15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Microsoft SharePoint Reviews

4.3 (5,176) Write a Review!

About Microsoft SharePoint

Content management solution that helps businesses with desktop sharing and viewing, text annotations, instant messaging, and whiteboard

Learn more about Microsoft SharePoint

Pros:

The ease of managing files and folders with high volume data. To be able to manage sharing of files easily with relevant people makes the app good value for money.

Cons:

I also really dislike that when I want to share a "forced copy" of a document to a client, so the client can just make his/her own copy, I am unable to do so.

Microsoft SharePoint ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Microsoft SharePoint has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 5,176 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Microsoft SharePoint before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (5,176)

Norman Jr
Norman Jr
Document Controller and IT Support in Qatar
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft SharePoint Is a Great App.

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: The software has a user-friendly interface and intuitive features that make it easy to navigate and perform tasks.

Pros:

The software has helped me a lot in sharing important documents and submissions easily and can be accessed easily by the end party. Overall, the software is well balanced, and it has great features.

Cons:

The software is excellent and meets most of my needs, but it could improve on some aspects, such as:  The modified folder doesn't have any choices to save my previous settings for each folder.  Another con is that if I open the notebook, there is no option to go back directly to the SharePoint interface. You need to go back to App Launcher and open from there, where it is very inconvenient if you are in a hurry to do things quickly.

Giovanni
Ceo in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best solution for MS Shops

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The service integrates well with MS 365 / Office

Cons:

The GUI is somewhat confusing for basic users. Version control can be tricky when collaborating among many users

Kimberly
Guidance Counselor in US
E-Learning, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Improvements can definitely make this easier to use!

3.0 2 months ago New

Comments: This would be much better if it were more like Google Drive and easy to find things. With so many dropdowns and not knowing where to look, this is not the easiest program software to use.

Pros:

Sharepoint is great to upload documents in 1 place....

Cons:

I do not like that Sharepoint is so confusing to navigate. They can make it so much easier by having folders and showing the entire drive rather than trying to hunt around and find folders or items I may not have access to.

Solomon
Solomon
Training Administrator in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

MY CANDID EXPERIENCE USING MICROSOFT SHAREPOINT

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: It's been effective so far. Although, the time we encountered an issue, the customer service rep was able to get it solved in due time.

Pros:

- Very easy to customize - It manages documents without error

Cons:

- It's a little bit expensive to set up. - It's also sometimes unresponsive when searching

Erica
Assitant PM in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Microsoft SP

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Pretty good product for businesses. Would recommend.

Pros:

It's user friendly and fairly easy to set-up.

Cons:

Outside lile sharing can be problematic at times.

XUAN MAI
Product manager in Germany
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Decent tool, however there is room for improvement

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: acceptable and decent tool, however there is still room for improvement

Pros:

what I like most is that it can work not only on a browser tab but also can be integrated into the Windows Explorer system of Windows OS

Cons:

what I don't really like is how the UI of Microsoft SharePoint on a browser tab is not great

Michael
President in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

SharePoint Works

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: positive, easy to deploy and train users on

Pros:

file structure is intuitive, easy to collaborate with users, easy to manage access

Cons:

the need to use OneDrive to sync data can be a problem, especially with long file names and multiple layers of folders

Lucas
Lucas
Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Still earning trust, though always a little slow to improve

4.0 last month New

Comments: We use this as the backbone for our intranet and I am gradually coming to appreciate its power.

Pros:

SharePoint integrates well with the rest of the Microsoft stack and gives us reasonable assurance of security and redundancy. The list-first method of file management is useful, and I like the modern Lists experience. Teams integration is strong.

Cons:

SharePoint isn't as flexible in its sharing approach--perhaps this is the price to pay for security. For instance, a file or List stored on SharePoint cannot be shared via link without requiring sign-in. In numerous other ways, SharePoint sites are dated and limited.

Virginia
Security Specialist in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Indispensable for project collaboration

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

SharePoint is widely used in my company since it gives you the opportunity of having a common repository where keeping sensitive or reserved files. it's easy to use and helps you customize the public to which give the access to certain files or folders. It helps collaborate to project and to have always the latest updated version of the files without having to exchange it in other ways. You can also customize the color of the folder to be more organized in the environment

Cons:

Its design is quite minimal and sometimes browsing in it, if you have a lot of folders in different places, can be not so immediate.

Rakesk
Rakesk
Data Entry Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Functional Multiple Projects Document Management Tool.

