Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About VelocityEHS

VelocityEHS ESG|EHS reduces enterprise risk by ensuring hazards are abated and the loop is closed on corrective actions

Learn more about VelocityEHS

Filter reviews (25)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used VelocityEHS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (25)

Daniel J.
Daniel J.
Organic Chemistry PhD Student in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Flawless chemical management

5 3 years ago

Comments: I use this software to keep track of all the hazardous materials in our lab. It's great at organizing your inventory and the accessibility of the GHS SDS is a great advantage.

Pros:

I like the different options to track and manage hazardous chemicals. I can access all the Safety Data Sheets from any device, including my phone! It's efficient and simple. I love the option to customize our labels, it helps us have a new organization in our lab.

Cons:

The regulatory reports were hard to produce at first because of the layout of the software. It is not hard to understand, it just feels a little too out of place.

Verified Reviewer
Risk Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Working with RiskView

4 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience has been enlightening. I am used to having to manage risk registers in excel then use Microsoft Visio to create the bowtie then enter all of that into a corporate reporting system, so much duplication. Now I can enter into RiskView once, then select view as a bowtie or view as a risk register, saves a heap of time and provides a range of reporting options.

Pros:

The best feature is that this is an all in one system, no need to manage risk registers in excel then create a bowtie separately. Enter the information once view individual risk scenarios as a bowtie or view the complete risk register in table format even export to excel. The program has an easy to use interface and navigation is simple. The construction of bowtie risk assessments is easy to follow.

Cons:

Wish we had taken the time to set the software up properly at the beginning. The information you get out is only as good as the information you put in. Only now are we starting to realise the potential of RiskView as we take the time to set the program up properly.

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. If there are any changes you think we can make to help minimise those setup difficulties you identified, I'd love to hear your thoughts.

Peter H.
Senior Consultant in New Zealand
Utilities, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Riskview for process safety

4 2 years ago

Comments: Generally Riskview is well received by our clients (when we run safety assessments for them using Riskview)

Pros:

online with multi-user access data export (eg to pdf or Excel) Bowtie tool is flexible and powerful, good for compiling a wide variety of incident bowties

Cons:

Data export is limited, often the required dataset is not available, a report writer too would help Lacks auto numbering of actions Can be difficult to filter the major incidents identified at the hazard identification stage, and transfer data to the risk assessment phase Riskview doesn't distinguish well between control measure maintenance & test and control measure verification

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. Some great notes to relay to our development team.

Michelle A.
System Improvement Officer in Australia
Mining & Metals, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of risk view

4 2 years ago

Pros:

Technical support is great, the updates are done automatically and good communication when this is done. Consultant support for significant projects is helpful.

Cons:

Printing is difficult. Ability to move nodes and leave them where you put them. Difficult to link one bowtie to another

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. Can you let me know what difficulties you are having with printing and I will look into it. Also, how do you want to link bowties together? The Domino feature supports consequences from one bowtie to be linked to the causes of other bowtie, but is this what you mean?

Tegan D.
HSEQ Manager in Australia
Chemicals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Meercat RiskView for Manufacturing Facility

5 2 years ago

Comments: The overall experience with RiskView has been a positive one. We have actively used the system and applied it to our needs and MeerCat RiskView team have been very supportive of our endeavours.

Pros:

The software has a lot of functionality. The technical support team are readily available and often are very helpful in resolving issues. Software is visually appealing.

Cons:

Functionality can be difficult to understand and apply to individual business needs. Often there is a lack of support materials specific to the issue being encountered.

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. We're glad to hear that our Support Team has been so helpful. We would appreciate your advice on support materials required for common issues, if you would raise a ticket on our Support Site. Thanks again for your feedback.

Bob G.
Process Safety Superintendent in Australia
Chemicals, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Risk Management Made Easy

5 2 years ago

Comments: We wanted the ability to manage all of our risk studies from a centralised location. In particular we wanted the ability to develope Master Risk Studies (ie full plant HAZOPs) and keep them accurate. We can do this now this is a great benefit

Pros:

Captures all of my risk studies, HAZOPs, qual;itative and semi qualitative. Bowties are simple to generate, easy to follow, visually pleasing. The ability to have the the performance monitoring activities linked directly to the risk control measures is good. The flexibility to have studies and assessment look the way I want them is also good

Cons:

Initially the ability to customise the software is problematic because it could do so much that i becomes a little difficult to know where to start. One aspect that I would loike to see improved is the tracking of changes and the automatic updating of risk scenarios from the risk study

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. Some great comments around change tracking and auto-updates, which I will relay to the team. Thanks again for your review.

