15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About When I Work

The easy way to schedule, track time, attendance, and communicate with workers. Save time. Improve accountability. 14-day free trial.

Learn more about When I Work

Pros:

The biggest attraction to this platform was the low price point.

Cons:

Sometimes on the android app its signs you out or completely fails to load. Re-opening the app usually fixes it but it can be frusterating.

When I Work ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.4
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

When I Work has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 1,079 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used When I Work before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,079)

Trish
Trish
Senior Receptionist and Lead Trainer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Veterinary, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great software for teams of all sizes

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've been using this software for 5 years, first as an employee then as an employer. Ease of use for both parties is fantastic and it's well worth paying for to save the time. When I change places of business, if I have a choice, I will choose When I Work again and again.

Pros:

- Shift templates, makes scheduling a lot easier - The ability to copy and paste any shift, even faster than clicking and choosing - Simple to add and remove employees - App is fairly easy to use - Time clock is awesome, easy to use

Cons:

- Looking at the full staff schedule on a particular day can be tedious. - For those making schedules, it's so much easier to do on a computer - In order to have a printed schedule, it downloads the PDF which you then have to print. I wish this printed right off the website.

When I Work Response

5 years ago

Hi Trish, Thank you for taking the time to review When I Work, and your feedback is appreciated! We are always looking for ways to make improvements and appreciate users like you that provide feedback so we can enhance and improve When I Work! Best, Amanda

Marilee
Owner in US
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Game Changer

4.0 last month New

Comments: It's been a huge change in scheduling each week. I used to dread it but no it's so much more manageable. The more I use it the more I learn how to be more efficient with the process. Our team loves it as well. Overall, just a great experience.

Pros:

I love the ability to make changes right from the app on my phone. Also, to have the functionality to make adjustments as needed. The scheduler views and auto-assign feature has been a huge help to our organization. Also, the ability to put a begin and end date on availability requests. We tried 2 other scheduling systems and this one by far has been the most effective and easy to use for administrators and employees.

Cons:

The cost is a little high and by paying on a yearly basis the discount isn't enough to really make a difference for paying in advance.

When I Work Response

last month

Hi Marilee, Shab here from When I Work. We are so delighted that you decided to join us and even more delighted to hear that you are enjoying using When I Work! If you run into any issues or have any questions along the way, we'd love to help! Please submit a ticket with our team at: https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ and we'd be happy to assist you. Thank you for choosing When I Work! Warmly, Shab

Catherine
CEO in US
Printing, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Works Well Enough

3.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall it worked well for our first digital time clock. However as the price increased and the features become less focused on what we needed, we moved on to other programs. For retail or part-time employees this could be very useful.

Pros:

It is easy to sign up for and simple to manage. The cost is very low and usually has a free trial before you buy.

Cons:

The updates kept causing issues. Employees interface on a computer had to consistently be signed in again. The Kiosk feature needs improvement.

When I Work Response

2 months ago

Hi there Catherine, Ky here from the Customer Care team at When I Work. I'm following up to thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review. We're sorry to hear that the updates cause your team issues and as much as we'd love everything to work out for all workplaces, we definitely understand needing to find the best fit for your individual workplace. If you have more specific feedback you'd like to share please feel free to submit a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ We'd love to hear more about your experience! Thank you for trying out When I Work, Catherine! Warm regards, Ky

Felicia
Operations Manager in US
Entertainment, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

LV loves WIW!

5.0 last month New

Comments: WIW is great! I would and have recommended over and over. I've used multiple scheduling software. WIW is hands down the best!

Pros:

I like the web based system. I love the instant changes are communicated. I love the color coding of roles and the budgeting features on the schedule.

Cons:

Reports are confusing. There should be more premade reports to choose from. I HATE that we can't report an absence without removing the employee from the schedule. When reported absent - the employees shift should be removed from the schedule as well as the labor hours.

