Zoho People Reviews

4.3 (230) Write a Review!

About Zoho People

Automate your HR process to maximize your most important assetyour people!

Learn more about Zoho People

Pros:

It is very easy to use and keeps our employee database very easily updated. It has almost a fiully employee cycle from employment do dismissal/resignation.

Cons:

The main issue we faced with this software is the API limitation that has a maximum of 200 record per request.

Zoho People ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Zoho People has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 230 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Zoho People before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (230)

Oladipo
Oladipo
Content writer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Broadcast Media, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Zoho People Review

5.0 last year

Comments: Excellent

Pros:

Zoho People is a software that offers complete and total HR services for organizations with all its amazing features such as document management, time-off management, employee database management, payroll integration, employee self-service, etc. Zoho people can be used in the various industries that exist all over the world. Industries like I.T. Media/Advertising, Finance, Healthcare, and Education. This software has a free mobile application that easily works on Android and iOS devices. I so much enjoy using Zoho People as it also offers a free trial version for new users who might want to test its capabilities for just 30 days.

Cons:

No single fault is displayed yet, it performs all its functions excellently.

Ana
Ana
Security Architecture Discipline leader in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The universal human resources management tool can be used for any purpose.

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: Before using Zoho People for vacation scheduling, our HR department struggled to schedule time off. Since starting to use the tool in the early part of the year, it's been easy to schedule time off. Additionally, the approval process used to take a long time; now it's faster and easier. The system makes it easy to see how many vacation days each team member has left. It also shows which team members are out because of sickness and which have already taken vacation days.

Pros:

Huge features list; no other supplier has as many features for the price. Supplies small and large equipment alike, but can be applied to even larger equipment. No weeks of preparation or long workshops are necessary; you can start using this product immediately. Compared to other suppliers, this is a bargain and has no equal.

Cons:

The vast amount of features in the product makes understanding it very difficult. Additionally, many features of the product are controlled by incorporation, which makes it harder to use. Using this tool eliminates the need for HR to manage vacation requests. The system automates not only the recruitment process, but also new employee onboarding.

Kurapati
Kurapati
Senior Human Resources Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Staffing & Recruiting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A simple solution with great features for employee management

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Zoho can be used to manage a large number of employees in a single organisation. We didn't have a system in place to track timesheets. We tried several tools and found one that worked for us. Client project hours make it easier to submit and claim the contract amount more quickly.

Pros:

I like how it was built, especially the simple UI that makes the user so comfortable and easy to use. It displays all of the upcoming holidays and requested time off, providing excellent visibility into the near future scenario. It connects HR with employees and aids in the management of performance and appraisals. It also helps with user or employee information and, in general, the review process.

Cons:

While it is efficient in all aspects, it lacks payroll and referral features that other platforms have. It does not send automatic notifications for unapproved time off, so reminding your approver is a manual process. The rest of the Zoho team's performance is a little more complicated. Rest I believe the tool has excellent UI and UX and is simple to use.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

As usual with ZoHo - A good idea that's not working out

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: (I ran out of room in the "What did i like least) section.. so I'll continue here) The many many times I contacted support they were very slow to respond, unhelpful, and more than a little condescending... Many times I wound up skipping customer support and contacting the sales representative who was trying to get me to use the software (he was financially motivated to help me) Overall - Zoho People is an unrefined, difficult to use and poorly supported piece of software. I wish it weren't so! But.. alas...

