15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About ShareFile

The secure file sharing and storage solution built for business. Featuring state-of-the-art, compliance-supporting security.

Learn more about ShareFile

Pros:

If we don't have time and we want to share files, Citrix Sharefiles provides the option to generate a link with all files we have included.

Cons:

The only problem is who so ever uploads the documents that person can't access those file in future and you can't track what you have already shared and what is pending.

ShareFile ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

ShareFile has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 398 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ShareFile before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (398)

Zuhairah
Zuhairah
Marketing Communications Specialist in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Storage hosting is easy with ShareFile

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Sharefile is a cloud-hosted file server at its most basic level that replaces the need to host one within a workplace or business. It also allows you to offer download links to consumers to upload or download specific files, provided you have the proper rights. Because it is hosted offshore, it has the advantage of not requiring the office to operate servers or an Infrastructure rack.

Cons:

You won't be able to view your file structure if your external internet connection goes down. If you're a remote worker trying to connect to a server hosted by your company, this can happen. Another problem might be a lack of bandwidth while uploading/downloading to Sharefile. It was also quite sluggish and complicated when we initially started using it, requiring multiple periods longer to transfer or explore than a self-hosted server. We also have at least 1-2 service interruptions every month, during which users are unable to conduct their job for a while.

Md Hasib Ud Doula
IT Network Coordinator in US
Education Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ShareFile may expand with our company because it is scalable.

5.0 last year

Comments: ShareFile's advantages include being safe, simple to use, scalable, and feature-rich.

Pros:

With features like end-to-end encryption, password protection, and audit trails, ShareFile provides a high level of security for file sharing.Uploading, sharing, and managing files are made simple with ShareFile's user-friendly design and ease of use.File sharing, file syncing, and mobile access are just a few of the capabilities that ShareFile provides.ShareFile offers friendly, round-the-clock customer service.

Cons:

Compared to some other file sharing options, ShareFile doesn't integrate with as many other programs.Because ShareFile does not support offline access, you cannot access your files when you are not online. Occasionally, ShareFile might be sluggish, especially when uploading or downloading big files.

James
Owner in US
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Offshore Customer Service for US Customers is HORRIBLE

1.0 9 months ago

Comments: It was not a good expensive. It was expensive, customer service was horrible, and I was never able to get any information on adding eSignature functionality to my account.

Pros:

ShareFile was somewhat easy for my clients to understand and use, so there wasn't much of a learning curve.

Cons:

Customer service is nonexistent, for all intents and purposes. You're directed to their Help & Support website, which does not usually have the information useful to resolve issues that I ran into, so the next option is a Chat functionality. The Chat is operated by representatives outside of the USA, and replies are canned responses. I just wasted more than 40 minutes cancelling the service, for the second time. I canceled it the first time in June, and was assigned a case number, and sent a confirmation. But then today, my credit card was billed for another annual subscription fee, so I had to follow up, and it has been an excruciatingly painful experience. Also, there is no e-signature functionality built in to ShareFile, so it's useless for tax compliance document management. There is apparently an add-in for RightSignature, but I could never get any information, and only heard through other accountant groups that it is very expensive. ShareFile is expensive enough on its own, so it wasn't worth it to continue, since there are accounant specific applications out there that do a much better job.

Yashovardhan
Yashovardhan
Business Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A Platform for effortless document collaboration

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Security Creating an account and getting started is simple, with an interactive and user-friendly interface. There are many of resources accessible online to learn more about the platform. Citrix enables easy access for both Windows and Mac users. One login for all data, all data is easily accessible and kept in one location, and it can be utilized offline. Easy collaboration because you may add anyone to the folder and send them the necessary document. Workflows and exact control over what information can be shared. Outlook plugin is really useful since it sorts the cluttered email inbox.

Cons:

The Pricing can be more competitive. I found it a bit expensive .

Joey
Staff Engineer in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Secure File Sharing Solution

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to navigate UI. ShareFile has an add-on that integrates into standard Outlook email platform. The add-on allows you to email large files using a secure third party FTP, where sensitive documents can only be accessed by permitted parties. It's easy to set permissions if you allow the document to be shared with others. Works well for cloud sharing documents and files where collaboration is needed. You can set a time duration for files to automatically delete themselves, so that makes managing storage capacity easier.

