15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

SolarWinds Service Desk Reviews

About SolarWinds Service Desk

SolarWinds Service Desk provides businesses of all sizes an easy to use and affordable ITSM solution that can easily scale with you.

Learn more about SolarWinds Service Desk

Pros:

This is very easy to use and all of the information is very efficient to find.

Cons:

The Chat response from an agent on Solarwinds takes time to respond. If there's an outage the email delivery is slightly delayed for the announcement.

SolarWinds Service Desk ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

SolarWinds Service Desk has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 570 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SolarWinds Service Desk before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (570)

Krishna
Krishna
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It is simple to implement, administer, and update

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: In my opinion, web-based program solutions are the way of the future, and SolarWinds is right there with them. I truly mean it when I say I'd want to switch to SolarWinds because of the ease with which everything can be done from a web browser.

Pros:

I like that we can measure time, open rates, add project and task users, and connect files to our projects and tasks. This is a must-have for me in my current position. It's a great way to stay on top of tasks. All task updates are sent to you in real time. Support and asset management use cases are at the bleeding edge of this technology here. An good solution that meets the majority of ITSM criteria is available.

Cons:

The task arrangement for submitting new tickets might be a little complicated at times. Most users won't be able to see or realize how much backend setup is required, thus someone has to do it or teach them.

Sarah
Sarah
System Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An excellent tool for service management

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: For the most part, Solarwinds Service Desk is utilized for automating incident generation through integration and reducing the amount of human work required. Custom dashboards make it possible to see the weekly, monthly, and yearly trends in various types of tickets, such as incidents, requests, changes, and issues, and to perform analysis.

Pros:

It offers a wide range of functions, such as incident tools and an employee support site. In addition, the user interface is simple and clear. To reassign requests, learn about what happened, and access the information you need is simple. I no longer have to worry about maintaining the backend systems. Instead of getting bogged down in making sure all systems are up-to-date, we can concentrate on our business and providing excellent customer support.

Cons:

When a ticket is being updated, the user is not informed that the ticket is in the process of being updated. Moreover, the fact that the search engine does not provide slack binding should be stressed more strongly. During the dynamic page refresh, the page becomes unresponsive.

Misty
It manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Prefect system for the right business structure

5.0 last month New

Comments: This is prefect product for my company and I am very happy with the software and I’m not looking to change any time soon.

Pros:

Being a IT services company with multiple clients and different networks and tenants. Helps cut down my task and admin duties in half.

Cons:

The price is high compared to other options but the integrations it offers is worth it to my business structure.

Dan
IT Manager in UK
Renewables & Environment, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

On-Premise product thatrequires some hefty configuration

2.0 11 months ago

Comments: We needed a product that did not cost much and would obey ITIL standards.The tool does the above, but it requires vast knowledge on how to set up, admin and implement changes.The end users seemed to go along with the tool, but when basic changes needed to be made, you always looked for the one person who knew how the original setup was done, as it was the only way of making the changes safely.

Pros:

I like the securityI like the interfaceI think it's a fairly good value as we bought a perpetual license.ROI is fairly good.

Cons:

It is hard to configure, relying on the command line to do many things and not easy to train admin users on administrating this tool.

Randy
Deployment Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best and reliable Service Desk for all problem’s related to Solarwinds

5.0 last month New

Comments: So far, i have had a great time using Solarwinds products especially Service Desk..

Pros:

Super reliable and efficient in all ways

Cons:

Haven’t encountered any problems using the Service Desk provided by Solarwinds..Solarwinds is excellent and amazing with all its products

Hossam
Hossam
Network Infrastructure & Operations Manager in Saudi Arabia
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Hossam's SolarWinds Service Desk Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with SolarWinds is very positive, although we have switched to another system due to budget issues, yet i still prefer it.

Pros:

SolarWinds Service Desk is easy to use & what i like most about it is its dashboard customization feature, as i can be able to monitor my team's ticket status all day long, without having to look into the tickets of other teams, and being SolarWinds, it gives me the ability to view it in appealing charts, and reporting & notification is well maintained.

Cons:

The least i like about it is its cost in relative to other ticketing systems in the market.

Shayla
Shayla
Human Resources Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The tool is fantastic for managing incidents

5.0 last year

Comments: For IT issue management, change management, and software purchase approvals, we utilize SWSD. Users may see where their requests stand in the IT department's queue, and the department as a whole can stay organized.

Pros:

This incident management software is a tried-and-true classic, with a user interface that's friendly to both IT pros and regular folks. It serves our purposes without overwhelming us with extra features we won't need.

Cons:

More views, like a tiled one, might be helpful for examining incidents or shifts. At this time, just a bulleted list is accessible. More dashboard widgets would be welcome, too.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Practically Perfect in Every Way

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It has a clean, easy to use, and intuitive interface. We have only scratched the surface of what it can do.

