Unleashed Reviews

4.4 (282) Write a Review!

About Unleashed

Unleashed Software provides a powerful platform to accurately manage your inventory in real-time.

Learn more about Unleashed

Pros:

Fast and easy pick/pack/dispatch module. Purchasing and Landed Costs are a breeze.

Cons:

Lack of mobile stock management app. FIFO product costing (Unleashed uses average cost model).

Unleashed ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Unleashed has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 282 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Unleashed before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (282)

Reuben
Reuben
Co-founder in New Zealand
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Heavy on Features, Easy to Use Inventory App that connects with Xero and QBO

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Using Unleashed I finally have a process for everything inventory related in my business from purchasing, manufacturing, through to pick/pack/dispatch/invoice and everything in between. Staff finally have to tools they need to do their jobs effectively without resorting to a series of unconnected spreadsheets. I can see at any time my stock on hand, what products, product categories, customers and customer segments are making me the most revenue and margin. I can now use that information to offer the right products to the right people at the right price and the right time :D

Pros:

Despite being feature-rich Unleashed is easy to use. Staff pick up their parts of the process quickly. It's worth noting that Unleashed is also the ONLY inventory app in the Xero space that does manufacturing well. Unleashed also has flexible and easy to use reporting that doesn't require a computer science degree. Any staff member can retrieve and customise the reports they need to do their jobs.

Cons:

At the time of this review Unleashed does not: - Provide stock on hand at the bin level (unless all products of that SKU are in the same bin) - Provide demand forecasting

Michelle
Michelle
Admin and Marketing Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Amazing ERP (once you get your head around) and great support to get us functioning

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have installed the Unleashed solution for a food company and I went into the project not realising how complicated the structure of the company is - lots of channels, growth without process, gut feeling but no data. This complication proved even more why we needed the Unleashed ERP solution but took a little extra instruction to get my head around how we needed to set all of this up.
I so appreciate the support of particularly [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has also been super helpful - plus the others who have helped with random questions. The online tools provided by Unleashed, the videos and instructions are super helpful too.

Pros:

After spending time building several disconnected spreadsheet I was excited that Unleashed could give us all of this analytical data in a central and connected place. This tool is so incredibly functional. Now we are functional we love that we can - connect our Production, Purchasing and Sales in the same tool - access data in a central place which is accurate and up to date - feeling more comfortable about growth as we expand across various channels while having a real time view of stock available and what parts of Assembled products we need to order to make sure stock is always available - special reports like price margin for us to see where we may have missed a product or line is not making us enough profit - the additional functionality that we can integrate in

Cons:

It's a little complicated to get your head around. We have a complicated business with so many different channels and ways that we assemble our products so this contributed to the complications. It also took me a while to build the BOM's but again, we are a little complicated. Sometimes it was hard to find answers on the available tools to questions and sometimes support did not resolve an issue with me in a timely manner to resolve but in general the team went above and beyond, especially [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], but also [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and a few others in support which I so appreciate. Tip / idea for the Unleashed team: maybe speak to customers like me after to better design the answers/FAQ's knowledge base - not just providing the broad answers but the nitty gritty stuff that i needed to speak to someone about. I would always do lots of research on available knowledge base before I sent an email to support but could not find the answers. Perhaps an FAQ database that has key words with the curly issues that I'm sure others would have experienced be more easily accessible and reduce the amount of time that I needed to get in touch with the support teams. For example: I spent ages trying to work out why my initial stocktake would not show the available stock but could not find anywhere that I should not do a stocktake on supplier stock that is auto-dissasembled but that I should provide the numbers of the raw stock that is broken up into BOM's. Great if was in a Knowledge Base

Paul
Director in UK
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

MAGENTO STORE OWNERS, BEWARE UNLEASHED!

