sending custom data for user identification

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have been using Userlike since a few months. It is very user-friendly to use. I am from a software background and found it pretty easy to integrate the APIs, in the application.

Pros:

- Identification of users is very accurate. Email, mobile and name are the default keys that help in identifying the keys. You can also store custom data through session. - APIs are well documented to help set it up - Support provided by the team is also very good. Just message them and they get back asap. - The best part, they promote startups! - If you are offline and if someone needs support and messages through the app, you are notified via email.

Cons:

- Email received for offline messages, is sometimes delayed, though never missed. - On closing a chat window, the operator cannot send a message back to the user. So you need to be careful to not close the window until the chat is over. Multiple users chat is supported, though. You can keep switching chats as and when you want.

Bukola
Bukola
Data scientist in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Affordable and effective.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Userlike is easy to install,and has got a dependable customer care team ; who are always of positive assistance anytime we have needed to liaise with them to resolve complaints and bugs. We are provided with good analytical stats. about visitors who access our websites or app ; and that has been useful for the marketing team to tweak our marketing plans and strategy towards acquiring more users.

Cons:

Userlike does not provide a smartphone app. for customer care teams,to be able to access the Userlike chat program without a pc. In this day and age , this is a letdown.

Nick
Nick
Managing Director in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Events Services
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

There's a lot 'under the hood'

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Ability to deliver customer service more quickly and efficiently at the point of purchase.

Pros:

If you read the Userlike web site and don't delve into the documentation, you'd be forgiven for thinking it's quite light on features, so I'd encourage you to read up. It is actually both broad and deep in feature set. We've also found while setting this up that the Userlike support team take their own medicine - even though we're only on the free trial so far, being able to reach out to a support person via live chat is effortless and quick.

Cons:

This is probably the case with most live chat software, but we find it difficult to ensure the customer always gets through to an active operator quickly, as our team are not sitting at their desks all day. It is easy to go offline if you remember to do it when you leave your desk, but this is going to be a difficult habit to learn. If there was a more automated way to avoid operators who are idle then this would make Userlike a killer live chat app.

Mladen
Mladen
doctor in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great way to be in touch

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This platform helped me to improve my business, increase my sales. Its really easy and fast to connect with my customer through live chat. I really suggest to everybody to try it. It will really help to them in their business.

Pros:

It is great way to build customer relationship through live chat platform.

Cons:

It will be nice to have mobile app for IOS and test time should be little bit longer.

Userlike Response

3 years ago

Hi there, Thanks for your review! We're happy to hear that you're enjoying Userlike. Regarding the app, we definitely understand that a mobile app might be helpful for some of our customers.We're planning on building one in the next year! :)

James
James
CEO in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Use this for webchat on a busy site - does a great job

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: contact with sales leads that otherwise we would have missed - they are reluctant to fill out a form and mostly are just looking for some reassurance about their product selection. A little reassurance results in a sale instead of an abandoned cart.

Pros:

Different widget configurations means I can make a different approach for sales leads or tech support. The sales chat can be more proactive, and the tech support more passive. They also have a simple conversation feature that we may use for out-of-hours / busy times as it's a little more friendly than just asking a user to fill in a form. Works with standard desktop chat clients, so online/away works really well.

Cons:

The help page on mobile was out-of-date and didn't include a known issue that causes the text to become tiny, for which there is a simple answer. The graph showing chat frequency is good, but the entire section labelled "Analytics" is blank - its a cost option, but odd to show it all blank.

Alexandre
Alexandre
Dirigeant in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Efficient and easy to use

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Implementation is very easy and the widget works perfectly on every browser. It was immediately adopted by our customers who declared they were reassured to be able to chat with someone human to discover our products and confirm their order on our website.

Cons:

We sometimes forget to log in to the chat panel. This is entirely our fault but the result is that the chat widget doesn't appear on our website at all when this happens. But we could set the software so that a contact form appears instead.

Kevin
Franchise Marketing Manager/PR Coordinator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Hard To Pass Up On

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Userlike has a lot of "likeable" attributes. The first most likeable feature is the amount of features for the monthly cost. Unlike other SaaS apps and programs, Userlike has a very generous user allotment and feature set for the price. As the marketing manager of our company, I use many of the features to gauge the effectiveness of chats, wordsmith chat scripts, push pages, set topics, and have a very transparent view of chats. The biggest initial draw of Userlike, for me, was the ability to white label the chat window, customize the appearance, preset chat scripts, tie it into Google Analytics, and have an offline chat feature. Overall, Userlike is the best solution for us.

