15 years helping Irish businesses
choose better software

About Autotask PSA

Customizable solution includes project management, CRM and service desk with integrated time and billing running off the same database.

Learn more about Autotask PSA

Pros:

Autotask has helped us track our technicians' time, our sales process, and to remain ever mindful of our revenue and profitability. Autotask is purpose-built for our industry, and it shows.

Cons:

The integration with Datto RMM did not work properly tickets not being created, sometimes slow and issues when logging in to the portal.

Autotask PSA ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.7/10

Autotask PSA has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 134 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Autotask PSA before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (134)

Kavindu Githsara
Kavindu Githsara
System Specialist in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Inside Scoop on Autotask PSA

5.0 last year

Comments: While Autotask PSA isn't perfect, it has definitely improved the way we manage our projects and services. The centralization of data, scheduling, resource management, and integration capabilities are all great features that have made our lives easier. However, it's important to be prepared for the software's complexity and occasional performance hiccups. If you can navigate these challenges, Autotask PSA can be a valuable tool for managing your professional services.

Pros:

I've been using Autotask PSA for some time now, and I must admit that it has made a difference in how we manage our projects and services. One of the things I appreciate the most is the centralization of all our data in one place. It has made it much easier to track and manage our projects, resources, and clients. The scheduling and resource management features have been a game-changer, helping us allocate the right resources to the right tasks and projects. I also love the integration with other software we use, like our CRM and accounting tools. It has simplified our workflows and made everything more seamless.

Cons:

Despite the benefits, Autotask PSA does have a few downsides. The first thing that comes to mind is the complexity of the software. It took me quite a bit of time to get comfortable with all the features and options. I wish they had more straightforward tutorials or help guides to make it easier for new users. Another issue I've encountered is the occasional slow performance, especially when generating reports or loading large amounts of data. It can be a bit frustrating when you're trying to get work done quickly.

Ravi
Ravi
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Still a good product post acquisition

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Autotask is great, billing processes and automation are top notch, it is a very mature platform.

Pros:

We're able to leverage heavily ticket automation in autotask resulting in a very high revenue per technical employee. Feature rich, integration rich.

Cons:

Reporting is so crappy it's barely usable, much of what we use is either basic dashboard level reporting (which is good) or built outside of autotask.

Isaac
Intern Sales Responsible in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Precicom Review

3.0 10 months ago

Comments: As a PSA system, Autotask is working wonderfully for its ticketing system and contract management.As a user of Autotask PSA, my experience is related to sales only and I don't have many good points for the CRM part. Implantations and Integrations are hard, sales process isn't logical and I even had to patch some intern process to make it work. The CRM moduke should receive more updates to make it simpler and more user friendly.

Pros:

Ticketing system is working woderfully.Contract management is easy to use and can profit largely any organisation.Centralized work environnement is usefull.

Cons:

CRM is not easy to use compare to other solutions on the market.The UI/UX should be improved, because a lot of actions a user has to take doesn't make any sense (for example : a new web page always pops up when clicking on a field, which creates a lot of pop up pages rapidly and reduces effeciency).Live updates should be available when updating an opportunity.Duplicate opportunities should be available in opportunity search. Also, we should be able to modify opportunity fields in the opportunity search page and not always have to open each opportunity separatly.When creating a new opportunity, the sales process and the name of the company should appear first and be the first fields to edit, not the sales category.Not easy to connect to other platforms, such as Microsoft Suite (except Outlook).We should be able to call and write to clients from the CRM and keep all these interactions in history related to the opportunity.In opportunity search view, we should have more available columns, such as To Do (which should also be editable).

Bruce
CTO in US
Computer & Network Security, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Autotask PSA is an ERP for MSPs

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall, we could not run our business without it. We use it for many of the functions that run our business. Everything from contract management, time tracking, tickets and even time off requests. It has integrations with many products that enhance the capabilities and improve our operations.

Pros:

Autotask is at the core of business. We use it for client tickets, scheduling and billing. It integrates quoting opportunities, project management and financials that feed integrations so we can track KPIs for our techs.

Cons:

In our experience, the project management and CRM modules are not great. We use the project management module because its more convenient then using a 3rd party product but its not great. We don't use the CRM because it isn't as good as other products in tracking sales leads and opportunities.