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Reporting and project data management and the content easy management and analytics creation is very simple and effective.

Pros:

Sharing important files and secure storage of different project data through this Microsoft platform is incredible. The document access control and the easy collaboration and management of workflow the package is helpful.

Cons:

No issues detected on this product functionalities and getting started as a beginner is also easy.

Chirag
CITO in US
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great collaboration with SharePoint; don't go overboard

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Since we were strict with our permissions and governance, we had the fortune of having a clean environment. In my past jobs, SharePoint was free for all and it used to be an absolutely disaster. Based on those learnings, we have chosen to use SharePoint only for collaboration. Anything more complex than taking notes, sharing documents, versioning and Visio is moved out of SharePoint. In the first year of use, people became comfortable with our limited and right-sized use of SharePoint. That's our sweet spot and we enjoy SharePoint for collaboration.

Pros:

I love that SharePoint makes collaboration easy. We used to take notes on pen and paper and reconcile our thoughts via emails. Now, we whip up OneNote online and write our notes before the meeting, discuss our thoughts in the meeting and write take-aways in OneNote. Decisioning has become really easy. We also share news across the company using SharePoint. That has worked very well.

Cons:

Workflows and debugging is not the best in SharePoint. We have been bit by gotchas in workflows. They were had to debug. We just gave up on workflows in SharePoint and switched to doing those activities in a different manner.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's the standard, but...

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Upload speeds can be slow, but we've managed to use Sharepoint folders as helpful places to store, transfer, and collaborate on files. Some team members miss the simplicity of dropbox or google drive, but we're managing with Sharepoint.

Pros:

The 365 suite is the standard for many organization with cloud based team work, and it does allow for this in some ways that weren't around a decade ago. It works - you can share files between team members, and that's the key thing.

Cons:

It's not as intuitive as it should be. Maybe I'm too used to other ecosystems, but I find that Microsoft products have too many ways to get to the same common places, and then convoluted ways to get to specific places. In my use and rollout of it, almost every meeting has a few minutes of "where is that file again?" or "Oh, I thought I put it in the main folder, but it must be over here somewhere...". We can usually get it to work, but it's not a seamless experience, and it's Sharepoint feels less like a great tool to use and more like a necessary evil if you're in the 365 world.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

THE online sharing platform

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very, very satisfied as our customers are. Some things could be smoothed out, but overall the experience is positive.

Pros:

Very fine access control and permissions, great interoperability and integration with everything and guest users. Solid cloud platform.

Cons:

The sharing logic sometimes implies less than intuitive rules "a guest user cannot delete the files he uploaded" and so on, upon which you can stumble a bit. Then as with every Microsoft product, the strong capabilities are there, but finding a good online reference or manual to really leaverage them isn't always easy.

Dawn
Assistant to the Executive Director in US
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great value, Somewhat difficult implementation

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love the ability to store documents in different folders, and the idea of sharing folder-related information is appealing if an organization has the time and expertise to be able to use that feature. Even though it's been tough getting all our staff acclimated, it has been a really good, cost-effective product for our non-profit org.

Pros:

This software has a great price for non-profits orgs, and has some pretty incredible, useful features. However, those features are only good if the org's staff is willing to invest time into learning to use them.

Cons:

The emails that are sent to the administrators with upcoming changes are written to an IT audience. For a small organization that may not have the staff with that expertise or experience, they are difficult to understand. I really wish Microsoft emails could be understood by a larger audience.

Pawan
Manager Admin and Facility in India
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

"Streamlining team productivity with Microsoft SharePoint: An in-depth review"

4.0 last year

Comments: Microsoft SharePoint is an incredibly powerful and versatile tool for team collaboration and project management. It provides a central location for the organization and sharing of files, documents, and information, making it easy for team members to access and work on projects together. The task management and email management features are also very helpful in improving productivity and accountability within a team. Additionally, it allows for easy coordination of tasks and projects, making it an efficient tool for managing team workflows. The interface is easy to navigate and the ability to integrate with other third-party software makes it even more versatile. It's a great tool for businesses and organizations of all sizes and across all industries.

Pros:

Microsoft SharePoint is widely used and popular for its ability to improve collaboration and communication within teams. It allows for the organisation and sharing of files, documents and information in a central location, making it easy for team members to access and work on projects together. It also offers task management and email management features which improves productivity and accountability within a team. Additionally, it allows for easy coordination of tasks and projects, making it an efficient tool for managing team workflows.

