TallyPrime Reviews

4.3 (175) Write a Review!

About TallyPrime

We design our software keeping your business in mind. From accounting to reporting, manage it all with our one-stop business solution.

Learn more about TallyPrime

Pros:

It is very easy to use and can be used by anyone who knows the basic accounting rules. Ledger creation in tally is very simple.

Cons:

It is difficult to work with multiple windows.

TallyPrime ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
3.9
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

TallyPrime has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 175 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used TallyPrime before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (175)

Neel
Neel
Finance Intern in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best and Fastest Accounting Tool

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: Great. Easy and Fast. Gets the job done

Pros:

- Fast - Easy to learn - In Line with accounting standards and rules - Easier Compliance

Cons:

- New Updates take time - Newer tax laws like GST complicated to implement - Doesn't look like a clean software/ aesthetically pleasing

MOHD ABDUL
MOHD ABDUL
Accounts Manager in United Arab Emirates
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use ERP9 Software

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Ease to the business not only in Accounting side but also in analytics side

Pros:

It's all ERP module are very easy to learn and use unlike other accounting software It's statutory feature ease the business

Cons:

Firstly, It's aging feature of sundries need to be improved, Secondly, for calculating tax for cgst and sgst we need to calculate it manually which needs to be improved

Tally Solutions Response

2 years ago

TallyPrime supports you for all your GST needs. With TallyPrime, all your tax calculations and return filing is automated with inbuilt error detection and prevention capabilities.

Yeesha
Yeesha
Data Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Effortlessly Track Your Business Performance with TallyPrime

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: My overall experience with TallyPrime has been great. It is an easy to use and intuitive software that has all the features one could need to manage their day to day accounting and financial operations. The software is very user friendly and the visuals are very appealing. I have found that is very helpful when managing my accounts and finances. It has made my life a lot easier and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quality accounting/financial software.

Pros:

I liked that TallyPrime was intuitive and user-friendly. The interface was easy to navigate, and I liked that it had lots of helpful features that allowed me to manage my finances and keep track of my expenses. I also liked that the software was secure, so I felt confident that my data was safe.

Cons:

The least thing I liked about TallyPrime was the lack of customization options. There are very few customization options available, and most of the features that you get are pre-set and cannot be changed. Additionally, there is no way to customize the interface to make it easier to use.

harshini
Assistant manager in India
Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Not great for huge data

3.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

This software is great for small businesses and is user friendly and easy to use

Cons:

Not useful for huge data and doesn’t have the features of big ERPs

kothari m
System Administrator in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent enterprise resource planning and GST helper software.

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: It is positive. Its online back up solutions is wonderful feature as it can reinstall those data from its back up solutions. It depends upon modern computing so that it can run in multiple computers. Most of the functions of Tally are there and in addition to this some of more functions such as the same shortcuts and after working with TallyPrime for some days then one can be acquainted with it, and while working with multiple computers the real time data updates is quite fast and secure/

Pros:

Excellent invoicing and accounting software, precious inventory management software, excellent in GST calculation and proper management of Banking credit and debit management software.

Cons:

For GST information addition, one needs to do some calculations with offline calculator addition as it is not automated calculations through TallyPrime, but after putting these informations to TallyPrime, then overall calculations becomes simple. TallyPrime does not work in Wireless connectivity but it works through LAN connections. So in order to use in multiple computers wireless data transmission within computers should be made available.

shubham
Transcriptor in India
Translation & Localisation, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software but looks costly and a bit hard to use

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: The overall experience is great but again the same thing , that is it's competitor like Busy are providing the same feature with more simplicity and at a less price

Pros:

All the features of tally are good and it have a great security of data also , so you can surely go with it . all the features like invoicing , ledger maintaining etc. . works perfect

Cons:

The thing I don't like about this software is it's price because it seems expensive , and is a bit complex also for any normal person

Gayatri
Accounts Specialist in India
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Five Star Product

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Previously we used only excel for overall accounting after that we moved in to Tally prime and we stared doing all accounting entries in to Tally prime.

Pros:

Tally Prime is very easy to used also is most effective for the business accounting

Cons:

No Tally prime is very easy you can download the excel sheet which report you want also you can import bulk information in to tally.

Pitamber
Pitamber
Software Facilitator in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use for a Enterprise to manage all the data.

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Everything is fine and all good with this software. Make us easier way to manage all data for a Company/Enterprise. This is best software and easy to deploy.

Pros:

I like the most inventory, ledger, billing. this feature are the base but so many function make this easy for managing a company's data like financial reports.

Cons:

Boring of feeding data one time after that all good. you have the things on one click. I know the import/export of data but sometimes i just have to do with my own.

Verified Reviewer
Finance & accounting manager in Bahrain
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tally user

2.0 3 months ago

Comments: My experience with tally was good

Pros:

I didnt like the tally because of user limitations and the GL is very ugly preview

Cons:

All tally is very old accounting software should provide security of my data at least when its lost by any reason.

Tanuja
Director in India
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Good product for accounting work

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Tally prime is very useful, accounting is simpler now.

Pros:

Ledger maintenance is accurate and easy. Integration of software with my business was easy

Cons:

This product is good for small and medium sized businesses.

