15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Elvanto

Elvanto is a cloud-based, all-in-one ChMS that’s intuitive and easy to use, yet customizable to fit every church’s needs.

Learn more about Elvanto

Pros:

It has an app that is easy to manage and it is intuitive. The locate church function is a quick time saver for fast donations.

Cons:

Emails to notify that donations have been received are sent only once per day. These emails contain no details whatsoever how much was given, how many donations were received, etc.

Elvanto ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Elvanto has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 124 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Elvanto before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (124)

Curt
Curt
Pastor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Super Easy to Use

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Tithely has been a great addition to our online giving mechanism. The forms presented to the user are super clean and easy to use. We have had no major issues at all. Any questions we have had have been answered by the Tithely support people quickly.

Pros:

Tithely makes it easy to track online giving. Users are immediately issued a customizable giving receipt when donations are made. Reports can be run with just a few mouse clicks. There are options for recurring giving, which makes it easy for people to setup automated donations on a recurring basis.

Cons:

Emails to notify that donations have been received are sent only once per day. These emails contain no details whatsoever how much was given, how many donations were received, etc. Clicking a link in said email is required to view the actual donations. This isn't terrible, and I can see why they did this (for privacy reasons, as well as to keep the admin's inbox from getting cluttered with repetitive emails), but a tad more info, such as the total for the day, would be nice to have.

Nathan
IT Director in US
Religious Institutions, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great product with a steep learning curve

4.0 last year

Comments: I’ve enjoyed the journey. It’s been fun to dig into the product and feel like we got a custom setup for our church. Anyone who wants to get a product and really spend some time tweaking it to be perfect for their church will enjoy Elvanto.

Pros:

I’ve had dozens of requests from staff members for something they would like to do in Elvanto. Every time, I’ve been able to adjust the program to match what was requested. It’s just that flexible. They have lots of built in stuff that helps you accomplish tasks, and they allow you to adjust just about everything to your needs.

Cons:

With a great amount of flexibility comes a great amount of setup and learning. It took me a couple of weeks to get us started and many more weeks tweaking things to our liking. This is not the product for you if you need a simple deployment or don’t like software.

Kirsten
Children's Pastor in Canada
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awkward and difficult

3.0 8 years ago

Comments: After a year of searching for an "all inclusive" church management software, we landed on Elvanto. Unfortunately, it's been difficult to implement, not user-friendly, and most of the features we look for ended up being such long processes it's never really stuck. Support is a timezone away and many of our issues come back with a "not our fault." 3 years in, and we've had so many bad experiences that half our staff team is unwilling to even try to make it work anymore. This may be a one-stop-shop, but without serious tech experience on your staff, and a high commitment level from the users, it's just not worth it.

Pros:

[Should be] everything in one: it was meant to get rid of the myriad of different systems we used for child checkin, accounting, communications, booking venues, and volunteer follow up... They recommend having a dedicated technician for the first 2 years full-time to help integrate. I can see why, but that's just not in our (or many church) budgets, and without it we just couldn't seem to get off the ground.

Cons:

Child checkin: only supports one printer (the most expensive & most glitchy), doesn't work well with Macs, couldn't get the iPad/tablet system to work at all, and tech support was pretty slim. After 3 years, parents still aren't used to the system (not intuitive). Bookings: allows users to double book spaces without flagging problems to an overseers - people assume since they "booked it" it's fine, but program just puts duplicate entries rather than denying access. Accounting: after a month of training, our accountants vetoed using the software, saying it was too complicated and didn't accomplish their needs. Volunteer management: allows for some management, if you have a consistent team. If your team changes weekly, then you might as well just email them yourself - there's no nice solution for this.

Tithe.ly Response

8 years ago

Sorry to hear about your bad experience Kirsten. It really sounds like our customer support was lacking in your case as some of the issues you have faced (like setting up multiple check-in printers and getting them to work) should be easy to sort out. At this stage we are stuck with DYMO label printers (those expensive ones you mentioned) simply because other label printers don't have good web support. We are keeping an eye on the other manufacturers and will integrate with them as soon as we can! Bookings I believe we did have a bug where it wasn't bringing up conflicts but this has been fixed since. We're constantly improving and fixing any bugs that appear. Accounting is not something we fully support. We focus on tracking giving and let proper accounting software to handle that side of things. We plan to create some integrations though. Lastly volunteer management. We've recently released scheduling preferences that should help make it easier to manage volunteers.