Lachlan
Director in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Business management made easy

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Using PSA for capture issues within our IT business and simply bill time makes for much less overhead time spent.

Pros:

Easily record issues within tickets and allocate time to bill within one page.

Cons:

Layout or UI could use an update, which I believe is on the way. we make do with the reports but using the custom reports can be difficult.

Jeff
Principal in US
Information Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Feature rich - alway improving

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Autotask has been a great product. We have been extremely pleased to see how the Kaseya purchase has positively impacted the product. We continue to see feature rich updates and improvements in the product that make use easier. We are excited about our future and continue to use his platform.

Pros:

Autotask is a feature rich PSA for the manage services business. The dashboard feature is extremely convenient to help in finding information easily. There are a lot of automation capabilities within the product.

Cons:

It can be a little bit clicky as far as driving into menus to get to desired pieces of information. Once you understand how the system works, it does become easier to implement and change. I would invest resources and time into understanding how it’s all put together, so you can take full advantage of the features. I also highly recommend using their consulting services to onboard this product. It’s too big of an investment to wing it.

Simon
Director in UK
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Autotask a sledge hammer for a nut?

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall its doing the job so we continue to use it. It is expensive for what it is but if its not broke don't fix it.

Pros:

Its thorough and excellent when working with multiple organisations.

Cons:

Its very convoluted. This means its very flexible for sure but it can also be a bit of a mine field.

Elizabeth
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great for Large Teams

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall I enjoyed using the Autotask PSA for most things, but it was not a good fit for the team I was working with.

Pros:

Autotask PSA is a great option for large teams. It is fully customizable, offers a wide array of features, and has an excellent, hands-on onboarding process. It is a great option for large teams.

Cons:

This software required quite a bit of manual set up for tasks I needed -- things such as automatically sending emails to clients on ticket updates, changing fields from required to not required, etc. For a very small team, onboarding was a bit onerous.

Ben
Director in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Autotask Tops CW and other Ticket Systems

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Autotask is a clean solution to IT ticketing needs that can otherwise be a complete mess to sort through.

Pros:

Autotask is highly customizable and sorts everything into queues easily. AT tracks more aspects of the business than other ticketing platforms I've used.

Cons:

Autotask has an intricate back-end with many rules and settings... sometimes the rules can overlap each other and it's not always clear where to find the solution if a taskfire is misfiring or failing.

Ewan
Senior Solutions Consultant in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A decent ticketing tool but lagging behind the competition

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

We have used Autotask PSA since before I joined the company in July 2015. We are well used to it. It's been fantastic for managing service desk requests and incidents. We've also extensively used the TaskFire option to allow customers to manage tickets natively. This ability to collaborate has been very valuable and lead to reduced wait times and ticket-ownership confusion.

Cons:

We have been looking for other ticketing solutions to gauge the features we have. In every single tool we've found that they all mirror what Autotask can do. There's nothing special that sets Autotask apart. In fact we ended up using IT Glue for knowledge management and password management in 2017 because the inbuilt tools in Autotask were so bad. We're currently in the process of moving to ServiceNow.

Katie
Director of Operations in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A PSA to handle everything from ticketing to invoicing; Extremely customizable

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Autotask PSA, from implementation to daily use, has been very favorable. I would highly recommend this software due to its versatility and ability to be customized. Our company was not taking full advantage of all modules (contracts and invoicing, specifically), which was detrimental to our overall efficiency. My recommendation would be that anyone considering this software look to implement all facets of the software for the best result.
Autotask PSA has an extensive FAQ library, webinars (live and recorded) and tutorials for new Administrators and users. Customer support was also very helpful when we had specific questions or issues, and there is a handy scheduling feature for technical support chats.

