15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About TeamDynamix

TeamDynamix is a no-code ITSM solution that offers integrated Project Portfolio Management with enterprise integration and automation.

Learn more about TeamDynamix

Pros:

The ability to attach an asset to a ticket is a game changer for us. I am able to track assets, add contracts, manage tickets, and work on budget requests all in one software platform.

Cons:

They have a built-in report builder tool that has limited functionality. The product we used prior to TeamDynamix leveraged SAP BusinessObjects for reporting.

TeamDynamix ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

7.8/10

TeamDynamix has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 143 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used TeamDynamix before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (143)

Richard
Richard
Director of Client Services & Operations, ITS in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great tool with great people behind it.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The team is amazing. They listen to customers and work to constantly improve the product. It is great value for the money.

Pros:

Ease of use. Powerful reporting. Team behind it.

Cons:

Mobile experience is not as feature rich as the desktop version and is not as easy to use.

Amy
Sr. Business Analyst in US
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

TeamDynamix is the best ITSM solution I have used

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: TeamDynamix' support has exceeded beyond my expectation. They are quick to respond, are transparent with what they are working on and listen to their customer's ideas for improvements.

Pros:

ITSM features like workflow capabilities, attribute dependencies and collaboration with others within the solution regardless of their access level. Also love the flexibility and ease of use for administrators (minimal training is needed and administrators have the power to make and control changes).

Cons:

The PPM module still has some growth to be match a lot of the amazing features on the ITSM module.

Billie
Lead Project Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good tool, but PPM needs attention

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our initial relationship was very good, and they remain to be engaged with us. However, pricing has increased, and combined with the lack of their investment in PPM features this makes it more difficult to see TDX as our ultimate solution for PPM.

Pros:

The project intake workflow process is very good. In combination with the Capacity Planner application, we are able to offer a user-friendly project request submission process and quickly assess, prioritize and resource projects. The Client Portal Applications has a lot of potential for interacting with project team members and stakeholders and could be a great way to manage projects outside of the client.

Cons:

Team Dynamix does not appear to invest as heavily in the PPM features as it does the ITSM features. This has resulted in the lack of some critical items necessary for modern project management. Card walls (boards) are severely lacking in functionality, and do not allow for successful implementation of agile-related concepts such as Kanban. Important features such as swim lanes and card aging are missing. A web view of card walls would also be useful. Also lacking is the ability to build custom portfolio dashboards that show the KPIs that are most relevant to your organization as well as timeline views.

Darrin
Sr. IT Support Technician in US
Medical Devices, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

TDX was a major change for us in the right direction

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Ever since implementing TDX, we have found nothing but great things about it. It has been a wonderful ESM service for us.

Cons:

I have noticed a couple small things that we do not like, such as users are not able to add contacts to tickets after being submitted, but it is a small issue since we had it always available in our previous system.

brad
Director, Computing and Support Services in US
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great platform for service management needs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Ticket volume has increased, but so have user satisfaction scores. Time to resolve has decreased. More and more departments are seeking to use it for their own service management.

Pros:

TeamDynamix makes tracking and reporting tickets and projects easy. It has multiple layers of built-in automation out of the box.

Cons:

The search features in TeamDynamix aren't the best. Currently, dashboards do not display data in real-time.

Paul
Lead Apple Technician in US
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good overall

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is mostly positive. It has been relatively quick and the ability to upload documentation and images is very nice. One thing that bugs me is that attachments open in new windows/tabs and I don't see an option to set how you'd like that to happen. It would be nice to have a document always open in a new window. It would also be great if I could set tickets to open in a new tab instead of new windows but I don't see that as an option either. The workflow overall is pretty good and writing reports is pretty powerful yet simple. The day-to-day ease of use could be improved though. Also, support for high-efficiency HEIC images would be great. JPEG and PNG are good but a lot of newer phones shoot in HEIC by default. It would also save some space with attachments.

Pros:

The ease of entering most information is very nice. The fact that we can route things pretty efficiently is also quite nice because we can route things to another user or group/responsibility easily. Integration options are pretty good and the fact that it supports our Single sign-on method for increased security is a plus.

Cons:

It isn't always as flexible as IT needs it to be. It is not possible to have a requestor and recipient which would be a great help. Many of our users have office managers or assistants that submit work orders/tickets on behalf of the user experiencing an issue or requesting a service. Having the ability to have a requestor and recipient specified in TDX would be awesome. We also don't have an easy way to split tickets as the system is currently implemented. For example, we often have users submit requests to have say five PCs set up but our workflow requires we have one ticket per device for proper tracking. This becomes a greater issue when users need equipment repaired. It may be a bit of a limitation of how we are implementing things but simply copying the work order requires we adjust multiple pieces of content or triggers a workflow for which users need re-approve tickets since there are charges for some services and not others. The ability to clone tickets with the approval status still in place would be a great option for situations where the requestor has already approved the charges for the work on the main ticket. I would also really like to see an option to require data fields at specific steps in the ticket workflow. Currently, this seems very limited. For instance we can require someone to enter their phone number and location but we can't require the technician fill out the solution or resolution method for the ticket when they are resolving/closing tickets.