Clint
Director of Media & Communications in US
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Tithe.ly ChMS gives us the mechanism to track discipleship

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, I'm excited to see how Tithe.ly ChMS transforms our daily work flow and impacts church growth. It's seems like a very cool company that has a great product and we're happy to be partnering with them!

Pros:

What's great about Tithe.ly ChMS is how discipleship-centric it is. The People manager is easy to use and easy to manage. The People Flow feature gives a very unique and useful way to place people - new guests, people on discipleship pathways, etc.. - in a specific flow so that they don't fall through the cracks. We'll now have the ability to get some true metrics beyond just attendance on Sunday. My other favorite feature is the Services feature, which gives us the same capability as Planning Center, but doesn't have the people limitations. We will soon drop our Planning Center subscription because Tithe.ly fills that need.

Cons:

The part of the experience that was the least enjoyable was migrating data from our old system to Tithe.ly. First line support seemed to be out of order in where we were in the process. Once we got connected with our migration specialist at Tithe.ly, it got a lot better. He was very knowledgeable and was able to answer just about every question.

Douglas
Young Adult Pastor in US
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great tool to help churches be more organized

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We are solving the issue of ensuring no one falls through the cracks at our church. Being a church of almost 500 people, we could no longer just store information on excel spreadsheets and in our minds. This system helps us to better care for our people. No longer do we need to use multiple google spreadsheets to manage different areas of our church since we do only the managing within the system. In only a few months using the system, we are already seeing a great benefit.

Pros:

I like that I can both see at a high level how many people are coming to our church, how many people are attending small group, how people are getting engaged, etc. and also drill down into specific people to see how they individually are involved. Getting both a macro and a micro view help pastors to better care for the church as a whole and individual people.

Cons:

There is a learning curve to understanding the product, especially since it has a LOT of features. I certainly could not "hit the ground running with it". This also impacts other users. I need to make sure I adequately train users so that they do not make errors while using the system.

Josh
Executive Pastor in US
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Expansive Church Management System

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Tithe.ly purchased Elvanto. I've been an Elvanto client since 2016. I'm a huge fan of the types of reports you can run on this church management platform. It's very easy to create groups to manage people and there are so many integrations with other services.

Cons:

It takes a WHILE to import contacts from a previous church management system. A great feature is you can create so many fields on this platform but that requires a lot of detailed work when importing contact cards from a previous platform.

Elizabeth
Bookkeeper in US
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Lots of features but not super user friendly.

4.0 10 months ago

Pros:

That it can group contacts together. Also that I can schedule emails.

Cons:

The set up for registration for an event is very clunky with so many steps & seems too complicated. Several times I’ve had to call support because it wasn’t working to find I had one thing not clicked in all the options so it wouldn’t work.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great way to take payments from our church website

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We were able to add a seamless donor experience to our site and allow people to give from phones, helping to grow out giving by removing barriers.

Pros:

I liked that I could integrate payment options seamlessly into our website, without sending the donor to a separate site. I was able to adjust colors to match our colors to ensure a seamless experience.

Cons:

When using the app the user is directed outside the app for payment; seems like it would be simple (maybe not?) to build the ability to keep it in the app.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Gets all our team on one page

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Our team and Pastors love the workflows and day to day use after it's setup

Pros:

We love that it's fully online, in the cloud Easy to make custom fields Smartphone apps SMS text support for Australia Automatic notifications to fill out attendance reports

Cons:

A little "clunky" in some features Permissions a little confusing at times

Julie
Julie
Church Administrator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great software for mobile giving!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Allows members of our congregation to give via a mobile app. Money is deposited in our bank account very quickly and the giver usually pays the fee, so we get the donation they used to give via check.

Pros:

Easy to use and great rates. Not expensive for a small church like ours.

Cons:

On Android phones it takes you to a website and does not function like a true app by letting you give totally on your phone. However, we have not yet had any complaints regarding this.