Pros:

Autotask PSA is an extremely customizable tool. Different departments can have customized ticket categories, including Issue Types, priorities, resources, ticket status, due dates, workflows and notifications (and more) to fire off based on the rules associated with each category. The updates to the software in the last 18 months have improved the user experience. For example, when viewing a ticket, all pertinent information is available on the screen, from the ticket details to the activity history and even the company and contact information. It is simple to add "User Defined Fields" which are custom fields specific to your company or industry that you can add to Companies, Tickets, Contracts and more. There are several different 'modules' that are all included in the PSA license (no add on fees to take advantage of them). These include contract details, tracking sales leads and opportunities, generating invoices and syncing with Quickbooks and other financial software. The reporting module has a myriad of popular reports available with the option to customize each. Advanced reporting users can also create their own reports from any of the available data entry fields, including User Defined Fields. Timesheets and Expenses are tracked in this tool, including available vacation and sick time. Time off requests can be approved by authorized users. Users have access to widgets to quickly display data and metrics. Completely integrated with Datto/Autotask RMM tool.

Cons:

There is a large learning curve when implementing this software. It is a common mistake to create a lot of customization (UDFs and workflows) because the Administrator is not familiar with the modules or the best practices of the software. Creating custom reports can be very cumbersome due to the vast number of options and fields available. When creating a new ticket, time entry or activity entry, a new window opens in the browser (which was an annoyance for some team members).

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Solid solution with lots of integrations

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall Autotask has been a solid solution for our MSP. As we grow, we continually discover features within the PSA that we didn't know we had and/or needed. This has helped keep our costs down since we don't have to add additional toolsets from other vendors.

Pros:

Autotask PSA allows us to handle much of our work from a single platform. Their extensive integration with vendors allows us to quickly link to items, such as asset details, directly from the service ticket. The integration with distributors helps with contract management, as purchased licenses with the vendor automatically get added to the service contract in Autotask.

Cons:

The design feels dated and not as intuitive as other solutions we've tried and in spite of several new releases, the overall UI doesn't appear to be changing.

Hesham Gomaa Elmasry
EDI Product & Project Manager in Egypt
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Very effective ticketing and project management tool

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Ticketing with Autotask saving a lot of time and efforts, it facilitates the communication between all stakeholders including our clients, allows internal notes on the ticket controls what the client can see and what is not, adding user defined fields allows us to generate more meaningful reports related to our business and our needs. Managing projects is very productive with Autotask, as I can create a project and add some phases, and for each phase I can add what ever required tasks with a very effective hierarchy, also it updates the phase's status automatically when all related tasks completed. It has a very powerful dashboard to list all project's status and other very helpful statistics, also the recent feature saves a lot of time searching for the same issue or ticket I just opened from a while. It is very reliable, bugs free, has no performance issues an with a very good and friendly UI.

Cons:

Why there is no feature to generate Project management charts like, network diagrams, WBS, Gantt charts from the current open projects?

David
MD in UK
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Autotask psa for MSP's

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Proffessional services automation and control

Pros:

It controls the whole business from tickets to Accounting and getting paid. COntrolling stock, organising engineers, it runs our whole business

Cons:

It is quite expensive but i do think that for the benefits we couldnt live without it really (Dont tell AT they might put our prices up)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Just OK

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: As a MSP you need to have one. The client facing ticket portal is unusable. The KB section makes it hard to add images.

Pros:

It is a mature product. Has many features.

Cons:

Hard to use. Has made few improvements over the years. The RMM (owned by same company) integration is basic.

Dan
Dan
Chief Operating Officer, and HIPAA Privacy Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Networking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Autotask does a lot of things. Many really well.

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, this is a great system for managing a busy tech company, and I recommend it for anyone who bills based on time spent with clients.

Pros:

I manage my clients and my team through the PSA. Trouble-tickets are great, the queues are all very versatile and easy to manage. We have automated alerts, calls, and client-submitted tickets and screenshots all populating to an active queue.

Cons:

The "Site Configuration" and basic details of each site could be a lot better organized. Right now, if you want to store a bunch of passwords or configuration details of any one site, it can be cumbersome and difficult to find what you need. Similarly, attached pictures or other attachments for the clients can be tough to find.

Chris
General Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

CRM, Time tracking, Support management made easy

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We successfully manage most aspects of our MSP business using Autotask. The entire workflow from incoming requests, time tracking, resource management, contract management, ending with an API workflow to our billing system.

Pros:

From an MSP perspective, this product functions as a CRM, time tracking/management, contract management, and ticket system. You can manage all aspects of an MSP business here with billing integrations available to close the loop.