2.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It works well with Xero

Cons:

They lied about how well it would work with Magento 2. We bought Unleashed specifically because they told us they supported Magento 2 and that any orders placed on our Magento store would be fed through to unleashed and stock updated and fed back to magento. They told us this would be done through a 3rd party app and we paid them £300 extra for the privilege. After over 8 months of set up and going backwards and forwards with Unleashed and their 3rd party app by Land digital for Magento, we were finally told that the connector would not work with assembled products. This is a crucial and basic feature of inventory functionality. We simply sell branded soft toys with various printed garments. Not hard. Not only that, but they would take the stock figure from the total stock qty not the stock available figure after allocated stock was taken in to account. After 8 months, they finally admitted that the connector was not fit for purpose. Actually, I lie. They’ve never admitted that. They still think its fine, which is even more frustrating! When asked if Unleashed had any plans in the pipeline for a native integration with Magento 2 the answer was no, so we now have a useless piece of inventory software that does nothing particularly more interesting than Xero inventory does on its own. Dealing with 2 of the reps at Unleashed was incredibly frustrating. Their response to the failings of the connector was that it wasn’t their problem. True, its not their program but we were assured at the beginning and throughout by Unleashed that their software would fulfil our eCommerce requirements. It does not. We now have meetings scheduled with Bright Pearl and Cin7 which have native integrations with Magento 2.

Dale
General Manager in New Zealand
Chemicals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We've Grown With Unleashed

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is great that we can contact Unleashed and speak directly with someone who can help us with our issues, its the great people and service at Unleashed that makes them a valuable partner for our business.

Pros:

Unleashed is user intuitive for navigation and it is easy to jump from one screen to the next using the hyperlinks.

Cons:

When we started with Unleashed, the pricing options weren't flexible enough for us; however Unleashed took on board our recommendations and now have pricing options that work very well for us.

Jack
Director in New Zealand
Farming, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Otago Fencing Supplies

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: So far so good. We've taken our time getting everything ready before Go Live and we're already seeing the benefits. Our Customer Service champion has been great. The customer service rep has taken her time to explain everything clearly since inception and has certainly made the whole experience more fluid as a result.

Pros:

It's great for multi warehouse visibility. The ease of use is very helpful with on boarding team members.

Cons:

Lack of analytical ability within the software.

John
Managing Dircetor in New Zealand
Import & Export, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Unleashed Review

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I now have total control over our stock, sales orders and purchase orders

Pros:

Ease of use and support in getting it up and running

Cons:

Reporting could be better, more options to customise

Sam
Systems Architect in UK
Industrial Automation, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good software could be better

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: Unleashed was always going to be a win-some-lose-some for us. We knew going in it didn't have all the functionality that we would have liked, and to their credit they did question us as to whether it would be the right fit for us. I'm glad we pushed ahead with it. As an admin it is easy to configure, they have great documentation, and their help desk are normally very responsive. The API could use some work but again the documentation and the sandbox features are very useful. I would highly recommend it for small-ish businesses.

Pros:

Unleashed is a pure SaaS solution which was critical for us. It also natively integrates with Salesforce and Xero which was also critical to us. The software is user-friendly and attractive to look at. They are improving it all the time but now it's been bought by Access Group I want to see how that pans out, as it could be a positive or a negative. The API is good and the API sandbox site, alongside the easy to create sandbox environment, is very useful and, in my experience, pretty unique.

Cons:

The API is good but it lacks some things that you would think were no-brainers. There are some other areas where the software hasn't been thoroughly thought through, e.g. you can have multiple attribute sets but only use one per product. If you try to use two attribute sets on one product, it wipes the previous data in the other set. In general issues are minor and normally appear to be attributable to a company that is relatively new but rapidly growing.

Tom
Tom
Operations Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Business Supplies & Equipment, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

It does everything we need and more!

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

After trialing a number of Inventory systems, I decided on Unleashed. It was perfectly suited to our business model as we needed multiple warehouses, the ability to create a bill of materials, assemble products and work in multi-currencies, oh and with the simple integration with Xero it was a definite winner! I'd initially signed up for a trail version of Unleashed just to see if it really did do what it said it could do. I was impressed. One of the Sales Execs at Unleashed was always on hand during our trial - nothing was ever too much trouble. After 2 weeks of thoroughly testing the trial version, we subscribed to a Medium User Plan. The API integration with Xero was so unbelievably easy. Online Support is great, to date we have only had to raise two Support tickets to query a CSV import and from logging the ticket to a resolution that was less than one hour! I cannot thank him and the Support team at Unleashed enough. The software is intuitive and extremely user-friendly - I even declined one of their Onboarding Sessions because I felt it wasn't needed. Feedback from all of the team here has been positive.Training was never an issue as all team members picked up the new system so easily. Subscribe to an Unleashed trial today - you won't be disappointed! It'll make your business life so much easier to manage!