Gordon
Senior Pastor in Australia
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easier for our staff, empowering for our congregation

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: We've been with Elvanto since 2012 . It now supports all the core activities of daily life in our congregation - in one program, with one subscription, and without any software compatibility hassles.
This is easier for our staff who ride one learning curve then rise to draw on all Elvanto's capability. This is also empowering for the congregation, because we use Elvanto in a way that empowers the congregation. They plan, communicate, and take action though Elvanto.
As a result...
We follow up and support our people better through accurate attendance and directory information.
We know more specifically what's been happening through the wide range of reports on hand.
We plan our calendar more clearly and book facilities and resources with more confidence.
We communicate more frequently and clearly with our congregation in our emails and SMS.
We organise more effectively for our worship life through the rostering, service planning, and song selection capability in Elvanto.
We equip people with resources through blog posts, sermon outlines, and documents whenever needed.
We have learned to use the new functionality of a program that is in active development [in a good way], as they are responsive to user feedback.
We relax over costs because we only pay for people who are actively involved in church life now - and can still keep in touch with others as Contacts.
We have even more ways we COULD use Elvanto but choose not to so far - such as the online giving or the small group attendance.
Why Elvanto compared to other church management software [CMS] solutions? It was flexible pricing, customisable functions and appearance, software-as-a- service convenience, and a complete set of functions across the board - pastoral, worship, communication, and calendar planning. Elvanto fulfils and exceeds our congregation's expectations and agendas. Criticisms? Frankly the larger challenge with CMS is the church culture. For some, church life is a sanctuary which they wish was free of passwords or pins. This shift is small pain for large gain, if they take it up. The usage curve is far from level - about a quarter of our people use E most days - and about a quarter log in maybe once every few months. I'm ok with that. In short, choosing to go with a CMS, and Elvanto specifically, has been the single most significant step forward in organising church life that we have made in the past ten years.

Pros:

A very comprehensive solution to church management, with flexible pricing, customisable appearance and functions, secure access control, and freedom from software compatibility issues.

Cons:

Getting the broader congregation to draw on its capabilities. Staff and key leaders have taken this up well. There can be cultural expectations that church life is 'low-tech' and simple - I can respect this is some ways. But passwords and online comms are as common as cars and phones in the 21st century. It's ok for people to have to learn.

Brian
Technical Director in US
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best bang for your buck

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: We chose Elvanto as our Church Management System after looking through dozens of systems and demoing several of them. We are a small church of under 100, so we were looking for something cost effective without sacrificing features. Elvanto had all the features we were looking for and was just within our budget. The key features that made Elvanto stand out and were our deciding factors were service scheduling, volunteer management, and calendar/event management. We also heavily use people management, people flows, and financial tracking, but these features were more common among the systems we tested. We've been using Elvanto for about two years now and we haven't looked back. I've talked with customer support several times and they've always been prompt, polite and eager to help. They're quick to fix any issues we run into and are happy to hear about ideas for adding new features or improving existing ones. I'm happy to recommend Elvanto any time someone asks.

Pros:

Feature-set, price, customer service

Cons:

Some features could be improved to be made useful (like calendar/event reporting, printing, and emailing)

Greg
Lead Pastor in US
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Could be better.

3.0 last year

Pros:

This product offers everything you need for a church management software. You can check people in each week with service. It offers a kids check in. You can plan your worship service. And so much more.

Cons:

The messaging is not compatible with its partner software tithe.ly. I have messaging on tithe.ly but I can't use it with Elvanto. They are part of the same network but can't be used together. You have to get a third party messaging system in order to send text messages in Elvanto.

Donna
CoPastor and Church Planter in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Elvanto ChMS

5.0 last year

Comments: I really have enjoyed Elvanto and like it better than other ChMS companies I have used over the years.

Pros:

I enjoy the Elvanto ChMs for financial reporting - batching and donor statements. These are excellent tools. I also enjoy keeping the data base together on one system.

Cons:

I wish the email formation were a little bit "slicker" or more contemporary.

Tithe.ly Response

last year

Thank you Donna! We're so happy you're enjoying the features! Thank you so much for your feedback.

bruce
IT Service Delivery Manager in Australia
Utilities, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Elvanto offer a great product supported by very helpful and responsive service.

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: The Elvanto product is very suited to medium and larger churches. It offers very flexible configurations and supports people, services, events, volunteers and music teams very well. In rare cases where additional functions are required, it can be extended if required through a very flexible API. The support staff are very responsive and willing to help resolve problems, or propose enhancements. The product continues to improve and many requests for features have been incorporated.

Pros:

It is very easy to use and has all the features that a medium to large church needs. It is reliable and doesn't cost much for what it does.

Cons:

None worth mentioning.

Patrick
IT Support in Australia
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Took our local church to the next level.