Pros:

There's a lot of conceptual things to like about zoho people - as with most Zoho products out there (And believe me.. I have tried just about all of them) There are a lot of great ideas.. Zoho promises the ability to track time, integrate with Zoho projects, track and measure performance, create employee profiles and in short manage every aspect of your employees. As i'll describe below - these things don't actually pan out the way they should. Since I have to pick one thing I like most about this software (That isn't theoretical) I would say it's ability to (almost) easily integrate with other zoho platforms - notably the various messaging systems

Cons:

Zoho People is like every other Zoho software I have ever used - Too good to be true. What makes most of the zoho software so attractive seems to stem from two things... 1. The price is always fantastic 2. The marketing team is clearly miles ahead of the development team (in other words, it looks better than it is) With specific regard to Zoho people.. to start with, you definitely feel like you need to be a developer to set it up. They have pretty extensive support documentation but it's often out of date - and at least a half dozen times I went to the documentation and found it was missing the specific problem/issue or feature I was trying to figure out. Zoho people uses a lot of labels for things that aren't adequately explained which oftens leaves the user thinking that they are doing one thing.. only to find out they aren't. An easy example is that you can have employees, or users - and sometimes employees are users, but not always.. I wish I could tell you more about it but honestly I have no idea what it means. If you manage to get any pieces of this software set up, you will find that the functionality is more limited than planned. It doesn't integrate well with things like projects and it always seems to be lacking that ONE feature you really needed.. (for me, it was project task time tracking)

Muteeba
Muteeba
Recruitment Specialist in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Feedback for Zoho People

5.0 2 months ago

Comments: Overall the product is good, I didn't find any major issues.

Pros:

Zoho People is the complete package for performance management, attendance, leave tracking systems, and generating reports for each and every feature available in the organization.1. You can track and check whether your leave balance is correct.2. You can easily fill forms for reimbursements like internet and attach the proof as well.3. It shows you complete details of your organization and the team members in it. With the help of an organizational tree, you can find the details of the person you are looking for.4. There is a separate feature for announcements. You can easily make announcements throughout the organizations.5. Performance can easily be measured by Zoho. We can set goals, show progress, do self-appraisals and finally get the review from our seniors. It can be really helpful in bridging the gap between expected performance and the actual performance.

Cons:

The only con that I find in this software is that sometimes when you click on check-out, you are still logged in (Maybe because of a technical glitch) and then you have to send your attendance for regularization.Rest everything is good.

Andrew
VP of Operations in US
Nonprofit Organisation Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Too many customizable options make it clunky

4.0 last month New

Comments: When starting off using Zoho People and contacting customer support, I had thought they were a very small start-up company. I was very surprised later to find out that Zoho is a really big company that has a lot of other tools, which made it even more disappointing that their People tool was not as great as what I had hoped.

Pros:

We only use Zoho to do time off/leave management. It's pretty straightforward for time off/leave management and the basic plan makes it very affordable to just do this one thing.

Cons:

There are so many options to customize things that it was overwhelming and make it hard to set things up. We had wanted to do use it for performance management and timesheets, but we weren't able to set it up in a way that was helpful for us even with the customizations and contacting customer support. Customer support also wasn't as helpful/responsive as I would have hoped.

Krunal
Krunal
Web developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

HR stress reliever

5.0 last month New

Comments: I think very good management tool we discover and give too much direct access for count eave and it also give birthday information also so we can do party!, side a joke this is truly awesome product for company

Pros:

We find that we need to track every member leave track indivisibly and after that we heard about zoho then we find that zoho give too much functionality about how team manage and its also track team leave and information also , so we transfer this and this is truly awesome product i think because it is stress reviler for HR also due to have all information in hand

Cons:

Till now we not found any difficulty and not found any issue, i don't want to head down in this

Pia
Human Resources Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Efficient Platform To Manage Employees From Onboarding

5.0 last month New

Comments: It ensures that every detail is taken care of when onboarding new employees. It's easy to keep track of employees' usual work hours. When creating online forums, simple to utilize.

Pros:

This is basically the best suit for managing people. Zoho makes it simple to check in and out, track location and timing, and quickly regularise. It facilitates HR's day-to-day office monitoring.

Cons:

It takes very little time for the right display after check-in. The smartphone app is deficient. It Has no rewards platform

Harshit
Sr. Digital Marketing Manager in India
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ultimate Tool for Employee Tracking & attendence

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Used it day in and out for checking in the office and checking out from the office. Apply leaves from here and get approved using Zoho People.