Verified Reviewer
Advocate in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My experience with Tally erp9 is very good. it helps us in maintaining all records of our client.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I help me in maintaining records of large number of client in a limited time daily. Helps in timely filing of returns and other business reports. Which results increase of my profit.

Pros:

This software is best and most trusted software. It provides automated solution for maintaining records and timely compliance with laws. The Best in this software is that one can customize this software according to requirements. Even special customization for every kind of business is available. It is very easy to use and learn for a fresher, Shortcut Keys are given on right side. Data can be easily compiled and migrated to PDF, Excel and Other Forms. Tally.net user is another very good feature, which provides you to access your data while sitting anywhere. These days it is very helpful for preparation and uploading of GST Returns directly from Software

Cons:

This software is not on cloud storage basis. But In all, this software is very good and best software for maintaining complete records of a business

Tally Solutions Response

2 years ago

Thanks!Tally Virtual User (TVU) along with virtualisation technologies like RDP, RDS, and so on, allow you to access TallyPrime from anywhere, anytime. You can use your office computer or a cloud/virtual server to host your TallyPrime. When the server is connected to the Internet, you can use any computer or device, on which the third party tool works, to access the desktop of your server computer. After you access the remote desktop, you can start TallyPrime as on your local desktop. Tally Virtual User (TVU) options refer this link for more details https://bit.ly/3yjJd07

Sonam
Sonam
Partner in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tally Prime for all accounting needs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with tally prime was good as a practising chartered accountant, I majorly provide services to small and medium size entities and it is best suited for them.

Pros:

Tally Prime is known and trustable accounting software which is being used by moat of the businesses. Its best suited for small and medium size businesses. User friendly and easy to use. Provides various final analysis reports in easy to understand format. This is budget friendly as small and medium businesses cannot invest in high rated softwares. It also provides multi user working and data sharing option. It also provides feature of accounting of applicable taxes such as GST, TDS etc. Provides inventory managemant facility to users. Overall a good accounting software with all required features, easy to use and in budget too.

Cons:

Does not provide specialized financial reports. Not compatible with cloud compounding, data mining or other artificial intelligence features. Does not provide auxiliary software service such as payroll, pos etc. Sometimes it is complicated go work in multiuser option.

Manish
TAX CONSULTANT in India
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

I am Professional Tax Consultant and Running my Small Practice since 2020 (After Covid Pandemic)

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: I would say Tally Prime is not only famous for India's Accounting Software but also global level too. I have worked on various Accounting Systems but Tally is something unique software, That's why we have also named our Tax Firm i.e Unique Taxfin Solutions.

Pros:

I am Professional Tax Consultant and Running my Small Practice since 2020 (After Covid Pandemic). Tally Prime is India's best Accounting Software. Now I can easily Manage my all Accounts, Track Receivables and Smartly Raise Professional Invoices from Tally Prime. This Software helps me a lot to in GST Compliance and to get accurate scenario of my business.

Cons:

Yes, I would recommend to Tally Solutions to get back function of Schedule-3 of Balance Sheet and Profit & Loss Account for all Public and Private Limited companies. Whereas in Tally ERP.9 we used converted our Financials easily as per Schedule- 3 of Companies Act, 2013. So in Tally Prime this function is missing.

Madhukeshwari
Accountant in India
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Best for GST registered users in India

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Customer support is really too bad, many times you will not get connected via phone support and email support is very worst, reply will be after a week.

Pros:

GST implementation is really appreciated, some bad marks are you cannot control or lock the previous date invoice numbers which is very important for GST registered users, if your configuration of numbering is automatic the if you change any one number in between all the invoices will be affected, It should not be happen after filing GSTR1 report.

Cons:

Reporting mechanism is fantastic, accuracy, front end look and excel export are awesome. More than that filtering options are really helpful to generate custom reports to submit the reports to management or higher authorities.

Tally Solutions Response

2 years ago

We regret the inconvenience caused. Kindly share your support ticket number and help us look into this specific issue.

Abhishek
BA in India
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A must software for all your accounting needs

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We were able to deliver data in it's correct form that helped many sellers to understand their profit, their taxes, their stock out graphs which in-turn helped them understand and concentrate their business fall and rise from time to time and immensely helped them to sell more only those products which sells more. Helped in understanding their profit margins. Helped in catching where they were getting charged more and how to reduce that. We were able to help sellers in maintaining proper record which is legitimate according to govt policies as well thus giving them a smooth day to day experience of accounting and inventory management.

Pros:

multiple options to select. minimal data and maximum effect auto calculation of bills several menus to analyse and present data report export facility server-client option to expand it's usability options for VAT forms plugins import State wise calculation capability

Cons:

UI is not so simple how to use guide is not so easy to understand error messages does not specify or give suggestions to rectify it

Safwan
Assistant Accountant in Sri Lanka
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tally User Experience as an Assistant Accountant

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

it gives more convenience by providing short cut key information on the right side of the screen with its respective headings as its always easy for users to use short cut keys to access data with more speed with our limited time in the work environment

Cons:

narration for the transactions are limited or most of the time when we get printed the voucher some parts of the narration are missing as it has given limited lines which make inconvenience when we have to write a detailed comment of the vouchers, specially for the payment voucher where we have to pay our suppliers and get it signed

Tally Solutions Response

2 years ago

Thanks for the review. We will share your feedback on narration field with the concerned team.

