Advanced Time and Attendance Reviews

4.3 (60) Write a Review!

About Advanced Time and Attendance

Our leading time and attendance system gives even the most complex organizations the tools needed to ensure full workforce visibility,

Learn more about Advanced Time and Attendance

Pros:

I like the flexibility, the broad scope, and the integration.

Cons:

It is very confusing and the system has a hard time calculating hours worked for a certain time period.

Advanced Time and Attendance ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.6

Likelihood to recommend

7.6/10

Advanced Time and Attendance has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 60 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Advanced Time and Attendance before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (60)

Barry
IT Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Food Production, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mitrefinch

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have had a positive experience using Mitrefinch software. Where issues do arise we have found their support to be very helpful.

Pros:

We use Mitrefinch Access Control, Time and Attendance and HR modules across three business locations. The software & access control hardware have proven to be very reliable over many years of use. Staff generally access the system via the web portal which provides an intuitive interface.

Cons:

We have no real issues to report under the "cons" section. The software does what we need it to do.

Kaysey
Human Resources in
, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

ALWAYS great customer support!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I love the ease of using this product. It is so intuitive but I especially love the great customer support I get when I cannot figure something out. I normally send an email and within an hour or so I get a response or call from their team. On almost every occasion, I've received support from Larry Walsh from the Mitrefinch team. He has always been readily available to assist and is always a pleasure to talk to over the phone! 5 STARS!

Cons:

I wish there was additional functionality in the custom reports as we've had trouble at times pulling the information we need. We have always found a work around but it would be nice if reports had additional capabilities or options. For example, when I am looking to pull the remaining balance of vacation for a specific time range. This could not be done. The work around was having to pull it on the specific date. However if we were looking for a specific range from the past this could not be done.

john
business systems manager in UK
Food & Beverages, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good functionality but poor customer service

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: The implementation was good and the engineers were very knowledgeable. Initial account management was good. Helpdesk was poor, but improved briefly while [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]was in post.
A massive problem occurred with the version 8 upgrade in March 2018, which has affected our overall perception of Mitrefinch. The issue was due to Mitrefinch not acknowledging the bespoke elements of our system.
The latest patch upgrade suffered from the exact same issue! This, compounded by the poor helpdesk service leaves us often exacerbated.

Pros:

Ability to deal with open finish times and multiple shift patterns. Calculations allows for bespoke business logic without development. Web TMS is good. Has reduced payroll queries. Email encrypted payslips.

Cons:

Helpdesk service is generally poor - we can provide details on request. General feeling is that the helpdesk has little knowledge nor confidence to take on the problem and resolve it. System flexibility can be its downfall in that its complex for new users to pick up. Account management has been flaky. We've had three account managers plus sight of a (very good) customer services manager. The latter, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] , filled us with some confidence that service would improve - we had a direct line to her and her helpdesk. Since her departure, the work she started seems to have stopped and service has gone back to as before. Recent upgrades have failed due to insufficient / missing documentation from Mitrefinch. The latest upgrade required us to failback, resulting in lost time. Paid for training was insufficient and not compensated.

Rick
ERP Planning Analyst in Canada
Public Policy
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Hamilton Police, Ontario, Canada: Experience with Mitrefinch TMS

4.5 7 years ago

Pros:

Hamilton Police Service was looking for a product that encompassed Manager and Employee web self-service for scheduling and tracking attendance. The product also had to interact with our payroll (Oracle/PeopleSoft) and other necessary applications. Mitrefinch was chosen for its features and price point. This product was able to handle over 100 shift schedule rotations to accommodate our departments. Support has greatly improved in the last year as extra staff was added to the Canadian market. They have always been there in a timely fashion for the few urgent issues we have faced. The software runs in a standard Microsoft environment. No special software was required. All clients use Internet Explorer browser to access the application.

Cons:

Documentation of the software is too many releases behind. The report writer is very capable but lacks features expected in today's reporting tools. However, it has never crashed and is very reliable.

Verified Reviewer
Director of IT in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We've had TMS for 6 years now, I find it very easy to use

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We switched to TMS from another Time and Attendance software that was made solely for Public Safety and did not suit our needs, it was very cumbersome and hard to figure out. TMS was much easier to use and manage.

Pros:

We are still on version 7 and have not upgrade to version 8. The software is easy to use, fast, easily customizable, quick to learn, and can integrate with other payroll software

Cons:

Sometimes support can be slow, it's gotten better than it used to be. Reporting can be slow as well when done on all employees, we have about 750.