Cons:

No real cons that I can think of. Perhaps for some people who are not tech savvy might have trouble setting up their personal preferences, but this could apply to any software. I found it easy and intuitive to set up using the web app, mobile app, and the Outlook extension.

Greg
CEO in US
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very versitile and easy to figure out program

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: overall experience was very good and will continue to recommend it where I work and for my clients.

Pros:

The software includes a number of additional features, including secure email, and the ability to easily and affordably add more. I have used this software now at three different companies. Set up was easy and the help center guidance was very good.

Cons:

Set up of folders was a little tedious and slightly cumbersome but was very easy to figure out and add/subtract people as needed.

Mona
Office Manager in US
Law Practice, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Couldn’t be more secure

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This experience was ok, it wasn’t our perfect fit.

Pros:

This is very secure and protected with encryption, perfect for legal or financial information. Electronic signatures are completed with little effort. Citrix ShareFile has an email plugin that sends large files without so many hiccups. The emails are protected on their way. Client portal was well liked.

Cons:

I think it’s too expensive and it needs to be made more simple to understand and use. I think it should be more adaptive so smaller businesses can get what they need without paying for and getting confused with the enterprise settings.

Darren
Strategist in US
Consumer Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent for sensitive data sharing

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Honestly the whole software is easy to use. Importing a file takes less than a minute and I have a link generated to be able to send to specific users or to a broader audience in case the client wants to share on a larger scale. Gives our company confidence that sensitive data is being protected more than sending an attachment via email

Cons:

Minimal thing, but you can't generate a link to share a file if that file is still open on your computer.

Marilyn
Marilyn
Business Owner in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Excellent for sharing file!

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: It is a good application for securing and sharing file. You can easily use it in a way that your life can be at ease.

Pros:

it is convenient for sharing files from one gadget to another. I also like that it has s lot of features I enjoyed.

Cons:

Sometimes it has errors and laggy but it does not affect its overall performance.

Nikita
Nikita
Marketing Manager CRM in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Machinery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Fast, Safe and Reliant Sharetool

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

We use it for all our external files that require signature. Works great for remote workers and locations.

Cons:

The pricing could be simpler as we do not use all the features present. However, there is not much to dislike. May require some time to get used to it.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great as a File Storage System

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We put Sharefile in place without an IT admin or any IT specialists on hand. A group of four of us tackled the transition from our university's shared drive, handling the data migration and the set up of folder structures. Because of this, I'm sure we didn't have all file storage best practices down pat. I don't know that Citrix provides much in way of recommendations for how to structure the data; that said, we only purchased Sharefile rather than a more enterprise-minded solution. I am sure with heftier purchases that there'd be more consultation and interaction. For the several-thousand annual price we pay for a team of around 40, the benefits of Sharefile are immense. As with any system of this size that's cloud-based, there's a bit of a learning curve to get comfortable with the more in-depth features and functionality, but once we learned how certain aspects work, it's been great and has become a core part of how we conduct the sharing of files with clients.

Pros:

Cloud-based and easy to understand web interface is nice. Onboarding and implementation was good and inexpensive. The check-in and check-out file features are nice, as are the abilities to share files with external users. The security and uptime as well as ability to resolve any system-wide outages quickly.

Cons:

Some frustrations in features that I was expecting to be more fully fleshed out, such as workflows or ability to work on documents online without the lag of connecting with 365 and handling some of those handovers.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

I deployed ShareFile on my platform

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

ShareFile is easy to use. The Outlook plug-in allows an easy way for customers to send secure files as well as secure emails with a few short clicks. Users are able to create their own folders and we share folders with our clients. There are templates for subfolders as well as retention periods for files. We are able to send attachments beyond Outlook's size limitations and ShareFile helps scan for potentially dangerous content. You can also control what network users access their ShareFile account. There are a lot of options available if you're looking to protect information that leaves your company.

Cons:

There can be issues with downloading a lot of files at once from the browser. However; Citrix makes a ShareFile desktop app this helps speed up this process. You can turn two factor on, but you have to have each user go to their account and manually enable it. That makes us work with each user in order to enable two factor. The cost can be expensive, but we had reduced rate. Its well worth looking around for a good deal if you decide to implement ShareFile. A small downside is when a user goes to preview a password protected document, they have to download the file because ShareFile's website cannot prompt you for the password.