Cons:

Some users may find that Microsoft SharePoint can be complex and overwhelming to navigate, especially for those who are not familiar with its features and functionality. It also requires a good amount of training to be able to fully utilize its capabilities. Additionally, for those who are not using the enterprise version, the cost may be a concern as it may be considered as expensive. Furthermore, some users may experience difficulties in integrating it with other third-party software.

Nhlanhla
manager in South Africa
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Enhance Workflows with Microsoft SharePoint

4.0 last year

Comments: While SharePoint offers a robust set of features, some users may find certain customisation options and advanced workflows rather complex. Integration with non-Microsoft systems can require additional effort and technical expertise, depending on the specific requirements of existing business processes.

Pros:

Microsoft SharePoint offers impactful collaboration tools, comprehensive content management, and seamless project tracking. While there is a learning curve, the platform provides user-friendly interfaces. Integration with existing processes varies, with smooth integration with Microsoft tools but requiring effort for non-Microsoft systems. SharePoint enhances productivity and teamwork in organisations.

Cons:

While SharePoint is a robust platform, some users may desire more advanced customisation options, improved user interface for certain tasks, and enhanced integration with non-Microsoft systems to further enhance flexibility and ease of use. But I am ok with features available

Bisi
Bisi
Social Media Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Hats Off To Sharepoint

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: SharePoint is a robust platform, but it still lacks certain features that could enhance its functionality. Additionally, better native support for offline access and mobile device optimization could make it more versatile. Advanced task management and project planning tools are also features that some users find lacking, desiring more seamless integration. Lastly, stronger data analytics and reporting capabilities would be valuable for organizations seeking more in-depth insights from their SharePoint data

Pros:

SharePoint offers numerous benefits, including streamlined collaboration, centralized document management, enhanced security, and powerful integration with Microsoft 365 applications. Its ability to facilitate team communication, content sharing, and version control makes it an essential tool for boosting productivity and efficiency in organizations.

Cons:

I would like more intuitive user interfaces and simplified navigation to improve the overall user experience. The absence of intuitive user interfaces and simplified navigation in SharePoint can significantly hinder the user experience. Users may find it challenging to locate and access the features and content they need, leading to frustration and reduced efficiency. The complexity of the platform can result in longer learning curves, requiring more extensive training and support. This lack of user-friendliness can deter adoption and limit the platform's effectiveness in facilitating collaboration and document management.

Bobby
Business Systems Analyst in US
Consumer Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Bobby's Sharepoint Review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It's great that most big companies use Sharepoint as well. We have been able to use Sharepoint with multiple companies with integrating new softwares and products. It has definitely been the best product for working with teams inside and outside of the company.

Pros:

This software is perfect for sharing files throughout the company, especially one like ours that covers multiple states. With Sharepoint, we can work on things as a team without having to be on a call with one another.

Cons:

It took a little bit to get setup and to train everyone how to use it, but once everyone grasped the concept, it hasn't been too bad.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A professional document sharing and collaboration tool

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I've recently been evaluating SharePoint to determine if it is an effective way for our company to share sensitive documents internally and externally with other users involved in our projects. It does seem to be a solid tool for sharing documents securely so we have decided to go with it. So far, so good. I will say that most of the same features are available through Google Docs for free but ultimately, it was the whole package that SharePoint is part of that convinced us to move our workspace into it for the sake of convenience and consistency.

Pros:

This software allows you to share your documents, edit and collaborate with other users anywhere in the world in real time, securely. It's an amazing thing when you can see who is currently viewing and editing a document and everything anyone does is automatically saved and secure within the group it is shared with. SharePoint helps save an incredible amount of time and makes remote meetings much more productive. One of the possible drawbacks is that it seems to be limited to people who also use Sharepoint and live in the Microsoft community of software but I recently learned that you can share with people who don't have Microsoft accounts by providing them with a security key to access the documents. It becomes a two step process for them to accept the document and then get the key to enter but at least it is possible and this makes sure your documents remain secure.

Cons:

It is possible to share with people who aren't part of your network or even Microsoft's network but again, it takes extra steps. Also, there are settings that enable or disable the feature and it is not very clear where the settings are or how to use all the different share options. It took some trial and error, testing and talks with Microsoft support before we were comfortable that it could do what we needed it to do and how to do it. Even after all of that, it is still a bit unclear when certain options should be used but I suppose that could be considered a benefit of the software's flexibility to do the similar things with different methods.

