Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.5 /5

About YouTrack

The issue tracker designed for agile teams. An agile project management tool that can be customized to your business processes.

Learn more about YouTrack

Showing 25 reviews of 40

Verified Reviewer
Data Analysis
Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/8/2018

"Holds great promise , allows you to stay on top of things, but leaves a few things wanting"

Comments: Perfect for small teams to be used primarily for bug tracking, and sprint planning. Easy to setup and use without having to jump through any hoops.
The interface and the whole system is rather intuitive which comes in handy especially for companies where teams work on multiple projects at the same time and more often than not each is tied with another project in one way or another. Comes with plenty of integrations so one can customize as needed.
Everybody at our company loves this product.

Pros: compared to the various bug tracking softwares, this one is super simple, and easy to set up and get going.
The interface is intuitive and helps keep sprints clean and organized.
Performance is good as long as the setup has been done properly, else you will experience lags.
Best for small teams which don't want to deal with the complexities of using JIRA.
Pricing is based on storage so that is really very helpful.
you can do custom queries to search for bugs, and my team uses it every day during the agile meetings. It comes in really handy.

Cons: Not cons per say but
1. Features keep changing under your legs. For example, the option to search by `Assigned to me` has altogether disappeared from the main menu. Now you have to specially navigate to find that tag.
2. The url is rather long: mycompanyname.myjetbrains.youtrack.com
3. Comment boxes under tickets look rather medieval.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/8/2018
Ashi A.
Product Manager @ eMusic
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/1/2019

"Simple and useful but not without some annoying glitches"

Pros: It's a web based product, which means that teams in different regions can use it very easily without the use of any VPN connection to a central location.
Its Dashboard widgets and agile boards are super useful and easy to use.
Many of the fields are super configurable to allow for a very personalized integration.

Cons: Still has some bugs, glitches and UX issues that can be rather annoying at times.
Has less integration possibilities with other products than bigger and more known products like Jira.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/1/2019
Jaimyn M.
Head of Software Engineering
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/6/2019

"Excellent Product"

Comments: YouTrack is an effective tool for managing our software development lifecycle.

Pros: YouTrack is a nice to use, fully web based issue tracking and project management tool. The configurability is fantastic and allows our software development team to customise it exactly to our needs.

Cons: The user interface (mainly for configuration) is a little confusing at first, but after a while it's easier to get used to.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/6/2019
Verified Reviewer
Developer
Sports, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/5/2019

"Functional work manager"

Comments: With this software we have finally succeeded in giving a dimension to our work, being able to estimate with an ever more accurate precision the time of realization of the tasks, further raising the level of organization.

Pros: It is a software that allows you to fully customize your work, creating panels that show tasks that meet certain requirements (assigned to you, incomplete, testing ...). The task management is optimal, being able to choose the category, to whom to assign it, forecasting time to finish it, actual time, as well as title, description, comments and many other things. In general it is a complete software and it lacks nothing.

Cons: The main downside of youtrack is the lack of learning facility. It took me a long time to figure out how to use it to the fullest, to take advantage of the enormous potential right away. It has so many features that are often "hidden", there are small links or buttons that you don't notice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 1/5/2019
Purvika M.
HR
Human Resources, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/6/2019

"Manage your project simply with YouTrack."

Comments: 1. I used to manage my company projects and the activity of the developer done by on that day on YouTrack.

Pros: 1. Manageability of your projects issue is really good that you can manage your or create issues or new functionality to be add as a priority bases.
2. A developer can change the ticket or issue to it's fixed state after fixing it.
3. You can also merge multiple ticket by duplicating it.
4. A developer or any one who is a user of YouTrack can comment below the ticket so the tester can easily known about the ticket.

Cons: 1. There is nothing to dislike in YouTrack it is best for my company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/6/2019
Joey N.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/6/2019

"Youtrack slow and tedious to navigate"

Comments: What the hey*

Pros: Predictive text. Can be better than a 1990's issue tracker.

Cons: "Youtrack issue" issues: Sand Watch icon has to be the only thing highlighted in order to enter time. Why am I playing a small game of Myst with the new Youtrack Navigation Zone? Boards work funny. Attributes are a pain to update even more so. From a user perspective it's annoying. From an API developer perspective, it's annoying.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/6/2019
Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/2/2020

"Very useful"

Comments: We have changed our team structure and the way we work many times over and you track has been accommodate all of our needs.

Pros: You track comes with a lot of built in feature for different types of team setups. It help teams organize the tasks and priorities very well.

