ServiceMax Review

Reviewed on 15/8/2018
Casey P.
Technical Manager / Software Quality
Medical Devices, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I think ServiceMax was a good choice for us. ServiceMax has by far one of the best customer support systems I have had the pleasure of dealing with. Everyone at ServiceMax seems to be extremely knowledgeable and always happy to help or find the right person to help. Recently we had the need for tracking specific tools used by our Technicians. These Tools require calibration on a specific intervals and using a tool outside of its calibration expiration is a a regulatory concern. Before, this tracking was done manually via a spreadsheet and audits on this process were poor. I was able to build custom objects in Salesforce and then leverage ServiceMax to create the functionality that allows our Service Center to easily manage the Tool Calibration process and improve regulatory compliance. This included automatic notifications when tools were due for calibration, when tools ship to and from our Service Center and the ability for Technicians to view, receive and ship Service tools from the ServiceMax mobile application.

Pros: Overall the software does what its intended to do. It allows our Field Service Technicians better visibility to their workload and a one stop shop for completing service reports, ordering spare parts, visibility for upcoming preventive maintenance visits, a heads up on instrument technical updates, etc. It also provides dispatchers and Service Managers with the information necessary to realign jobs and stay on top of the day to day. From a support standpoint, I find the system is fairly easy to learn and setup. There is a learning curve to getting started but the documentation is great and the SM community is fantastic.

Cons: ServiceMax configuration needs some type of versioning or configuration tracking. It also needs an audit trail of who changed what and when. May times I go behind someone and have issues to find out what they may have changed inside of an SFM. The Preventive Maintenance plans and triggering PM Work Orders process seems like it could be simplified a bit. There seems to be a lot going on and it makes the overall process a little complicated.

Ran the service business quite nicely

Reviewed on 9/12/2018
Greg B.
Salesforce Owner
5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: All in all its a good product. But when it comes to trying to back out or remove the package from Salesforce it's not a straight forward one click uninstall.

Pros: Although a little time consuming, once the set up is complete. The 'SFM' driven process flow means the users will be able to complete the required information not just in a service flow, but any that the business requires. Worked very well with some employees who were forgetting certain entry points or attempting to skip points in the process.

Cons: The only real negative point to Servicemax is the resource hunger. The package when installed in Salesforce seems to take up a large amount t of space, and the custom code delivered in our implementation (by Servicemax or their trusted partners) was not the best commented so it was difficult for a programming novice to amend for code coverage purposes.

Very user friendly and the options for data management is good

Reviewed on 17/7/2018
Lori W.
Service Coordinator
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Much more efficient service data entry and therefore quicker invoicing to the customer. Better access to reporting and real time updating.

Pros: I have always been happy with the great support, they are quick to respond back and always get all issues resolved in a timely manner and are patient when you are not sure what they are wanting you to do. I also like the how efficient it is to enter work orders and make adjustments to them.

Cons: The report designing has been challenging and difficult to get the info I want. When I create a report there are a lot of options to create for however the items available under those options are limited.

Flexible and easy

Reviewed on 12/8/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Project Manager and CRM system manager
Medical Devices, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
2 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: All the service activity is managed on Servicemax , with integration to the ERP.
Both direct employees and partners are reporting only in Servicemax

Pros: The flexibility and ease of configuration of the screens and processes , per the organization logic, is great.
Can make big changes in short time.
Partners (community) platform is great and made a big change in our org.

Cons: The screens time load is slow.
Few basic functions like connectivity to price book, off line mode, need to be improved .
Support is extremely slow , even of urgent issues

ServiceMax has helped us to keep our parts inventory accurate and track our customer experience

Reviewed on 18/7/2018
Ronald C.
Service Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: For us the parts inventory control is hugely important. We also use the system to track our depot and field service calls to insure that our financial department has the information they need to create invoices and for FDA tracking/reporting needs.

Cons: Reports. The way the system is set up it can be hard to impossible to get all of the information we need on one report. Exporting to Excel and reworking the data is not a good option although it can be done.

ServiceMax

Reviewed on 11/2/2017
Desirae S.
Data Quality Professional
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: ServiceMax believes in the importance of getting the right person and the right parts to the right place on time. They have created an innovative suite that helps field service technicians track their van stock, service calls and even parts and instruction manuals on their iPads. It is a great product. They have been purchased by GE. I'm interested to see where they go from here.

