Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.1 /5

About Ascentis

Ascentis offers powerful but easy-to-use, full-suite HCM software for mid-sized, U.S.-based businesses.

Learn more about Ascentis

Showing 47 reviews

Chalice W.
ELECTION JUDGE
Human Resources, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/7/2020

"As an employee, this is great"

Comments: I don't really like the color scheme, so if they ever gave the option to switch to a different color I would take it. That is not a complaint or a problem.

Pros: It's very easy to punch in/out using this system. When I forget to punch, or there's any issue, it's simple to put in a request to my supervisor.

Cons: It took a while to get used to the format, but I am starting to find it enjoyable and easy to use. Beats filling out the antiquated print-outs of time cards and remembering to get them to my boss.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 9/7/2020
Kristy H.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/1/2013

Comments: We brought payroll in-house after outsourcing it for over 15 years. We were tired of having vendors add ridculous fees and for stifling our ability to make back-end changes. In addition, they made numerous mistakes in processing taxes and garnishments. The choice to go with Ascentis was made in large part because of the incredible ability to customize it. The setup of the system (employee records, reporting, back-end) is very logical and easy to navigate. The implementation was fantastic, and who ever says that about changing payroll systems? Our Implementation Manager, Elissa, was extremely knowledgeable, not only about Ascentis, but payroll processes in general. She was incredibly fast at responding to questions and to implementing all the data as it came in. She provided us with an action timeline outline who was responsible for each part along the way. We had our implementation complete and parallel payrolls processed AHEAD of time!! So far we have loved the ability to run off-cycle checks, and payroll has processed without a hitch. The off-cycle paychecks alone have saved us thousands in fees we would have normally paid. We also implemented Employee Self Service for the first time and my employees love having access to all their pay information online. The few times we've needed to access the customer support team they have been incredibly responsive. I would highly recommend Ascentis to anyone!!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/1/2013
Margaret S.
HR Manager
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 7/9/2017

"We switched from an old-fashioned punch clock to this software a couple of years ago"

Pros: It is a vast improvement to our old system and we are generally pleased.
Multiple areas to personalize the system and classify the employees (ability to assign departments, etc.)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 7/9/2017
Nicole S.
Director, HR Training & Support
Hospitality, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/6/2017

"Ascentis Review"

Pros: The easy of use is great. The implementation team is fantastic! Our company experience has been great. We transitioned to several modules that included: HR, Payroll, Time, Recruiting/Onboarding, Performance Management and Learning. Each team lead has been responsive and has provided great support and education thru the process. Support members are extremely knowledgeable and timely.

Cons: Only concern could be working with several other systems vs. single system. We view this as both a pro and con, but the pros out weigh the con's, without a doubt.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/6/2017
Gina T.
Marketing Intern
Philanthropy, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2018

"Clean interface but a bit pricey"

Pros: This software is extremely user friendly with a clean interface and rarely any glitches or slow downs.

Cons: Definitely proven to be a slight bit more costly than others and the customer service team is pretty slow to respond.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2018
Donna M.
Administrative Specialist
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/1/2018

"starting out"

Comments: Our first week using, we've had a few things that needed fixed. Par for the course for anything new. Hope we grow to love it. It's our first HR software.

Pros: Adjusting to this new software, all first-time users. Getting used to the format and all it has to offer.

Cons: Some employees are asking HR to check with Ascentis to see if an app is available for mobile users. Hope so!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 9/1/2018
Lane S.
General Manager
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/7/2015

"Ascentis Cloud based Employee management"

Pros: Its wide area of influence and the ability to integrate HR with Payroll.

Cons: There were a few upgrades that I thought were part of the package.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/7/2015
Chris S.
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 7/3/2019
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 7/3/2019
Gwen H.
HR Generailst
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/3/2021

"Couldn't Work as Affectively without It!"

Comments: Our overall experience with Ascentis has been amazing. We always get the support we need and feel very confident with the software.