Cons:

I haven't really found anything I dislike. Our previous solution was that bad.

Adrian
Cloud Operations Analyst in UK
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solarwinds review

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Positive overall, we are able to look deeper into network and DB issues using Solarwinds

Pros:

Allows us to monitor and spot issues after alerts have come in

Cons:

I have no negative experiences with Solarwinds

Ronald
Ronald
Software Assurance in US
Civil Engineering, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great platform for asset management and trouble ticket

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The pricing is based upon the number of users in our network that will be accessing the system, and the number of "Managers" running the system. The salesman were very helpful in providing a great offer on the cost and have kept that pricing concept since we started. As you are starting out with basically a "Blank Page" it can seem a little overwhelming at first setting everything up to get that final functional asset management and help desk system you envision. However, there are plenty of examples and their help & support is very responsive. To me, this "Blank Page" is one of the positive aspects of the system. Basically, with some limitations, if I can imagine it, I can build it with what they have provided. This is true if you keep in mind what the original system was designed for in the first place. (The point here is simply: you would be surprised what kind of things people have asked the system to do... way beyond the scope of its design...) It easily integrates with Active Directory (AD based on Windows 2003 is no longer supported as of this writing) and has a robust permissions setup, allowing you to allow and deny users any number of "Roles" that are pre-configured or that you create as needed. The easy deployment of the agent combined with the cloud based setup allows the system to work well with users and machines working both in the corporate network, as well as outside of it in satellite offices. The "Trouble Ticketing" interface can be customized and is easy to understand and navigate. Background elements include the ability to track tickets, warn administrators of tickets that have received no response, cluster common tickets to users and machines for trend and trouble tracking, and provides what I call "Live Response", where you can see who is looking at a specific ticket or item and see their notations instantly. Probably the most impressive portion of the system is that part that most users will never see: The asset management system. Once the agent has been installed and is communicating, the amount of information provided is overwhelming at first, and yet still organized and categorized. There is even a built in tool allowing the system to know when a computers warranty is up. My reason for not giving 5 stars across the board: The system sometimes has issues tracking software as the "Suite" it is licensed under. This is not necessarily and issue with this system as it is in how it is sold.

Pros:

Flexibility The "Sand Box" approach. Support. Cost effective

Cons:

Printers are auto-populated, not based upon where the printer is installed from and shared from, but by every single shared instance of that printer. As a result, a single printer in an office of 200 users all sharing the same printer will show an inventory of 201 printers. Software suites, like Autodesk "Building Design Suite Premium" are sold and licensed as a single unit, even though it is a collection of some 2 dozen programs and plugins. Samanage does not have the ability automatically, to track and manage this; it shows them as a bunch of separate programs. There is a way to cheat the system and make this work, but it is a manual step that requires a bit of work to setup and manage. It's getting better, but the agents do not always refresh as quickly as I would like.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SolarWinds Service Desk - Great Serve desk that meets the ITSM needs

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We've been using Solarwinds Service Desk for a few years now, and I highly suggest it. It provides cutting-edge support and asset management use cases. It is an excellent solution that satisfies the most, if not all, of the ITSM requirements, such as incident and issues management, changes and release management, and asset management.

Pros:

1. Solarwinds provides an excellent Incident Management experience. Agents can prioritize events and add custom fields for improved reporting and analysis. 2. It includes remote control software (Dameware), which enables support personnel to quickly enter into clients' computers and provide remote assistance. 3. It is also beneficial for asset management. Organizations may maintain track of all assets, including their location and status. 4. It is quite simple to open a support ticket. Its connection with email makes things a lot easier. 5. It also provides a Customer Satisfaction survey (which is issued automatically) to assess the level of service provided. 6. It is also cloud-based, allowing users to join in from anywhere and give help.

Cons:

1. The user interface could definitely benefit from some enhancements to make it easier to navigate. 2. The Search functionality is not properly optimized and frequently produces irrelevant results. 3. To create more user-friendly reports, the reporting may be upgraded with a much better UI. 4. The notification system may be improved to allow desktop pop-ups. 5. The mobile app frequently hangs.

Jada
Systems Analyst in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A Great product with even greater potential

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, we have had a generally positive experience with Service Desk, we would just like to see them mature out more of their features

Pros:

A few of the things that I like most about Service Desk is the ease of learning to use it. I was able to go from one ticket management system to this one in a single day of training and have had almost no issues in terms of knowledge gaps. Their customer support is top tier and their change management workflow is one of the best I've seen.

Cons:

Reporting. By that I mean the lack of reports and reporting tools. It would be nice to be able to build out our own or create our own reports. A BI tool in this application would really put it over the top.

Henry
Desktop Systems Specialist in US
Oil & Energy, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Samanage Helpdesk Best!