Susan M.
HSE Director in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Its an affordable solution with good modules/options, but without being overly complex.

4 4 years ago

Comments: (1) Saves a lot of time rolling up incident reporting and injury rates across the corporation, (2) allows excellent standardization of our corporate audits, including scoring, (3) allows racking of action items from multiple sources, (4) love the "To Do" piece on the home page/dashboard

Pros:

We have had success with the incident, audit, compliance, action tracking and metrics modules. Our greatest success was with the audit module - once we built our corporate audit protocol, we were off to the races and we have a standardized process across the entire globe, including for tracking action items to closure. The system give us 90% or more of what we need, and the price is appropriate for our mid-sized company. Looking forward to integration features with MSDSOnline, which our US sites already use.

Cons:

Not always intuitive/user-friendly, especially for folks who don't use it often; e.g., the HSE manager who (fortunately) has only one incident a month, or the supervisor who only goes in to close out an action item or to enter an occasional change in MOC. That said, we are getting better and have accomplished a great deal in the 5 years I've been involved. More "How To" scripts and cheat sheets that walk you through a work flow would be helpful (ideally they would be available on any screen you get "stuck" on.

Ben B.
National Project Controller in New Zealand
Utilities, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Visual risk mapping

4 2 years ago

Comments: Positive. Very engaging for the team to visually identify with where we need to do more work around controls or inversely, controls are adequately in place for managing probability of some causes/ mitigating consequences.

Pros:

Ability to see the effectiveness of controls and controls common to managing other causes

Cons:

If you've got a larger size bowtie, this doesnt lend itself well to printing or pdf printing. Have to wrestle with dimensions and page options, printing/ reprinting.

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. Would you be available to share with us how you would like to print larger bowties and we will move to implement ASAP.

Mark T.
Director EHS in Canada
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very functional, really helped organize, track and recognize our risks.

5 4 years ago

Comments: Consistency of inputs, reporting and analysis functionality.

Pros:

The depth of reporting functionality and the logical nature of reporting for the user, also notifications.

Cons:

The rigidness of the mobile app, this would be an excellent tool to our field staff especially those that are yard based and not normally in the office, hazard ID and near miss reporting would be better, more timely and enhanced.

Yleana C.
Yleana C.
Analista de operaciones in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Analisys Chemical SoftWare EHS

5 3 years ago

Pros:

Excellent software for chemical control taking into account good manufacturing practices and ISO standards It allows to have the information in the cloud, updates towards the day-to-day trends. It also gives you advice and attention. Excellent for environmental control management

Cons:

The reports are somewhat rigid, do not take into account some modification. Also for the inclusion of accidents is a bit cumbersome

Sean E.
Director of Health & Safety in
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Brieser Spiramid Review

5 11 years ago

Comments: This product is very versitile and I would recommend to any size company that is looking to streamline their Safety & Heath Management System.

Pros:

Great Customer Service Experienced staff both IT and Health & Safety

Cons:

I do not have any negative or constructive comments. These folks are true professionals in every aspect of their product they offer.

Maria R.
Process Safety Manager in Australia
Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent with some improvements on the Risk Studies Tool

4 2 years ago

Comments: My experience with the software has always been good, it is visual and easy to use and the customer service has always been excellent, quick and effective.

Pros:

It is easy to customise the software to suit your needs and simplify the options of what you can see if you are not using the program in its all functionality. It is easy to use and easy to capture all the information as there are multiple comment boxes where you can put all the information you want.

Cons:

That you need to know how to use the software at the start if you want to build a management database that is effective and to be able to report the data that you want. It is difficult to get rid of old mistakes once you have added them onto the system, for example if you create a base control by mistake. I think there are some report templates that could be improved, for example the bowtie export tool. I find difficult to use the Risk Studies section too. It is not easy to follow the content when doing an assessment.