Cons:

Sometimes it can be a little slow logging in, however that is probably our internet connection as we are in North Wales rather than a bug in Unleashed itself. We are on the Medium Plan which suits our business perfectly. I think the costs could escalate quite quickly for larger businesses.

Kate
Kate
New Zealand
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Fast customer service!!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Been using Unleashed a few years now, Love the speed at which customer support helps, dealt with one of the customer representative today and he solved the problem instanty, and fast. He da man!!!!

Cons:

Taking the time to learn it lol but customer support is great when you just cant nut it out. their online help is great though. think the only thing i would suggest is being able to alter invoices after they are completed.

Geoff
Geoff
New Zealand
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Works very well for our business

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

We have been using Unleashed for over 5 years now. After a slow start, it has improved incredibly. Progressively new features and flexibility have been added which has meant that it now meets virtually all our inventory management, order processing and production needs.

Cons:

The integration with Xero is very good but not perfect if wanting to use Xero invoicing and not Unleashed invoicing.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

A Necessity for Small Businesses!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Unleashed is a necessity for small businesses growing in the e-commerce industry. We’ve significantly reduced our inventory turn ratio and improved operational efficiencies when accounting for stock levels and improving procurement processes. Unleashed’s e-commerce integrations (specifically Shopify) allows you to automate inventory reporting so that you can be sure you do not oversell product that isn’t available in your warehouse(s). Similarly, Unleashed can calculate the amount of product you can assemble and reports those numbers to your e-commerce store, even if the product isn’t assembled yet. Unleashed is a great product for those getting their feet wet in the e-commerce/retail space. I recently encountered a configuration issue in Unleashed (due to my error) and their support member was exceptional at isolating the issue and educating me on the appropriate ways to configure Unleashed so that it works optimally with my Shopify store. Kudos all around to an excellent product and support team.

Pros:

- Support / Knowledgebase - Integration Capabilities (E-Commerce, Accounting, Forecasting, etc) - Ease of Use / Application Setup - Reporting Capabilities - Kitting / Bill of Materials - Auto-Assemble / Auto-Complete (Can automatically build an assembly when shipping or completing an order.)

Cons:

- Document Customization - Taxes - Auto-Assemble (I wish the system could auto-assembly hierarchy of Bill of Materials instead of just the top/main product level.)

James
GM in UK
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Outstanding, robust piece of software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The team is very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Combined with a solid platform, our experience has been outstanding.

Pros:

Unleashed (and the designers behind it) are outstanding. It is focused and the team has managed to get the basics right - solid and reliable inventory management, a simple and easy to use interface, responsive and fast. We find quotes, sales orders, purchase orders, and reports easy to use. Every part of the software has careful thought behind it - and it has guided us as an electronics manufacturer during our expansion. The ability to have a perpetual inventory has transformed how we manage our accounts and allowed us to make better decisions about prices and margins. The ability to add serial numbers, and the interface between Xero and Unleashed, is great.

Cons:

It might be useful to be able to merge customers where there are duplicates. It might also be useful to be able to split large customers (e.g. a care home group with 100 + homes) into different subdivisions of the main account - although this is probably straying outside the inventory management purpose of the software. At the moment, we just select the appropriate delivery address from the drop-down which works fine - but it would be nice to be able to add notes under a particular site (e.g. a technical note).

Lisa
Accounts and Administration Manager in Australia
Automotive, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

We think Unleashed is excellent, the ability to see our true margin is a fabulous feature.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Multiple warehousing, accurate reports and inventory control.

Pros:

The ability to see our stock holding over multiple warehousing was one of the reasons why we moved to Unleashed. It offer a huge range of features without the expense of going to large program. It integrates with our accounting program almost instantaneously. The reports are excellent. It has enabled us to determine our true cost of product with the ability to add charges such as freight. The onboard team and customer support is excellent.