When I Work Response

last month

Hi Felicia, Shab here from When I Work. We really appreciate your wonderful review! We definitely want to improve your experience, so if there are any specific issues you are encountering or questions you have please reach out to our Customer Care team by submitting a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/. We're here to help! Thank you. Warmly, Shab

Brett
Director in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple and effective

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Easy to set up time shift templates confirmations

Cons:

Sometimes difficult to confirm shifts for all employees

When I Work Response

last month

Hi Brett, Shab here from When I Work. We are delighted by your review - thank you! If there are any specific issues you are encountering or questions you have, please reach out to our Customer Care team by submitting a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/. We're here to help! Thank you for using When I Work. Warmly, Shab

Becky
Customer Service Representative in US
Events Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User Friendly

5.0 last month New

Comments: Great system! As someone who came from Quickbooks, this is a much more in depth database.

Pros:

I love how easy it is to navigate the data and schedule employees and track their time.

Cons:

On the mobile app, you can't find the clock in button, at least with mine you can't.

When I Work Response

last month

Hi Becky, Shab here from When I Work. We're happy to see that you are enjoying the app! If there are any specific issues you are encountering or questions you have please reach out to our Customer Care team by submitting a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/. Thank you. Warmly, Shab

Jackie
Program manager in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Available

5.0 last month New

Pros:

The ease of use and how quickly employees catch on to using it

Cons:

Sometimes if the employees aren't looking they miss the clock in confirmation and that's frustrating to have to fix often.

When I Work Response

last month

Hi Jackie, Shab here from When I Work. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying the ease of use of the app. We'd be happy to take a closer look at any issues you are encountering, if you can please submit a ticket to our team at: https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/. We're here to help! Thank you for using When I Work. Warmly, Shab

Brian
Owner in US
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Critical Business Tool For The win

5.0 last month New

Comments: Solid. We continue to use this product and have not investigated other options.

Pros:

It's quick, easy to use and works for both management and the employee side of our business. We have expanded across all of our locations.

Cons:

I do wish customer service was easier to engage vs a series of links being sent my way.

When I Work Response

last month

Hi there! Thank you for leaving us a 5-star review. We are grateful you mentioned this! Our Customer Care team can be reached directly by submitting a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/.

Kennedi
General manager in US
Restaurants, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Kennedi Leever Review WIW

4.0 last month New

Comments: I enjoy the ease of creating effective schedules however sometimes it is difficult to explain how to use the app.

Pros:

I like the functionality and overall design.

Cons:

I like least the amount of glitching inside the app.

When I Work Response

last month

Hi Kennedi, Shab here from When I Work. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a wonderful review. If there are any specific issues you are encountering or questions you have, please reach out to our Customer Care team by submitting a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/. We're here to help! Thank you for using When I Work. Warmly, Shab

Sara
LVT in US
Veterinary, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Useful, but could use slight tweaks

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

I love that it's easy to see my schedule and my coworkers schedule so I know who I'm working with and which doctors they are assigned to

Cons:

I don't like that if I request off for work for what is usually a 12 hour shift, It only allows me to put 8hrs PTO and I can't submit it for the full day...

When I Work Response

2 months ago

Hello Sara, Sarah here from the Care Team at When I Work. Thank you for taking the time to review the app. We are glad to hear that you enjoy the shift visibility. Regarding the maximum number of hours of PTO that can be taken in a single day, this is a setting that is customized by your employer. They can change this setting on the General Settings page of the account. I would recommend reaching out to them to clarify this setting as well as your company's PTO policiy as this may provide some additional context. Please feel free to let them know that we would be happy to help them with changing this setting if they are having trouble, and they can submit a ticket to our Care Team by visiting https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ or by emailing [email protected] for assistance. Again, we appreciate your time and feedback about When I Work. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly if we can every assist with anything else. Warmly, Sarah

Gregory
Owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

When I Work

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: Good bad simple to use

Pros:

Notifies employees of upcoming schedule, published schedules.

Cons:

Unable to approve time cards if you schedule a manager that is not required to clock in and out

When I Work Response

11 months ago

Hi Gregory, Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback with us. It's great to hear that When I Work is helping to make your teams' and your work lives easier. It may be helpful to note that a timesheet can only be approved if there are existing time entries. If there are persistent issues with approving user timesheets, please reach out at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ so we can further assist. Thanks again for your time! Kindly, Chelo

Allison
Office Manager in US
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Scheduling Made Easy and Quick

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The site is very easy to understand especially for a software that is so robust. I can't tell you the value there, but it is so much appreciated. We have saved a lot of time and miscommunications while using When I work. The attendance notifications help me to keep track of where our team is hour-wise on an individual basis and as a whole. It's nice that I am alerted, one less thing I need to remember to check on. In conjunction with the Forcast reporting, I have a very clear view of the week ahead. The apps are handy, especially from the administration side. I am able to update time clocked hours on the fly, check everyone's schedule and separate out my own, I can even handle time off requests. I haven't ever attempted to schedule through the app, although knowing how intuitive everything is through their online site, I would venture to guess it would be a piece of cake. I know our team members enjoy having their schedules and hours readily available in their pocket as well.