Cons:

It can be a bit difficult to get started, but this is more of a business process issue as opposed to a product issue. If you have defined your workflow and processes you can translate them easily into this product.

Sunil
President in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Insufficient

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Implementation is not simple, Cost to Use Ratio is not good.
Confusion becomes high when you need to use so many different software to accomplish a smooth working environment.

Pros:

Onsite Support: you can get customer signature for the work performed on mobile phone. Can refer back to the service tickets if they are filled accurately each time.

Cons:

Does not provide a good Calendar view for Work distribution and management (It is crucial) Purchased it thinking we will be able to use it as CRM as well. Very basic CRM unusable. Gets expensive as you grow your team.

Ian
Technical Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Autotask PSA Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very good, nice team, easy to talk to, does everything we need to and some more.

Pros:

All in one facility/features bar exception of a RMM, but that is another product also provided and integrates so all good. Designed for our industry.

Cons:

Cost, maybe some archaic features that could be better. Report feature needs a degree to understand, "everything extra" costs.

Tarun
Tarun
Customer Support Manager in New Zealand
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Quality platform for the Support Ticket lifecycle.

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The user interface is information rich yet friendly and easy to navigate. It allows wide customization of the widgets and workflows can be setup to automate much of the process. This is a great tool for anyone providing support or managed services.

Cons:

The email-to-ticket functionality is limited, and we ended up making our own development to integrate to AT. It is recommended for someone to champion the implementation from the user side, to assist with administration and understand all that there is to learn about Autotask.

Ben
VP in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It gets the job done

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Out of the box, it has a lot going for it. But the setup time is not short.
It's great for getting quick access to information about your customers, tickets, billings, etc.

Pros:

It's industry specific, so it has a lot going for it. We need something that is already designed for our industry so we could hit the ground running.

Cons:

It's cumbersome and pricey. The per user price is not cheap. We are starting to outgrow it. We regular have needs to go outside of what the built in limitations are of different modules with no options to expand.

Bart
CEO in Netherlands
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HaarmanB ICT's review

4.0 10 months ago

Pros:

feautureset, ease of use, automation using Workflow Rules

Cons:

WYSIWYG user interface of template building. I use an external HTML-editor to create, modify and preview the HTML code

Rebecca
Enterprise Customer Success Manager in US
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great function

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: It was used as CRM for all departments as well as use for PM and Support cases. Overall great experience!

Pros:

The ability to customize the layouts, information shown, integrations with data sources were all great.

Cons:

The interface was a bit outdated in some and the modules didn’t always fit the window (lots of scrolling).

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Good tool, but needs improvement and enhancements

3.0 8 years ago

Comments: Autotask has lots of management capabilities for Managed Services Providers in the IT industry. They have a lot of functionality and fields available. However, one frequent comment is that it takes too many clicks to complete a task. Also, overall effort tracking of a team or individual is not that straight forward

Pros:

workflow rules and management of inbound emails. Dashboards for your team, account or individual

Cons:

When we add custom fields, we should dont have an option to place it in the section / category we like. Sometimes, the support takes lot of time to get back even thought the issue raised is very critical

Travis
CEO
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Autotask Has Revolutionized the Way We Operate

5.0 14 years ago

Comments: I HIGHLY recommend Autotask as a platform on which to run an IT Services Company or Managed Services Provider business. It has revolutionized the way we operate, and I simply can't imagine being profitable and efficient without it.

Pros:

We are a fast-growing IT Services Company, and implemented Autotask (thankfully) at the beginning of our growth. I attribute our ability to remain nimble and flexible primarily to Autotask. Autotask has helped us track our technicians' time, our sales process, and to remain ever mindful of our revenue and profitability. Autotask is purpose-built for our industry, and it shows. I feel like the product was built with my business in mind, and many of the features just make sense. The integration with Quickbooks has streamlined our bookkeeping and invoicing. The integration with Kaseya has made our service delivery much more efficient. The ticket tracking has enabled our team to collaborate on issues and tickets. The dashboards has helped us manage the business effectively and efficiently.

Cons:

Like any software platform, the implementation of Autotask requires flexibility and a willingness to rethink some business processes. This has all been for the positive with us, though, and in the end we are much better off for changing our processes to match Autotask's workflow when it makes sense.