Pros: Very easy to use, and user-friendly... we are constantly training new Managers, etc., and everyone seems to understand the system quickly. Provides HR with a consistent, reliable system to work with. Employees appreciate having everything in "one place" (personal info., payroll, benefits, etc.).

Cons: There is nothing we don't like about this software. They have been going through upgrades for quite some time, and actually, listen to customer suggestions. They provide very clear training on the system changes and are more than willing to assist with questions, etc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/3/2021
Ashley J.
HR Manager
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/1/2018

"Good experience, has made my work load easier to handle and saved a lot of time."

Comments: I think this product is great. Our company is uniquely structure and has difficulty with systems fitting our needs. Ascentis gives us control to customize the system to how we need it, the only draw back is understanding the details on how things flow and what changes effect other areas.

Pros: The best part about Ascentis is the versatility and customization. Everything flows together so it cuts down on duplicate work. The reporting is great and I like how we can basically create any report we need.

Cons: Sometimes it is hard to determine what flows to what and how certain things / changes effect other parts of the system. Can be complicated to figure out. Deadlines for Quarterly and annual filings are hard to meet.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/1/2018
Philip D.
Corporate Recruiter
Staffing & Recruiting, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/5/2019

"Great System to Utilize"

Pros: - Splendid performance and options for human capital management
- Offers great educational/professional development options

Cons: - It runs a little slow sometimes but always runs

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/5/2019
Mark W.
CPA
Philanthropy, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/7/2018

"Employee self-service solution works OK but has room to improve"

Pros: All of your employee self-service options, from paycheck and W4 integration to benefits selection are integrated into one self-service solution.

Cons: Timecard and payroll are not integrated directly, thus we must work directly with third parties, which can create problems if there is a problem with payroll.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/7/2018
Dipika R.
University recruiter
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/9/2017

"My experience with Ascentis HR has been one of ease. It is an intuitive software."

Pros: Simple and easy to understand interface
It is very intuitive
Has many usable and functional modules

Cons: Maybe add more modules to help on other areas apart from collecting compensation details
Make section for performance reviews within it

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/9/2017
Sharie H.
Senior HR Generalist
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 1/12/2015

"Ascentis is a great product!"

Pros: Great customer service and the product is very intuitive and easy to use.

Cons: Lack of training classes - it's all online videos.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 1/12/2015
Patricia W.
Legal Services
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/4/2015

"Survey Review"

Comments: Survey Review

Pros: The ease of use; simplicity for employees to understand; timeliness of change submissions

Cons: Nothing comes to mind, calculations are very accurate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/4/2015
Chris C.
Lead Recruiter
Staffing & Recruiting, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/2/2018

"Good for small businesses"

Pros: This product was easy to use and the interface was easy. You can customize a lot of the features you want.

Cons: As your organization grows you will need to put in more work updating a lot of records (as a lot of the software out there)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/2/2018
Connie H.
Director of Marketing Resources Support
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/9/2017

"Long-term user of HR Office"

Comments: We've used HR Office for about 20 years now -- started out with the in-house Access version and have used the .asp version since about 2001/2002.

Pros: I like that it's cloud-based, but most importantly for us, it offers employee self-service for PTO requests and information updates. The key reason we've stayed with this system is that it provides automatic calculations of paid time off based on a formula we set up, automatically changing accruals on employee anniversary dates. It also allows us to easily calculate PTO that will be earned through the end of the fiscal year since we allow staff to schedule (and generally use) PTO in advance of accrual. The calculations take into consideration any accrual rate changes and adjusts out any dates already scheduled. There are other HR solutions with a simpler interface, but this feature was a deal-breaker for us. The PTO request workflows can allow for more than one approval level and sends email alerts. Support has generally been very good in all the years I've used it.