Cons:

We have had a couple issues with clock-ins through the apps. There have been times when it isn't recognizing the location or the punch doesn't make it all the way through. But that's it! I would love if this software could manage our PTO as well, but we haven't found a way to make it work with how our times are calculated.

When I Work Response

5 years ago

Hello Allison, Jaime here from the Customer Care Team at When I Work. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm glad to hear that you find When I Work to be easy to understand and that it has helped your team save time, assist with communication, and help you keep track of when your employees are clocking in/out. I am sorry to hear that your team has been experiencing a few issues clocking in from time to time. Feel free to reach out to us [email protected] at any time and we can dig into this further as to why this is occurring. We'd also like to hear how PTO works for your company to see how we can assist. Thanks again for the review! Take care, Jaime

Elizabeth
Mgr in US
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

MISSING BASIC FUNCTIONS!

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, we feel very let down with the simple but IMPORTANT missing features. Having spent time to setup two other client accounts with WIW, and made two training videos. WASTE OF TIME! But that's the chance you take, right? Vetting doesn't always go well and we found a work around for the PTO issue, but the timesheet submittal issue is a deal breaker. We are not going to setup a side system to verify that everyone has completed their timesheets and track history for employees submitting for review and accuracy. This needs to be a function of the app.

Pros:

Interface is simple and provides an organized structure that is responsive. Inviting and adding employees is automated.

Cons:

Your employees cannot "turn in" or "submit" their timesheets! There is no way to know or have them verify that what they have entered is ready for review. A mgr has to chase down each employee to verify they have finished, or have a side system of notices, or double tracking. Employees cannot enter PTO after the fact, they can only REQUEST PTO for future dates. If a company is using the timesheet function to have employees enter their time, breaks, PTO, etc, there are many limitations that require managers to do additional work. For instance, if an employee has an unexpected family emergency for two days, they cannot request PTO after those days are past. So how does PTO get entered for those days? Somehow the employee has to communicate with the mgr to enter it for them! Very simple but integral functions that are important to a timesheet app that are missing!! When giving feedback to WIW about these missing features, we were told that it was fine for us to move to another app since WIW wasn't a good fit. In other words, they are not open to feedback for improvement.....like it or leave.... We are leaving and taking the two clients we already setup on WIW trials to another platform, along with the 5 other clients that were waiting for the results of our trial run. All of which would have been paid subscriptions for WIW!

When I Work Response

4 years ago

Hi Elizabeth, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and provide your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you did not find When I Work to be a good fit for your team. We do appreciate hearing more about what features are most important to you as we use customer feedback to guide future developments. If you have any other questions or feedback to share, please let us know by submitting a ticket here: https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/. Our Customer Care team would be happy to help. Thank you for your time and thoughts. Best, Kate

Deborah
CEO in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Going down the drain fast

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: Terrible. When I first started with When I Work it was a blessing and helped our business work well. I don't know if they changed management or what but the customer service has gone down hill in the last year or so. We are a staffing agency. We depend on our scheduling service for our money our very heart of our bisiness. They made some changes that have totally made this service obsolete for our company and now - in the middle of the work week in the middle of the work day when all of a sudden the changes became in effect with no warning- we have to stop what we are doing and find another scheduling service. This is after they had a large glitch that made it very difficult for our business and fixed it after 4 weeks. Can't call anyone - not an option.

Pros:

I felt it had good features in the beginning

Cons:

When there is a glitch they don't fix it for like a month. They change features that are detremental and don't give an option to opt out. You can't speak to a person you have to email them with problems. When you do get a hold of someone they do not help you but just say the same thing over and over like: We are working on this at this time. No solutions.

