15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About GitHub

GitHub enables development teams to collaborate, and review and manage code within a DevOps pipeline and built-in code security.

Learn more about GitHub

Pros:

It is a great platform for developers to showcase there work and get any help from the platform community.

Cons:

It also sadly has no mobile app/mobile support at all.

GitHub ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

GitHub has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 5,907 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used GitHub before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (5,907)

Dylan
Dylan
Software Developer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simply indispensable. Github is where developers live.

5.0 last month New

Comments: I couldn't live without Github. As a developer, I spend 50%+ of my day interacting with their tooling and it makes my day-to-day so much easier than any other tooling I've used. There is very little functionality locked behind a paywall, whether you're a small business or a solo developer, you get an awful lot of runway out of the free tier, you may even never have to enter the paid tier.
Their ecosystem is vast, and they keep bringing out new tooling like Dependabot, Github Actions, Github CoPilot and more that just keep on making my life better.

Pros:

Github makes it incredibly easy to perform all the daily tasks I need to do as a developer. The quality of life on Github vs any other version-control platform I've ever used is second to none.

Cons:

I honestly can't think of anything, I use Github for every line of code I've ever written and interact with it daily and I can't think of a single gripe off the top of my head. If there's a con, it's so minor that I doesn't even register.

Emanuele
Developer in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Daily companion for development and project management.

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: It's been a pleasant and productive experience, I use it on daily basis with no issues.

Pros:

The code version control features are comprehensive and allow you to have a clear view of what is happening even with many branches, pull requests and issues. Github Projects is a flexible and powerful tool for project management, subdivision into development tasks and their assignment, and for having an overview of the general state of development .With the paid plans there are even more management options, especially related to the features for managing member and team permissions.

Cons:

Nothing to say about version control, while github projects may be unintuitive and a bit cumbersome at first, but then again it's a price to pay for its flexibility.

Bibhuti
CTO in Nepal
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Github review (8 years of usage)

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

- free private repo is cool - Github actions is awesome - Github pages saves a lot of money for web apps demo & open source projects. I myself have hosted all of my open sources web apps on Github pages. These are my favorites. Rest I can go on and on.

Cons:

- Search feature is lacking. If there was better search functionality (eg. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] - powered by algolia), it would be a lot helpful. Searching one report among thousands is a pan right now. - Dependabot is pain - Sometimes Github pages doesn't update properly - Don't get relevant projects on "Explore repositories" section

Santiago
Developer in Colombia
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Github for Educational and Profesional Uses

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Github allows us to create repositories and share them with other people, and git is used as a tool to clone and use them. Sharing and having the same codes, open branches are some of the best and more useful features from the app.

Cons:

This application has a feature to create what developers call Issues, which are cards showing pending changes that must be solved by the asigned person. Actually this feature is cool, but it still has some bugs like not allowing to close our issues manually by drag and dropping them from 'Pending' status to 'Solved' status.

Babu
Lead software developer in UK
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best in the Repo market

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Quite organised cloud repository in the market. Very safe in git things in the production environment compared to other repos

Cons:

I don't see any cons really in it as i have switched from multiple vendors and ends up here

Kam Ling
Founder in Malaysia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Long term user and no reason to switch

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

I like Github Desktop which allows the push of new versionings easily. Github does its job and been keeping things simple for non-tech savvy to understand how it works too. No reason for me to switch - was using a competitor but decided on Github in the end and been a user for 5 years now.

Cons:

Github does not understand who the users are and are pushing irrelevant content on Dashboard to me.

Corey
full stack developer in US
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Source code management toole - Github

5.0 last month New

Pros:

It is easy to manage the source code and fix the bug. In terms of agile or trunk based development, github is good tool to follow the agile methodology. Using the github It can make excellent teamwork or team collaborate. We are using the github every day for code review, comment, bugfix or mentoring. I love this tool - Excellent github

Cons:

I don't want to say about special least of github. I am used to see the complexity in the github-action. There is no any special least about Github.