Cons: There's a lot of unknown features that aren't apparent easily. I think the power of you track can be made more apparent and it will become and easier tool to use

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/2/2020
Verified Reviewer
Digital Content Manager
E-Learning, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/6/2020

"Excellent tool for tracking product development projects"

Comments: We are using it to communicate with our overseas development team in order to complete work on our digital learning platform. We use it to track features, bugs, and other user stories, and discuss those stories with the team. It has proven invaluable for this project since we are using an Agile sprint methodology.

Pros: I like the ability to see Agile Boards related to our product sprints. I like being able to add screenshots or videos of bugs easily for our development team to use. I like that if I forget to save my work on a task, when I come back to the task my work is auto-saved and available to continue working on, even if I closed my browser.

Cons: It would be nice if the feature for a particular task was automatically added to a sprint when a sub-task of that feature was added to the sprint. Right now we have to tag the sprint manually for every feature.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/6/2020
Verified Reviewer
AVP Product Management
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/1/2019

"Steep learning curve but well worth it"

Pros: Projects are almost infinitely malleable and customizable

Cons: The solutions are not always right in front of you - a softer UX would help

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/1/2019
Ignacio S.
Lead Web Developer
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/10/2018

"Complete control over your team work."

Comments: Is very awesome. It reduce the time needed to organize the team.

Pros: Youtrack isn't the easier tool to use, I must recognize it, but we need to understand that, with all of it's features that is a necessary circumstance. Youtrack can help you a LOT when you are working with groups of people, you will know what are doing, when and who, you can measure the productivity of your team, create goals and many other things. Forget to think that it is only for programming or teams of programmers, you can use Youtrack in every scenario out there.

Cons: Lack of some integrations, I think YouTrack is as good as Jira but need some extra integrations with others useful tools.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software Developer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/7/2019

"Best issue management so far"

Pros: For me this is the best issue management software so far. I've used others like Jira, but I really enjoy using Youtrack. Especially the query language is quite cool.

Cons: I really can't think of any, maybe the settings page, it could use some redesign.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/7/2019
Tim F.
Systems Engineer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/3/2018

"YouTrack is a very powerful but easy to use issue tracking system."

Pros: The best part of YouTrack is how easy it is to get started. You can opt to run the software on your wn server or subscribe for a cloud-hosted instance. YouTrack is extremely powerful without being hard to use and it is very easy to integrate into your apps. Date-based swimlanes are a really useful feature.

Cons: Overall I do not have any gripes but, for some, the options available can be a bit overwhelming. Fortunately this complexity is shielded from software end users and just has to be managed by the technical support and development staff.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 7/3/2018
Jeff H.
Customer Success Consultant - Software
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017

"Super easy way to log issues with software and track progress!"

Comments: Makes it easy to get issues filed for our software right when I hear about them.

Pros: I like that I can quickly create an issue for our software and search for other issues related to mine.

Cons: The layout is a little "clunky" so takes a little bit of time to get the "hang of it" in terms of what you need to do to submit the issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017
Hashini W.
Trainee Software Engineer
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/10/2019

"Easy to use as a bug tracking tool"

Comments: Use this application to track bugs and assign those bugs to the developers.

Pros: we can use this application as a bug tracker and assign to developers on task board when found bugs in applications.

Cons: Do not have a proper tutorials and guidance to use YouTrack.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/10/2019
Hang X.
Senior Software Engineer
Biotechnology, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/3/2019

"there's better options"

Pros: it's some how configurable, it's really hard to list what I like the most about it

Cons: nice try JetBrain! YouTrack is part of the JetBrain family, but i don't see the same quality in YouTrack in other software like PyCharm, this is hard to use, and you have to learn new query language to be an advance user

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/3/2019
Enrique R.
CTO
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2014

"Awesome product, ahead of the competition"

Comments: sWe tried a lot of issue/project tracking product (Jira + Greenhopper, Pivotal Tracker, LeanKit, among others). YouTrack was firts in all out categories, like: easy to use and administrate, flexible, powerful and reporting system and value (features/cost). We have been using YT 6 months already and no complaints here.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2014
Binigya D.
Game Developer
Computer Games, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/10/2020

"YouTrack - Track Everything"

Comments: My time with YouTrack has been very pleasant. Apart from its few shortcomings, I have grown really fond of it, and it is really helpful in tracking and managing projects, even if you are coordinating with an external team.