When I Work Response

3 years ago

Hi Deb, We appreciate the detailed review. I am sorry to hear you may have run into some issues with When I Work. When an issue is reported with the product we are not always able to guarantee a timeframe for when a fix would be released because it requires multiple steps and testing to ensure that the solution we implement is successful and does not negatively impact other parts of the app. I am very sorry for the impact any issues have caused to your workflow. The support offered through chat and email ensures that we can address the situation in a timely manner. I appreciate your feedback on this experience. We are always looking for ways to improve. Best, Vicki

Deborah
Owner in US
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The software has made the impossible, possible for scheduling employees

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I think scheduling would not be managed as well without this software.

Pros:

I love that employees can indicate when they are available and when they are not available. I love that they can put in requests for time off which helps me not rely on myself for remembering. I love that there are additional features for rate of wage. I like the attendance and I can see if employees are showing up late or getting into overtime. There is a budget feature which I have not used but think would be very helpful in the future.

Cons:

I wish that I could have the option of excluding some employees when sending a general email through WIW. I also wish that open shifts were always a different color especially when looking at the schedule by position. This would bring my attention to the open shift and alert me that someone is needed. I wish I could publish an employees schedule out for more than 1 week.

When I Work Response

6 years ago

Hi Deborah, Thanks for taking the time to review When I Work. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know When I Work is helping to make your teams¿ and your work lives easier! When sending custom email messages to your employee's you can select which employees you would like to send the email messages to, by clicking on the "To" field and selecting their names from the list. There is not a way to automatically change the colors of the OpenShifts. Instead managers would have to manually edit the OpenShifts and change the colors on the Scheduler page. When it comes to publishing the schedule, you can use the advanced publishing feature to publish the schedule for any desired date range: https://help.wheniwork.com/articles/publishing-the-schedule-computer/#advanced-publishing If you have any questions about When I Work, please check out our help center at https://help.wheniwork.com/ or email our Customer Care team at [email protected]! Thanks, Adrian

earl
President/CEO in US
Restaurants, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Biggby Coffee franchisee with two locations with some employees work at both locations

5.0 last year

Comments: over all we are happy and will be staying with the system. we would much rather help them develop there product the switch to another system. while we went there at the very beginning I think it was close an it has been useful and stable all along.

Pros:

used on phones. multiple site capability. we started with one location with the knowledge that as we gained locations this system could grow with us with out having to buy into a large expensive system before we were ready.

Cons:

the workchat function is still in need of some attention. deleting old chats isn't obvious. Sometimes when writing longer texts the system will stop displaying the text being written after about 200 characters, then the whole text will be displayed when sent. can't edit or delete a posted text. posting pictures can be confusing although they do post. the chat is about 75% there just needs a little buffing up, this is a pretty big part of our administration as to a great degree we manage from offsite.

When I Work Response

last year

Hi there, Raagavy here from the Care Team at When I Work. Thank you for this review and feedback. Please feel free to reach out to us at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ to troubleshoot your Workcht functions if you are still experiencing this. Take care, Raagavy

Miguel
Owner in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Scheduling Resources Has Never Been Easier

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: When I Work is truly a great tool for scheduling. Use it for forecasting as well to determine where you can make the best use of your resources across one or more projects. This tool also helps you understand what your organization is capable of handling. It will definitely save you from scheduling headaches and the potential issues around delivering work when you are better able to have full visibility across all your teams and the projects they are working on. A great stand alone tool, as well as a great integrated tool.

Pros:

When I Work is a simple and truly effective time scheduler for resourcing projects in your organization. You can track across one or more projects, as needed, and identify time availability for the work that needs to get done. This is often one of the most challenging aspects of keeping projects on track and very few project management tools can help you like When I Work can. Unlike the "capacity" view of other applications, When I Work gets down to the most granular details. It allows you to identify when and where a team member will be used, including time-off, breaks, lunches, meetings, etc. You can use these categories to identify how best to allocate their time. The scheduler allows you to see teams based on shift or positions (roles). You can track un-paid breaks and time off, as well as customize schedules and create templates for reuse. You can even create specific shifts for one time or recurring use and maintain notes on each entry. It also provides high level visibility of total individual team member capacity as well as what is scheduled and what has already been used. View your teams across one or more projects or job sites and distribute resources across them all as needed. It offers program-like management of projects and does not restrict you to individual projects, which can become cumbersome when re-allocating time of one team member across two or more projects. When I Work is a great tool for planning, or simply use it in addition to your project management application. Its scheduling features make it a powerful tool that lets you forecast as well, by easily making changes in schedules as needed. You will spend less time manually calculating your resources and where to place them, saving you time and money. Changes to any schedules are easy to see and the responses are easy to manage. When I Work also offers features like task management, which allows you to manage projects of less complexity in the same application. And if you are looking for integration, yes, you can use their library of APIs for that. But, you need to click on the developer link at the footer for more details. Their integration features are not prominently displayed on their website.