Bernard
Bernard
Developer in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

More than just code

5.0 last month New

Pros:

For me, the best GitHub has is that it can be seen as a social network. A great community of builders that love producing applications and collaborating with each other.

Cons:

I would like to have a little bit more of freedom when using private repos and free accounts.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Place to maintain the source code

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Github allows easy maintainance of source code and team work

Cons:

It can be different to understand each github features

Kathy
Kathy
Board Member in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Relations, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

GitHub makes programming social and accessible to laypeople

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall, I'm enjoying learning about GitHub through usage and figuring out ways we can incorporate it into our collaborative projects so that they are not paused while we are unable to work in person together (a great challenge in this day and age when everyone is overcommitted).

Pros:

I liked that as someone who is not a programmer, I was able to delve into the program and begin to understand how to share the projects and how to make my own impact on them, although admittedly I'm a newbie. I started as someone experimenting for personal use and discovered through research and trial and error that it has tools available to benefit my volunteer work and volunteer team.

Cons:

It seems fairly unknown outside of programming circles which made it seem intimidating and inaccessible. Maybe a problem with branding? I also felt that although much of it is intuitive, there is definitely assumed competence in some areas which makes it a bit challenging at times for a non-programmer.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Code Repository Host

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall expererience is pleasant and satisfying. I have no issues with Github and always liked it. Since almost a year ago they made it so you could have unlimited free private repo's, it's been amazing.

Pros:

Github is amazing. I used to utilize Bitbucket a lot but Github was more robust and before the free tier for both was kind of equal. Now Github free offers unlimited private and public repo's where bitbucket only offers like 5. Github also seems to be a lot faster when dealing with branches and commits. Like the connection feels snappier. I can say the same for the website. Now where Bitbucket, the website used to be fast but ever so since the re-design it's a little more on the heavy side. I honestly like Github and I've moved all my code there to be hosted, since it's super secure and super reliable. For as long as I have used it (around 4 years now) I haven't had issues with accessing or uploading my code changes.

Cons:

Please, link issue tracking with branches so you can see the branches that you made or the commits that you made for specific issues. Bitbucket/JIRA has this and is a god send for project management Also integrate it with the boards, for instance, a linked issue when closed, it can auto-merge the branch. JIRA/Bitbucket also has this.

Ankush
Engineer in US
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Github Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I use it almost every hour every day and so far I'm glad I've switched from bitbucket to this.

Pros:

Usage is well documented like cloning repository using ssh, create a branch, create a repository, etc. Reviewing PR interface is great. You've option to mark the files you've reviewed which is really helpful for gigantic pull requests. Easy integration with IDE like Intellij/Eclipse and you can push your changes directly from the IDEs. Features like squash/merge from UI are really great and saves a lot of time. Jira integration of pull requests is awesome.

Cons:

Very limited private repositories for free users, it should give an option like this number of lines of code for the private repository as a limit rather than not providing or limited private repositories. It sometime might get complicated for new users while working on same codebase at the same time like stuck between merge conflicts, rebase issues etc.

Dilanka
Head of Innovations in Sri Lanka
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A universal level source code management system

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Implementation was very organized. It was not easy without proper guidance, but the instructions were generally available over the community and problem solving was also very smooth. Availability over a number of platforms made the choice more strongly recognized. Developers/Programmers could easily adapt to use GitHub as the only version control and source code managing platform with no time.

Pros:

The important features available to manage the source code within the Application Development IDE itself made the work more efficient and convenient. GitHub was efficient enough to link the entire platform-based solutions right within the IDE, so the version management, source code control including comments and documentation was made the productivity increased rapidly within the organization.

Cons:

The free and generally available version did not secure the source code managed over the platform by allowing users to create private repositories, which is not available in public. However, the paid version managed to provide that facility but it could have been better if the free version at least provides a limited number (at least one) private repository available.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best in class, world-known service

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great! I'd choose them again in a heartbeat. They're easy to use, integrate with almost every tool I can think of and have great customer support. The keep delivering new features lately, and I'm excited for what's coming next!

