15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

Kennel Connection Reviews

About Kennel Connection

Kennel Connection is the world's leading pet-care facility management software product, with more than 5,000 customers world wide.

Learn more about Kennel Connection

Pros:

The integration between all the modules listed above is seamless and works amazingly well with multi-locations.

Cons:

Frustrating to move dogs because of steps. Training program very indadequate.

Kennel Connection ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

7.8/10

Kennel Connection has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 75 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Kennel Connection before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (75)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Kennel Connection just got an Upgrade

5.0 last year

Comments: We are using Kennel Connection to deliver the Highest Quality of Pet Care. The features for online booking are making our customer experience amazing and the simplicity for our staff is allowing us to drive profitability.

Pros:

I love that Kennel Connection has a new interface that is easy to use, easy to train staff on and has a ton of awesome features. Text to pay makes it super fast and easy for clients to check-out and prompts them to tip 10%, 20% or 25%. The dashboard tells me everything i need to know about my day and who is arriving, who is going home and any alerts I need to be aware of. And I love that it works on mobile devices.

Cons:

I'm using the Live Access version, but heard that Full Cloud is only a few months away. That's exciting because then we don't have to have any local back-ups.

Melanie
Owner/Operator in US
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review from Playful Paws

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have been with kennel connection since we opened in 2018. All of the support from kennel connection has been wonderful. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] has always been my go to girl. She has always made me feel welcome as a kennel connection client and makes me feel like my thoughts and concerns are important. I have never had to wait for something to be addressed. Everyone involved has always acted quickly to get any issuew resolved. All of the people I have contact with such as [SENSITIVE CONTENT] have been amazing the whole time I have had kennel connection. It has been a wonderful software program.

Pros:

I enjoyed that it had all the required modules for my type of business and that it had a very hands on support system.

Cons:

The pay portion of the software. Not being able to send invoices and have clients pay through live access. It would be nice for owners to see what they owe and for us to see who have open balances on our end.

Ginger
Business owner in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

over priced poor service too many glitches no user friendly below 1 star

1.0 7 years ago

Comments: it is an electronic client card I could have used a free program to do the same

Pros:

The best service I received from this company was when I purchase it. After that I had to make a months in advance appointment to be taught the system. As a groomer who takes appointments by the week I do not know my schedule that far in advance and they want to do business with you in the middle of the work day. run far away and to make things worse I paid too much money thinking I got a complete system. Because I was not trained I use barely any of it plus to make things worse ti has glitches that has errors that just shut the whole thing off. I was promised a lot and did not get it after paying a ridiculous price and to get more I had to pay another more money as a groomer it is not like I have that much money to waste on a company with such poor customer service

Cons:

over priced horrid customer service constant emails to pay them more money I am on here to find a better service for when I move and open my boarding kennel and it will not be kennel connection .

Software Connection Response

7 years ago

Hello Ginger, I'm sorry to hear you had some issues. I'm not sure who you spoke with, but we do not require a training session to be booked months in advance. We do ask customers to make an appointment with the training department so they have a time blocked off for each person they will spend time with, but that can often be booked the next day or within a few days, depending on our schedule and yours. As for training, we also offer many training videos that you can watch in the comfort of your own home or shop when you have time to avoid needing to book specific time with a trainer if you so desire. You purchased the lite version on sale, but it sounds like you may have wanted the standard version which offers more features. If I can assist you with training or anything else, please let me know. Thank you, Jennifer

Christina
President in US
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Software Connection

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Whether I've encountered a technical issue or sought guidance on optimizing their software for my needs, their support team has always been readily accessible. Beyond their commitment to individual users, Software Connection fosters a sense of community among their clientele. Through user forums and webinars, they provide opportunities for users to connect, share insights, and learn from one another. This sense of camaraderie not only enhances the user experience but also underscores Software Connection's dedication to fostering a supportive ecosystem.
In summary, my longstanding relationship with Software Connection has been marked by reliability, innovation, and outstanding customer service. Software Connection stands out as a beacon of reliability and quality in the software indust

Pros:

For over two decades, Software Connection has been a steadfast companion in the realm of digital solutions, and my experience with them has been nothing short of exceptional. As a long-time user spanning more than 22 years, I've witnessed their unwavering commitment to customer satisfaction and continuous improvement firsthand.

Cons:

Over the years, I've witnessed a steady stream of updates and enhancements, each aimed at enhancing functionality and addressing user feedback. This commitment to innovation ensures that their software remains relevant and competitive. However, i don't like the change in self updates, the lose of personal support page and the ability to make change suggestions from the support page. I also don't like that you do not have the ability to enlarge specific screens or edit most reports.

Delaney
Owner in US
Facilities Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kennel Connections is great and easy to use

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It keeps track of the vaccines that you require, your able to customize most of the aspects of it. The price is good for what you get.

Pros:

I like having the availability calendar. Overall it is a very simple and easy software to use.

Cons:

I only wish I was able to get on it on an iPad or tablet

Patricia
Owner in US
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Tops in the Industry!