Cons:

No cons I could personally find for the application and its use. Integration via APIs are present, but this is more for organizations who have techs who can implement them. I have seen organizations with limited development capabilities due to their areas of expertise, where integrations might pose a small challenge... but this should not necessarily pose as a true con for you.

Helen
Accounts Payable in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

User Friendly, Easy to Use and Understand.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

DASHBOARD : Upon logging in, the dashboard shows the exact total amount of time and money put it by all employees. That way, I can see if there is something out of the ordinary as long as I know the average expense we put on the payroll. AS AN ADMIN/PAYROLL/SUPERVISOR: I can customize who can view and edit the time of the members in the team. Typically, I give part of admin rights to the team leaders or supervisors. This way, it saves my time in editing login errors and focus more on the whole organization. If I want to do a roll call, I can do it at my desk in one glance. It helps me organize the schedule of the whole organization for next week's work operation and post it when it is finalized. No more excuses such as "I didn't know". At the end of payroll period, reporting is a breeze! AS A USER WITH LIMITED ACCESS : As a user, I have limited view of the data. I can only view my own hours. Which it is what I'm supposed to only see. I can watch my hours and limit myself to working more than 40 hours per week. I can send my Personal Time off and wait for the admin's approval. As a contractor employed by the organization, I can post my time availability. I don't have to go back and forth talking and negotiating to the supervisor. I can do this remotely with an app.

Cons:

So far, I have nothing least to say about this software.

When I Work Response

5 years ago

Hi Helen, Thank you for utilizing When I Work and for this awesome review! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know When I Work is helping to save some time and make your teams' and your work lives a little easier. Best, Vicki

Pam
Store Manager in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

When I Work made scheduling and communicating to all employees a breeze!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The ease of the program. It was very user-friendly. Scheduling used to take 2 hours, but it was cut down to 30 minutes with WhenIWork. I love that I could customize the shifts. I especially loved that employees had to acknowledge their shifts. There was no more miscommunication that an employee didn't see their schedule. It's also been a great tool to get staff on the same page. The ability to message everyone at once was awesome. Plus the program tells you which employees have viewed the messages. It also has the option for employees to clock in via the app and you can link it with payroll. Employees are able to submit requests for time-off or vacations. Everything you need is in one place. The customer support team is available immediately through their live chat. They have always been very helpful and friendly. Absolutely a wonderful program!

Cons:

The only thing I would modify is to have the ability to block off certain dates for requests. That way an employee wouldn't be able to request off Black Friday for example.

When I Work Response

6 years ago

Hi there Pam! Thanks for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you find so much value in When I Work! In addition, we do have a way to block off days that you don't want your users to request off. You can create a Schedule Annotation in 'Week View' by clicking the 'Chat Bubble' icon next to the date. You will just need to fill in the details of the annotation and select the box for 'Don't Allow Time Off'. Here is a guide that walks you through that: http://bit.ly/2nzroHJ Feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any questions :) Sincerely, Kara -When I Work Team

Amanda
Supervisor in Canada
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Revolutionized our Scheduling Process

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We used to manually schedule all staff at our child care programs. When a regular staff called in sick or requested vacation we used to have to call, text and email each individual on call or float staff to see who was available and if they could work at the location we needed. When I Work allows us to be a lot more efficient in this process. It also allows for better communication with all staff through features such as work chat, and announcements. The customer service provided from the initial demo to setting up our team was exceptional. Our rep was always available to answer our questions or educate us about new features that might be useful to us. Our rep worked with us to use the features that worked best for us. When I Work also provides ready to go resources that you can send out to teams that include everything from how to set up your account, see open shifts, swap/drop shifts etc.