Justin
Project Manager/Estimator in US
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Works just as we hoped

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This product was a part of a bundle deal we purchased with Podio. Podio was the original program we went after, but when we realized this would be part of the deal, we were very pleased. Before we had been storing files on everyone dropbox and google drive accounts, and it became tedious to keep up with all of the logins and which account the files were on. Now, all of our cloud files are in one place. It is very easy to share large files with other companies or our field crews through sharefile. It also has an addin for outlook that will automatically generate a link if the attachments in the email are too large (user defined size), which is fantastic. It takes out the guessing game of, hmm....I wonder if this email will go through or not.

Cons:

Having used this product for over a year now, at least weekly, I have not had any issues with the software. We did not shop around too much for cloud storage services, however, I cannot speak for certain to the price and features of the competition out there.

Kari
General manager in US
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Sharefile has changed our office flow for the better

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We are a billing service with several clients. We use sharefile to keep track and organize what comes in. Since we can create as many folders as needed, we have a “done” folder within each one and once we’ve completed the work we move it to “done”. That way everyone with access can see that we’ve done the work and the history in that folder. It makes a huge difference to our workflow. We no longer need to organize paper or have to scan documents to keep an electronic copy.

Pros:

I love how the user access is so detailed. Our Providers can upload their information into their own folders and that they can’t see all of our other providers folders. And they aren’t able to delete anything or move it if I don’t want them to. I like that we always have a record of what got uploaded and when so everyone can see it.

Cons:

The site is pretty slow at times, but it could just be the amount of data we have on our dataset. I might be able to clean it up and it would be faster.

John
Planning & Investment Analyst in US
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A step above the rest

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We love ShareFile and trust it entirely with our client's security. We would highly recommend to another prospective user.

Pros:

ShareFile allows us to both send and most importantly receive files in a safe and secure manner. This is instrumental in our practice. We both send and receive data on a weekly basis and this gives our team, our clients and their intermediaries confidence that the sensitive information is being transmitted safely.

Cons:

The web app is a little clunky in terms of some of the actions such as checking out a document or editing a document. Sometimes documents that were intact were showing up as corrupted and had to be forced to reload. Similar issues on the desktop app but nothing insurmountable.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Customizable, Secure, and Beyond Simple

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: We began looking for an enterprise solution to file sharing/signing and was hoping to reduce user burden by having the solution serve a host of functions. We were particularly intrigued by the prospect of secure file collaboration but this feature was not as user friendly and compared to Google docs, there was a lot lacking.
While this prevented widespread implementation, several teams nonetheless still rely on sharefile. The continued acquisitions by Citrix also make one wonder how Sharefile will continue to improve/integrate over the next iterations.

Pros:

Being able to send clients to a personal, branded client folder to access whatever they need (with my customized security settings and email alerts) was amazing. Also a huge fan of the send me a file link that can be embedded into email signature blocks

Cons:

The 2 main shortcomings of the product are what keeps it from being an Enterprise wide solution (though it is nonetheless superb for secure document sharing and signing). I did not test the Outlook plugin, but the Gmail plugin was not nearly as easy as it was made out to be.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sharefile for ease of access to files across networks

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has been great working with Sharefile. We have cut down IT infrastructure costs by a huge amount. We are very happy with the functionality and how we can continue to share files across the wide locations of our organisation.

Pros:

Sharefile was pretty straight forward on the implementation side for our accounting practices network which is located in different offices across the continent. We did not need to hire expensive IT professionals for this task. We did it using our internal resources. Being cloud based we also have not had to invest in any extra infrastructure. It plugs in well with outlook making it much easier for us to send retrieve and send files from Outlook with just a few clicks. Overall for the cost this has been a great solution for us.

Cons:

I have no real cons with this software as it is effective and does what it does. Some of our people on the network complain of speed but this is probably more a problem caused by their internet speed and connection.

Tapan
Tapan
Data Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Sharefile - File sharing made easy

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Sharefile has attempted to enable the users share files larger than what their email servers support without doing anything different than the usual. They can still attach a large file using Sharefile plugin and send the mail to the recipient. It also provides an option to upload the file on their server and then share the link to the file with the intended recipients. It facilitates file access from anywhere and any device for the recipient. Files are always secured by encryption while they are stored in their servers as well as during transit. One can be in complete control of their content and change the access permissions anytime from anywhere.