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Recommended by staff from another local church, we took the trial on and were given excellent customer support from Elvanto both online and on the phone. Our music team took to the rostering and song management right away.
Church member record management is now a breeze, freeing up admin staff and the Pastors for other tasks.
Great price points are providing excellent value as our church grows.
SMS and Emails to groups and/or the whole church take seconds.
Automatic reporting i.e. who's having a birthday in the next few weeks emailed the elders was easy to setup. As was the addition custom fields.
Highly recommended.

Pros:

Online/Cloud Based

Cons:

Takes a bit to train church members in the use of the rostering system

David
Executive Pastor in Australia
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid and simple

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: A solid and simple church database with some really good features. It has helped us tremendously in getting people organised and in the flow of church life. There always seems to be a way of extracting the information you need, even if it isn't always obvious. Overall, we are really pleased our church is on Elvanto.

Pros:

Ease of use. Practical features for organising church life.

Cons:

Not always intuitive, but solutions are usually workable.

Nelson
Administrator in Australia
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Useful online church membership database

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: We've found consolidating our service, contacts and calendar management into one database has been very beneficial. Members use the site and the calendar flows into our website, we're also able to modify and create our own fields to manage volunteer training. The only frustration is the lack of functionality for printing a nice contact list with photos.

Simon
Pastor in UK
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great all-rounder

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: For a small church like us, Elvanto provides an excellent all-round database with many functions that are not usually found within the same software (e.g. people AND songs AND children).

Pros:

Wise range of features.

Cons:

Reports and outputs are not always very easy to make user-friendly and human-readable.

K
PA/Admin in Australia
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Elvanto 100%

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: We use Elvanto to manage the background of our church - small groups, rosters, calendar, events, registrations, member database, etc. It is excellent. Powerful, easy to use and loads of features. We have been using it for over a year and I don't even feel we've cracked all of it's potential. Customer service is fantastic. I always get a reply either instantly to within a couple of hours. I compared for months to other software and this one came out on top.

Pros:

Look, features, ease of use

Pete
Assistant minister in Australia
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great, simply great

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: I have used this in a small church and now a large church. Works well in both. Great product. One thing that would make things better is a project management module.

Pros:

Ease of use

Cons:

Reports are a bit clumsy and need some work

Daniel
Communications Director in US
Religious Institutions, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Integrate It IS Great!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It works great and using things like Stripe or PayPal aren't out of the question with this system.

Pros:

We were in the process of streamlining a few platforms and we were happy to see that tithely played so well with others! Using platforms like MailChimp and PushPay were a breeze with Tithe.ly!

Cons:

We weren't a huge fan of the overall giving kiosk experience but that may have been just a lack of understanding so we ditched them pretty quickly.

Esther
Communications Coordinator in US
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Full service package

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: It's impossible to find a program that is super simple to navigate while being a full-service solution that you can customize to your needs, at least on the admin side. But Elvanto comes as close as possible to the best of everything. It can be a little overwhelming during the set-up phase, but the preset defaults help. They also have great customer service and very helpful documentation. If you want a powerful solution at a great price, Elvanto is the obvious choice.

Pros:

It does everything! (Except full-service accounting). And all the moving parts in the ministry coordinate and interact in a logical manner on a master calendar. You set the rules based on your organizational structure.

Cons:

It takes time to set up, but honestly, there is no way to simplify this process. If you want control to make a program yours, you will have to take some time with it.

Sherie
Vice President in US
Religious Institutions, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tithe.ly Recommendation

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am satisfied with Tithe.ly. Our congregation uses it weekly. Once you download the app on your phone, it is a fast and convenient way to make an offering.

Pros:

Members of our congregation have been given this option for their offerings for over a year. With the COVID-19 pandemic, we are not gathering in person and most of our offerings are now being sent through Tithe.ly. It is very user friendly for members to make their contributory offerings. It is equally user friendly for myself as an admin to run statistical reports and other administrative tasks.

Cons:

The one thing that I do not care for is that it doesn't appear that you can rescind a category once created. If there is a way to do this, I have not been able to figure it out.

Gerald
Assistant Minister in South Africa
Religious Institutions, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Elvanto is a useful up but expensive and not all that you will need to run a church

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: It's useful for running a church

Pros:

Ability to schedule volunteers, plan services, keep a database of visitors. Track giving and track the flow of newcomers.

Cons:

It's expensive, third party applications don't work as advertised. It's not easy to use and at times foolish. You can't schedule someone for more than one thing at a time. But in reality you can lead the service and welcome new comers