Pros:

The ability to post open shifts as revolutionized our ability to communicate with and mobilize our on call staff. By posting an open shift On Call and float staff see the shift right away and are able to pick up shifts that fit with their schedules. The ease of posting open shifts has drastically decreased the time spent trying to find staff to fill gaps in schedules. With over 150 employees and 44 locations we are able to post the addresses of each location that allow staff to pull up a map to the site.

Cons:

At this time the product is serving us very well. When I Work continues to add new features and provides detailed descriptions and instructions to these features.

When I Work Response

4 years ago

Hi Amanda, Thank you so much for this detailed and thoughtful review! We love hearing about some of your favorite features and how your team utilizes OpenShifts and new features as they become available!

Lisa
General Manager in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Makes scheduling super easy!

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This product is super straight forward and very user-friendly. It is very easy to use the scheduler as well as keep up with employee hours on the Time Tracker. You can easily edit attendance if your employee forgets to clock out and sending messages to the whole group is super easy with the group message feature. The online based platform is great and the app is the perfect way to post the schedule without having to send out emails of spreadsheets etc. Notifications come straight to your phone regarding scheduling changes, shift swap requests, time off requests, and even when your employees forgot to clock in. Notification alerts are easy to change in settings. There's even a setting to get a reminder 2 hours prior to your shift so in case your schedule is constantly changing, its so easy to keep up with it!

Cons:

The satellite/gps location isn't as good as it can be with regards to clocking in. Sometimes it will not let you clock in due to being "too far away" when you are standing right at your work. The app sometimes freezes up when clocking in/out or takes a while to process a clock in. So then when you press "clock in" again, it'll actually clock you out.

When I Work Response

6 years ago

Hi there Lisa, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are so happy to hear that you and your team finds value in When I Work! If you continue to run into issues with clocking in and out, please feel free to email our Customer Care team at [email protected]. Our team will help get the issues you are experiencing resolved. Thanks again for the review! Hope you have a great day! Sincerely, Kara -When I Work Team

Maria Lenin
Sales/ Appointment Setter in Philippines
Marketing & Advertising, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Manage staffing, scheduling, and attendance of your team for free

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It’s a great application if you handle a large team and you need to keep track of your employees schedule, time clock , and shift staffing. It can handle up to 75 users. We used this application when i joined a part time job in sales. And it was easy to set up both in desktop and mobile. And when i logged in I can see all members of our department in the Team messaging feature. You can easily read and track all conversation within the team. Choosing your shift or schedule was easy. Just add the shift or schedule you chose for up to 2 weeks and the Manager can view your schedule for the day. Time clocking was easy, just press the IN button and break button if you are on break. Its an awesome application and whats good is that its free to sign up and use these features.

Cons:

Well since its free, the features and function are just limited to what the employees clicked on the app but no screenshots of their desktop or other feature that other time applications have that can testify that the logged hours are indeed productive. Unlike Some paid applications that would have integrations to payment system after approval of hours, When I Work does not have other app integrations that would be complete the staffing and accounting system of your business. But so far everything went fine for this application, and moving through features or tabs does not hang and does not have much errors.

When I Work Response

5 years ago

Hi Maria, Thanks for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful and detailed review! I'm glad to hear you're enjoying the free version of When I Work so much! If you are ever interested in any of the paid features, feel free to check them out at wheniwork.com/pricing Best, Terra

Brad
Owner in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

When I have to work, I use "When I Work" to make sure I get to work when I'm Supposed to!!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, I really like this Software. It is very affordable for my small company! It has some features and functionality that it's competitor's just simply did not offer. So I actually use 2 different Time tracking softwares. But my employees use this one. If I was forced to make a choice on either "When I Work" or one of their competitors, I would probably have to choose "When I Work". They really do include everything my small business needs and more when it comes to scheduling and time tracking needs. The Geo fencing and Chat feature within the Software is just great. It really takes a lot of concern away from me. It allows the employees to be a bit more free and manage themselves and still be held accountable so I do not need to micro manage. It's hard to Explain, but just try the Software out and you won't be disappointed!!

Pros:

The functionality and features offered are by far the best thing about this Software. Ease of use, and control of use. Fairly Intuitive, and addresses most all of my needs for my small business!! The Cost! This software is very affordable for a small company.