Pros: Full-service suite for the field service industry.

Cons: The application is intensely complex.

Best Software for Field Service on Salesforce Ecosystem

Reviewed on 24/10/2016
Naveen V.
10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: ServiceMax is a complete field service solution. They provide iPad, Android Application with real time data and offline capabilities, which is awesome. Every one in the field service department have the latest information right in hands and which is really helpful. They are keep evolving and a great customer listeners. I love the Product they have on Salesforce. And all the applications.

Pros: Mobile Apps.
Real time and Offline capabilities.
Best field service app on Salesforce.

Highly Customizable Has Pros and Cons

Reviewed on 27/5/2018
Anthony P.
Quality Engineer
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money

Pros: Being built on Salesforce platform means there's lots of developers available to customize the solution

Cons: Still using flash for dispatch console limits browser compatibility.
The mobile for laptops application doesn't have clear release compatibility matrix.

Servicemax is one of the top most Field service engineering application which we can install and use

Reviewed on 27/2/2018
Mahesh D.
Tech Arch
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Easy to configure and easy to customize on top of standard behavior. Lot knowledge base is available for use.

Cons: Troubleshooting some of the issues are tough as we will not have their internal managed code and needs to depend on their customer support.

Lots of clicking

Reviewed on 21/7/2017
Andrei H.
Service Manager
Industrial Automation, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Good software. Large learning curve, but once you get through that it's capabilities are large.

Pros: Very powerful. Holds all the information that you could possibly want it to hold. Pretty straight forward.

Cons: Lots of navigating needed. Too much clicking to find what you're looking for. Would be nice to see a list of navigation options per customer.

Field Service is more productive

Reviewed on 7/10/2018
Mazen Z.
Procurement Manager
501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: its a must for servicing field customers in efficient way

Pros: give a strong control on your field activities, parts and services at the end this will make your customers more satisfied

Cons: need some feature improvement to link parts and availability to the user interface and provide an accurate status monitoring

Best tool for Product Contacts and Service

Reviewed on 21/7/2017
Pallavi T.
Developer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Easy to generate Contracts, maintenance of Products and history tractability.
Easy to use and gives Users good experience with Covered Products and Contracts.

Cons: Some of the customization/configurations all locked for the User, have to implement them manually overriding the standard functionality

ServiceMax Suite

Reviewed on 26/3/2015
Lisa W.
Accountant
Consumer Services
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: I like that all our customer contact and service information is in one place. If I need to find something that was communicated to the customer, it's there.

Cons: At times, it can be time consuming when I went to find something specific that is connected to a specific customer especially one that has been with us for a long time and has had a fair amount of work done.

Perfect for our Field Service Engineers

Reviewed on 2/4/2018
Jill M.
Salesforce Businesses Analyst II
Biotechnology, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: So powerful for our Field Service Engineers. Tons of flexibility and they utilize the app all the time.

Cons: If you do not elect to purchase the premium support level package, you get the standard M-F 8-5 pm support. Poses challenges frequently. Be prepared to perform upgrades very routinely. You will fall out of the support window if you are not within a certain number of versions of the current.

Just Had a Great ServiceMax Implementation

Reviewed on 19/11/2014
Kyle H.
Service Director
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money

Comments: We just implemented ServiceMax, finished training, and now we are using it. It has really proved to be a benefit to us. We were about to do a custom enhancement of Salesforce and we are so glad we decided to use the ServiceMax package instead. Although the product is great, what really has helped up is to just have a structure to modify from. We would have had to spend a year in internal meetings deciding what we wanted, rather than starting with the well thought out ServiceMax approach. Another thing I can highly recommend is the ServiceMax professional service group. They were completely competent and a huge value over trying to do the implementation our selves or with independent consultants. Best of all, they were fun to work with and no matter how many surprises came up during the implementation, they had professional approach the problem and often handled our request during the meeting we were discussing the problem. I know my company really appreciates the great work by ServiceMax. If you need more information, I am a reference for ServiceMax but would rather not give out my email to avoid spam.