Cons:

The sales app for iphone is a great tool with one exception, this is the fact that all users are able to see the sell price of all customers. This has meant that our sales reps, who are not privvy to our reseller pricing, are able to see the price that our resellers are paying for product. This is not desirable nor acceptable to us and therefore we are still using another sales order system for the sales reps. If Unleashed were to modify the app so that we are able to limit the visibility of users of the app to only see those orders they have entered for their customers this would be an advantage and would mean we would be able to use the Unleashed sales app for all our sales team and we could cease using another system which isn't integrated with UL, those it would be more convenient and cost saving.

Kim
Creative Director in Australia
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and powerful integrations

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I am the owner of a very small jewellery making business. I used to use excel spreadsheets to keep track of my inventory components, purchases and completed pieces. Moving across to Unleashed has encouraged me to improve my profit margins, sped up the quotation process and ensure that I have popular components on hand. Using Assemblies and Bills of Materials ensures that I am quoting at the most up-to-date prices. I also like being able to store images against inventory items. Finally, I love the integration with Xero.

Cons:

The templates for invoices and sales can be cumbersome to use. Being able to move text elements and have them snap to a grid wold help (i know there have been some updates recently but I have not tried them yet, so this may be solved).

Richard
Managing Director in Australia
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Since buying our company 3 years ago this tool has been very beneficial

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

We love the inventory management and the ease of use. Being able to adjust for damage and warranties is something which assists us during the year and makes our auditing easier.

Cons:

not being able to change a sale once its been dispatched/completed. Also on the pricing options, i dont like the fact that as a legacy customer we have not been automatically given all of the new user rights at our original price level. If you release new features (Iphone app access) i would have thought we would have been given access to it, regardless of you changing your pricing levels. It doesn't show that you appreciate our ongoing business nor does it show you are supporting our growth.

Frank
Warehouse Manager in Australia
Building Materials, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Unleashed looks really simple and clean on the dashboard area, but it actually covers all relevant functions from the very beginning steps of a business (Quote & purchase) to the final steps (Sales & returns). Every single functions are handy and easy to learn. The "Support" page are clear and helpful with both written and video instructions. Also, I have to say that the support team are highly experienced and helpful, problems and questions are able to solved effectively.

Cons:

When entering the delivery address in a sales order, we have "address line 1 & 2" and "suburb" column. The address can be seen clearly on the invoice, but always missing the "suburb" area in the "packing list". For example, I enter "20 Starr Avenue" in "Address Line 1" and "North Plympton" in "Suburb" and leave the "Address Line 2" blank, it will only show "20 Starr Avenue" on the "Formal Packing List" with no suburb underneath. But the suburb will finally be seen on the Invoice. However, if I enter "North Plympton" in both "Address Line 2" and "Suburb", it can be seen on the Packing list, but will appear twice on the Invoice. It seems the only solution is to leave the "Suburb" area blank and always put the suburb name into the "Address Line 2"....Then, the "Suburb" column will turn out to be really useless.

James
James
Director in UK
Sporting Goods, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great stock management system

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Unleashed is a robust inventory management system. I researched all the major systems prior to choosing Unleashed. I liked the simplicity of integrating Unleashed with Xero (accounting system), and I liked the easy to use interface which Unleashed offered. Unleashed keeps us on top of our stocks at all times.

Pros:

This software keeps us completely on top of our stocks at all times. With over 100 warehouse locations it is critical for us to keep on top of our stocks, and Unleashed makes sure we can do this easily and quickly.

Cons:

Nothing really, Unleashed make an effort to listen to their customers comments and if enough people say the same thing, they make changes accordingly, no real complaints.

Matthew
Finance Director in
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Unleashed is core to our drinks business

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Unleashed has been a very important part of our business since we started. We use Unleashed for our manufacturing, IM and sales. It is a vital part of the ease of ordering our ingredients and packaging, manufacturing our drinks, managing our inventory, monitoring our cost of good sold and invoicing our customers. It does this seemlessly and interacts with our Xero system seemlessly - too easy. We use Unleashed in New Zealand and the UK. Recently we've been able to use the Unleashed mobile app to support our sales.