Cons:

It doesn't provide a feature to add another layer of protection such as 2 Way Authentication which can make the user feel more secure rather than just rely on Sharefile's security expertise. Also, it doesn't have a software client which can be installed on the machines which hampers the ability for all the contents in a folder to be in sync at all the devices.

Charlotte
Business Manager in US
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We've left ShareFile behind

4.0 last year

Comments: I think ShareFile is fine. It's not great and it's so much more expensive than better options out there!

Pros:

It was recommended highly as the industry standard and it does seem secure.

Cons:

The expense and the fact that we constantly had trouble finding our files. I guess that ultimately that's on us, but our new software is so much more user friendly. Our staff and our clients LOVE that we are no longer with ShareFile.

Peter
Clerk in Kenya
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Convenient means to store, share and organize files, it is also great for collaborative tasks

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Sharefile offers a secure way of storing and sharing files within our organization. You can send even the big files fast and securely. You can also send links to specific file to a colleague and this ensures they download the right file.

Pros:

I like that ShareFile allows us to keep all important documents safe and secure. It allows you to upload large files even those that emails cannot send. Only the authorized persons can access files and this makes it safe for sharing crucial/sensitive files. It offers file backup since everything is stored in the cloud. You can access file with any devices at any time from anywhere.

Cons:

The cost is high and the free trial seems too short. The desktop app seems to work well than when you access it with your PC browser. We have not had any major problems with this tool but poor internet coverage might block you from accessing files.

Miguel
IT Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Flexible and easy to use Business Class Secure file sharing

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Benefits include: Secure file sharing and collaboration tool. Support is great and is inclusive in subscription.

Pros:

Collaboration tools built-in are easy to use without need for training. Setup and configuration are simple and intuitive that can get an entire agency running up quickly. Rules and policy are easy to deploy where your able to use tracking tools. Overall a great business class sharing tool with many options that supersede others in the same market space

Cons:

Its not free. You cant compare to google drive or MS onedrive, however Sharefile offers better security and tools. Support is part of what you pay for as they provide full support of system.

Andrei
Andrei
Data Scientist in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Citrix ShareFile simple interface makes it great for file sharing.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Citrix is the best option if you are starting to use file sharing softwares or works in a small company. It has a simple interface that is intuitive for the employees and the clients.

Pros:

The interface is simple and straightforward for all users, making it the best tool to start with.

Cons:

As your company grows it will start to have different needs and the software lack of features makes it hard to keep up.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cream of the crop file sharing

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This is hands down the best file sharing utility out there. Tons of authentication methods including SAML, Windows Integrated and very simple to use. This tool has variants which are geared towards every industry imaginable such as healthcare, finance, legal, etc. The ability to have things such as stub files suing the drive mapper is an excellent way to deliver files without the use of much storage.

Cons:

The price can be a bit steep especially when using cloud based storage. Other than the price, there is really no reason to not use this software, it is excellent in every way.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

User Friendly

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, I enjoy using this platform. I work in e-commerce, specifically in item set up, so I am continuously adding new items to our catalog and communicating with our vendors to get images for me to add to our site. Sharefile makes it super easy to create folders and create shareable links to send to my vendors. It even features a setting where you can get email notifications every time images get uploaded to a specific folder. I add about 200 items per week, and work with dozens of vendors, so anything to keep me organized is helpful.

Pros:

I like that you can create group folders that make it easy to share files within a team. You can also create folders and send shareable links which allows anyone to easily drop and upload images and files. I work in e-commerce and deal with uploading images of products to our site— this software has been vital in my role.

Cons:

Sometimes it takes a while for images to download, but I don’t think that is an issue with the the software specifically.

Jon
Data Services Manager in US
Market Research, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tight Security File Transfer

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: This software assists us in staying compliant with the transfer of PII.

Pros:

This is an easy way to transfer information securely. It has excellent encryption. Sharing files is easy and they have a drive mapper and a plug in for outlook. Administration is very easy with everything being point and click. There are a lot of options depending on the level of security you want. The company even has a HIPAA partitioned server so we can stay compliant

Cons:

The outlook plug in is a little clunky. It does not work on all computers. They just have some bugs to work out.