Pros:

This is probably the best hosted Git solution out there. GitHub is the de-facto standard platform for hosting OSS projects, which makes a TON of services integrate with it, and therefore a good solution for private repositories as well. Now with GitHub Actions, the GPR and more coming soon, I think it's the best platform around.

Cons:

Pricing is _a bit_ pricey, compared to the alternatives such as Bitbucket (less than half the price per user) or GitLab, which provide various pricing tiers, including a free self-hosted one.

Chris
Chief Executive Officer in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Make development less time-consuming, with GitHub, so long you're experienced with it

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: GitHub helped us to reduce the hassle with bug identifying and is having good analytics to track the activity of our development team, and that's helping the project management. Collaboration is made a lot easier with GitHub, and the best problem we resolved with GitHub is the integration with automated testing and deploying platforms. The changelog can be managed very easily, which is providing benefits to locate code changes.

Pros:

GitHub is a great Source Code Management platform for our company. We've been hassling with finding out where a specific bug occurred, and hassled with manually testing code, but with GitHub, we automated a huge part! Since GitHub is a known platform, there are many integrations, which helps us with testing and notifying, and as well finding at what commit a specific issue occurred! Since it provides a good UI, viewing information and reading code is easy to do from the website, and development can be done easily using the CLI or GitHub's GUI. Most CI/CD solutions are supporting GitHub, so deploying from GitHub isn't a hassle!

Cons:

GitHub is pretty advanced. We have thought about letting our Customer Service use GitHub for reporting issues and letting them have conversations with engineers, but it ended up with lots of questions, since GitHub's design isn't that simple.

HansOlivier
Student - Intern in Canada
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The code versionning standard

5.0 last year

Comments: I have used GitHub personally and never had any problems. I also used it professionally and every time something came up, I knew with high confidence that my coworker or myself messed up and that it was not the software's fault. All of my code versioning with GitHub was used on teams with less than ten members.

Pros:

The entire code versioning tool is so easy to use and does every branch operation with visual clarity. It implements git quite easily, especially with a RSA key.

Cons:

There is no real issue with GitHub. It does exactly what it is supposed to be doing. I could say that I had a few difficulties learning the concept of versioning when first using it.

Chamath
Chamath
Chief Technology Officer in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

GitHub become a game changer and the source of success to us

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The ability that is seen on the GitHub and once the account was created for our project it was all fun for the team members. The future of the big and small projects now point directly to the new development on GitHub. From one point of control, you can supervise the progress and changes made by the team members. It has a friendly cost of operation and can be implemented at any stage of the project.

Pros:

My first interaction with GitHub has never been changed and made different following the impact it had on my project. The fact that I was leading a big team that needed to share and update file frequently, GitHub become a game changer and the source of success to us. When asked to use the software for any project any time, I would settle for this with confidence following the following facts I went against the norm to compare the ability of the software and here are some of the reasons it remained on top for me. -Very easy to get started use. -Compatible with many other devices that are needed. -Can be shared in a team simultaneously seamlessly. -Organizes the work depending on the latest changes. -Offers central view of the project leading to easy supervision. -Requires simple device to host and integrates perfectly with the internet. -Has a great collection library to edit your work. -Offers pocket-friendly cost to all users.

Cons:

Not all our needs were met with ease following the great expectation that we had. Here are some points to have in mind even after the great ability has been demonstrated. -It works with predefined command. -Requires strict monitoring as changes can be compromised to interfere with the meaning. -Fast and stable internet is a must have for success. -You need technical know-how to manipulate and make changes on the platform.

Gabriel
Engineering Lead in Brazil
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Now it's cheaper & of course better than any competitors

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Perfect. Simple UI and pricing is great.
You can have a full project, with mangament, CI/CD and code all-in-one place.

Pros:

Code review is simply AWESOME. - The editor works perfectly - You can suggest changes - You can co-author pull requests - You have the codeowners option - The discussions have clear UI and can be resolved - It's possible to mark a file as read and check changes between commits!! Other than that, it has the great Github Actions and the SLA is awesome.

