About Freshdesk

Freshdesk is an easy-to-use customer service software that helps over 50,000 businesses worldwide create stellar customer experiences.

Learn more about Freshdesk

Pros:

Freshdesk is beyond easy to use. I love how simple it is to assign tickets to the relevant team member and how ticket responses are so quick and easy.

Cons:

Tools is really inefficient and their automation tools are built by people with very little CSX experience. Everything needs to be hacked somehow.

Freshdesk ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Freshdesk has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 2,820 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Freshdesk before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (2,820)

Suman
Suman
CMO in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Freshdesk helps you manage your customer support with ease

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: The overall experience has been exceptional.The team is very happy to use it. Their knowledge base and CRM features are very useful. We dont feel that we will shift to any other service in the coming years

Pros:

Freshdesk is a software that we use for a long time and we have been using it for around a year till now. The thing that I like the most about the like most of the software is the flexibility of use ease of use and the ease of which how we can implement it with our systems. The UI and UX also is very user friendly. The customer support is also very reliable, we get response ticket that we raise with in 24 hours. I like their live chat feature the most it helps us connect with our customers at a very good base and real time. We are also able to solve that queries within minutes because of the live chat feature.

Cons:

There are very few things that we dislike about this software.One of the things that they can improve is their role out of new features. There has been nothing new since the last year. Freshdesk is a company that I feel is lagging behind in product development

Alternatives Considered: Zoho Desk

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: The price was cheaper. They had a longer free trial too

Oluwadamilola
Operations Manager in Benin
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An All-Round Excellent Experience with Freshdesk

5.0 last week New

Comments: Overall, our experience with Freshdesk has been extremely positive. We have been able to quickly and efficiently manage customer service requests. The customer service team has been extremely helpful in resolving any issues we have had. The only downside is the higher price of the premium plans.

Pros:

Freshdesk is an amazing platform for customer service. It has allowed us to manage customer service requests quickly and efficiently. We have been able to easily customize the platform to meet our specific needs. The dashboard is easy to navigate and the customer service team has been very responsive in resolving any issues we have had.

Cons:

The one downside we have experienced is the price of the premium plans. While Freshdesk is an amazing platform, the price is a bit on the higher side.

Sahil
Vice President in India
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Freshdesk for Startups

3.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Decent experience with average results.

Pros:

Easy on pocket.Easy to initiate. Multiple options of service as per requirement.

Cons:

Sales Campaign can be improvised. More options to customise the mail & make it interactive.

Alternatives Considered: Mailchimp

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: Cost

Jade
Learning and Development Supervisor in Philippines
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Freshdesk has simplified customer service, increased agent productivity, and is cloud-based.

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: It is very efficient, simple, and collaborative. It's difficult to overlook a ticket because notifications are everywhere, and you can also add reminders under To-Do for a specific ticket. It is cloud-based, so our team can work from anywhere.

Pros:

It is simple to create a ticket after a phone call and assigning tickets to support teams takes only a few clicks. It also assigns tickets to agents automatically based on pre-defined rules. The ease of collaborating with other departments when you need their assistance with a specific scenario. Simply add notes, assign tickets to them, and they will be notified. It also made it easier for me to create canned responses and knowledge base articles.

Cons:

We recently set up Service Level Agreement(SLA) policies help us setup and maintain targets for the duration within which our teams respond and resolve tickets. I had to had to add them one by one manually as you can't do bulk entries. Took me awhile.

Alternatives Considered: Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: It has more features and meets our company's requirements. We actually upgraded to the most expensive plan (Omnichannel), and it has been fantastic!

Ahmed
Ahmed
Founder, Biomedical Engineer & Data Scientist in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Experience The Magic of Freshdesk An Affordable Solution for Effortless CS.

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Freshdesk has been a valuable asset for our company, it has helped us to solve many of our business problems and improve our customer service and support, The benefits we have realized from using Freshdesk include improved customer satisfaction, better communication and collaboration, and increased efficiency and productivity.