Ross
Ross
Operations Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Media Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Misses The Mark

2.0 6 years ago

Comments: We had hoped that Sharepoint would offer the cloud-to-local sync functionality and performance of Dropbox, but with integration with Office and Excel. In reality, its bugs and inconsistent syncing make it a highly frustrating and a miserable experience for our staff. Dropbox offers some Office and Excel integration and in our testing its simpler and works more consistently. We will be switching to Dropbox Enterprise within the next few months. This is sad, because Sharepoint comes "free" with our Office and Excel licenses, so it just ends up being something we paid for in the bundle price that will sit on the shelf.

Pros:

SharePoint integrates with Office and Excel, which are tools we use regularly. It serves as a cloud-based central file store, and you can open files from it via the web browser or use its sync utility to sync the files locally similar to Dropbox. When it works as intended, it's a passable experience.

Cons:

There are daily failures by Sharepoint that add up to a miserable user experience. The biggest issue is the sync utility. On a daily basis there are problems with local changes syncing back to the cloud, or cloud changes syncing locally. We work on Macs, which I suppose is understandable that our platform wouldn't be as well-supported, but we do pay the same money that Windows users do. The integration with Finder is passabe, but the icons for "synced" or "up-to-date" are not always accurate. Also, the utility that shows you what is syncing is not always accurate. I can save a file locally and watch that utility and I see no sign that my change is syncing to the cloud. On a weekly basis, we have a user open a file from the web browser only to discover that some other user had saved a version of the file that never synced. Also, the web browser file views frequently load folders with empty file lists, you have to refresh to see the files, which is just problems with basic usability.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Share and SharePoint alike

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: As mentioned briefly above, my most recent experience with SharePoint is using lists. This particular list (with a workflow to assign tasks) replaces an Excel spreadsheet of the same information. Using a SharePoint list instead, complete with different views and user alerts, allows relevant people access to the information they need in the right format, without having to duplicate work, send email updates, etc. While SharePoint can be frustrating, it seems evident from the updates that there is a move towards more intuitive use.

Pros:

The recent updates to SharePoint have come a long way in making it more intuitive to use, and providing a better looking user interface. The management of the 'apps' (e.g. document libraries, lists, promoted links) has become much easier of late. It would be useful to see more information added to the apps descriptions, to help users determine which best suits their needs, without having to navigate to the Office help pages and/or third party sites. The best feature for my current use is the ability to create different views of a list, and initiate workflows to assign list items as Tasks for certain users, thereby automating the sharing of the distribution of workload.

Cons:

Some parts of SharePoint's functionality can be baffling - without formal training, it can be very difficult to work out how best to utilise SharePoint's features. When SharePoint is used across a large institution, without consistent training differing practices across different teams can make collaboration hard, as Sites/Pages/Libraries have been set up to function so differently. Inheriting a SharePoint site set up by someone else is tricky, as the logic they used to manage the site can be hard to decipher. Permissions can be hard to manage, particularly as its rarely clear to the requester to whom their requests for access are being sent. This can be frustrating, as it can contradict the 'Share' aspect of SharePoint.

Brandon
Product Manager in US
Consumer Electronics, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Functionality, but Ease of Use Is a Drawback

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Considering both the positives and negatives, I think Sharepoint is a fairly decent tool for what it offers. We went from using exclusively Google's products to Sharepoint, but I still find myself going back to Google Drive, etc. for a good portion of my work. It's not that Sharepoint is explicitly bad by any means--in fact, there are a few things that it does really well. It's just that given the choice between Google's suite and Sharepoint, I find Google's easier to use and less "packed". Using Sharepoint is like shopping for cereal with 50 different choices, whereas using Google is like shopping for cereal with only 5 different choices. It might seem great to have 50 choices on the surface, but you soon find yourself in the middle of the aisle unable to make a decision because of the myriad of potential choices you could make. I'd like to again stress that Sharepoint is not a bad tool. It's just ok. If you're currently using Google's suite of products and are happy with it, I don't see any point in switching to Sharepoint. If you're looking for a wider variety of features than Google's suite, Sharepoint would be a great choice.

Pros:

I like the ability to quickly share, access, and retrieve documents that my team and I use on a weekly basis. It's nice having one place where everything is stored, and that I don't have to go to multiple storage locations to get what I need. The versatility of Sharepoint is also a bright spot. I can upload just about anything, and the storage structure is intuitive enough that I can find pretty much anything I need without a direct link to the file or folder.