Cons:

I think that the Customer Support is not up to Par. The only way to get support is via Chat or to submit a Ticket. I have been ignored or neglected in the past, and just needed some help and no one was available and Did not respond either. This was when I first started using the Software and so it left a bit of a bad impression with me... I wish the Reports were not just limited to CSV files. I wish the reports were nice and clean and well presented like some of their competitors offer...

When I Work Response

5 years ago

Hi Brad - Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and share you're feedback with us! I'm so happy to hear that When I Work has met a lot of your business needs for managing your team. I'm sorry to hear that your past experiences with our Care team haven't met your expectations. We currently offer support via live chat and email. These channels allow us to provide support effectively and efficiently for all of our customers at this time. If you are encountering any issues, please don't hesitate to reach out to us so we can help out. We can be reached at [email protected] or via Live Chat as you referenced. Kindly, Adrianne

Timothy
General Manager in US
Recreational Facilities & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great tool for managers and employees!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The ease of navigating the app. Being able to put the scheduling software directly on the phone of the employees is outstanding. We also really enjoy utilizing the messenger tool. Its a great way to speak to everyone in an efficient manner.

Cons:

We dont like the add drop portion of shift scheduling and changes. As a management staff we would like to use this but it has been difficult to create a process do to implement this do to it not requiring a manager approval.

When I Work Response

6 years ago

Hi there Timothy, Thanks for taking the time out of your day to review our app! I am happy to hear that When I Work has made communicating with your team a little easier. I will certainly pass along your feedback about the Swap and Drop feature to our team so we can look into improvements that would make the feature more user-friendly. In the meantime, we do have a way to turn on 'Manager Approval' for Swap and Drop requests. This means that when the Swap and Drop request is made, the request will first be sent to a Manager to approve before the request is sent to other users to pick up. The Account Holder or a Manager can turn on the Manager Approval setting for Swaps and Drops from their 'App Settings' section via the web. They will then need to navigate to the 'Scheduling' section of the App Settings to enable Manager Approval. If you have any questions, you can reach out to our Customer Care Team at [email protected]. Sincerely, Kara -When I Work Team

Michael
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Attractive inteface, serious limitations

2.0 9 years ago

Comments: So much promise, and a very attractive user interface. This might be fine for very small businesses, but has major limitations for tracking actual labour costs vs projected labour costs which is a key aspect of time management. Actual labour costs show up in the dashboard as a pretty line, but if you want to actually know the actual labour cost by day or % for actual sales, forget it. You'll have to export into excel and go back to that old game. If you run a restaurant or bar this feature alone should be a deal killer. Also if you run a company with multiple departments and want deptartment managers to be responsible for their own labour budgets but not view wages company wide...forget it. Supervisors can view wages for their department but not labour budgets! Managers can view wages and labour budgets, but company wide! So this system can work for a small business where one manager is in charge of all schedules but not for larger companies with department managers that shouldn't have access to company wide info. When will they come out with these and other features and fixes? Who knows...all they can say is...maybe, perhaps at some point, we're trying. How about a development timeline that customers can see so that they can tell whether a needed feature is going to be 2 weeks or 2 years, or never? How about a response from the development team about when a new feature might come out? No, just keep hoping. Well sorry, companies can ride on hope. Shiftplanning seems to be in the same price point, with larger feature set.

Pros:

Attractive user interface. Easy to set up and add new shifts and move shifts around. Responsive support.

Cons:

No ability to track actual sales vs budgeted without exporting to a spreadsheet. LImited access for supervisors to labour budget.

When I Work Response

9 years ago

Hi Michael, Thanks so much for the feedback. This is very helpful. You're right about our approach to features. We hold back and focus on the features we can make the very best. We'd rather do 10 things great, than 100 things mediocre. That said, I think I can help in regards to your questions about LABOR BUDGETING. We have a "mode" that you can turn on that will allow you to see labor budget by day compared adjusted projected sales. We also show you labor cost by $ and %. Here is a screenshot that show's how the LABOR BUDGET feature works. See it here: http://i.imgur.com/mhWYAbE.png Is this what you're looking for? If not, how would you change this to meet your needs? Really appreciate the feedback and would love to learn more about how you do labor budgeting in your restaurant. Thanks again! -Chad Halvorson CEO / Founder