Pros:

Features are the biggest pros with Userlike. Here is the list of features we use on a daily basis. • Offline Chat Message • Pre-set Scripted Chats • Google Analytics Connection - Set Up Goals • Custom Appearance • White Label Chat • No Per Operator Cost • Chat Monitoring

Cons:

The only cons I have with Userlike are minor but sometimes can be the more annoying parts of the software. The biggest con is support. Because the service is hosted in Germany, there is never anyone online to answer some of the simplest questions. Getting the answers requires waiting until the next day or persevering through countless web searches to find a solution. Two other cons are the ability to make changes. Recently we enacted the registration chat, however if you have proactive also enabled, the proactive skips registration. After talking with support, they were going to suggest it to their development team. That doesn't instill a lot of confidence like a voted feature list would. The other con is the recent reduction to chat window appearance. Before the recent update, the chat window could be more controlled in size, color, and a lot other appearance features. Now, an occasional customer cannot chat with us because the window is too large for their screen and they can't close it, forcing them to leave our site.

Guido
Digital Marketing Manager & E-commerce Manager in Italy
Furniture, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

If you're looking for a livechat, that's the one!

4.0 last year

Comments: We've used it as livechat during the peak season on our e-commerce, and it has been very appreciated by our online customers who needed support on their orders.

Pros:

It's livechat capabilities above all.Furthermore, it's very very quick to install and use it.And, above all, its pricing plans : extremely cheap and competitive with other similar tools.

Cons:

If you are managing a website with multiple markets and you want the livecht to appear on a single market, you need to customize the script (and therefore you cannot do it on your own but you need to rely on your system integrator).

Userlike Response

last year

Hi Guido, Thank you for leaving a review! We're glad to hear that Userlike has helped you keep in touch with your customers. Happy Chatting!

Ekateryna
general project manager in Germany
Professional Training & Coaching, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Perfect chat for us

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We use it for online English school website. It's much more attractive for clients

Pros:

Most of all I liked few things - how it looks, for both sides, support and client; it's easy to make all needed settings and there was no need to instruct support how to use it; and most of all, that it's possible to follow support's work in real time - I can check conversations as soon as they're done, as well as to get notifications if someone went ofline. There are many other options, which I haven't try yet, such as analitycs, surways and deep configurations. But as I see for now, this chat has all essential and advanced options which are easy and convenient for use.

Cons:

Haven't found yet. Maybe sometimes not sure about whether notifications still work for me, so enter there to reload the page. Also maybe would be nice if pop up notifications about new chats to support remain visible untill they react

Rebeca
Project Management in Germany
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Free trial convinced

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very satisfied.

Pros:

The software was easy to implement and customise to our needs and CI. The tutorials are great, but it is pretty self explanatory anyway. We will continue with the full version of it.

Cons:

I didn't like, that I can't access the settings without going completely out of the chat panel or opening the link in a new tab (which has to be done by entering the URL, because 'open in new tab' gets you to an about:blank page.

Userlike Response

5 years ago

Thanks for your review, we're happy you're enjoying Userlike. You're correct that you can't open the 'Leave Chat Panel' in a new tab to access your settings in the Dashboard. But an easy fix I'd like to recommend: simply open 'Userlike.com' in a separate tab, click on 'Dashboard' in the upper right corner, and you'll be taken to your settings there so that you'll be able to have both the Chat Panel and Dashboard open in the same window. Happy chatting!

Florian
CEO in Austria
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Live Chat Tool for our Wordpress Page

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to set up, great customer support from Userlike Very supportive especially for Startups Easy connection to Slack and Trello

Cons:

Would be great to have an app as well (especially to check offline messages) - Getting notifications via Slack helps already though

Jim
Member in US
Insurance, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Website Chat

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

If you need the bells and whistles of a chat program; this is the program to use.

Cons:

It is overkill for my current needs, so I didn't renew the subscription. Ability to start chats with people on the site is very useful.

Isabel
Coordinator in Spain
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

The program meets the expectations quite well. It's really easy to set up.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: A simple option to interact with customers who visit our website.