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: We have been quite happy with Kennel Connection. We offer various levels of boarding, grooming, different types of DayPlay, and some training. Kennel Connection manages and integrates all these modules smoothly and without program error.

Pros:

We chose Kennel Connection a decade ago after previewing several demos from various companies. Everytime we had a question, we called for support. We initially chose Kennel Connection because their support was phenomenal, and far better than their competition. That has not changed, and their customer support is stellar. Kennel Connection is also very intuitive and easy to teach new staff to use.

Cons:

There are some aspects I would like to modify for our individual practices. But I appreciate that building in such flexibility throughout the program would create confusion and a greater learning curve. We make do with some workarounds that function for us.

Amber
General Manager in US
Farming, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy & Painless to use!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Been using KC for over 19 years! Support is ALWAYS QUICK to help & super easy to work with. We would like it to be a bit more online friendly, but overall this IS the best Kennel Software out there. We have tried them ALL, & KC by far suits our HUGE facility the best!

Pros:

Very easy to use interface. Easy to train employees to use quickly. Customer Service & support is EXCELLENT & makes us love KC even more

Cons:

The online portal needs improvement, which I know is in the works, but clients NEED online interaction Please make is SQUARE compatible!! PLEASE!

Jessica
Office Manager in US
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kennel Connection Review

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Kennel Connection has an extensive variety of reports that meet our business needs including various pet reports and financial reports. The new Live Access has given our customers the ability to create their own accounts and conveniently submit reservation requests greatly reducing the number of phone calls we receive.

Cons:

That the version updates were a little complicated

jen
owner in US
Veterinary, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent program

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: excellent program, excellent support team--i have had very few issues but if i do have a problem they are very available/accessible to help me.

Pros:

User friendly, lots of features some of which we don't use, easy to book appts or reservations for boarding.

Cons:

no issues. initially it took some learning to do the sync to QB

Ken
pet boarding in US
Veterinary, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

great customer service

5.0 last month New

Pros:

customer service provide help quickly and efficiently.

Cons:

old update was causing issues and deleting pets from daily schedule.

Crystal
Salon owner in US
, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software but..

3.0 8 years ago

Comments: This was the first software that I ever used in my grooming career at a boarding facility. When I went out on my own and opened a grooming salon I bought this software. Loved it, but decided to try something different a few years later. While I know longer use KC, I often find myself wanting to go back to it. Their client and pet screens set up is superb! Only problem with it is the layout of the appointment book. It is difficult to use at a glance with grooming appointments and multiple groomers. Should look more like an appointment book like most other grooming softwares. Also, it has very MINIMAL, reports for the buck. This is an expensive program and should have more reports and payroll to justify the cost, but I would absolutely give up the reports and switch back if they would change the layout of the appointment tracking. It would also be nice if they would include their online booking in the demo as it's a must have for me and the amount is a lot to spend just to find out it doesn't work for me Been suggesting some of these from them for years. Hopefully someday they will listen.

Pros:

Pet and client screens.

Cons:

Not enough reports, expensive, no payroll, and layout of appointment screen

Software Connection Response

8 years ago

Hi Crystal, We are revamping the program for the next release, Kennel Connection 7.0, and some of the schedules will be changing. We currently have hundreds of reports available in the system now, but if a customer feels a report is missing, we have customer feature request that allows customers to request features and reports. We are adding in over 200 requests to 7.0 for the initial release. Thank you for your review and have a great day!

Denise
Owner in US
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software program!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I had no idea how disorganized we were until we started using this program! It is a daily lifesaver.

Pros:

It's easy to maneuver and not only makes a great database but it generates invaluable reports daily. We are a boarding kennel with both in shop and mobile grooming as well as doggy daycare. It has a package for each yet there are all connected. Very easy to use.

Cons:

I am lucky to have a reliable IT person to help with set up and changes, but KC support is always there is I need.

Scott
Manager in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best boarding and grooming software available!

5.0 last year

Comments: We have increased revenue and decreased time performing daily tasks.

Pros:

The software is easy to use and very reliable. They are constantly adding new features to enhance the product. They listen to customer suggestions and are behind you 100%. They respond quickly and professionally.

Cons:

The online version does not offer all the functionality of the desktop version. I believe they will be adding more soon.

Ellen
CEO in US
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Professionalism at its best!!

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I operate 2 facilities, and we LOVE kc!! My staff finds it easy to use and my clients really like the email confirmations that they receive with shot reminders. I know that having kc has helped give us a professional edge in our community!!

Pros:

Ease of use

Cons:

No cancellation notices sent to clients when reservation changes

Software Connection Response

8 years ago

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your business! I believe the cancellation notice is on the feature request list for the next version, but I will double check and if not, add that for you.

Sadie Anne
Office Manager in US
Facilities Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Thank you

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Scheduling, credit card processing, overall very nice product

Cons:

It crashes often which is frustrating, wish there was more customization capabilities especially on the boarding and daycare windows

Tom
Manager in Canada
Farming, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Outstanding Software Product and Support!!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

This software is very user friendly. Reports , invoicing, data retrieval all very easy. Sales team (Carri) and the support team (Jen and Phil) are excellent in knowledge and finding solutions and making suggestions!