Pros:

Our company has been using Freshdesk for a while now, and overall, we have had a positive experience with the software, Here are some of the things that we liked most about Freshdesk:- Comprehensive and Impactful Features, Freshdesk offers a wide range of features, like ticket management, scheduling, sales pipeline management, lead management, knowledge base management, project planning, task management, contact database, service history, content management, support ticket management, and contact management, These features have been very impactful for our business and have greatly improved our customer service and support.- Easy integration with other tools and applications was very easy, we were able to integrate it with our existing tools and systems with minimal effort.

Cons:

Some of the features in Freshdesk are less customizable and difficult to tailor to our specific needs, Also remote access and control feature is limited and not as robust as we would like.

Alternatives Considered: Jira, Kayako and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: After evaluating a number of alternative products, we ultimately chose Freshdesk because it offered the best combination of features, pricing, and overall user experience for our company, Freshdesk offers a wide range of features that are tailored to our specific needs, like ticket management, scheduling, sales pipeline management, lead management, knowledge base management, project planning, task management, contact database, service history, content management, support ticket management, and contact management, Also Freshdesk is more customizable as compared to other products we evaluated.Freshdesk's integration with other tools and applications was very easy, we were able to integrate it with our existing tools and systems with minimal effort, and this was a major factor in our decision to choose Freshdesk. Cost-Effective: Freshdesk's pricing plans were more cost-effective than some of the other alternative products we considered, which was an important factor for our organization. Positive User Experience: Our team had a positive experience during the evaluation process and we found Freshdesk to be user-friendly, which was also an important factor for our organization.

Alejandro
Security Manager in Spain
Accounting, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best ticket management tool I have ever worked with

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: There are really few complaints as it works very well and meets our needs.

Pros:

It is very customizable and has many options but in my opinion the best are the recursive tickets as it allows us to manage repetitive tasks.

Cons:

The price of licenses per user is quite high.

Alternatives Considered: JIRA Service Management

Reasons for Choosing Freshdesk: The previous software lacked some of the functionality we needed.

Switched From: SolarWinds Service Desk

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: Because of the good reputation and because it met the requirements we had.

Syed
IT Business Partner in Saudi Arabia
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Freshdesk Ticketing System

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: overall found very good and useful product. we are using in the Logistics industry and found it very useful to track customer complaints related to shipment delivery, clearance , delay, incorrect addresses and other transportation related issues.

Pros:

Easy to use, setup the groups based on your departments like operations, CS, Sales , Management, Clearance team etc, very efficient in terms of setting escalation matrix, every call , email or request is important and recorded in system. Management can always get updated upon what going on with customer requests/complaints/inquires

Cons:

very less option for reporting and integration with other platforms like watsapp, although watsapp FB can be integrated but only can be used within app

Alternatives Considered: Odoo

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: pricing and options availalbe in FD, plus FD was already used in another BU so comparing with other products was easy and found it useful

Phil
Phil
CEO in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

"Freshdesk: The ultimate customer support solution"

5.0 last week New

Comments: Businesses who are searching for an all-encompassing customer care platform might consider Freshdesk as a viable option. Although it provides a wide variety of functions and connectors, some users may find that it is sluggish, and the reporting features are not sophisticated.However, it offers a user-friendly interface and a customizable ticketing system, which are both advantages.

Pros:

Interface that is simple to useAutomation tools to streamline support processes Customizable ticketing systemIntegration with a wide range of third-party applications and servicesSupport for multiple channels (email, phone, social media, etc.)

Cons:

Some customers have complained about slowness and performance concerns with the system.limited skills for reporting and analyticsCertain features, like the knowledge base, could need more setup and configuration.