Smita
Sr. Accountant in India
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best and worth to buy accounting software

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Overall good experience with tally. I am using a tally for the last couple of years.I like to use for my company accounting.

Pros:

It is very helpful for GST complaince .Also we can get TDS data easily. We can maintain financial data very safetly.We can easily maintain purchases, sales, taxation,payment,receipts.Its very user friendly and very helpful for company accountant,managment and auditors.

Cons:

the overall good experience with tally.Thre is no automation.It will be good if you can customize automation for bank entries and other entries.

Ranjini
Finance Manager in India
Accounting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Much Required and Well Adapted Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I started using Tally as an audit assistant. One thing about this sw is that, once you start using it, you get addicted to it. The short cuts make it just too simple. You can raise invoices and the entries get updated automatically.

Pros:

With respect to all the statutory compliances, Tally incorporates all the features as per the relevant Act. Whether it is GST or TDS, Tally makes it easy to prepare reports and file returns.

Cons:

It is very difficult to use multi user on wifi. We need LAN connection for multi user. Else it tends to get very slow. In this day and age when wifi has taken over the world by storm. This is one great backlog.

Deepak
Deepak
Director in India
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Greatest Product in the history of software

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Very fast, adaptive, it has lot of settings which suits our needs, they also give support under warranty period. Overall an accounting software which made for Indian market, we are used to tally, we can not adjust in any other software.

Cons:

Not collaborative, very difficult to setup on remote desktop. no cloud option

Tally Solutions Response

2 years ago

"Thanks for your feedback. There is an inbuilt remote access feature in Tally, you may refer this link for more details ""https://bit.ly/3nrLmSs"" To know more about cloud policy you may refer to this link https://bit.ly/2PzA7uU"

Priya
Account officer in India
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tally ERP 9

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Indian most accounting people used to tally ERP 9 .cost wise it's very affordable prices.all features all like to so much

Pros:

This software is very user friendly software most of accounting people like this product.its very easy to ledger creation in tally. Profit and Lose account tallyed very easy. All features of the software's Very useful

Cons:

Tally ERP 9 software all modules is very useful .Day book ,sale Account , purchase Account ,bank book. &cash book it's used mostly

Tally Solutions Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for your feedback! .

Ghanshyam
Ghanshyam
Engineer in Nepal
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Review of Tally ERP9

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is best software for managing accounting works with variety of features.

Pros:

Tally is accounting software whose installation process is simple.It makes the accounting works very easy.It has variety of features to mange the company's accounting.It also provides email facility and supports multiple language.Backup can be taken time to time.

Cons:

It doesn't allow to work on more then one ledger at a time .We should have basic knowledge of accounting otherwise we may get difficulty to use the software.Customer support and User Interface needs to be improved

Tally Solutions Response

2 years ago

For multitasking, we have introduced Go To option in TallyPrime. Using this, you can open any master, transaction or report regardless of the current window. This helps in handling any ad-hoc requirements that come up when you are working on something.

LALIT
Unit Head in India
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Self is using this software for Past 4 Years & its is a excellent product

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This is a must software for every industry.

Pros:

This software has a inbuilt facility for computation of Tax Structure with detailed report for each Vendor , sales can be differentiated on basis of financial years.

Cons:

I don't find any constants in software it is flexible to cater any industry.

Tally Solutions Response

2 years ago

We thank you for the kind words about our product.

Mohammed
Mohammed
Partner in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It is the best and most powerful accounting tool available for every small and big enterprise.

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

1. Very proffesional. 2. Multiple user. 3. Gst complaint. 4. e-way bill integration. 5.Hassle free accounting.

Cons:

1. Little expensive for multiple user versions 2.Training required to handle the software hence lack of skilled labor available

Tally Solutions Response

2 years ago

Most of our customers find it really easy to use our products. We have a detailed in-product and online help https://help.tallysolutions.com), should you need any assistance.

Verified Reviewer
Tax Consultant in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tally, easy accounting

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall Tally is good for a lament user as well. With just for accounting it is great but not with the advanced features like billing and pricing of stock.

Pros:

Navigation through the software is quite easy. There are different features for each type of user. You can either just do accounting or else use the inventory option as well to keep stock data. You can easily see the reports and pull it out easily in the format you like.

Cons:

some features like back up etc are not easy to find for a lament user. Also the tax considerations are not very great in it and you can modify each and everything as per your comfort which helps in tax evasion. Also the billing isnt very great if you want to generate invoices from it.

Verified Reviewer
Accounts Assistant in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to handle and efficient working

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Handle all type of account and tax related work more efficient performed in few minutes

Cons:

It is difficult to grasp the accounting soon after insralling. It is not user friendly

Tally Solutions Response

2 years ago

Most of our customers find it really easy to use our products. We have a detailed in-product and online help https://help.tallysolutions.com), should you need any assistance.