Cons:

It's a perfect tool and nothing which I don't like about it.

Mansha
proposal specialist in India
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best application for management

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

I really loved the check in and check out feature.It has a lot of interesting features like Attendance,time tracker and much more.

Cons:

There were a few bugs in earlier versions

Adam
Director of Technology Solutions in Canada
Religious Institutions, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great HRMS for the Money

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: great - has been an excellent step into the HRMS world from our spreadsheets and manual processes. Good support, great price, deep feature set.

Pros:

Very reasonable pricing, with a great depth of features. You can customize everything, build out approvals, workflows, automation and even custom script entire new modules. If you use other products in the Zoho Suite, it has incredible integrations as well. It was a huge step up (but small commitment in terms of cost) from our spreadsheets and manual processes.

Cons:

Complicated to set up - but that is expected given the level of customization, flexibility and functionality involved. HR is a complex thing - setting up HR Software to conform with your policies is too. But this software provides great value. Also, shifts feature was a bit lacking for how we operate, but that was not a critical feature need for us.

Anil
Sales Operations Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Time saving destination for HR management.

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

It is a good employee and company management tool. It helps to centralize all the data and make it available to different members of the team. This is very useful for all the workers to be on the same page. It has time tracking features which are useful to track the amount of time a particular project takes. The employees can update their strategies to work better in accordance with the inbuilt instant feedback system. A regular attendance tracking system is also present. This can help to maintain an accurate record of the absentees.

Cons:

It is difficult to use for a small-scale company. The higher versions provide just the same features as the basic versions. Customer service is very slow in responding.

Prajakta
HR Business Partner in India
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great HRMS tool for startups

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall good tool to start your HR functions getting automated for small companies.For larger size companies, this won't be suitable for the end to end HR needs.

Pros:

Zoho People is very user-friendly for the organization who is willing to automate their HR processes for the first time. Onboarding team of Zoho People provides a great 1 to 1 support to make end user comfortable with the functionalities of the software Flexible tool to match your organization's HR processes Covers most of the aspects of HR except payroll

Cons:

Post onboarding of the tool, facing challenges with the support team as every time new engineer will get assigned to you No function available for recruitment management so it won't solve your hiring purpose

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

End to end profile/Employee management

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Zoho and its products have enticed us to try and get all available products, we have tried trial for 6 months and bought at our office for long term use for our CEO. THis has made a real difference in growth of our productivity hence revenue.

Pros:

TImesheets, Personal details storage, attendance, compensations, intricate details of every menu, complete control to admin to change and set up the desired configuration, I can say Zoho are working hard and delivering results. Perfectly working android app, makes it able to use all features on the move. Office restrictions as you need, technical and non-technical. Excel file reports are nearly un-editable, this ensures 100% valid.

Cons:

Sometimes the mobile app goes down or is under development.

Anudeep
UX designer in India
Market Research, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Biometric is far better than Zoho. It is at the entrance so I don't forget to checkin.

2.0 6 years ago

Comments: None.

Pros:

I can't recall any feature that I like the most. And, why do you need 100 characters worth of positive feedback?

Cons:

1. The check in and check out process. I forget to check in and check out, which I think is basic human tendency. You could eliminate that by automatically checking in when I connect to my office's wifi network. You could at least display a notification to checkin. 2. Notifications could also be used to remind me to regularize if my attendance for the previous day is not fulfilled as per my company's minimum 9 hrs. You could at least display an option to regularize when we click on the day which is marked absent/half day in the 'attendance -> views' screen itself (there's a lot of space to add a button). This way, there's no need to go to another page and select the date to regularize.

Veronica
HR Manager in Romania
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good product to start automating processes in your company

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: ok platform for the value.

Pros:

Implementing Zoho People helped us automate some of the processes, such as leave requests, birthday celebrations, annual reviews reminders. I appreciate very much the flexibility of the platform, it is very customisable and supports particularities for various types of companies.