Alternatives Considered: Freshservice, Helpshift and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: Freshdesk, a complete customer care software, helps firms handle client enquiries and support operations. It offers an easy-to-use interface, a customized ticketing system, and automation capabilities to streamline help. Freshdesk lets clients contact them via email, phone, and social media. Freshdesk can also integrate with a multitude of third-party apps and services, making it more adaptable. Companies searching for a comprehensive customer care platform to boost customer help efficiency might consider Freshdesk.

Kelly M
Kelly M
System Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Freshdesk is an excellent help to provide better support

4.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Excellent submission Numerous reports allow you to keep tabs on your team's issue tracking progress, as well as see what kinds of issues are being raised and how long it's taking to fix them. Such advanced analytical reports will be beneficial to your company.

Pros:

FreshDesk is user-friendly and packed with helpful tutorials and advice. While the online knowledge base is helpful, the Live Help feature and staff are fantastic. It's easy to connect with FreshChat and FreshSales, giving us a complete picture of our interactions with customers.

Cons:

With so many options available in FreshDesk, it can be difficult to know where to look for a specific feature; however, a search bar is included.

Alain Mukanuna
ICT Consultant in Burkina Faso
International Trade & Development, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Customer Service Platform - Freshdesk

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall, Freshdesk is a great customer service platform for managing customer inquiries and resolving issues. The ease of use and automation features make it an ideal solution for businesses of all sizes.

Pros:

Freshdesk offers an intuitive user interface that makes it easy to set up and manage customer support. The automation features are especially useful for streamlining tedious process and saving time.

Cons:

Freshdesk can be expensive for businesses with a large customer base, as the pricing model is based on the number of customers.

Nitin
Nitin
Senior Graphics Designer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great ticket management software for first time customer service manager

4.0 last year

Comments: Freshdesk is a highly useful help desk or customer complaint management platform. Its social media integration is perfect with support for Facebook pages which helped me have a sync with my daily Facebook complaints.

Pros:

What I like about Freshdesk is that we can manage all our support channels from one place, the automated reporting features are excellent and also useful to customize it according to our requirements. They also have the best support team who helps you at every stage. Reasonable price makes it affordable for first time customer service agencies or startups. We can create our own knowledge base or faq onsite in a free plan.

Cons:

The first thing I realized while using the ticket management system is that it confuses and doesn't always display the exact team member name who gave the response when multiple customers are involved in a support ticket.

Alternatives Considered: Zoho Desk and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing Freshdesk: My team needs a much better and smooth way to serve customers online. Zoho have some complexities in dashboard and monthly report insights. Freshdesk provides more features along with quick review of customers on the dashboard that helps the team have daily or monthly insights about complaint status.

Switched From: Zoho Desk

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: Other softwares aimed at enterprises which help desks serving internal customers. That makes them much more costly with the same features in freshdesk. Freshdesk is focused on processing service tickets from external customers which makes me choose freshdesk over zoho desk.

Mike
SysAdmin in US
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Simple and Intuitive

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We decided to try this out as our ticketing solution and were very impressed. Packed with features even at the lower tiers. At the lowest priced tier we're able to integrate Microsoft Teams and VSTS/Azure DevOps which is huge for us. The features are also very organized so the admin page doesn't have 200+ options to skim through.

Pros:

FreshDesk has found a way to offer similar options without cluttering your screen with unnecessary options. You're able to expand on your options with custom fields/tags/etc but the basics cover most scenarios. My favorite feature though is how easy it is to update a ticket department/agent/status. You can do it from the ticket view screen that lists all your tickets. Why is no one else doing this? Seems obvious now that I'm using it ha, it's even available on the phone app, big time-saver. It really seems like a lot of thought was put into creating this product.

Cons:

One thing I really didn't like is the table view for tickets. I have large monitors and this doesn't expand the width so I end up with a bunch of empty space to each side of the table. You can change the Layout and the Card view helps, but I prefer the consolidated table view, but not if I have to scroll to the right with empty space on the page that could've been used. Another thing I noticed that could improve is the options for the email. Our previous solution would create the ticket and move the email from the inbox to our archive folder so we keep a history in a second place. FreshDesk currently as of 2019 only has the option to delete or leave the emails there. Not that big of a deal, but would be nice.