Gregory
Information Technology Consultant in US
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Our Experience With TeamDynamix

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We rely heavily on the incident management. It has been a very stable platform and functions well for ticketing.

Pros:

The user interface is relatively simple and easy to navigate. It has become more useful with the recent features that have been implemented.

Cons:

Our implementation was back on version 9. The newer versions added more features, but in turn caused a lot of our initial methods of ticketing to become obsolete. Now we have a tremendous amount of "bloat" that needs to be cleaned up.

Clayton
Asst. Dir. Learning Technologies in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

TD from an ed-tech perspective

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Adopting TD has allowed us to mature as an organization.

Pros:

Keeping all communications in a single place on a request is a must. Having a self service portal and knowledge base has helped campus tremendously. I appreciate that it was designed to be flexable and understand the unique needs of higher education.

Cons:

It does not function very well on mobile. If you do not set up custom reports, it is easy to "loose" requests as they change states. It would be nice if there were a way to force ticket tasks. i.e. ticket could not be sent to another person or closed until a task was completed first.

Allen
Director of Information Systems in US
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Streamlined Service Desk

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: It has been a great tool that we have expanded several times to better serve the organization.

Pros:

The ease for users to create tickets has been a big productivity increase for the organization.

Cons:

The inability for a user to change the status of a ticket makes that process more difficult.

Christine
Project manager/business analyst in US
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Team dynamix is a great product

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The tdx folks are great to work with. They respond to tickets I submit typically within an hour of submitting them. Always kind and professional

Pros:

Tdx is flexible and easy to configure. I can almost always provide the functionality my clients and technicians need.

Cons:

It is hard sometimes to find where certain setups are done especially things you don’t do often. Also, it needs the ability to better integrate project tasks and tickets

Stevi
Manager of the Project Management Office in US
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

S Glick Kish Bank Review

4.0 last year

Comments: Capacity planning, time tracking - seems to work for what we need it to, still in the midst of a learning curve though (having just implemented)

Pros:

Ease of use and thorough implementation experience

Cons:

The product requires pretty extensive customization to get up and running. It's great that it's so flexible, but the hours to stand it up were instense.

Amanda
IT Knowledge Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perspective from a Service Desk Team Lead and Knowledge Manager

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: For the most part, I like it because it is easy to use. My only real complaint is it really does need better knowledge integration. However, at least it does have a knowledge component so that is nice. From what I hear, other systems that support the type of integration I would expect to be fully KCS compliant are significantly more expensive.

Pros:

-It was easy to start using with minimum training -I love the reporting tools available and the ability to create customized reports -I love that it has a knowledge base available to offer self-service to our clients, and help our agents reduce time on resolving problems that someone else has already resolved -I love that after a few upgrades, we finally had the option to use nested fields. This allowed us to be able to get all the information we needed from a client from the get go, and only the information that was needed for that request.

Cons:

-The knowledge base does not integrate well with the ticketing process. The knowledge base search on the ticket only shows results for approved articles. I wish that it would show articles of all status - or better yet have a filter on the ticket to choose status if desired. This would allow our agents to see if another person has started working on a similar issue, even if they haven't finished the article yet -Creating knowledge articles from a ticket still requires the agent to view the article later and clean it up. they have to structure the content, add settings, add related articles, etc. It would be nice if this could be done within the workflow of processing the ticket rather than as an after thought. -I wish that it integrated better with some of our other systems. For example, we use a chat software and agents have to copy/paste the information into the ticketing system. Human error causes the information not to be captured 100% all the time. It would be nice if they could just do the chat and it create the ticket automatically. Same with email. -I hate that so many windows open when processing a ticket for one person. When I worked in the Service Desk, it made it very difficult to juggle multiple clients at the same time (which was a requirement of the job).

Justin
IT Support Specialist II in US
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

IT Management Made Simple (Almost To A Fault)

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: When another ticket management software became too pricey and difficult to work with and customize, we switched to TeamDynamix to save money while retaining most features we need.
The user-facing portal was quick and easy to implement, while out of the box features for ITIL-end users was mostly complete, so setup time was minimum.
Day-to-day we are now able to still get just as much work done, even though some workflows have changed.

Pros:

Teamdynamix is a great tool for IT project, service, and incident management. It's clean interface makes it easy for both the end user and technicians to get work done. - Quick to implement with good support - Clean customizable interface for the end user and ITIL views - Easy workflow building - Everything is documented, even automation, so you know all the checks and routing of workflows - Works fast

Cons:

Teamdynamix is very simple but that can work against you if you have more complicated needs in your IT management. - Design is limited, it was tough for us even to get edge-to-edge or "full-bleed" on the web view. So your horizontal space is limited out of the box. - Every ticket shows all notes, checks, and workflow steps in the "work notes." So if you make a work note and then send it through a workflow, you'll have to scroll down through all the workflow checks that were noted before you can get to technician work notes - While it's very customizable, the system does have it's limitations, so you may have to adjust your workflow when handling tickets.