Martyn
Digital Operation Manager in UK
Airlines/Aviation, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mitrefinch TIME & ATTENDANCE Review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall the system is fit for purpose; certainly for the limited features we currently employ at our facility. This MAY change as we move forward.

Pros:

The facility of a Web interface for end users to interact with, removing the need to install client software to the general populous

Cons:

Complexity of the underlying DB seems overly complex - certainly for the level of use we currently use. Documentation on the reporting tools is difficult to find/understand

Verified Reviewer
Group IT Operations Manager in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Food Production, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

TMS

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The software functionality is 'good' not great. the basic package is missing some key features which are optional add on's at each stage.

Cons:

Project management for recent deployments, farcical at best. Changes have happened at Mitrefinch over the previous months and years and certainly not for the better from our experience. We will not be adding further sites and looking to replace on live sites.

Renya
Senior Manager Strategic Initiatives in US
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very flexible, capable of handling complicated reports, scheduling and accrual rules.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Improved record keeping, and savings from devoting fewer manpower hours to time and attendance

Pros:

I like the calc features that let experienced users customize the software for their organization. I also like the fast response of the support team.

Cons:

I became the Time and Attendance administrator after it had already been selected and partially setup. I found it challenging to learn how to use all the features of the software - a fully documented users guide for administrators listing all settings and codes in WINTMS would be extremely helpful.

Tamara
HR Manager in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

A title is not required for a survey.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Windows are easy to navigate through. Able to configure the system to suit individual needs. We have many variables and for the most part, the software is able to accommodate the variety.

Cons:

Software has some limitations on how it performs. Must be configured properly from the beginning. System was set up by MitreFinch staff no longer with the company. Recently hired staff find the original set up inefficient. I could not submit this survey without having to type in more information despite clicking on No, thanks, I'm done. Kept circling back.

Melanie
Solutions Support Analyst, Senior in Canada
Insurance
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Support experience

4.5 7 years ago

Pros:

This software is very user friendly, easy to administrate and eases admin with keeping track of and calculating vacation days, sick days, etc. Mitrefinch overall has awesome support and friendly IT staff. I personally worked with Larry Walsh on the last issue and he was very friendly, personable and knowledgeable about the software.

Cons:

The only thing that bothers me is time changes and terminals not always keeping proper time. Sometimes the terminals are 2 to 3 minutes fast.

Michael
Technology Consultant in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Advance Sytems TMS - Too bad I couldn't give it 6 Stars!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: We've now been TMS users for more than a year. We happily renewed our Support Policy just recently, at a very reasonable price. Although we've only had to call Advance one or two times, their response has been phenomenal. Just a few weeks ago, I noticed that calls weren't being updated in TMS. I nearly panicked. I had thought that we had lost a number of days of data. One call to Advance and they were logged into our system and in a matter of less than an hour, data was restored and the system was operational. When I first decided on TMS, about 18 months ago, I was wary that the 'real' costs were going to far in excess of what we were quoted. I thought that we'd be charged for additional seats even though the total numbers we needed stayed constant, just the users changed. However, the only additional charges were when we increased the total number of actual users. And that is a ONE time payment. In addition, Advance put us in touch with a remote call service that was just as upfront as they are. We selected a plan back in the beginning and haven't had to upgrade and/or improve it since. During the selection process I evaluated calling plans that were literally 10X more expensive, each month! There hasn't been an aspect of our implementation that wasn't handled professionally and on time. We even moved to newer servers over the past year and that went so smoothly, we hardly noticed. Advance Systems has been a world class choice for us. Price, performance and support, a 6 star rating doesn't do it justice.

Raif
Business System Analyst IT in UK
Food Production, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mitrefinch Review

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Browser portal is very user friendly. Flexible and customisable.

Cons:

The Windows software is visual outdated and showing its age, although the majority of the functionality has been or is being ported over to the web based interface.

Tina
Payroll Officer in
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Happy Customer

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Product is easy to use and fully intergrates with all modules. We have the data base open all day as it is quick easy access to employees personal details.

Pros:

Easy to use and easy to fix if errors are made. Reporting is good if after CSV files and data easy to update and find. Use of template section is really good as well. Support are always quick and helpful. Being ablet to custom's fields etc is fantastic.