Alternatives Considered: ServiceNow Customer Service Management, ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus and SolarWinds Service Desk

Reasons for Choosing Freshdesk: Cost and reliability. Previous solution was buggy and we were using it because it was free. Once they switched to a licensing model, we expect higher quality when paying.

Switched From: Zero Threat Advanced

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: Easier integration with Teams/Azure DevOps. Cost did not include a lot of features we don't use as we're a small company. With the smaller tier we're getting what we need at a low price. More than we need really.

Gabriel
Support & Onboarding in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very happy with this purchase

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I am currently the only person responsible for customer support in a small company. Freshdesk made it much more easy for me to manage support tickets due to SLAs, automations, etc. I used to have to do pretty much everything manually. We'll be adding new users soon because of this great experience.

Pros:

Ease of use. Reasonable price. Otherwise, I like the way tickets can be prioritized with SLAs, status, etc. Canned responses and automations are great too.

Cons:

The automations, despite being very nice, are somewhat limited in terms of what they can do. Sometimes I'd like to go a little further than what they can offer. It's often just little details, but it could make a big difference. Here are a few basic examples: 1) IF field is empty, THEN send a notification to the user with a message saying that it has to be updated. This is not possible since we can't have an automation triggered by a field being left blank. 2) Only the custom fields with drop down lists can be used as triggers for automations. Also, I'd like to be able to have the SLA based on the expected first response rather than the expected resolution. Overall though, it makes my job a lot easier.

Alternatives Considered: Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing Freshdesk: TP is really good for development projects, but it makes absolutely no sense when it comes to giving decent customer support. No SLAs, no prioritization, no notifications, no automations.

Switched From: Targetprocess

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: The price mostly. While Zendesk had cheaper plans, the Freshdesk plans had more features for the same price. Zendesk overall had a few more features, but we would have never used most of them anyway and Freshdesk seemed easier to configure and customize and it looked better in my opinion. The ticketing systeme is just great. Everyone asked was talking about Zendesk, yet I found it somewhat underwhelming.

Viktoria
Customer Support in Croatia
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best customer service desk available

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We used it for daily customer service contact and it was great. It was great for assigning

Pros:

Freshdesk is an amazing solution that made my daily life easier. I used it as a part of my work as a customer service agent and it helped go through the tickets quickly and efficiently. Mostly I loved how easy it made for me to track the previous interactions with the customer and how efficient it made me.

Cons:

We tried the call centre as well, but that did not work so well. We had calls drop randomly after a few seconds so we stopped using that feature.

Alternatives Considered: Zoho Desk, HubSpot CRM and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing Freshdesk: We suddenly had more tickets than we could handle using only email.

Switched From: Gmail

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: Because of the price and it seemed like the most well rounded of the bunch.

Thabo
Thabo
Managing Director in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Mining & Metals, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TMI-SSP (PTY) LTD

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Wonderful, I really like their 24hrs support system

Pros:

With 5 years in business, we started seeing change in our revenues and employee behaviour in the last 2,5 years of using FRESHDESK. We stopped for sometime thinking maybe we could continue without these tools and a huge gap opened up thus we had to go back to the tried & tested.

Cons:

Ease of business Friendly Interface Work Anywhere (App or Web)

Alternatives Considered: Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing Freshdesk: They rely too much on chat bots The only person who spoke to me was their sales rep when she was selling me their product Poor response time to email queries (support is too slow) No 24hrs support

Switched From: Salesforce Sales Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: It is tried and tested within my company It has 24hrs support Quick response to customer queries

Verified Reviewer
Managing Director in Austria
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

It's good enough, but some features are lackluster, too expensive or missing

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: You'd think that 400M of total investments gets you an insanely good piece of software. It does not.
Freshdesk was a huge step up from the tool we used previously and has some nice features. It's disappointing that some of the features are lackluster implemented or missing altogether or require you to purchase a higher tier license - just to maybe get one more feature out of a whole bundle you won't need.
That's not a stand-alone issue in this industry, but it's extra disappointing if you come across a promising tool that just can't go that extra mile.