Cons:

- The option for Mac OS on Github Actions are too expensive - There could be a better package for Github Actions to suits a large CI/CD business - You have to spend credits everytime your branch is outdated with master (just a simple fast-forward), so you have to run all the tests again - even though 99% of the time it won't break, since it's just a head fast forward - No default reviewers for repositories :( - Some minor UIs issues

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

GitHub: The mothership of source control

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: GitHub is the first service I have ever used for source control and I haven't even thought of changing it because it meets more than what you would expect from it. It even has an in-built GUI for people who are not very familiar with Git. I have used it for contributing to open source projects, for keeping track of my own projects, when working with teams and for pipelining the repository to deployment as well. Overall my experience with GitHub on all occasions has been very smooth. I have faced only one small hiccup where a repo I created was not created properly and I could not access it at all. When I contacted support, they replied within the same day and sorted it out. Considering everything I would say that GitHub is the best for source control and its paid versions are very well worth the price.

Pros:

GitHub has so many features and if you are a college student you can easily apply for their educational pack and receive many free packages from other software and free access to GitHub Pro for as long as you are a student. This pack comes with free domains, a key for JetBrains IDEs, Canva Pro and other packages to assist you in application development. In addition to the free services provided by GitHub for college students, it also provides many functionalities for general users. You could easily integrate your codebase to services such as DigitalOcean and Heroku to create pipelines and automatically deploy changes. No more tiresome setting up of servers and bothering with them for every deployment. GitHub also has the functionality of creating pull requests, issues and assigning issues to people. They also have GitHub Projects where you can create Kanban boards and assign tasks to the team members. Pull requests can also be reviewed and comments can be added for specific lines. This is also the home for many open source projects that you can find and contribute. Most companies view your GitHub profile to get an idea of your projects and how you have contributed and worked on projects.

Cons:

There really isn't a major feature that you could point out and say is bad. The only downside I would say is, although they do have a free tier, the number of private repositories you could have in that tier is very limited. Many people would say that the commands are hard to get a hang of but this isn't a downside of GitHub, the commands are by Git. Git is inherently complex and to be honest, GitHub does a very good job at trying to simplify it.

Fayeba
Fayeba
C.E.O in Ghana
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best source controller

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We use Github to keep up with our private stage code storehouses, that our group utilizes, just as our open source repos to fabricate the local area, which is a main consideration for us picking Github. In contrast to different contenders, Github has zeroed in on its center contribution of source code the executives and simple joint effort, and along these lines, stayed away from superfluous stage weight. For groups where keeping awake to date with the open source world is a need or a benefit, Github is undoubtedly awesome, given moving issues and repos are incredibly instructive. Local area support is likewise much better with Github

Pros:

Commonality is the principal word that rings a bell, for a little, quick yield group. We needed to zero in on conveyance, not the cycle and Github gave what we really wanted - source code the board, cooperation, project the executives the most straightforward, and the least expensive. While its rivals like Bitbucket have tried to focus on the undertaking business sector and spotlight for enormous scope corporate tasks, Github is significantly more little group amicable as there's no additional stuff of sorting out the stage, and rather, we can simply zero in on doing what we came to do. Github activities fit our assemble needs genuinely well, and coordination with arrangements like Netlify for CI-CD was a breeze. Venture the executives is basic and simple. The open source well disposed guideline helps in simple admittance to new and coming code content lined up with our inclinations to investigate and use in our own applications and items, something that needs other SCM items

Cons:

A reliable documentation framework like Confluence would be truly useful. As groups develop bigger, they shift to elective arrangements since Github needs more usefulness to oversee assignments and code across the bigger group, which can be changed by getting highlights and working on existing ones. Incorporation backing can be extended rather than keeping it restricted to inhouse items.

Fábio
Fábio
Senior Software Security Analyst in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

GitHub for devs and for security reviews

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, GitHub offers all main features of git in a user friendly website.
Everything can be done through the interface, including creating your own static site.