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. We're glad to hear that our Support Team has been so helpful. We would welcome further advice on the report templates that you mentioned, if you would raise a ticket on our Support Site. I will also relay to the issue of removing base controls made in error to our Development Team. Thanks again for your feedback.

Kym C.
Kym C.
Acting Regional SHEQ Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Mining & Metals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Riskview comprehensive risk management

5 3 years ago

Comments: Excellent customer service and fantastic subscription service allowing consecutive users.

Pros:

Great dashboard that helps with transparency of risk related data

Cons:

Some areas like action management can be a little difficult to navigate

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. We are currently focusing on the action workflow process to make it easier to navigate and would welcome any feedback/insight you might be able to provide.

Sophie N.
EHS Manager in US
Pharmaceuticals, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

VelocityEHS is missing basic features that other software have, programming bugs, etc.

1 2 years ago

Comments: I'm using it on a daily basis

Pros:

Nothing, even submitting a review is difficult....

Cons:

You can not generate a report You can't see dashboards You can not email from the software Radicicolous design

Alternatives Considered: Benchmark ESG | Gensuite

Reasons for Choosing VelocityEHS: Corporate choise

Reasons for Switching to VelocityEHS: Corporate chose

Tanzi lee K.
S&SR Project Manager in Canada
Oil & Energy, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great experience and I love working with the VelocityEHS team.

5 4 years ago

Comments: A source of truth for all data related to safety and social responsibility.

Pros:

The software is very user-friendly and can be customized to meet our business needs. The software has allowed us to implement solutions to meet many different business needs so that our stakeholders have one system rather then multiple to enter/manage their data.

Cons:

The reports and dashboard webparts are limiting based on the metrics we report on. Corrective actions can not be assigned to multiple stakeholders (ie: same action for different areas).

Rutger K.
Corporate Risk Manager in New Zealand
Utilities, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Not great

3 2 years ago

Comments: We try to use RiskView to manage our critical risks, but the way the application is set up, the slow and complicated navigation through the system, the clunky screen layout and the frequent bugs and slow customer service response times (partially caused by the fact that Perth is 4 hours behind NZ) are making this hard.

Pros:

The fact that I can build bow ties and use the system to provide Annualised Loss Expectancy for all risks.

Cons:

The screen layout is clunky and the system is overly complicated. Browsing between bow ties takes time as you have to go via the root of the menu, reading and printing bow ties is difficult and it contains errors such as garbled up bowties.

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. And apologies as we had no idea how bad your experience has been. Firstly, the latest release has corrected the issue around bowties not being laid out correctly in certain circumstances. Re the other issues around navigation, we would like to organise a screen share with you so that we can better understand your challenges and fix them ASAP. Thanks again for your feedback.

Darren C.
Site coordinator in Australia
Logistics & Supply Chain, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

From a users viewpoint

4 2 years ago

Comments: positive after some issues

Pros:

It is fairly easy to use and we are able to complete the required areas and submit easily

Cons:

For me an ongoing issue in getting riskview to download took a long time to resolve. it is now working correctly. as a user we are not all tec savy

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. If you have time, I'd like to understand the problem you had with downloading so we can look into it.

Verified Reviewer
Safety Advisor in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Review

4 2 years ago

Pros:

Customer Support End result Fit for purpose Added features

Cons:

Complex initial set up Everything else was good

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. If there are any changes you think we can make to help minimise those setup difficulties you identified, I'd love to hear your thoughts.

Breece M.
Lab Tech Senior in US
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Product for Container Tracking and SDS management

5 3 years ago

Comments: This is great for small businesses if you can afford the cost. The issues come in with expanding companies and larger and larger cost. Cost aside it is a great product and would highly recommend to small organizations.

Pros:

This system allows for barcode tracking of containers. The mobile app is very helpful. There are very few SDSs/MSDSs that are not included and definitely boast correctly when they say a large selection.

Cons:

The biggest disadvantage of this system is the price. You are charge not by space but by how many people potential are viewing the inventory. This is cloud base so even view only people are counted. (people without accounts) The IT staff is awesome while the sale associates have little knowledge of the product they are selling, and are not able to answer pricing questions without discussing with supervisors. It seems to be a small cloud run business out a building with a couple of people which is fine because the product is awesome but the service from sales has much to be desired.