Chris
Desktop Support Specialist Senior in US
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very simple ticketing and asset app, but needs enhancements

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, been very happy with it. We have been able to get our ticketing and asset app up and running and get over 100 people using it in just under 1.5 years. I think if the cons can be addressed and this app be designed to scale better with a larger enterprise environment, this could be a perfect solution.

Pros:

I like how simple it is to roll out and deploy. It's not hard to learn to be an administrator and is very intuitive.

Cons:

There need to be features added, like the ability to have separate "queues" within a single ticketing app. Right now we have almost 20 departments all in one app and everyone can see each other's tickets. Sure everything is separated by the whole ticket type/service/responsible group mapping, but it would be nice to separate it further. Also, there are some inconsistencies, such as how in most of TDX Asset, the devices manufacturer is known as "Vendor," except for when you create a report, in which they refer to this field as "manufacturer." Same thing with Acquisition Date being Acquired in reports, and Location Room being Room in reports only.

Kevin
Classroom Support Technician in US
Education Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

TeamDynamix

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Ease of customization and responsiveness of the company.

Cons:

We would like to have a mobile app designed for technician use. We would like end users to be able to submit assets in incident tickets that aren't assigned to them.

Jason
Technology Support Specialist 2 in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Asset History

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I really appreciate the ease of use of managing assets. There are times an asset might not work well and I've had tickets come in where I could see a history of issues and I can better consult with them and determine if an asset needs to be replaced or not vs just having another technician work on it again and perform the same troubleshooting steps.

Cons:

Most of the issues I've run in to were a user error problem. I've run in to cases where we had a lot of duplicated assets and through some confusion I've deleted the wrong one. Often times I also have to email people outside of the ticketing system because the email from the ticket might be ignored, maybe because of the way the emails are formatted. Still looking in to this though.

Brian
Director of Client Technology and Customer Support in US
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TDX Saved our Service Desk

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: As the implementation admin and current admin, TDX customer support has been amazing. We have used TDX reports to deliver meaningful data to our Six Sigma Green Belts, and have improved our service desk response time drastically.

Pros:

The reporting features are extremely flexible. Not only does it let you create meaningful dashboards, but the reporting will also help determine problem areas you may not have been aware of.

Cons:

At the time of purchase the UX was not overwhelming, but that is being corrected.

Marmar
IT Project Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TeamDynamix

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent. Support is fantastic. All our technicians are happy using the system. Allows us to voice our opinions and address those in the upgrades where possible.

Pros:

Easy to implement. Minimal coding is needed. Powerful. Allows automation.

Cons:

It does not allow creating new custom email notifiacations. The Support Reply email often is confused by the end-users when submitting new requests, thus the emails don't get processed.

Fonta
Apple Support in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TD Features for Endusers

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The fact that you can move your layout arrangement to fit your workflow

Cons:

Creating and assigning "task" features at time were not user friendly

Chris
Technical Support Specialist in US
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Better than other ticketing systems

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The reporting ability of TDX is unmatched. The ability to drill down to specific items/users including custom information is a key factor in our support model.

Cons:

It can be overwhelming for new users if they are given too much access or not properly trained.

Abigail
Help Desk Team Lead in US
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Lots of Features, but Some Difficulty

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I like that we can run ticket reports and create workflows within TDX.

Cons:

Several functions that are important to Help Desk work have been hard to achieve even with our representative's help. We are still not able to get a ticket to automatically change to a "Waiting on technician" or "Waiting on Customer" type of status depending on who has responded last. That is a functionality I miss about our old system.

Fred
Research Analyst in US
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid Product and you get out of it what you put into it

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: timely customer service, better reporting and analysis of work time

Pros:

Fairly rigid, but for most odd needs, we've been able to find a way to make it work in TDX.

Cons:

Small thing but it would be great that if you start entering work time and need to shift weeks that you could. Instead, you are stuck with the current week (default or mistakenly selected).

Josephine
Programmer Anaylist in US
Government Administration, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Team Dynamix works well

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: It was a little confusing in the beginning but they have helped us a great deal.

Pros:

The job gets done and they help. I fine them to be very helpful with all of their tools

Cons:

It was a little confusing in the beginning but they have helped us a great deal.

Thomas
Vice President for IT / CIO in US
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Hight Education-Oriented ITSM and PPM Platform

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The ITSM platform is highly customized toward the needs of Higher Education IT Support organizations. Based on the core higher-education customer base, TD is well aligned with these needs, adjusting product features and functionality based on customer feedback.

Cons:

The project and portfolio management side of the platform could use some improvements to maintain relevance amongst competitors.

Mandy
IT Service Management Analyst in US
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Fantastic Customer Service

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The product is very easy to use and very customizable. The company is very open to customer ideas for future feature enhancements as well.

Cons:

Some security settings within the Admin portal are spread across different locations. I wish the Knowledge Base had view counts and the ability for searches to the KB to become articles to make it more KCS friendly.