Cons:

Very Satisfied client.

Carol
Owner in US
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Product Great Service

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I have been using this software a few years now with no problems. Kennel Connection is very easy to use and if you can't figure it out the online support will have the answer for you. Give it a try you will love it!!

Pros:

Everything

Software Connection Response

8 years ago

Thank you, Carol. We appreciate your business and we are happy to have you as a customer.

Debbie
Owner in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great Tech Support!

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I'm not the most "techy" person so I always appreciate good tech support. It's probably the number 1 thing I look for when shopping anything having to do with computers/software. After a horrid experience with a well known electronics store, I had to call Kennel Connection's support to straighten out their mess. KC was so patient & thorough! Paul not only addressed my problem, but did updates & connected my 2 computers together. I can now run KC on both computers & they communicate with one another even though I don't have the web version! I have added onto the Boarding module each year (QB's & Training) & they have helped me to get them set up each time. There is also a FB page where you can ask questions that are answered promptly by KC staff. KC keeps our records, schedules, training, & boarding organized. It is pretty customizable. It was a learning curve for me but you can find instructions on their support site and/or YouTube. I especially love the fact that you can choose the web version or owning the software outright with no monthly fees. I believe great customer service is a rare thing these days so I always go out of my way to spread the word when a company excels in that area. Thus my detailed brag about Kennel Connection!

Software Connection Response

8 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind review, Debbie. We value your business and your opinion!

B
Manager in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Sadly Disappointing Over Time

2.0 9 years ago

Comments: At first, I loved this software. After 5 years, not so much. This program is quirky. There are frequent run time errors, features sometimes don't work properly and the inability to switch between open windows without closing them is just annoying. I find myself more often than not, double checking the estimate for boarding multiple dogs at a reduced rate. It simply ignores the parameters of those discounts in the settings. I have begun the search for kennel software again. I believe there is a more cost effective, user friendly software out there somewhere. That being said...we have used this software for five years and upgraded one time. There are some features that are really useful. If you have a caller ID modem the customer record pops up. There is a frequent customer feature to track services. And it makes nice looking gift certificates. I think I may just have a better understanding of what our needs are in software....I don't think Kennel Connection is it.

Software Connection Response

8 years ago

Hello Buffy, Thank you for the review. I hope you have found what you are looking for and wish you the best!

Mike
Owner in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Good product for what the industry has to offer

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: Pros: Intuitive, easy to navigate, nice features, great support with frequent updates.
Con: Not as flexible as I would like. It has all of the features I want, but not all work the way I want. Example: The wait list will not provide a global picture/report of who is on the wait list. I need to go to a particular date to see who is on the wait list at that time. So the wait list look empty until I hit a date that someone is waiting for an opening. I am sure they will fix this some day.
Bottom line for me is it provides what we need and the cons do not interfere with our operations. All of the people are great to work with. I have used other software packages and this one is as good as it gets right now.

Software Connection Response

9 years ago

Thank you for your review, Mike. We do have the waiting list on our suggestions list for possible change in the future.

Nathan
Owner in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Excellent software for my dog business!

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Great feature rich software! The have great customer service and I find there utube tutorial videos very useful along with all of their other resources. When we first bought the software, I found it most efficient to run kc parallel to my former system (binders and reciept books) for a few months until I was fully comfortable with all its functions. That way was no pressure to make the switch.

Software Connection Response

8 years ago

Thank you, Nathan. We are glad to hear the videos are help. We continue to build the video library to help out our customers. Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your business!

Mel
Assistant Manager in Australia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Very user friendly program

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Such an easy detailed program to use. Love the Pet Services where we can enter all of the permanent instructions for the pets which makes it so much quicker for our customers not having to repeat previous instructions. The customer service from Kennel Connection is fantastic and the people are so helpful. There is so much that this program can do!

Software Connection Response

8 years ago

Thank you for your review, Mel. We appreciate your business and we're happy to know our customer service team is doing their job well.

Sean
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Excellent

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I like all the features that we can use to help keep our customers happy. Kennel Connection is very easy to use and helps out our staff in many ways. A sheet of paper and you have all the instructions for each dog for feeding, medication and exercise time. Everything is very organized.

Software Connection Response

8 years ago

Thank you for your review, Sean. We're happy to hear you like all the features of Kennel Connection. Thank you for being a great customer!

Drea
Owner in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great Software

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: I am very happy with the Kennel Connection software. I love the email functions, the Quickbooks DirectLink (which saves bookkeeping time), and being able to take credit cards through the system. But my favorite part of the system is the Customer Service!

Software Connection Response

8 years ago

Thank you, Drea, we appreciate your kind comments. We are happy to hear our team is doing a good job. Thank you for your continued business.

Sarah
President in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great Software and Service

5.0 10 years ago

Comments: I've used KC for 7 years now and have been impressed with the quality and functionality of this product. I use the boarding, daycare, training, grooming and quickbooks modules. All worth the initial purchase cost. No monthly fee!

Software Connection Response

9 years ago

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your review and your business.