Pros:

GitHub is the most well known git implementation. For security reviews, GitHub offers many solid information regarding source code commits. It is easy to search for a new source code change on both command line and GUI, making it easier to detect new changes and potential vulnerable code. It also is easy to understand what was changed to the source code after a security fix, allowing for easy comprehension of the implementation.

Cons:

Since it is an implementation of git, the learning curve of more complex commands and features is very steep. The average user will only use the basic features (like git clone, which downloads a copy of the repository to the local machine, or git pull/git commit, which will publish the changes to the remote repository), but when trying to use the more complex features (like merging, purging code, reverting a state) it can be time consuming to learn.

merroudj
merroudj
Freelancer in Algeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Most unforgettable software service

4.0 last year

Comments: Due to the comprehensive guide and article support part that you may utilize as long as it is linked to git for practically any topic on earth, you need not miss information when using GitHub. You may learn more about the SSH keys creation from its content. There is a reference for the appropriate git workflow available. You can have examples of gitignore for your upcoming project and other things (and more). You don't need to look elsewhere for all the information you want

Pros:

Free service, while there are also premium options, a Large community, quick searches inside the structure of the repo, and accessibility to support. With GitHub, you may store your projects and make them available to your colleagues for inspiration or collaboration. The beauty of it is that you can have many people work together remotely on a project, putting you all, so to speak, on the same page. With GitHub, you may store your projects and make them available to your colleagues for inspiration or collaboration. The beauty of it is that you can have many people work together remotely on a project, putting you all, so to speak, on the same page. Since Microsoft acquired GitHub, we are now able to host private projects, and they will function with any CI environment, including CircleCI or GitHub. The most well-known git implementation is GitHub. GitHub provides a wealth of reliable information about source code contributions for security evaluations. Both the command line and the GUI make it simple to search for new source code changes, making it simpler to find modifications and potentially susceptible code. Additionally, it is simple to comprehend what changes were made to the source code following a security update, making it simple to grasp how they were implemented.

Cons:

It isn't completely open because you aren't allowed to upload anything larger than 100MB and the free version's repository size is just 1GB. Getting used to the mental model when you're new to GitHub is one of the difficulties that is frequently mentioned but becomes easier over time and with experience. It might not be the ideal instrument for documenting ideas or the creative process. LayerVault or a program that is comparable to it would be a fantastic choice for this particular task. Git, in our opinion, is not the ideal tool for tracking design but is quite effective for tracking code. When drawings must be converted into code or exported to a production environment, it might appear to be a little bit of a murky area. I'd love to see GitHub release a feature-rich mobile app to make managing repositories on tiny screen devices easier and more practical. This would be necessary for developer workflows that need problems or work-item capabilities.

Khalid
Khalid
content writer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

BEST code development means GitHub

5.0 last year

Comments: My overall experience with app/software/SAAS can be summed in the follwing points: A. The given app/software/SAAS has been solving the following business problems :
- automated deployment pipeline
- when in need of repository while working on open source projects
- deploying of programs within cloud platforms like AWS
- aids everybody in building great softwares
- helps in understanding the overall product requirements
B. i have been able to realize the following benefits with the help of the given app/software/SAAS :
-putting up of an open-source repository
- learn from other open-source projects
- helpful when multiple users working upon one single code

Pros:

i found the following features as most impactful: - version controlling - dependabot for vulnerability scanning - integrates well with third-party based app - ability to go back to previous versions if present code shows error - high repository privacy Yes the product is quite easy to use for: - hassle free source code hosting - Container Registry quite helpful - open-source community involvement fostering - user interface is really smooth easy and Excellent - open-source applications/code of all available to tweak Yes i was successfully able to implement the integration of the app/software/SAAS with my existing business processes quite smoothly and easily as i could set it up with a little self-help, effort, and online training guides..

Cons:

I found the following features that were either missing or could be improved: - merger-conflicts through github could be improved - pull request codeview could be improved - no options for delete update and issues create for teams and users - Like many other IDEs, the code editing environment features lacks in additional functionalities. I found the following features or aspects of the product that are difficult to use: - folder deletion - absence of rich CI/CD -one is  unable to install, download, as well as set up one's own GitHub server. - permanent removal of unwanted files - misleading repository contributions count No, the integration of the app/software/SAAS with my existing business processes not so much difficult as i could set it up with a little self-help, effort, and online training guides.