Pros:

It's quickly set up and you'll be working with it in no time, especially when you start from scratch and don't need to import (a lot). As you work more with it, you'll run into a few issues that you'll have to adjust to. Most of it isn't major, it's just these little things that would turn it into a great tool. So without them, it's "only" good. There are a few nice features when it comes to automation.

Cons:

There's quite a few things I find annoying. None of them are bad enough to stop using Freshdesk altogether, but they're annoying. In no particular order: - There's no default ticket view for users, information like this is stored in cookies - and lost when a user needs to delete their cookies for one reason or the other. - Ticket list can be filtered by various criteria, those filters can be saved. But columns are set once, regardless of views. So you can't have different ticket lists where one shows the priority and the other does not for example. - Speaking of lists: They are hard coded only for contacts and companies. - The API uses base auth with a very simple password. - Automations are limited in scope and the rules need to be set up very, very carefully to make sure they don't interefere with each other. - If you want to change basic SLAs, you need to upgrade to the higher tiers. - If you want to have different Notification emails per group or type, you need to handle them in Automations (with less formating options) and not via the Email Notification Templates. - Some things are dictated by the system and can't be changed or turned off: Some notifications, some columns in the ticket views, for example. - Status codes are shared across different groups and/or products. So if you need a "Pending Approval" status for your Changes, you will have it in Incidents, too.

Alternatives Considered: HappyFox Help Desk, DeskPRO, Zoho Desk and Kayako

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: As you see above, there are quite a few drawbacks. None of these was a deal-breaker for me, but they do seem to be rather arbitrarily set limitations to get customers to upgrade to more expensive tiers of support. Ultimately, the deciding factor was the ease with which to integrate Freshdesk over their API with other tools that we use. Compared to the others: Zoho Desk's API was almost as bad as their customer support, but their ticket workflow options are far superior to Freshdesk. Happy Fox came close, but their API had a severe limitation for us as they only allow one specific status to create tickets with, which didn't work for our use case. Otherwise, we would've picked that. Zammad did not support multiple email inboxes at the time we tried it. Kayako did not leave a lasting impression. Deskpro was for the longest time the forerunner, as we really would've liked a self-hosted tool. Their user interface is not as slick as the one from Freshdesk (or any of the others, really) and I don't like how they handle workflow status, but their support team was *by far* the best of them all. Unfortunately, we didn't get the self-hosted option to run reliable in our environment. And while their API outshines everybody else's we tried their GUI was a bit too clunky and cluttered for our taste. I'll definitely will keep an eye on them and check back how they improve.

Angel
Technology Director in US
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to Use, Easy to Setup

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

My favorite part about this software is the knowledge base. This has helped us immensely on our team. Certain parts of the knowledge base show up based on the company the user is associated with. This allows us to set up public tutorials, internal tutorials for our staff, then another section that just our internal help desk can use. It is also very user-friendly, our students and staff can easily create tickets and we are able to customize the fields for tickets. I don't use a lot of the features with phone and automated ticket assignment, but I can see how this would be useful for a larger organization. I honestly have no complaints and whenever I have a question or issue, support has responded and solved my issue quickly!

Cons:

There was an issue with spam, but this seems to be prominent amongst other companies as well. They have just implemented a resolve with this and I have seen a decline, but it is not completely blocked yet.

Alternatives Considered: Zoho Desk and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing Freshdesk: I was unhappy with them and I would talk to customer service and they were less than helpful and did not seem to want to work with me on getting my issues resolved. I switched to Freshdesk immediately out of constant frustration with support and I have never regretted my decision. There is much more flexibility and customization with Freshdesk.