Cons: We only have 30 staff members, but years ago, they implemented a rate based on a minimum of 50 users. We recently implemented the self service to manage PTO requests and overall, we're thrilled to have made that move (we have multi-tiered approvals, which they didn't have in the past). I would really like to have more customizable fields in the request form to prompt the user for key information the supervisor needs to make an approval decision. The interface is sometimes very slow to load for the HR admin (it's a remote desktop configuration). Some of it's not intuitive -- when setting up a new employee and their PTO accrual, we get a prompt that the person is not employed 40 hours (part of our PTO calculation criteria), but rather than the person's hours worked being in the main employee tabs, you have to click out and go to a completely separate area to indicate that they are full time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/9/2017
Heather S.
Project Assistant
Government Administration, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/3/2020

"Ascentis"

Comments: Overall we have implemented the system and we are using it. Ascentis support is helpful.

Pros: The recruiting feature is collects good data, candidates are able to complete the application. The performance reviews module is straight forward and the wizard makes it easy, very easy, for employees to complete their reviews.

Cons: It can be hard to get the system to do what you want! For example, our company uses the Kudos feature all the time. However it takes 3-4 clicks to find the "give kudos" button. I have made several requests to move the button, but I am told it can't be done. Applicants see a plain white page with small font as they use the wizard to click through the application process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 6/3/2020
Angela G.
Chief HR Officer
Management Consulting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2017

"Moving to Ascentis Was the Best Decision We Made for our Organization"

Comments: I have never worked with a vendor who was so organized and supportive of us reaching our goals. There was never a gap when we needed help--calls and emails are always returned promptly. They are a great organization that employees top-notch experts who are there to help you. Wish other organization ran this smoothly.

Pros: The implementation process is so well-planned. You have a team of experts supporting you for each module and they really work with you to learn and get through building. They also hold you accountable for your "homework assignments" to keep you on-track for your go-live date. This was helpful to us because we are so busy but they held our feet to the fire with deadlines (and we met our go-live date with ease). Our employees like the easy to use system and we have received much positive feedback since rolling out.

Cons: Needing to use a Remote Desktop to access the back-end for set up and maintenance is cumbersome. I had to invest in a second monitor to make it easier. The end-user's interface (Employee Self Service) is 100% web-based, so no issues there. This is truly my only complaint. Everything else they said they system could do really is possible. They are honest in what they sell.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2017
Nathaniel E.
Art Director
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/5/2018

"Everything you need under one roof."

Comments: Lots of integrations, great for tons of people, well managed and thoughtful design.

Pros: Employee information, comfortably managed. Useful links provided to everything you need to manage employees, or as an employee, everything you need to keep yourself on track.

Cons: Organization can be cumbersome and annoying, but it's a good problem to have. Slow, clunky load times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/5/2018
Franchesca K.
HR Assistant
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2019

"Good system, Can use some work"

Comments: So far i think it is a good system for the most part but it needa some work definitely

Pros: I think it is a great system to use for the most part, everything is easy to understand once you get used to how things work

Cons: Customer service is not the best. I just feel like if i send an email to support ot takes entirely too long to get assistance. Also any time we want to change something, they charge you for every little thing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2019
Shea S.
Recruiter
Construction, 51-200 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/8/2017

"Great so far"

Pros: Easy implementation, user friendly. Lots of nice features and functions, customizable to our company!

Cons: Feel like implementation could be done more quickly. Other than that I think it is good over all and I would recommend.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 8/8/2017
Vanessa L.
HR Coordinator
Philanthropy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/7/2017

"The best!"

Comments: Highly recommend!

Pros: Very knowledgable, practice and quick .
Able to keep track of hours and benefits without having to wait on HR.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/7/2017
Karen W.
HR Manager
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/6/2017

"small and customizable"

Pros: Customizable, more one-on-one support when you wanted to set up the programs. The initial consult was involved.

Cons: You have to know exactly what you want/need or it gets set up incorrectly. This most likely due to inability of small org to really recommend a best practice, or detail consequences to the business of decisions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/6/2017
Ashley T.
Medical Practice
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/6/2014

"Great software for derm"

Pros: Very user-friendly. Easy to use, and all pertinent material is accessible.

Cons: Minor glitches. Inability to make changes without having to contact support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/6/2014