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: The most granular are where Samanage stands out from the crowd is in its Dashboard and the array of reports that it generates. Upon login, the Dashboard is where users are automatically placed. It provide users with immediate inside into what's going on across the organization.
Another feature I like in Samanage is its single sign-on functionality. Many of contenders failed to support this capability at all. Once users are signed on, they can be assigned different roles and groups depending upon what they need to do and what access level is required.
There's also something Samanage calls "risk detection." This isn't a security tool constantly searching for code holes or digital invaders, however. Rather, it's based on the data Samanage gathers as a helpdesk and asset management tool where it uses that information to keep track of best practices, expiring licenses, and similar information that might compromise your IT organization from a financial or contract perspective. We weren't able to test this feature, so be sure to evaluate yourself thoroughly before banking on it.
Samanage doesn't have everything a good help desk solution should have, but it does offer many features that are important to ITIL, including problem, incident, and change management. Samanage has a pleasing aesthetic, is fairly easy to use once you get used to it, and given its feature breadth you'll certainly find the right tool for the job somewhere in the suite.

Pros:

Contains most needed features. Includes ITIL service management tools. Offers asset tracking and more reports than other help desk solutions

Cons:

A lot of features but some seem unnecessary.

Jeremy
Consultant in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Samanage simplified and expanded the feature set of our current Incident Management System

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Samanage helped simplify our incident management, expand our feature set and ultimately helped us increase the capabilities of our customer support and information management on the support side. We were really impressed with the import capabilities and admin capabilities provided right out of the gate. We were also impressed with the flexibility of the licensing and the willingness to help package exactly what we needed for our solution. One feature we have greatly benefited from is the Contract Management which helps us track the different contracts we hold with customers. The Service Requests have also helped guide users into providing information for their requests, making our job easier when trying to facilitate the requests and needing certain information to do so. We were not impressed with the limited capabilities of the Solutions portion of the application and this carries over to the Help Desk Portal which has no current way of organizing Solutions based on the customer or "Site", category, or any such other filters. There is only the option of displaying the solution Internally, which is good because in that view, we can create filters to organize and make sense out of the hundreds of Solutions we have created. But, we really wanted to improve the self help capabilities of the help desk portal we are provided but with the current way Solutions are shown on the portal, we can not use this feature to show customers common solutions to their problems. Overall, Samanage has been a great asset to our support team but we are hoping to see some improvements this year when it comes to permissions for viewing Solutions and also organizing solutions on the Help Desk Portal in a manner similar to how the Service Requests are displayed. I should note that since this is a SaaS solution, we instantly see improvements and features being added and the community.samanage.com site is very active. Lastly, I want to praise Samanage's help desk and engineering team which has been spot on with their support and solution delivery. We have helped to find a number of bugs and problems throughout our use and usually we will see these problems resolved within a week or less which is incredible turn around time for fixing minor issues in a software solution if you look at other companies and traditional on premise software.

Tim
Systems Administrator in US
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cost per year better than most

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Running this for 5 and a half years now at roughly 30k tickets per year currently. It's been largely stable, but of course a few bumps along the road. The biggest complaint I get is that there's no mobile app, or a limited use one at best. That said, the web UI on mobile is mostly friendly.

Pros:

The pricing tier after the initial purchase is fair. Client UI is actually really great, unless you're a Client Admin on v.12.7.2. Reporting works, so long as you're ok with slightly off numbers.

Cons:

Reporting doesn't report accurately compared to a custom query, which is odd. A two week report has one total, but running the weeks individually returns a different total, which is really weird. Unable to route tickets to a Tech Group based on Request Type, it's stuck to one group. This makes ticket flow a little difficult to work with.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Music, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great all in one solution

5.0 last year

Comments: A good choice for all IT teams to start out with

Pros:

The reporting and service catalog saved us a lot of time when doing our monthly reviews. Integrations with different systems such as google and zapier was seemless as well

Cons:

Not as customizable and unable to get what we want exactly. Have to do quite a number of work arounds instead.

Bart
Sr Accountmanager in Netherlands
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Solarwinds servicedesk helps you service the customers

4.0 last year

Comments: Very happy!

Pros:

Very easy and nice to see servicedesk system, good integration with other Solarwinds tools, remote acces works fine, CMDB, Solarwinds patchmanagement, remote control

Cons:

In fact it's easy to use bit the price is a little it higher then some other tools.

Pooja
Service delivery manager in United Arab Emirates
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ideal tool for service desk management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: *Solar wind is one stop for a managed service desk tool.
*IT has numerous feature associated within, one among is solarwinds network monitoring. Usually organization will have a different tool for network monitoring itself but solarwinds provides access to this future without needing to have different tool.
*Easy to access and multiple means of ticket creation and tracking.

Pros:

Network Monitoring and Reporting / analytics re two feature mostly used in our organization. This tool also helped me log into employees desktop and understand step by step to resolve any particular issue. Provides way better workflow process and I am sure It may get way bigger.