Cons:

Could still be developed further and if the graphs was developed further would be really good. Looking forward to the Dashboard version of the HR Database to come out as this will be better viewing. Sometimes the links between fields in TMS and HR do not work and have to double enter data.

tom
HR Officer in
Retail
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

T&T Supermarket

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The user interface was pretty intuitive, so it's relatively easy to learn. The support is very good, with Larry Walsh being able to answer most of my inquiries. The instances where he could not, he would look for help from others and get back to me in a timely fashion.

Cons:

There are some idiosyncracies that are kind of odd. There's no training material that actually describes process flows and how data flows from one area to another.

Helen
Service Manager in UK
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mitrefinch review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Communication with projects not always straightforward and can be time consuming.
Have had issues with invoices
Get good software support when needed
People who have visited us have been very knowledgeable

Pros:

Simple and straightforward to quick to use. Stable

Cons:

The report formatting isn't great. Could be due to the version we're on.

Caroline
Manager Information Technology in
, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Time and Attendance System

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The product is very customisable which I believe will suit many organisations.
However, as with such time and attendance systems, Higher Manager support and HR policies are critical to the successful implementation. This is the most difficult system I have had to implement not because of the complexity of the software itself, but the resistance from the staff.

Pros:

Customisable and good support (yay to your support staff!)

Cons:

Complex. May be difficult to support in-house unless you have good, technical IT staff. Providing integration to other Payroll Systems will be useful.

phil
structured cabling technician in UK
Automotive, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mitrefinch TIME & ATTENDANCE review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: overall the system is quite good but I think it could be easier to use

Pros:

there are many functions that are very useful to us

Cons:

some items are time consuming to change, we had to change certain access groups and it seemed very long winded to do this

Melissa
HR Generalist in US
Retail, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Not Great for TMS software

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: I would not recommend this product.

Pros:

We use Mitrefinsh Time Management Software. It gets the job done through biometric clocks where all employees punch in.

Cons:

The reporting features are terrible. If I need to run a report for myself in HR I always need assistance about which report to run and how to exactly do it. It is very confusing and the system has a hard time calculating hours worked for a certain time period.

Kaysey
HR Coordinator in Canada
Philanthropy
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great Customer Support!

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

I like that the system is able to capture exactly what we need in our reports. There are also standard reports that have already been created that are also very useful. I also like how intuitive the system is. I would say it is pretty user friendly with the appropriate training.

Cons:

The system can sometimes be slow and quirky. I don't like that some of the reports that have been created for us cannot run automatically because they are too large and instead we need to manually select the users in batches.

Carol
HR Director in Canada
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Mitrefinch Ongoing Service

3.5 7 years ago

Pros:

The software is fairly intuitive and easy to use. There is minimal training required for employees to use the clock.

Cons:

Until we were paired with our customer service rep, it was difficult to obtain help and assistance when we needed it.

Stephen
Director of Technological Operations in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Great product and service

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: There are many pro's to the product that Advanced System have offered our company. The first being a custom tailored solution to a time capture issue in our industry. We have always had to have our employees hand write their times on cards and the managers would have to manually calculate their time worked in 5 minute increments. Now our employees clock in using their finger and the software captures and calculates time worked. The other top highlight of their product is the ability to hold information in a database setting. Not only does the software capture time, but we are able to store valuable employee information and produce reports that our of great value to our team. The software development team has been outstanding to work with. They have never said 'no' to anything that we have requested. The commitment to making our company satisfied has been a priority since day one.

Lori
Payroll Manager in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very easy to use software and great customer service

4.5 7 years ago

Pros:

The customer support is very good. The product can be easily customized to our business needs.

Cons:

The back end setup can be very complex at times depending what needs to be done

Marianne
Payroll Manager in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Software Support

4.5 7 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use and very knowledgeable support staff. Very quick to reply to inquiries or concerns.

Cons:

Server can be a bit slow sometimes. not much other than that though.

Sherry
Payroll Manager in Canada
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Helpful, as usual.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

The day-to-day use of the product is user-friendly and there's no hassle getting support when you need it.

Cons:

When setting up reports or permanent changes, it's not so user-friendly. Have to contact support.

Laurie
Payroll Manager in Canada
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall thoughts about TMS

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

User friendly and efficient support when I need it.

Cons:

Nothing. . works great for our needs. Sometimes it needs rebooting, but at least nothing has been lost. .