Mark T.
Principal Process Engineer in Australia
Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Keeps risk organised manages changes

5 2 years ago

Comments: Using Bowties allows me to address all the contributing factors and focus on where to put additional Individual protection layers
Having an update to HAZOP and LOPA available even with various parallel projects underway allows me to 1) not replicating risks already identified in new small projects
2) creating a review process automatically to improve the detail in the risk assessment each time an existing node is modified, 3) which reduces the need for 5 o 10 year "full plant" HAZOPs

Pros:

Now when making a plant or process change, it is possible to access the database (not some HAZOP filed away somewhere that is not up to date) and know that it is up to date, check quickly if changes are creating new hazards and evaluate the risk consistently

Cons:

It takes some skill to nagivate through the various elements and risk presentation options then to export the changes for individual projects so we use a facilitator at this stage

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you are deriving benefit from our Bowties, HAZOP and LOPA functionality. If there are any improvements you think we can make to help minimise the skills gap you identified, I'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks again for your feedback.

Les V.
Principal Consultant in Australia
Chemicals, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Is you risk control as live as your business

5 2 years ago

Comments: Measure and monitoring of critical risks and risk reduction measures live.

Pros:

The ability for the tool to capture the changes being implemented, and the risk controls implemented to be quickly documented, and measured, and made visual makes the difference.

Cons:

The delegation of the tool to people who may not really understand what they are meant to achieve. That's the implementation by users, rather than the software.

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Les, thank you so much for taking the time to leave this excellent review. We really appreciate your business. Thanks again for your feedback.

Catharina R.
Process Safety Engineer in New Zealand
Chemicals, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

All in one stop shop!

4 2 years ago

Comments: RiskView has helped integrate our hazard identification and risk assessment into one tool - no more loss of information in transcribing. It is simple to understand when showing to people for the first time e.g. in reviews, and its action and verification wizards make closing out items so easy.

Pros:

RiskView has lots of functions that can be used right from the start of the safety assessment for the lifecycle of the facility. It has made safety assessments so much easier with everything in the one tool, as well as action management and control verification. Our clients love the dashboard to clearly see where their risks are, action close out and verification status. Their training and support is of a high quality.

Cons:

As with any software, there is a learning curve to get the configuration optimized for our needs. The reporting tool doesn't provide every option we had looked for, but Meercat have added more features to this in each new version of the software, so I expect this is being resolved.

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. If there are any changes you think we can make to help minimise the learning curve you identified, I'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks again for your feedback.

Grant K.
HSE Manager in Australia
Chemicals, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A flexible, easy to access solution

4 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience has been excellent. Riskview has allowed us the flexibilty to accelerate some components of our program i.e. control verification and the only issues we have had in executing our program vision is entirely on our side. Meerkat have been extremely helpful in providing suggestions and solutions to some of our self inflicted problems e.g. duplicate data, poorly described controls etc.

Pros:

I like most, the easy access provided to our employees on the ground to complete a verification.

Cons:

I like least, that there more functions are not available via the mobile App.

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. Glad to hear that it is meeting your needs. Can you tell us which functionality would you like to use on the mobile app?

Verified Reviewer
Regulatory, Safety & Environment Technician in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Entry Level Software

4 3 years ago

Comments: Great for small businesses looking to make the first step out of spreadsheets. Incident and inspection tracking, monitoring and reporting functions that allow for multiple user inputs.

Pros:

Easy to use modules. Price is very reasonable. One of the lowest I've seen. Velocity EHS allows for flexibility which dashboards and creating forms for one time use.

Cons:

Does not include smart storage. Repopulating a form is not yet possible. No document storage that allows for offline use. No dashboard on the mobile app.

Jeffrey W.
R&D Systems Specialist in US
Mining & Metals, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Riskview is intuitive

4 2 years ago

Pros:

This software is very intuitive to use. It is easy to navigate.

Cons:

I've used this four months and so far I do not have anything I do not like.

Meercat Response

2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback. We're pleased to hear how quickly you've been able to adopt the software. Please feel free to visit our support site to make suggestions on how we can improve your likelihood to recommend, as well as any quality and features/functionality improvements. Thanks again for your feedback.