Pros:

Has a special plan for startup It integrates very easily into the wordpress we use. It has a great variety of options to configure the graphic aspect and its behavior. It has a bot that makes the offline conversation with the client more interactive It would emphasize its integrations with other programs like Freshdesk for example.

Cons:

No triggers to configure based on user behavior. You do not have the option to acquire a license for a single agent.

Jim
Executive Director in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

So far, so good. Completely satisfied with no complaints.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I've been testing the software over the last few weeks and have found it to be very easy to use. Set up and configuration haven't been. problem. It works just like I hoped it would. As our nonprofit grows, I expect it will be a valuable tool in communicating with potential clients.

Cons:

This is my first foray into this type of software, so I'm not an experienced user who knows how to push the envelope when I'm testing Userlike. Thus far, however, I haven't found any issues with its functionality.

Philipp
Shop Manager in Germany
Consumer Goods, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

We implemented the snippet in less then 5 minutes at our page and could start chatting.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Super-easy implementation and fast insights about the incoming questions.

Pros:

We were curious about what kind of questions our customers will ask and what resources we had to provide to serve good quality responses to the incoming questions. It's a big advantage that Userlike comes with a 2 weeks, free test period and a super simple installation. Literally, after 5 minutes we have been able to chat with our customers. You simply register at the website, get your snippet to implement at your CMS or shop system and start chatting.

Cons:

We tested the full version. The free and cheaper versions will have limited functionality. We did not test this yet. The only negative point we found: if all operators are offline, the chat widget still shows up in the front-end. We would prefer the chat button to disappears if no operator is available.

Juliane
Sales in Germany
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Nice and easy way to be closer to your customers

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We see the main benefit in the shortening of the distance to our customers. They can easily ask questions without filling in a whole contact formular.

Pros:

I like most the possibility to give the chats a topic afterwards so that I can analyze what the main questions are from customers that visit our website.

Cons:

I like least the setup are. It is a little bit confusing when you do it for the first time. But I have to admit that I did not do the tutorials before I set everything up. I just did it on intention.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very User friendly

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Thanks

Pros:

This is so smart and a good way to communicate in my business we really need something like for the business to keep going. All good and very easy to manage

Cons:

Nothing so far it so consistent when it comes to its' nature. Please keep it up. And i am planning to use it for all of my life.

Turnell
Senior Programmer Analyst in Trinidad & Tobago
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The best one I tried

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Inexpensive, easy to configure chat program that comes with a chatbot. What more can you ask for?

Pros:

I love the look and feel of this chat program. It is pretty, simple and clean. It comes with a chatbot which is fairly unusual in this price range. It was easy enough to set up in my test environment. This solution felt very complete. There wasn't anything that I couldn't do except for add my own branding. I think that may have been a limitation of the trial version.

Cons:

The configuration for the chatbot was really tucked away deep in the configuration. The only other complaint was that the trial should have had more features available than it did.

Marcel
eCommerce Specialist in Germany
Utilities, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amazingly easy to work with!

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: More Customer interactions
Higher Conversion rate
Fast and easy support for our potential customers

Pros:

Awesome functionality Easy to setup Highly customizable Easy to use Perfekt use of roles and support topics* * We have a wide range of support topics within our online shop and due to the possibility to assign different operators skills and roles, it's easy to get directly to the right operator!

Cons:

To be honest, theres nothing negative to say about. If you got a problem or looking for a solution and cant find it, theres always a nice guy on the Customersupport livechat who will give you the right answers in a very short time

Darko
Head of HR department in Serbia
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Excellent prouct

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: After tryong out a number of other products, Userlike Live chat is by far the best product we have used and we plan to continue doing so. Than you for making this solution and for contantly inproving it.

Pros:

The product is very functional, but to ephasize one of the options that is most useful for us is the ability to use it in multiple languages and that the automatic responses are very precise and informative to the users.

Cons:

So far we have not encountered any major disikes, but maybe the configuration of the operatiors is not so easilay visable from some panels. This is a bit confusing for our employes when setting ther profiles.

Dominik
e-Commerce Manager in Germany
Furniture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool for fast and efficient customer support.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

- Very easy to use - Great setting possibilities - Good adaptability - Good value - Fast Support from Userlike

Cons:

- It would be great if you could send pictures in chat - Individual modules (such as analysis) are not purchased separately