ServiceMax Tranforms The Field Service Experience

Reviewed on 21/5/2018
Verified Reviewer
Business Architect
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Drive innovation
Improve business process agility
Improve business process outcomes
Improve customer relations/service

Pros: The tool has rich functionality for scheduling, dispathing and managing work order workflows. The mobile and offline application feature is great to drive adoption with the users in the field.

Cons: The timesheet management module was not very robust and had intermittent issues. It can be improved for better user experience.

ServiceMax - primary infrastructure Field Service improvement tool

Reviewed on 4/3/2015
Steven N.
Medical Devices
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Intuitive design, mobile functionality, ease of use, streamline dispatching and service documentation capabilities. The relationship ServiceMax maintains with the customer after implementation.

Cons: The reporting functionality is solid, but it lacks some of the complex calculation capabilities used in Excel. I would like to see the reporting gravitate towards more of a BI solution.

Dispatching Software

Reviewed on 5/12/2016
Jessica G.
Sales and Service Coordinator
Construction, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We used this product for many years as a dispatching software for our roofing company. We used it internally to schedule appts and also to manage our custom objects in Salesforce. Ultimately we outgrew it and were able to find a better, cheaper solution.

Pros: the look of the dispatch console for scheduling

Cons: the cost per user and the limitations of customization

ServiceMax allows me to focus on my business

Reviewed on 5/3/2015
Barry D.
COO
Consumer Services
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
4.5 / 5
Ease of Use
4.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Cloud-based. Backed by salesforce with great support team.

Cons: Price. I would like to see pricing based on the modules used, but no regrets; you get what you pay for.

ServiceMax Orange has been an amazing product for my small business

Reviewed on 3/12/2014
Brian S.
Consumer Services
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The program is completely customizable to match my companies/customers exact needs. After three weeks of training, we were able to deploy it company wide. The program is completely customizable to match my companies/customers exact needs. The support that ServiceMax provides is also amazing. They respond quickly and will walk you through whatever you need step by step. I'd strongly recommend it to anyone in the service business that is looking to streamline their business and get a leg up on the competition.

Cons: We haven't run into any major problems. No complaints!

ServiceMax review

Reviewed on 26/3/2015
Bill D.
CEO
Consumer Services
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
Source: SoftwareAdvice
5/5
Overall
4.5 / 5
Ease of Use
4.5 / 5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: The ease of use, mobile workers have instant access, reporting.

Cons: Dispatch console can be slow and not as user friendly as the rest of the product.

Service Max add on for Salesforce seems to be a Lambrghini, but it takes a multitude of engineers.

Reviewed on 17/5/2017
Frankie A.
O&M Regional Manager
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
3/5
Overall
2 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
3 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Exercise the brain cells and learn a another programming platform.

Pros: It has a plethora of useful gadgets and toys and seems to be a cradle to grave solution once you have the programmers behind you to help.

Cons: Difficult to program, Although it keeps all service tickets, There is no real way to see all the files that are attached to the Work Orders. As a maintenance department, legacy data easily accessible is what is needed for techs when they roll onto a job and equipment.

Excellent Product & Team of Trainers

Reviewed on 24/11/2014
Kathryn H.
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money

Comments: ServiceMax Express is exactly what we needed to gain control of our service department. We were able to customize this application to meet our needs so we can now track our accounts and their equipment in fashion we desire. The training team is fantastic! They took the time and interest to LISTEN to what our needs were and took all the appropriate notes and visuals necessary to implement a design that worked perfectly for what our business needs required. In addition, the onsite training was both In formable and enjoyable, as the team of trainers were very personable and fun to work with. I would highly recommend this product!

Great software for service

Reviewed on 6/10/2016
Becky L.
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The support and professional services staff for ServiceMax is awesome. They are quick to respond to customer needs and don't leave us struggling on our own. When they say they want customer success, they really mean it.

Pros: Support and professional services

Cons: expense

Need a tech? part time work? ServiceMax can help

Reviewed on 7/10/2016
Jay G.
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Comments: They will get you the people or temporary services you will need in order to get your work done. With app and website to choose from thousands of technicians in big cities to small remote areas, you can easily find someone to handle all your tech support or warranty service needs.