Cons:

Reports could be managed in a better format or structure because there is so much you can do with reports.

Brian
IT System Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great to small to midsize companies

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's been good. There are times where I ask about something or inquire about a function and the response isn't the greatest

Pros:

Being able to make it our own and implement company language(Categories, Incidents, Group Naming, Tasks)

Cons:

Customer Support generally wants you to exhaust all means necessary in your own troubleshooting before they actually are of any help.

Jonathan
Undergraduate Associate in US
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to learn and use

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Solarwinds has been a very easy to learn and use system, with a friendly user interface. It is a great starting point for users that do not have experience with information management systems.

Pros:

The processes that are most used by my team are very easy to perform. Ticket creation is assisted by a very user friendly UI, and ticket management after tickets are created allow for tickets to reflect evolving issues.

Cons:

Proper ticket management and the ability to provide a resolution at the time of creating the ticket without closing it are just a few quality of life improvements that I can see missing as a low-tier help desk member.

Erdem
Game Programmer in US
Computer Games, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

My overall experience was great.

4.0 last year

Pros:

I was looking for a computer management software to help me manage my network and services and came across Solarwinds Service Desk. It offers an incredible amount of functionality, while maintaining a simplistic user interface. The product allows me to manage my network and services from a single place and provides a powerful group management capability, which is very user friendly. I was able to set up and customize different groups based on my own needs and preferences.

Cons:

No problem, it was a great experience and I am very satisfied. I think I haven't had any complaints since the day I used it.

raju
IT Applications Manager in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

good for small team, but multi-team use has some draw backs for moderate/large IT departments

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like that Samanage is all web based and easy to submit/open tickets by email--very customer friendly.

Cons:

The problems we experience with Samanage are related to teams within IT that have to cover components of the ticket. The Search functionality requires macros which is too complicated. Each status change sends a message to everyone, way too many emails go around--should be consolidated to a single message every ten min or so--or leave it up to the user to send a message. There is no Private Messaging within IT team, so we are constantly leaving comments, and then reassigning tickets to each other, but this leads to numerous emails going around.

Terence
ITS Manager in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Well designed and easy to use.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Saves time and makes it easier to manage service desk requests.

Pros:

Interface is intuitive and setup is easier than most Service Desk software I've used in the past especially with the help we received from the samanage implementation team.

Cons:

Adjusting and maintaining the views that I want. I'm fairly picky with how I want things arranged and depending on how I navigate through samanage, my views can revert back to defaults. I feel there should be a more consistent behavior with views.

Michael
IT Infrastructure Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Samanage - A seriously good help desk solution

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very good. 5/5 experience, overall the software works exactly as advertised.

Pros:

The features work as advertised. We have used Dell Kace in the past and dumped it because of a lack of features; we switched to InvGate. InvGate was a really poor experience, and though it had a lot of features nothing operated properly and support was slow. Samanage has been the total opposite, when we run into an outage it is very quickly resolved and chat support is very responsive.

Cons:

Improvements could definitely be made on the built-in reporting side of things; especially when it comes to computer inventory.

Alejandro Enrique
Alejandro Enrique
Helpdesk Operations Supervisor in Colombia
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The integral IT management tool to keep your company running smoothly.

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: It is satisfying to have a team that provides services within the company in everything related to incidents and IT requirements and supported with a centralized tool such as SolarWinds Service Desk allows the work they perform to be easier, reliable and efficient; This tool is capable of monitoring all of the company's assets and visualizing behaviors, licenses and their use, guaranteeing security within the local corporate network and optimizing periodic maintenance work such as antivirus updates, operating system licenses (a significant point for scheduled audits in the company), which is why Solarwinds SD is an extremely important support for the organization's service desk and for all of us who use this tool.

Pros:

Through the central panel we can see each and every one of the computers that make up our local infrastructure in each of the dependencies (this includes desktops, laptops, printers all in 1, etc.), this means that we can validate their performance and detect when patches or security updates are required in any of them or in the operating system they have, It also allows us to monitor by means of risk management any activity not endorsed by the IT group, such as browsing on websites not authorized by the organization or installing applications within the corporate network, which derives in risk for the security of the equipment and the information contained therein, as well as detecting unlicensed software within the infrastructure, which would be risky for the IT team.

Cons:

Normally the interactions with our IT help desk was a tedious process and in some cases delayed in the attention of incidents or requirements of some areas, SolarWinds SD has adapted within its interface a high degree of intuitiveness that is perceived by each of the users who interact with this tool for the creation of incidents and thus define or assign such requirement to the appropriate personnel in order to achieve a response in the shortest possible time, this ensures maintaining the level of service without any impact and the business process without striking alterations; Solarwinds SD so far has no negative reactions in our organization.