Cons:

I had a tiny language barrier while implementing the platform. I can't think of anything else.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good tool for HR

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall it is a solid piece of software when viewed as a component of the whole Zoho suite. But as a stand alone product it does not deliver all the functionally you hope for.

Pros:

The ability to add new modules and options and create customized sections really makes it easy to organize the entire program to best suit your needs.

Cons:

Some of the customized sections and lists have limited mobility and usage when you try and analyze or work with the data you've entered. Some more options that allow further analysis of data (as in other zoho programs) would be nice.

David
President in US
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Customer Support is non existent

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very, very, very disappointed in the customer support at Zoho People. We tried calling customer support and got a voicemail. I have sent emails and no response. If the interface was more user friendly I would not have to call them. Coming from WIW the customer service was amazing. Now we don't even get a response.

Pros:

Tons of features that some of the other time tracking programs don't have

Cons:

Not the most user friendly. Then on top of that you are lucky to get anyone to respond to customer support inquiries.

Neha
Neha
Associate Recruiter in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

All in one reporting and lerning tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall experience is good. I do get notifications once my request is approved by my manager. I have access to all my company process, news, updates and policy on a single interface through this software.

Pros:

Its highly secured as it need a otp to login into the accounts. The training manuals and learning database could be created so that the employees get the access to these information with ease.

Cons:

I found the interface bit confusing. It could be modified a bit created it more user friendly. Getting tbe list of holidays within the calender was bit difficult and took my time to find it.

Coleen
Senior Director in
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Decent product; Poor customer support

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Nice functionalities, such as intuitive leave calculation by employee start date, forms customization, and field-level permission. Having a mobile app is also very convenient.

Cons:

Having a chat functionality for customer support is a great idea and being able to leave offline messages for support to get back to is also good. However, in general, customer support is very bad: 1. Very slow response time. I was so disappointed after buying the product because after receiving an email to say that a training will be scheduled, no one initiated contact with me after that for almost a week. Even following up myself and even calling the hotline, it took many many days before I was contacted about it. 2. Poor English comprehension of the customer support, especially through verbal communication. A short conversation would have been possible if the original question was properly understood, to which the answer is "No such functionality." 3. Lack of familiarization with the product. Simple questions were not answered on the spot (thru chat) and a lot of verification needs to be done on whether or not a functionality exists. Even after much verification, I was told that it can be done and a call was scheduled to walk me through, but after another lengthy discussion turns out there's no such functionality.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: This has definitely helped in managing my team's personal data and having all their information in one hub.

Pros:

Love the UX and the UI. I also think the timestamp feature is super. I can also set it to a certain geographical area. Awesome!

Cons:

Staff can't edit their personal details themselves. In the event where there are issues like name spelling error and such, they can't be edited individually.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Online HR platform, Tracks leaves, working hours, and employee performance.

5.0 last year

Comments: The overall experience is great with Zoho, haven't used such software before this, so this feels amazing

Pros:

It is easy to use. The UI of the software is amazing. It has a bunch of extraordinary features all in one place.

Cons:

The Announcement feature seems to be underdeveloped, as it looks simple & has a delay after publishing the announcement.

Tabeen
Quality Assurance Auditor in India
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Tool

5.0 8 months ago

Pros:

Employee management, attendance tracking, and performance management are some of the most efficient features in Zoho People. The product is very impactful and its integration with our current business process was very easy.

Cons:

Nothing that I can think of. The tool is extremely easy to use.

Arminstrongue
Bus. Dev in Angola
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Its Perfect Solutions to organaize all your HR needs. We have been work with ZP its really great So

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Automatitions and all the arquecture and the frendly way of self services, i suggest to use Zoho People.

Cons:

The way of driving collaboration on entire team, keeping trucking the overal of all tasks and process

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User-friendly experience

5.0 last year

Pros:

User-friendly dashboard allows you to trace working-time, leaves and activities. It is easy to asks for leaves as well.

Cons:

It is easy where to find things you're looking for, but it could be better and faster the way you prepare timesheet of an entire period.