Pros: YouTrack is in my opinion, THE best project management and tracking tool there is. While it doesn't have a bucketload of features, or does not come on the cheap side, it does what is does extremely well. I love its UI and UX, it really makes using YouTrack a pleasure. I love its take on making tasks and managing them via boards. It is so easy to create a task, assign it's priority and notify the people concerned. I also especially love its Git integration, which makes working it with a second nature when you are coding and you want to make a commit. If you are serious about getting a project management tool, please try this once. You will love it!

Cons: I really dislike that there is not an integrated communication platform like Basecamp in YouTrack. But it has a Slack integration, which is handy and useful. I also don't like that you don't have much theme choices, as for a tool that I will be using everyday, I would like a bit more of layouts, customizations and themes. And also, sometimes uploading files can be a buggy experience. Videos may take a long time to play, some files are indicated as uploaded but you can't view them immediately. These occur very rarely, but are a nuisance for sure.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/10/2020
Max S.
Director, Customer Success
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/1/2019

"Bugtracker from programmers for programmers"

Comments: Easy to use for administrators, programmers, project managers and issue reporters.
Definitely recommend for small and medium-sized teams.

Pros: - rich support for SQL-like filters and hotkey \ CLI-like interactions
- flexible and customizable
- easy to use

Cons: - some usage scenarios are not very carefully through through, e.g. when one attaches an image it's hard to copy and insert a markdown link (better if each attachment had something like "+" insert into text button)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/1/2019
Aman S.
HR
Human Resources, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/5/2019

"Manage all your projects tickets in one place."

Comments: 1. It works just awesome for me and fo my team.

Pros: 1. The best thing i like the most is that you can set the priorities of your tickets like Critical, Major verify, Major, Normal so a developer can easily find out that on which tickets he/she have to work first.
2. If you are developing a project in a team then you can assign the tickets to the developers so that developer can easily work on those tickets which has been assigned to him/her.
3. After fixing the tickets you can also change the state of those ticket as Fixed and then after support team can easily test it and if it is fixed then tester can easily change the state to veified.

Cons: 1. Still i did not find any cons in YouTrack.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/5/2019
Steve R.
Chief Revenue Officer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/11/2018

"De facto standard for ticketing system"

Pros: It's very intuitive and makes keeping track of engineering tasks incredibly simple no. The search is fantastic also.

Cons: The search can be made very accurate when you understand some shortcuts to type into the search area. There was a learning curve with this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing Business Analyst
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/9/2018

"Good system for tracking progress"

Pros: Easy to add step by step progress
Easy to manage my team

Cons: UI isn't pretty, lends itself to be confusing because of the UI

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 4/9/2018
Malachi W.
student
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/3/2018

"Great Tracker"

Pros: The clever search is very useful and it is great for keeping track of projects. One thing that is also very useful is the shortcuts which makes everything easier to use.

Cons: I like all the software by JetBrains and don't have any issue with this one, It is another great software developed by them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/3/2018
Verified Reviewer
Customer Success Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/7/2019

"Gets The Job Done But Clunky With Limited Views"

Pros: Working with engineering team is effective this way

Cons: Monitoring, tracking and searching for work is difficult.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/7/2019
Dayne E.
Customs Compliance Specialist
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/4/2019

"YouTrack helps keep projects on track"

Comments: The business I work for uses YouTrack effectively to track problems and projects to keep people on task and aware of what their responsibilities are at any given time.

Pros: The thing I like most about YouTrack is that it gives users great tools to stay on track with projects. For example, a user can identify a bug in our processing software and create a ticket. IT can then triage the ticket and assign it to the correct developer to begin the process of investigating the bug and fixing it. That developer can post on the ticket asking for more information or indicating that it's ready for QA testing, etc. Every step along the way is catalogued for future reference.

Cons: I dislike that users (not the IT people, the lay person) cannot edit their own tickets after submitting without IT enabling the option.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/4/2019
Silvio B.
Software developer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/8/2019

"Probably the best tool for task tracking"

Comments: Very nice experience I would definitely suggest it especially to a team that likes to tinker with their tools in order to make them tailored to their needs

Pros: I like the possibility to customize heavily this product. I've been working also on its workflow functionality which I've found very useful and complete. Also the docs are great and exhaustive which is a huge pro often overlooked.

Cons: I really wanted to add custom styling to our kanban board in order to change the colour of the cards from green to red based on their due date but I had no way to do it with the youtrack provided functions so I had to inject a custom script. Would be nice to have this feature!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/8/2019