Switched From: HappyFox Help Desk

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: I had experience with Freshdesk as a user with a vendor that I work with. I like the ticketing interface and usability. I set up Freshdesk to try and really liked the options and features. Specifically the knowledge base setup.

Raymond
Software Development Manager in South Africa
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Freshdesk review by software dev manager @ Regenesys Business School

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Awesome.

Pros:

The ease of use, both for the agents as well as the clients is pretty awesome. Being able to pull out detailed reports concerning not only the tickets on the system and their categories and statuses, but also seeing agents' performances makes this product recommendable for me.

Cons:

The fact that I have to log in twice, once for freshdesk and then again for freshworks, before I can gain access to our freshdesk platform really irks me sometimes. An SSO would go a long way in preventing this. Also, being to integrate with Jira proved unsuccessful for me.

Alternatives Considered: Spiceworks

Reasons for Choosing Freshdesk: Coz Freshdesk proved to be a better product

Switched From: Spiceworks

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: Ease of use for agents and clients as well as reports.

Alphonso
Enterprise Engineer in South Africa
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to setup and use. Great ticketing system

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are an MSP and Freshdesk is the core of our support business. Without it we wont be able to keep track of what work needs to be done. Our client tickets get logged on Freshdesk and assigned to technicians. Time logs gets added, tickets get exported and processed for billing. Any issues that we've had, we simply contacted them via in support chat and it was resolved quickly.

Pros:

Incredibly easy to get going with the software. Your in house IT team can set this up themselves and you dont need to spend a fortune getting a consultancy firm to do it for you. The interface is also very intuitive and even without any training your staff should be able to do the basics. We looked at other solutions that were more of an all in one kinda package that also included financial, stock/warehousing etc but found that these were overly complex and as a result made us work less efficient and the helpdesk staff also did not want to use it because it was just too bloated for their needs. Freshdesk does ticketing and it does it well. The company does have other software modules and integrations that you can add if you want (addon integration apps or maybe look at their other products like Freshsales or Freshservice) If you just want a great easy to use ticking system, definitely give Freshdesk a try. The free trial should be more than enough to give you a fell for the system.

Cons:

I cant really think of a con. Some might want something that has more features or customization but we are seeing that as a pro as it keeps it simple and efficient (not that Freshdesk lacks features. For us, it has everything that it needs to have and more)

Alternatives Considered: JIRA Service Management and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing Freshdesk: Easy of use and setup. No server to maintain as it is a SaaS solution.

Switched From: Cherwell Service Management

Reasons for Switching to Freshdesk: Enjoyed the user experience and catered for all our needs

Verified Reviewer
Customer Support Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Freshdesk is a great alternative to over priced industry stalwarts.

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Freshdesk has been a breeze to set up and use effectively. My team loves how easy it is to quickly work through tickets. We heavily use Trello and their integration is top tier. When issues do come up, the support team is always available to answer my questions. Even when it doesn't support a particular workflow, I've always been given excellent suggestions to work around its limitations.

Cons:

Many integrations are v1 products that were built years ago and never updated. Salesforce integration needs a lot of work. We had to disable it because it was using too many API calls.

Alternatives Considered: Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing Freshdesk: Salesforce Service Cloud is a pain to configure. It's it pretty much unusable unless your company has an on-staff Salesforce developer. You can only configure very basic functionality via the admin options.

Switched From: Salesforce Service Cloud

Kai
Owner in Canada
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Fresh, Works.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: get it if you can afford it and have the team to support it.
otherwise if you're just one? walk away son,.... you're done.