Shamrul
DMS Oparetor in Bangladesh
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

For a Developer Its too Good

4.0 last year

Comments: I have a positive experience with GitHub, as it provides a robust and accessible platform for version control and collaboration. The platform integrates with a range of tools and services, and is home to a large and active open-source community. Additionally, GitHub is known for its ease of use and intuitive interface, making it accessible to a wide range of users, including those without technical expertise.However, as with any software, there may be limitations or drawbacks, such as limited customization options, cost, performance issues, and UI limitations. It's important to carefully evaluate the specific needs and requirements of the individual or organization before choosing GitHub or any other platform for version control and collaboration.

Pros:

Version control: GitHub provides a powerful version control system that allows developers to manage and track changes to their code over time.Collaboration: GitHub provides a range of collaboration tools, including pull requests, code reviews, and discussion forums, that make it easier for teams to work together on projects.Open-source community: GitHub is home to a large and active open-source community, making it easy for developers to find and contribute to projects, as well as access a wealth of resources and support.Integrations: GitHub integrates with a wide range of tools and services, including popular integrated development environments (IDEs), issue trackers, and continuous integration/continuous deployment (CI/CD) systems.Security: GitHub provides a range of security features, including two-factor authentication, encrypted communication, and the ability to encrypt sensitive data at rest.Large repository: GitHub hosts a massive repository of open-source projects, making it easier for developers to find and reuse code, as well as contribute their own projects to the community.Ease of use: GitHub has a user-friendly interface and is designed to be accessible to developers of all skill levels, making it easy for users to get started with version control and collaboration

Cons:

Limited customization options: While GitHub provides a range of features and capabilities, some users may find that the customization options are limited, particularly for advanced users.Cost: For larger organizations or enterprises with many users, the cost of a GitHub Enterprise subscription can add up over time.Performance: Performance issues can arise when working with large repositories, particularly when many users are making changes at the same time.UI limitations: Some users may find the GitHub interface to be limited or confusing, and may prefer to use alternative Git clients or GUIs.Limited issue tracking: While GitHub provides basic issue tracking capabilities, some users may find that these are limited and prefer to use alternative issue tracking software.It's important to keep in mind that the limitations or drawbacks of GitHub may vary depending on the specific needs and requirements of the individual or organization. It's recommended to carefully evaluate their needs and compare the features offered by different platforms before making a decision.

Hossein
Electrical Engineer in US
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

GitHub is a powerful tool that has revolutionized the way developers collaborate on software project

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: Overall, GitHub is an essential tool for developers of all levels. Its intuitive interface, powerful features, and vibrant community make it the go-to platform for collaborative software development.

Pros:

As a platform for version control, it offers an intuitive and user-friendly interface that makes it easy for developers to collaborate on code, track changes, and manage multiple versions of a project.One of the important strengths of GitHub is its vast community of developers. GitHub provides a wealth of resources for developers looking to learn from others or share their own work with the world. This community also provides a platform for collaboration, allowing developers to contribute to open source projects, participate in discussions, and learn from one another.In addition to its powerful version control features, GitHub also offers a range of tools to help developers manage their projects. These include project management tools like Kanban boards and issue tracking, as well as integrations with other popular development tools like JIRA and Trello.Perhaps the greatest strength of GitHub, however, is its commitment to open source development. By providing a platform for developers to share their work with the world, GitHub has helped to democratize software development and empower developers of all skill levels to contribute to the larger community.

Cons:

One of the biggest issues with GitHub is that it is very hard to learn how to use it at first. No novice developers, the tool can be overwhelming. A lot of features in GitHub requires a thorough understanding of coding and software development. Another disadvantage of GitHub is that for technical users, the free version is limited. The paid version is definitely recommended; however, small groups might find it on the expensive side.