Pros:

Ease of use, reliability, ease to introduce to new employees, functionality, value for money and numerous other attributes.

Cons:

We're looking forward to new developments from unleashed

Renee
Customer Service / Marketing Manager in New Zealand
Textiles, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

As we have a lot of variables, Unleashed has made it easy to manage our manufacturing inventory.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We can process orders with ease, all our products have their own product code, manufacture, dispatch, invoice all in the one system. Integrates with our accounting system Xero. Set up customer specifc pricing/discounts. Pull great reports. Can see what stock you have on hand very easily.

Pros:

Love the disassemblies, this is great for if you order differently to how you supply. The bill of materials, work well. Despite how much infomration you plug into the software initially, it has great capacity to hold all fo this. Love the search function. Auto assembling is great, we just have to be aware the affect this can have on the stock levels. How you can have other warehouses - works well for stock we have on consignment.

Cons:

Wish it could pull through products you are low on for purchases from particular supplier. Can be too easy to complete things, sometimes i wish you could change orders back to placed.

Stephanie
Accounts Manager in Australia
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, very responsive software. We are a growing company and this software meets our needs.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

How logical it is to use and how quickly is speaks to Xero. Easy enough for all staff to use and enter sales giving them information to make decisions on the spot such as GP.

Cons:

Some of the reporting, but due to individual organisational need I understand that not all reporting needs can be covered. Customer information and the Addresses having to enter each type and it not populating automatically. If it did populate after entering it in 1 field you could then change it if required, it wastes time having to enter it so many times.

Andrew
Manager in Australia
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

fast, easy, reliable

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Unleashed is easy to use and clear format. If there are issues I have always found a fast response to tickets which are kept open until I am 100% satisfied with the outcome. Unleashed is constantly evolving steadily in a useful and good direction

Cons:

My biggest issue would be with the forms in document designer. They are not as easy to manipulate as they could be, often this process takes far longer than it should for a minor fix to something as easy as the layout of a pro forma.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Amazing onboarding support!

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Our company is new to Unleashed but the professional onboarding service has made our system changeover very pleasant and smooth. We were taken care of by the onboarding specialist, all our problems were answered, she's professional and very knowledgeable in the system. It's been amazing learning from her and having her support, changing or starting new systems can be very daunting and rep has helped us make this entire experience absolutely amazing. I highly recommend Unleashed!

Cons:

So far it's been great! It can be overwhelming if you haven't used a detailed inventory system like this before, but with the onboarding support, you'll find all the things you were feeling overwhelmed about will be fine after speaking to the support team.

Kris
Production Manager in Australia
Building Materials, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very easy to navigate, easy to train learners as language used is consistent with warehousing.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Better understanding of raw materials through production process and finally to customer.

Pros:

Being able to automatically open new windows for product information, real time stock on hand reports for different warehouses.

Cons:

That you can purchase any product from any supplier.. even though that product has a default supplier against it. Very hard when we have 4000 products...when we are keying Purchases that there is nothing stopping someone from order it from the wrong supplier.

Antony
Sales Directos in New Zealand
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A complex process made easy.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Our business imports and sells a large range of products with many variations within similar or same categories. Inventory management is a 'sink or swim' function for our business from correct sales processess, through stock deliveries and stock take processess. A customer that receives the wrong product is an unhappy customer in a competitive marketplace. Unleashed has allowed us to swim (ahead of our competitors).

Pros:

Ease of use.

Cons:

Completion of sales order/quote acceptance through to Packing Slip is a bit more difficult than it could be.

Anthony
Sales in Australia
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It is a software like MYOB, you can invoice customers, draw up quotes, and has an inventory system.

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Very streamlined and easy to use, easy to write up quotes and search products, simply to group customer invoices and send them altogether as monthly or quarterly statements what have you. Easy is the word id use to describe this program.

Cons:

It would be nice to be able to drag and drop products when drawing up a quote for customers which would make it even easier then having to keep selecting 'Move Up' or 'Move Down'