Pros:

If you're looking for something that has just the smallest amount of customizing but is built very polished right out of the box, this is your product. The integration with the suite is nearly flawless, and I gave it a solid 2-month trial to see if it was right for me. The only reason it wasn't is that I'm a solopreneur, and as counterintuitive as it might sound, Freshdesk can easily be run by one person or 500. it's that scalable and built with the intent that a small team could be comprised of 4-10 people, and every single part of the software you can master in two weeks, and yet still find it surprisingly comfortable.

Cons:

it's meant for at least a small team. one person by themselves can't run the whole show, which, oddly enough, having 35 more pieces of software, you can pull off with ZOHO. or at least I can.. I'm entirely into Zoho for the price. I just simply couldn't afford freshdesk's solopreneur pricing. it's not for freelancers, it's for teams... minimum 5 people before you're making full use of the suite which all came from freshdesk. (yes, I'm talking about the suite freshworks as if it was desk... trust me, you don't want just the desk...)... this is a rare case where they pull off a near perfect piece of software, but price out the little guys so that we don't get to play with their toys... but then again, I did say it was only semi-customizable. it's not like caspio or Zoho creator or a number of other CRM suites which have moved well into the low/no code markets by making their own flagship products with their own entry-level builder, just to show what it can do if you actually use it to it's potential.... freshdesk has limited potential, but unlimited freshness, oh.. and it's probably good that they make it unaffordable to the little guys, because this is not entry level software... you HAVE to know about crime and ticketing and VoIP and all that jazz before you touch this. I have about 10 years dealing with CRM's, and they are almost starting to catch up to how I feel they should work... freshdesk, it's an almost. with not much for options to make it my own, even if i cuuld afford it.

Sandrine
Sandrine
Manager in France
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Freshdesk makes support easier and at a very attractive price

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Freshdesk is a robust helpdesk platform, which offers all the key helpdesk features. We have a partner who uses Freshdesk. We asked them for their feedback. They told us that they were happy with the solution and it matched their requirements, even with the Free edition. In 2015, we were looking for a helpdesk platform, because our internal solution was outdated and our budget was tight. We look at the solutions available on the market. After a very quick try we were convinced about Freshdesk: it was adopted! The Free edition (Sprout) offered us everything we needed and it was so user friendly! Freshdesk helps us to save time and money as it automates the support ticket management process: customized support rules, automatic email notification, tickets queue management That's perfect for us and for our customers who use it for submitting support ticket.

Pros:

We definitively like a couple of things about Freshdesk. Even with the Free edition you have access to plenty of features. The portal can be customized: you can specify the colors of the colors theme, choose a font and also add your organization logo. You then can offer a branded helpdesk platform to your customers. All the admin features you need are in a one tab (Admin) organized in 4 main categories: helpdesk channels, main settings It is so easy to configure the solution and to customize it (forms, emails, and so on). The solution can be online in only a couple of minutes. We had to contact the Freshdesk support only once, and honestly we were really impressed by the way they handled our support request because we only have the free edition. The ticket was solved and closed in only a couple of hours. Great support service!

Cons:

As we used the Free edition, we don't see any cons.

Josemaria
Josemaria
Vice Director for External Affairs in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Fresh as its name suggests

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Fresh, intuitive, and a must-have tool for any helpdesk team. Freshdesk has helped improve helpdesk staff productivity, efficiency, as well as customer and top-level satisfaction.

Pros:

Freshdesk gives us a fresh take on getting helpdesk support and updates. First of all, I love the fresh look and user interface. It is friendly and easy to create tickets and revisit the portal to get status updates. It acts as a centralized hub for our support team in terms of collating all helpdesk items from multiple channels like email, voice calls, chat, etc. It is also easy to see who is assigned/acting on a ticket in order to avoid two staff working on the same ticket (too many cooks spoil the broth). Canned responses is also great since it saves us time from re-composing the same incident resolution for recurring problems (like the common concern of password reset, network/account access..etc). Another thing is the reporting power of Freshdesk. We can churn out the performance levels of each helpdesk staff, even for the whole department. We can also generate reports to see the most frequent person/departments who request a lot of support, or which incidents turn out to be problems and for possible root cause analysis and resolution. One more thing, is the all-important Service Level Management (SLA) which can be set up and managed well from within Freshdesk. SLA Performance reports can be easily downloaded and intuitive enough to be used for future IT strategy and planning.