Cons:

The UI can be confusing at times. It was confusing at first on how to navigate back to top level folders or storage locations after diving a few levels deep, and figuring out how to access the file options (delete, share, etc.) wasn't clear on the first use. I had to click around a bit in order to find what I needed. Another point on the UI is that while it seems to have gotten a makeover in recent months, there are still holdovers from a time where it seemed that "sleek and modern" was not the order of the day--I'm specifically referring to the Permissions and Access Requests screen that I had to use in order to allow people from other parts of the company access to my team's documentation and files. It can also be somewhat "clunky" and slow when processing requests, but I'm not sure if that is a function of the software itself, it's cloud-based nature, or just my company's internet acting up again. The amount of "fluff" in the feature-set I've come across is substantial. It's nice to have the versatility provided, but I think where Google's suite of products really shines is that it gives you exactly what you need, and no more. With Sharepoint, it seems like there are a multitude of features that are available but won't actively be used. For example, the homepage customization is robust, but if no one is going to use it past a basic level, what's the point of having all the extra tools? It only confuses users and adds to a subtle sense of overwhelm when using the product

Tanner
Training Projects Specialist in US
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

From the Ground Up

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I am very pleased with what I have been able to learn from and create with SharePoint. There are ups and downs, but many of the cons are more preference than necessity.

Pros:

Being someone who has not gone to school or had much formal training in web design, Sharepoint started as a learning experience. We switched from using a WordPress-made site and attempted to recreate the content within SharePoint. At first, this seemed daunting, but I found that I quickly found answers to almost every question I had through the amazing support articles and forums. Through trial and error, I have set up a functioning and organized site for our company that has consolidated our internal content. I am very pleased with the ease of use from both a user and admin perspective. The consistent communication and updates from Microsoft are great.

Cons:

With a current emphasis on branding initiatives, our company sees a growing need to have consistency across all of the platforms we use. Though there are many customization options within SharePoint, there is room for more. Being able to add our own fonts natively on the site or adding more advanced web parts would bring the program up another level. With the out-of-the-box web parts, we can accomplish what is needed to set up the site, but having more options would allow for a much better user experience and a more modern look to the site.

Elizabeth
prosthetist in Nigeria
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Sharepoint Review.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with SharePoint has been incredible, as I have been able to understand various advantages including, yet not restricted to, the capacity to work with team members on various tasks continuously, the capacity to store documents of different formats, and the capacity to share the previously mentioned records straightforwardly from the stage through email easily. I applaud for this help and would without a doubt prescribe others to check it out as well as it is definitely justified.

Pros:

I'm working with SharePoint for all most 2 years, and it's an extraordinary device for managing information. A portion of the incredible component that I like most is my data is put away in the cloud we can undoubtedly get to it from cell phones and workstations or work areas. Also, we can accomplish ongoing work on a similar document utilizing SharePoint. We don't have to send a document on different occasions and revise over and over work on the single record. We incorporate SharePoint with our MS Groups and we can undoubtedly work on a document going on the program and our data is programmed on SharePoint. This is an extraordinary element of SharePoint. The stage is adjustable and exceptionally coordinated. The one significant in addition to point is that you can alter the Microsoft Word/Succeed/PowerPoint documents online without downloading a disconnected duplicate, and the teammates can see changes continuously.

Cons:

With an ongoing accentuation on marking drives, our organization sees a developing need to have consistency across each of the stages we use. However there are numerous customization choices inside SharePoint, we need more. Having the option to add our own textual styles on the website. We can achieve what is expected to set up the website, yet having more choices would take into consideration a greatly improved client experience and a more current shift focus over to the webpage.

Ck
Software Architect in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A robust collaboration platform

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The best thing about Sharepoint is how well it integrates, not just with Microsoft products like Office 365, Teams, AD, OneDrive, etc. but also with 3rd party tools like SAP, Adobe, Jira, etc. I really like the fact that it encourages live collaboration, especially when used with Office 365 to edit the same documents by multiple people. The content management functionality is also top-notch. It's effortless to customize and modify quickly. From the security standpoint, it has all the bells and whistles of other Microsoft products, like MFA, password policies, at rest and in-flight encryptions, etc.

Cons:

As someone who had the misfortune of setting it up, Sharepoint migration and setup can be a daunting and complicated task. You must do extensive research and/or work with Microsoft partners to configure it. Otherwise, you are bound to run into issues, which can be very challenging to troubleshoot. However, if done right, it results in a very powerful tool. The other thing to be mindful of is the cost. Both the licensing and the support can be expensive.