Cons:

The notifications can be a powerful tool for reminding the staff or triggering an action, however, Freshdesk can sometimes tend to flood the staff with all these notifications for example if a person is assigned a ticket and is also part of a group, the email sends at least twice. We'll have to look into how the setup for notifications can be more optimized.

Shikha
HR Manager in India
Staffing & Recruiting, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Extremely helpful online ticketing system-Takes care of all HR related and other queries

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall experience has been amazing so far as it is able to cater our day to day needs. Great platform to provide internal/external support.

Pros:

We have been using this software for more than 2.5 years now in our company to assist our consultants, vendors and clients. Freshdesk is a cloud based helpdesk system, which allows its users to resolve all day-to-day queries by generating tickets. This ticketing system works well internally and externally. Being a part of the HR Team, we receive approximately 20-30 tickets per day from our employees/Clients and other companies for assistance regarding pay, employment verification, employment letters, leaves etc. The employees send their queries to a common HR Group ID and then we allocate it to the concerned person within the team. The Fresh desk support is implemented by the technical department of our company as well where the internal employees raise tickets in case of any technical issues. The interface is easy to use and simple. It also provides guidelines and prompts for a new user, making it extremely easy to learn and start without much assistance. It provides the option to add a note to every ticket before closing it making it easier to know for the entire team that a ticket is closed. It also keeps a clear and manageable history of all the recently closed tickets. It also provides a feature to export a complete summary of the tickets group wise with categories and subjects, date of receipt and closure. Freshdesk has an in-built contact directory for all internal employees making it easier to allocate copy or forward the tickets.

Cons:

As per our existing needs, I do not see any cons. I am sure it offers more flexibility at higher prices but so far, it works well for us.

Winfield
IT Help Support Agent in South Africa
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

What You Need To Know About Freshdesk

5.0 last year

Comments: It is a very good application. You manage your work and get things done✔ I love it

Pros:

1. Tickets - Tickets come as Tickets and are numbered which makes it easier to identify them 2. Viewing Tickets - there is an eye which will show when another user is Viewing the same Ticket you are viewing. That way you alert ⚠️ the other User from nor duplicating your work. One picks up a ticket ans identifies and Agent and Tixket number they picked or closed. 3. Search Feature- you can search by ticket number or by name of client and shows all your conversation history 4. Tixket alert- The system allows one to check issues not resolved and are flagged as Red 5. Freshdesk allows you to create your own Tickets and Emails 6. Dashboard - Freshdesk Dashboard helps to show progress of what you have achieved or not 7. Ability to attach files 8. Ability to create Canned responses 9. Ability to delete certain Tickets that are not useful to a User

Cons:

I wish Freshdesk ca improve in the following: 1. The maximum amount of Gigs when attaching files is very small. If they can increase this, that would be useful 2. When creating emails on contacts: On To:- Tab, it is only one email that must written and Freshdesk ystem will not allow you to add several email addresses under To:- TAB option. If they can change that setting, it will be very helpful. I know on CC and BCC it is ok but TO option must still be changed 3. Formatting styles must changes. We have limited options on Freshdesk from Font sislze, styles to Colour. If they can see what Microsoft Word feature or Outlook looks like and work on that 4. When creating tables, they are not as presentable like the way we see on Outlook 5. Editing Tools are limited like Undo, Cut features, they may need to improve that to be user friendly. At some point I deleted my entire paragraph by mistake, if I did not know how to use the shortcut keys like Ctrl + Z to Undo , I would have wanted so much time re-typimg it again. 😔 So for new uses who have no such knowledge, they want to see an Undo feature somewhere.